Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > MotorSport > Drag Racing

Drag Racing Discuss Drag Racing here be it dirt or tarmac. Sponsored by Sydney Dragway.

Old 01-06-2006, 11:18 AM   #1
F6 UTE

Default New F6 + Manual trans Record

Went to the plex last night.

Ran 11.87 @ 115mph

1.80 60'
7.66 to 1/2 track
91mph to half track

Wog tuned with edit to 313rwkw, injectors and exhaust mods with an actuator.
Factory air filter, plumbing, clutch.... everything..

Quickest F6 in the country
Quickest Manual in the country

F6 UTE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-06-2006, 12:26 PM   #2

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF events and sponsorship. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Everything you do to help this place run smoothly! Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: The awesome Technical and Service how to's in the FPV /XR6 /G6ET turbo threads..  and his own build threads that inspire people to have a go... enabling people to save money and realise the dream of working on their own cars as well. 

Congrats mate I heard the wog set your tune up to do flat changes..
Good driving, good time, the 60 foot is very good for a manual..

Old 01-06-2006, 12:42 PM   #3

Very quick and good steering mate

Which tuner, is it dynowog?
Old 01-06-2006, 02:02 PM   #4
F6 UTE

Thanks guys.

Dynowog tuned her.

No flat change feature, just me flat changing a standard setup

We could get the launch 2-step working, but I didn't use it, and the flat change feature wanted to work at 6350rpm, which was no good to me!!

Just a ballsy tune with a quick pedal..
Old 01-06-2006, 02:14 PM   #5
Chris
AFF.com.au

Dude - 1.8 60ft 115mph?

its showing 270rwkw.......whose dyno did you use?
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-06-2006, 02:20 PM   #6
F6 UTE

Originally Posted by Chris
Dude - 1.8 60ft 115mph?

its showing 270rwkw.......whose dyno did you use?

Are you for real mate??????????????????

maybe I can drive?
Old 01-06-2006, 03:52 PM   #7
GT-P 738

Originally Posted by F6 UTE

maybe I can drive?
We reckon you can cause youre a West Aussie and its a manual out:
:the_finge

"Hate it or love,the underdogs on top"
GT-P 738 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-06-2006, 03:56 PM   #8
Chris
AFF.com.au

maybe I can drive?
Just a question mate, relax. I race a heavier car NA, it makes 270 odd at the tyres NA, why would it go 116mph? oh - thats with a 1.7.

just asking dude......and i am for real.
Old 01-06-2006, 04:45 PM   #9
F6 UTE

No worries, just you can't punch these numbers into a drag calculator and come up with the answer.. Otherwise, there would be more than 2 manual cars in the 11's, and one has 430rwkw for an 11.9..

Diff gears, what are you running??

I'm stuck with 3.73's
Old 01-06-2006, 04:51 PM   #10
F6_Tornado

With street tires and more wheelspin he was going 12.3 @ 117mph.
With MT Streets Radials it sticks better but the mph drops slightly.
Getting the grunt down low so it can stick the tires and pull out of the hole is the secret.

Either way I can’t see to many people with so few mods managing a time like that with the six speed manual.
Awesome Run mate and well deserved records
:eclipsee_
RAPID BF F6 Typhoon. Build 0001...FOR SALE
Auto, 19" Rims, Leather, FPV steering wheel, Reverse Sensors, Electric Pedals, floor mats, Tint.
F6_Tornado is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-06-2006, 05:09 PM   #11
Chris
AFF.com.au

No worries, just you can't punch these numbers into a drag calculator and come up with the answer.. Otherwise, there would be more than 2 manual cars in the 11's, and one has 430rwkw for an 11.9..

Diff gears, what are you running??

I'm stuck with 3.73's
me, 4.10s, and ive lightened the car (no tailgate etc) which helped.
Old 01-06-2006, 05:54 PM   #12
XRQTOR

maybe I can drive?
Mine went 13.1@113mph, although it had alittle more power (4okw more) than you. I would still expect it to trap higher considering how hard it comes off the line and how quick it is.

Whats the flat change feature....
XRQTOR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-06-2006, 07:27 PM   #13
Quadcams

Impressive time and that 60ft well done mate, not to many F6 or T6 doing launch's as good as that in a manual.

What tyres were you running?
Quadcams is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-06-2006, 07:33 PM   #14

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Shares his in-depth tuning knowledge with the forum, very helpful. Contributor: For members who make a contribution worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For his indepth tutorial on adding borders to photographs 

It's a great time, but I would also expect higher mph with that rwkw and a lighter car, not getting into a debate, just pointing out the obvious.

Driving will affect et but not so much the mph providing your driving it out the back door.py:

ratter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-06-2006, 10:39 PM   #15
F6 UTE

A coupla things:
Simon from Extreme ran 420rwkw or so for 124mph for 12.3- bad 60' in his M/F6
Nizpro ran 430rwkw for ~125mph+ for 11.9 with gears. 1.9 60' M/XR Ute

Wheelspin increases mph yes?? I had zero wheelspin.

Is 10mph 100+ rwkw?? I'm asking, I don't know????

There is no benchmark for these things.

3.73 diff ratio and i'm pegging 5700rpm in 4th on the line, i'm not going as fast as if it were an auto and clicked another gear, i've already had 3 manual gearchanges to half track ( 7.66 seconds ) !!

ratter- The week before I ran 117mph for a 12.3 with a 2.0 60'

How quick is the fastest Manual BOSS engined Pass and MPH??
6spd with 3.73's?? Or do they get the 3.43's??

I know Superpursuit83 ran low 13's with 280rwkw for a low 13 on R-Comps??
I think Simon from Extreme went low 13 @ 109mph(??) with ~300rwkw in his Orange GTP beast.

F6_Tornado in his Auto F6 with the same rwkw figure ran 11.9 @ 118 last week with a 2.0 60'

If guys are doubting the rwkw figure beacuse it's too low

a.) It's the first time in the world
b.) it makes the mammoth effort even more astounding!!!
Old 01-06-2006, 10:50 PM   #16

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Shares his in-depth tuning knowledge with the forum, very helpful. Contributor: For members who make a contribution worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For his indepth tutorial on adding borders to photographs 

The trap mph relates to the power to weight of the car, there are other variables that will influence the figure, but only slightly. there are XR8 utes and pursuits running around the 114-116 mph mark, these cars are making in the ball park of 270 rwkw and are heavier than your car, so either your car is not making the same sort of power or is for some reason heavier than these cars.

Don't get me wrong, the et is great and how you drive it will determine your et, so you have been driving great, but it still seems to be down mph for you power output.

Once again congrats on the 11

ratter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-06-2006, 10:57 PM   #17
AUSGTI
Das Auto Bitches!

Yea man saw that last night... awesome run!! great time too!!
Old 01-06-2006, 11:02 PM   #18
FSIX
Boooosted Yeah

Manual the fastest was 13.2@113mph, the quickest could be ACE 3 valve 12.7@109mph
someone will Correct me if I am wrong.
Old 01-06-2006, 11:05 PM   #19
XRCIST

Originally Posted by FSIX
Manual the fastest was 13.2@113mph, the quickest could be ACE 3 valve 12.7@109mph
someone will Correct me if I am wrong.
Kev has run a 12.45 in his 5spd ute
XRCIST is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-06-2006, 11:13 PM   #20
FSIX
Boooosted Yeah

Originally Posted by XRCIST
Kev has run a 12.45 in his 5spd ute
yep your right 110mph.
Old 02-06-2006, 03:22 AM   #21
Xtreme F6

Its an orsm effort.

I First ran with 380 rwkw's and ran 12.3@122 with a 2.0 60 ft but the problem im faced with is having to use 5th gear

I then went down with 400 rwkw and did a 2.36 60 ft and ran a 12.3@ 124 mph again having to use 5th.

All i know is we have a new bench mark to catch and its a bloody good one, Ben can bloody drive his car well, and thats from alot of practise and determination.

I for one have got the fire back in my belly to run my car after this effort and once i have some CV's ill be there with bells on, some new tyres (STill street) that will allow me to not have to use BLOODY 5TH!!!!! and i recon... its gunna be on like donkey kong. Over here in the other side of nowhere we have some very powerful cars getting ready to assult the track and i believe by end of this year we will have manuals doing 10's.

Silhouette FG F6 Xtreme Ford Tuning spec, Power so far 1100+RWHP

FG XR8 Ute 3 speed auto and converter and 9 inch XFT built 5.4 SCJ engine 4.0 litre Whipple 9.40 @ 148 mph Fastest Modular blown Falcon in Aus 4180pounds.

FG GS Miami/Coyote Ute Auto. XFT Xtreme 5.0 Coyote package 10.84 stock blower.

XFT F6E Stage III XFT Engine, stage III XFT ZF along with our new XFT Set up precision, quickest FG ZF with a 9.25@150 MPH
Xtreme F6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2006, 11:05 AM   #22
AGRO
KB TECH SUPPORT

6spd with 3.73's?? Or do they get the 3.43's??
F6 UTE.
My car isn't the fastest Boss 260 of all time, But when I was putting out around your stated rwkw in my car (Ute 5 speed manual), the best I managed was 121mph @ 13.0. I was using street tyres though, not the best for the setup I have. Most runs I done on the same day were hovering around 117-120mph. Most of my 60ft were above 2.0
Regards

AGRO.
AGRO is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2006, 03:35 PM   #23
F6_Tornado

To put this in prospective and hopefully clear up some confusion when comparing apples to oranges ill run a few things by you all about this vehicle and its times.

I bought a manual tornado the same as F6_UTE did over 12 months ago with about the only difference being the color.

We both proceeded to do some “basic” mods without getting to serious and as such we both changed injectors added the edit and some exhaust mods.(the exhaust mods varied between us) apart from that these two Ute’s were virtually identical and STD in all other ways.

First couple of times we both run the ¼ we were virtually identical time as we both had been using the same tuners and with virtually the same mods we had the same results.
Out of these results we both were doing almost identical MPH and ET which was done with ~290rwks >>> 12.7~ 12.8 @ 115~116mph on normal street tires.

I then moved to an auto but took the same mods off the manual and fitted them to the auto with the same amount of rwks as before. This resulted in a 12.4 @ 116~117MPH essentially showing the auto to be better for @ ½ sec with everything else being the same.

The next we did was try tires and first up run on the auto with MT Street Radials resulted in another ½ second drop in times to 11.9sec for the auto. And a 12.3 for F6_UTEs manual which was @ ½ sec as well.

Then the Wog Flew into Perth and did a tune and during the tune he was looking for a much wider Power and torque curve than just max kws and as such was happy to give up some overall kws for a better spread of power which he did achieve.

The tune coupled with the above results from previous runs it is no surprise to me at all having seen the progress along the way, which coupled to some excellent driving all makes for a great time.

Remembering that all this ute has is injectors, 4” dump pipe with no center muffler and edit. Hell it still has the factory air filter!!!.

Over the last 12 months the objective was to gain some good times without going overboard with mods and RWKs. As it was we couldn’t get the power to the ground with the six speed manual and the simple mods we had let alone spend more money on more mods just to spin up the tires even more.

I take my Hat off to the Wog for his tuning and great spread of power.
Also to Ben for a great drive on the night.
:dj:
RAPID BF F6 Typhoon. Build 0001...FOR SALE
Auto, 19" Rims, Leather, FPV steering wheel, Reverse Sensors, Electric Pedals, floor mats, Tint.
F6_Tornado is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-06-2006, 07:44 PM   #24
nugget378
Weezland

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to impart knowledge in the technical areas. 

Wheelspin increases mph yes?? I had zero wheelspin.

Is 10mph 100+ rwkw?? I'm asking, I don't know????
Ive never found this to be the case,on street tyres when I get wheelspin I am always down about 5mph,why,because half track speed is slower, and your really pushing to make up 35mph from half track,I have made up 33 but only once or twice,usually 28-30, on slicks I make up 26-28, one of the problems with a manual,how do you repeat every gear change exactly the same from run to run,you cant really with a synchro box,a friends car has about the same power to weight as mine but ET's better with 3.45 rearend,because he crosses the line in third,me with 4.11's am just pulling 6000-6100 over the line but it only just peaks at 7000,and the last gearchange is half wasted you could say,manuals are a different ball game than auto's from what I have seen.
nugget378 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post