You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 16-03-2014, 04:51 PM   #1
gazza2013au

Default Auto Electrician Slugged Me

took my little hyundai excel to a sydney auto electrician on friday after the engine light coming on doing over 80kph the auto electrician charged me $90 just to read the codes

it came back as a faulty oxygen sensor and he didnt replace it

is this about right for a code reading or was i ripped a new hole?

gazza2013au is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-03-2014, 05:12 PM   #2
BHDOGS

Default Re: Auto Electrician Slugged Me

It's about right id say but it really shouldn't cost so much as it's a quick scan and look up the code but that's buisness for u
BHDOGS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-03-2014, 05:13 PM   #3
xrystl

VW charge me an hours labour to attach their scanalyser to read off the fault codes on my Crafter , they absorb the cost if I have the repairs done in their Workshop (about $130 per hour) as they only charge the book time for any work done (not actual time) and some jobs take almost twice the book time (me waiting with the work being done visible to me) - The equipment to read the codes on the VW commercials costs heaps ($25k mentioned) so I guess they are justified in their pricing and repairs aren't included in the diagnostic cost.
xrystl is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-03-2014, 05:58 PM   #4

Just buy a generic OBD reader from an electronics store next time?

O2 codes are generic so proprietory readers not usually needed.

never pay again....

http://www.ebay.com.au/bhp/obd-ii-code-reader
zilo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-03-2014, 06:18 PM   #5
gazza2013au

thanks guys guess i need to swallow the $90 fee its a shame the local mechanic couldnt do my car for some reason i was passed onto the auto electrician

also the auto electrician had the car for no longer than 1h 30m i think they are being paid up there with lawyers and dr's
Old 16-03-2014, 07:00 PM   #6
UberKnee
The One Who Knocks

Have to remember that $90 doesn't go straight into the auto sparkies wallet. He'd get half that if he's lucky the rest goes into the cost of running a business and then the business actually turning a profit.
UberKnee is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-03-2014, 07:48 PM   #7
sneaky

i was quoted $100 for a renault dealer to check fault codes and price would be absorbed into repairs.. and a local renault specialist was $50 to check for fault codes.
Old 16-03-2014, 07:57 PM   #8
gazza2013au

a little to late, just found a web site that shows what pins to jump and use the engine light bugger!!!

would have saved my self $90
Old 16-03-2014, 08:25 PM   #9
uniacidz

Sounds like normal prices

Sent via HTC Velocity + [HolicsROM v1.3] [SWEEP2WAKE]
VX SS (R.I.P)
VE Berlina
uniacidz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-03-2014, 08:33 PM   #10

Originally Posted by gazza2013au View Post
thanks guys guess i need to swallow the $90 fee its a shame the local mechanic couldnt do my car for some reason i was passed onto the auto electrician

also the auto electrician had the car for no longer than 1h 30m i think they are being paid up there with lawyers and dr's
Didn't realise doctors and lawyers get paid $19/hour?

Because I was an auto electrician and thats what I was getting.

The reason why it costs so much to scan and clear codes on your car is because any half decent scan tool costs at least $7K ranging to $15-$20K for the best when it comes to diagnostic scan tools which are reliable.
Old 16-03-2014, 08:37 PM   #11

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Shares his in-depth tuning knowledge with the forum, very helpful. Contributor: For members who make a contribution worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For his indepth tutorial on adding borders to photographs 

don't forget the yearly fee to keep them up to date.

ratter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-03-2014, 08:45 PM   #12

Originally Posted by gazza2013au View Post

relax? your probly not married !!! whilst you were there spending the 90 bucks , your misses wouldve been at home making use of her alone time dropping 200 on ebay for haircare products .
Old 16-03-2014, 08:47 PM   #13
redxm
64 Deluxe 4 door

superjunk will do a scan for $15
redxm is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-03-2014, 09:10 PM   #14

Auto elec charged my mate $850 for a new alternator in his clapped out EB. Now that was a rip off!
Old 16-03-2014, 09:52 PM   #15
Morexbs

Originally Posted by BPXR6T View Post
Auto elec charged my mate $850 for a new alternator in his clapped out EB. Now that was a rip off!
That's 4 times more than the car is worth!
Old 06-04-2014, 01:27 AM   #16
homegrown
hotshot

Originally Posted by gtfpv View Post
relax? your probly not married !!! whilst you were there spending the 90 bucks , your misses wouldve been at home making use of her alone time dropping 200 on ebay for haircare products .
That reminds me of the time someone stole my credit card. I didn't worry about reporting it because the crook was spending less than the missus
Old 06-04-2014, 11:43 AM   #17

A bit like the (fictitious) story of someone taking their car to a mechanic, who fixed the problem by hitting it with a hammer.

When the owner complained about being charged $50 for hitting it with a hammer the mechanic said

"I'm not charging you $50 for hitting it with a hammer. I'm charging you for knowing where to hit it"
Old 06-04-2014, 07:32 PM   #18
GASWAGON

Originally Posted by GasOLane View Post
A bit like the (fictitious) story of someone taking their car to a mechanic, who fixed the problem by hitting it with a hammer.

When the owner complained about being charged $50 for hitting it with a hammer the mechanic said

"I'm not charging you $50 for hitting it with a hammer. I'm charging you for knowing where to hit it"
Well thats fair enough......Obviously the starter motor needed a small hit to get it working again. Not sure about $50 charge tho?
GASWAGON is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2014, 06:39 AM   #19

I had a local parts store plug in theirs, just read me the codes, and didn't charge me anything for it. Apparently that's standard practice around here.
Old 07-04-2014, 08:49 AM   #20
Lockitupoz

I am with some of the OP.

We own 5 scan tools, costs varied from $500 to $22,000. Then there's the costs per year to have the software up to date - varies from $530 to thousands.

We only use the tools to program keys. To recoup costs we have to charge $88 every time we plug into a car. Apart from our labour costs, there's workshop overheads and the costs associated with these tools.

A generic scanner from Fleabay may only cost a couple of hundred bucks - it will read the numbers and that's it. Most people will need codes read only once or twice in the cars lifetime, so you are actually paying $100 to read the code and that comes without any professional opinion as to why that code has been thrown up!

Pay the fee and listen to the advice as to how to fixit.

JD
Lockitupoz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-04-2014, 07:44 PM   #21
kyro_02
V8 wannaabeee

My brother owns werribee auto elec, I don't think he charges, but if he does I'm pretty sure it's only $20..

The way I see it, is the equipment costs thousands of dollars , but you recoup the cost back through jobs done on the cars, obviously not by charging so much to scan...?
kyro_02 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-04-2014, 08:07 PM   #22
gazza2013au

Originally Posted by kyro_02 View Post
My brother owns werribee auto elec, I don't think he charges, but if he does I'm pretty sure it's only $20..

The way I see it, is the equipment costs thousands of dollars , but you recoup the cost back through jobs done on the cars, obviously not by charging so much to scan...?
they would even make a bucket load back when they upgrade there machines and sell it on, what i was charged is rediculous the part wasnt even changed in that price either
Old 11-04-2014, 10:30 PM   #23
Madaya

I think I read an article In Silicon Chip, where you can build a module that interfaces between the car and your PC/Laptop. Using free software and some uploaded programs, the little guy could apparently read codes, do diagnostics, the whole enchilada. I must look that article up again, or at least source the kit.
I ignored the device at the time as I figured it would only be handy if I made major mods to the FG. I'm a small mod guy
2010 FG XR6 I6 CC Ute, Nitro colour. lsd, sports suspension, Ford 18's fitted with Michelin Primacy 3 ST 245x45x18, MW Quick Shifter, Pacemaker 4500 Extractors, Carbuilders Soundproofing, KPM Street Fighter CAI
Madaya is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post