You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 10-11-2020, 05:10 PM   #301

Default Re: USA 2020 Election

Originally Posted by Bossxr8 View Post
So many blind sheep that follow what the media tells them, without even looking into any of it.

The un-partiality of the msm in recent years is nothing short of a disgrace. Scary even. Communists would be proud.

Say what you want about Trump. He did himself no favours. But the way they have attacked him from day 1 because they hated him so much, and manipulated the narrative was a full on hack job. They hated him because he wasn't one of them, and wouldn't follow their narrative.

I really hope our political system and media don't start implementing the same tactics here.
Trumpy boy gave the media plenty of reasons for MSM to attack him or is this just fake news!
Old 10-11-2020, 05:33 PM   #302

Originally Posted by Bossxr8 View Post
See this is where people like you swallow the msm BS whole. He actually had increased votes from blacks and latinos. It was actually the white vote where he lost ground.

But yeah don't let facts get in the way of feels.
you want facts - no problem

Votes (FACT 1):
Trump - 71,430,825

Biden - 76,327,446

that is a difference of 4,896,621 in favour of Biden (raw votes - NO MSM interference)

Litigation (FACT 2)

Pennsylvania

Multiple legal battles over the Keystone State’s election laws were underway well before Election Day, but this week, the Trump campaign upped the ante. Pennsylvania Attorney General Josh Shapiro said in an interview that “there has been a lot of noise about litigation” but it has had “zero material impact” on the electoral process. “The count has continued. Legal votes are being tallied and soon the commonwealth will respect the will of the people and certify a vote,” he said. Since Tuesday, the campaign has filed at least five separate lawsuits, with mixed results:

1. To compel Philadelphia election officials to stop counting ballots.

A federal judge dismissed the request.

2. To compel state election officials to allow Trump campaign officials closer observation of the counting process.

A state judge ruled in the campaign’s favor, allowing campaign officials to observe the Philadelphia process from a six foot distance. Philadelphia election officials appealed the decision to the state Supreme Court. On November 9, the court agreed to hear the case.

Levitt says this ruling will likely affect the pace of the count, rather the outcome. “Imagine a gymnasium, with observers lining the walls: to let the observers get closer, they’ve got to move the count closer to the walls and not be counting in the center,” he writes. Since people can no longer count in the center of the gym, “the count is going to move more slowly.”

3. To compel Pennsylvania Secretary of State Kathy Boockvar and all 67 counties to impose an earlier date for voters to show proof of identification if it was not on their initial ballots.

Litigation is ongoing. The presiding judge ordered all counties to segregate ballots if the voters do not provide supplemental identification by Nov. 9. The ballots with supplemental identification provided after Nov. 9 cannot be counted until approved by the court.

Local Republicans filed a separate suit against Boockvar in state court, alleging she subverted state law when she issued guidance telling voters with deficiencies on their mail-in ballots to cast provisional ballots, and trying to prevent those provisional ballots from being counted. A state judge denied that request, but ordered officials to segregate provisional ballots from voters who submitted deficient mail-in ballots before election day.

4. To compel the Montgomery County Board of Elections to stop counting mail-in-ballots

The campaign and Republican National Committee filed suit to halt the process of counting mail-in ballots in Montgomery County, one of the counties in suburban Philadelphia, alleging that the board of elections was counting 600 ballots that had not been placed in secrecy envelopes and was therefore not complying with requirements. Pennsylvania election data shows Montgomery county overwhelmingly voted for Biden.

The litigation is ongoing.

5. To intervene in an already existing dispute before the U.S. Supreme Court about whether ballots the state received after 8 p.m. on Election Day should count.

The litigation is ongoing. Some legal experts are skeptical SCOTUS will take the case, while others say that even if the Justice do, their ruling is unlikely to change the outcome of the Presidential election.

“I think that the court is going to be very hesitant to involve itself in the process in the most politically contentious context possible,” says Michael Dimino, an election law expert at Widener University in Pennsylvania. Joshua Geltzer, executive director of the Institute for Constitutional Advocacy and Protection at Georgetown Law, notes that the number of ballots that may fall in this category “appears increasingly irrelevant to the election outcome given the sheer vote numbers in that state regardless of those ballots.”

The backstory: After Pennsylvania’s Supreme Court extended the ballot receipt deadline to Nov. 6, state Republicans twice appealed the case to the U.S. Supreme Court. The first time they were unsuccessful, and the second time the court declined to expedite the decision before the election, but left open the possibility of hearing it afterwards. On Friday, Supreme Court Justice Alito, in response to a motion from Pennsylvania Republicans, ordered state election officials to segregate any ballots that arrived after election day. State officials had already ordered counties to segregate any ballots that arrived after Election Day, likely anticipating a future challenge.
Nevada

With Trump narrowly trailing Biden in the state, the Trump campaign has backed two cases to impact the counting of ballots:

1. To impose an injunction on the automated signature-verification machines used in Clark County as ballots continue to be counted.

A federal judge rejected the request on Nov. 6, ruling that federal judges should not be involved in state election administration and there is no evidence Clark County is doing anything unlawful.

The backstory: The Trump campaign held a press conference on Nov. 5 introducing Jill Stokey, a Nevada voter who claimed that when she tried to cast a ballot, she was told someone had already cast a mail-in ballot in her name. She alleged that the signature verification technology used in Clark County, the most populous county in the state, enabled someone to cast a mail-in ballot in her name. Her lawsuit asserted, without evidence, that “lax procedures for authenticating mail ballots” had resulted in “over 3,000 instances of ineligible individuals casting ballots.”

Aaron Ford, Nevada’s Attorney General, called Stokey’s allegations “absurd.” “While the Attorney General’s Office normally does not comment on pending litigation, I feel compelled to dispel the misinformation being circulated to undermine the public’s trust in our election,” he said in a statement.

2. To compel state election officials to allow the public closer observation at a Clark County ballot-counting facility.

The Trump campaign, Republican National Committee, and a plaintiff, Fred Krause, filed a lawsuit before election day in state court seeking to halt the counting process in Clark County until they could observe the process.

A district judge rejected the lawsuit, ruling they lacked standing to bring the claims and had no evidence to back up their arguments. The plaintiffs appealed to the state Supreme Court, which accepted the request to expedite the case, but denied the request for immediate relief. In a November 5 order, the State Supreme Court said the campaign and state Republicans had reached a settlement. According to local news, the settlement included expanding observation access, so that all counting tables would be visible to the public.

Michigan

While the Associated Press called Michigan for Biden on Nov. 4, the Trump campaign and Republicans have continued to file lawsuits attempting, unsuccessfully, to stop the state ballot count. The state has seen two cases since Election Day:

1. To halt the counting of absentee ballots, on the grounds that campaign officials had not been given access to observe the process as required by state law.

Michigan Court of Claims Judge Cynthia Stephens denied the campaign’s request on Nov. 6.

2. To halt the certification of election results in Detroit, Michigan’s largest city and a Democratic stronghold.

Judge Timothy Kenny denied the motion for injunctive relief on Nov. 6, saying there was no evidence that oversight procedures had not been followed.

“Chief Judge Kenny’s quick decision mirrors a decision yesterday by Court of Claims Judge Stephens – specifically, that, once again, the allegations are mere speculation,” Michigan Attorney General Dana Nessel’s Press Secretary Ryan Jarvi said in a statement. “The swift, clear and decisive opinion should put to rest the meritless claims that have been made in Michigan and other states around the country.”

The backstory: The case was not brought by the Trump campaign, but by a conservative group, the Election Integrity Fund, and sought to stop election workers in Detroit from “curing” absentee ballots that could not initially be read by a machine, a normal part of the ballot counting process. The case alleged that the work had not always been overseen by election inspectors from both major political parties, and that certification should be delayed until inspectors could review the process.

Georgia

In Georgia, where the on-going count suggests an extremely tight race, the Trump campaign has filed one suit:

1. To disqualify about 53 ballots.

A poll watcher in Chatham County reported seeing a stack of late ballots that may have arrived after the 7 p.m. Election Day deadline get mixed in with ballots that had arrived on time.

A Superior Court judge in Chatham County rejected the suit on Nov. 5 after hearing testimony from county officials that the ballots had, in fact, arrived on time. “There is no evidence that the ballots referenced in the petition were received after 7:00 p.m. on Election Day,” the court found.

Arizona:

Fox News and the Associated Press have declared Biden won the state, but other networks have held off, deeming the race too close to call. On November 7, the Trump campaign and Republican National Committee filed a lawsuit in state court alleging voters’ ballots had been rejected because they contained “bleeds,” splotches” and “stray marks.” These allegations appear similar to claims circulating on social media that ballots would not be counted if voters filled them out using a Sharpie marker. Election officials have said these claims are false. A lawsuit with similar allegations was filed in the same court system by a group of voters who were represented by a conservative legal fund on Nov. 4; plaintiffs dropped the lawsuit on Nov. 7. They did not provide a reason for dismissing the case.

All FACTS - you need to stop listening to the ramblings of a madman and do a little search for yourself
Old 10-11-2020, 05:38 PM   #303

Originally Posted by chevypower View Post
@Trevor 57, did you find the Democrats “uniting” when Hillary called Trump supporters “a basket of deplorables?” Or when Joe Biden said “if you don’t vote for me, you’re not Black?” Did you find the Democrats accepted defeat when they spent 4 years trying to delegitimize the 2016 election? It’s your right to like and hate whoever you want, but if you’re trying to sell a story, at least make it realistic enough to be convincing.
see post above

another FACT, there has been proven to be Russian interference in the 2016 election - what say you now?

Trump has no evidence of anything untoward this election, all he is doing is turning American against American, he is putting down the very establishment that saw him elected in 2016

Bob Carr made a reference to the similarities to Hitler in the 1920's - he played a similar game to what Trump is doing now and that worked out well for him

And answer my question about the ballot papers - why is one result off the ballot paper fraud (against Republicans) but the other result is fine (for Republicans). They use one ballot paper for all voting

Last edited by Trevor 57; 10-11-2020 at 05:45 PM.
Old 10-11-2020, 05:44 PM   #304

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: Can't think of anyone more deserving. Russ Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all the technical support behind the scenes. Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Technical submission 

Originally Posted by chevypower View Post
@Trevor 57, did you find the Democrats “uniting” when Hillary called Trump supporters “a basket of deplorables?” Or when Joe Biden said “if you don’t vote for me, you’re not Black?” Did you find the Democrats accepted defeat when they spent 4 years trying to delegitimize the 2016 election? It’s your right to like and hate whoever you want, but if you’re trying to sell a story, at least make it realistic enough to be convincing.
Let's put the whole quote in there for context.

You know, to just be grossly generalistic, you could put half of Trump's supporters into what I call the basket of deplorables. (Laughter/applause) Right? (Laughter/applause) They're racist, sexist, homophobic, xenophobic, Islamophobic – you name it. And unfortunately, there are people like that. And he has lifted them up. He has given voice to their websites that used to only have 11,000 people – now have 11 million. He tweets and retweets their offensive hateful mean-spirited rhetoric. Now, some of those folks – they are irredeemable, but thankfully, they are not America.

But the "other" basket – the other basket – and I know because I look at this crowd I see friends from all over America here: I see friends from Florida and Georgia and South Carolina and Texas and – as well as, you know, New York and California – but that "other" basket of people are people who feel the government has let them down, the economy has let them down, nobody cares about them, nobody worries about what happens to their lives and their futures; and they're just desperate for change. It doesn't really even matter where it comes from. They don't buy everything he says, but – he seems to hold out some hope that their lives will be different. They won't wake up and see their jobs disappear, lose a kid to heroin, feel like they're in a dead-end. Those are people we have to understand and empathize with as well.

The next day, she expressed regret for "saying half", while insisting that Trump had deplorably amplified "hateful views and voices".
So she walked that statement back the next day.

I'm by no means a fan of Clinton.
Old 10-11-2020, 05:45 PM   #305

Originally Posted by marty351 View Post
This thread...
agreed and over here we have Trev, bleating his pov with support by his mate carr the crook and turn coat turnball (another divisionist no ?) - entertaining and he believes himself because he posted up links of great australians not
Go Trev, you can't get me I'm part of the Union.
Old 10-11-2020, 05:47 PM   #306

Originally Posted by FTE217 View Post
agreed and over here we have Trev, bleating his pov with support by his mate carr the crook and turn coat turnball (another divisionist no ?) - entertaining and he believes himself because he posted up links of great australians not
Go Trev, you can't get me I'm part of the Union.
quoted for prosperity

Just because you don't agree with Carr or Turnbull doesn't mean their rhetoric is wrong.

Now you are starting to act like an American, you can't disprove my statements so you make a personal slur - well done, you should be proud of yourself and the big Don will be proud of you too and will give you a big thumbs up (on his way out the door), you have joined his rhetoric
Old 10-11-2020, 05:51 PM   #307

Originally Posted by cs123 View Post
Let's put the whole quote in there for context.

So she walked that statement back the next day.

I'm by no means a fan of Clinton.
me either, in fact both sides are **** at putting up reasonable candidates. The Republicans hated Trump until it was obvious he might just win in 2016. The Clintons are as dodgy as ****
Old 10-11-2020, 06:47 PM   #308

Originally Posted by Trevor 57 View Post
me either, in fact both sides are **** at putting up reasonable candidates. The Republicans hated Trump until it was obvious he might just win in 2016. The Clintons are as dodgy as ****
That’s the way the media might have made it seem. Sure, some establishment GOP politicians were that way, but Trump gathered support from independents and what are now called “Classic Liberals” and libertarians during the primaries, and gained momentum without the traditional conservatives. Originally I was for Marco Rubio, though I wasn’t against Trump. I thought the GOP was lucky to have many great candidates. The media would have knocked anyone who wasn’t a Democrat, and they did. They even criticized Dr. Ben Carson. The guy is a freaking squeaky clean genius, but they still had to tear into him. Where was all the “anti racism” rhetoric then? People like Glenn Beck and Ben Shapiro didn’t support Trump until after the 2016 election. As the Democrat party shifted further left and became more in support of socialism, classic liberals shifted toward the Republican Party. It sucks having to call them Classic liberals, because leftists have nothing to do with true liberalism, though they have hijacked the label.
Old 10-11-2020, 07:00 PM   #309
anto
Za Dom spremni

you want facts - no problem

Votes (FACT 1):
Trump - 71,430,825

Biden - 76,327,446

that is a difference of 4,896,621 in favour of Biden (raw votes - NO MSM interference)

Litigation (FACT 2)

All FACTS - you need to stop listening to the ramblings of a madman and do a little search for yourself

FACT !!!!!!!!!!!!

Supreme Court Justice Samuel Alito on Friday ordered election officials across Pennsylvania to segregate mail-in ballots received after Election Day.
AU III XR8 red ute
Old 10-11-2020, 07:02 PM   #310
anto
Za Dom spremni

see post above

another FACT, there has been proven to be Russian interference in the 2016 election - what say you now?

Trump has no evidence of anything untoward this election, all he is doing is turning American against American, he is putting down the very establishment that saw him elected in 2016

Bob Carr made a reference to the similarities to Hitler in the 1920's - he played a similar game to what Trump is doing now and that worked out well for him

And answer my question about the ballot papers - why is one result off the ballot paper fraud (against Republicans) but the other result is fine (for Republicans). They use one ballot paper for all voting
There has been no evidence of russian collusion...stop making up rubbish . That boat sailed long ago.
AU III XR8 red ute
Old 10-11-2020, 07:10 PM   #311

quoted for prosperity

Just because you don't agree with Carr or Turnbull doesn't mean their rhetoric is wrong.

Now you are starting to act like an American, you can't disprove my statements so you make a personal slur - well done, you should be proud of yourself and the big Don will be proud of you too and will give you a big thumbs up (on his way out the door), you have joined his rhetoric

I have no care you wins power over there or anywhere else for that matter but here, I care when seeing people like you stand on one side of the fence as if there is no wrong doing but the other.
Trump is a goose but thats not to say the other isn't either, whats important is the party or team, blue red black white and its content, most times there is for and against from both sides.
Your just like the media going after an idiot who expose's himself with ease, such a easy target shows the intelliegence at hand or more so the same rhetoric behaviour think about it
By the way, I hardly recall much right from carr/turnball I'll rest there.
Old 10-11-2020, 07:15 PM   #312

@anto, he subtly distinguished it from “Russian collusion” by using the new term “Russian interference.” The only minor difference is the latter doesn’t implicate Trump’s involvement in any conspiracy. Now they only have to prove that someone In Russia had an opinion, and it’s all Trump’s fault. Meanwhile, Twitter and Facebook and pretty much all of corporate media are allowed to suppress stories about Hunter Biden and kickbacks to his father, even with receipts and the testimonies of the computer store and Hunter’s ex business partner. Nope, nothing to see there folks. Reality is whatever the media tells us it is.
Old 10-11-2020, 08:21 PM   #313
snap0964

Old 10-11-2020, 08:29 PM   #314

how long before biden starts another war??? in the middle east..
Old 10-11-2020, 08:39 PM   #315
PG2
#neuteredlyfe

Hey Everyone

The election has been held and won by the democrats. The thread topic is actually now done and dusted, however, I understand that people would like to talk about the result.

Despite being a political thread, we have let it run as people were being reasonable in their posting styles. It appears though, this has not been the case in the last day or so.

Either keep it on topic and be civil to each other or the usual suspects are going to back the moderators into a corner and have to close the thread.
Old 10-11-2020, 09:42 PM   #316

Originally Posted by PG2 View Post
Hey Everyone

The election has been held and won by the democrats. The thread topic is actually now done and dusted, however, I understand that people would like to talk about the result.

Despite being a political thread, we have let it run as people were being reasonable in their posting styles. It appears though, this has not been the case in the last day or so.

Either keep it on topic and be civil to each other or the usual suspects are going to back the moderators into a corner and have to close the thread.

It actually hasn’t been won by the democrats, no official final result for the presidential election has been made public.
Old 10-11-2020, 10:29 PM   #317
PG2
#neuteredlyfe

Originally Posted by nstg8a View Post
It actually hasn’t been won by the democrats, no official final result for the presidential election has been made public.
Fair enough. Let me rephrase...

If the thread continues in the same manner as it has in the last day or so, it will be closed before a result is made official.
Old 11-11-2020, 04:20 AM   #318
MustangStevo63

How do you make a Republican angry? Tell them lies

How do you make a Democrat angry? Tell them the TRUTH!!
Old 11-11-2020, 07:31 AM   #319
Fordman1

Originally Posted by anto View Post
There has been no evidence of russian collusion...stop making up rubbish . That boat sailed long ago.
He didn’t say Collusion, read it again (there’s a difference).
Old 11-11-2020, 07:37 AM   #320

I do find it amazing, and perhaps a little bit scary, how people in Australia get so worked up about the American electoral process. Care so much about the ego's and what they stand for like it in some way effects them directly and its their own vote that has been put in doubt...
Old 11-11-2020, 07:49 AM   #321
Fordman1

Originally Posted by Polyal View Post
I do find it amazing, and perhaps a little bit scary, how people in Australia get so worked up about the American electoral process. Care so much about the ego's and what they stand for like it in some way effects them directly and its their own vote that has been put in doubt...
It’s bizarre 👍
Old 11-11-2020, 08:03 AM   #322

Originally Posted by Fordman1 View Post
It’s bizarre 👍
And then go on like they are experts in the field, oh that and CV19 vaccine molecular composition technicians as well....I see a link between them and fanatical Labour and/or One Nation/Palmer Supporters
Old 11-11-2020, 08:49 AM   #323
sixman

And then go on like they are experts in the field, oh that and CV19 vaccine molecular composition technicians as well....I see a link between them and fanatical Labour and/or One Nation/Palmer Supporters

You know, one of the strongest reasons Trump resonates with people is they are are sick of others thinking they are superior and looking down at them as fools. Look it up, its a well described phenomenon. Now look how your posts look....Condescending much?

The social issues/politics/cultural wars in the American election are not unique and similar debates occur in Australia. The importance of the USA to Australian security (do you remember that we fall under there nuclear banner?) means that the US election and foreign policy direction is critical to us, not only for security but also trade.
Rear tyres: Toyo R888 265-30-19
3.5inch custom exhaust with imitation stock tip, PW Stage 2 cooler (black), ID 1000, XCAL3, Plazmaman intake, Herrod Spark Booster
BorgWarner EFR 9174
Autotech 420rwkw
Old 11-11-2020, 09:06 AM   #324

you could quote both sides of the ocean "we are strategic partners", "we are best friends", "we are part of ANZUS (without NZ)" etc, etc, etc

whether some here like it or not the USA directly impacts on us - did you forget old mate Trumps inclusion of us in his tariffs?

We should care in Australia what America does, it directly impacts us, how many US bases and military people are in Australia right now?

If you don't think that their election directly impacts on us then you have your head in the sand
Old 11-11-2020, 09:09 AM   #325

other than the obvious spelling mistake, that is is an extreme generalisation

I am not a fan of:
* enforced (COVID-19) vaccines (Liberal idea)
* Clive Palmer
* The Greens
* Pauline Hanson

I do however lean towards Labor's policies, because I care about ALL Australians not just the top end of town, although I do acknowledge when the Liberals get it right with social policies (which aren't that many, but there are some)
Old 11-11-2020, 09:18 AM   #326
Fordman1

Originally Posted by sixman View Post
You know, one of the strongest reasons Trump resonates with people is they are are sick of others thinking they are superior and looking down at them as fools. Look it up, its a well described phenomenon. Now look how your posts look....Condescending much?

The social issues/politics/cultural wars in the American election are not unique and similar debates occur in Australia. The importance of the USA to Australian security (do you remember that we fall under there nuclear banner?) means that the US election and foreign policy direction is critical to us, not only for security but also trade.
The strange thing is a large percentage of Trump Supporters come from demographics that are seriously struggling financially, socially etc, yet many aggressively oppose “Socialist systems” that many Western Countries have (because the Republicans very much oppose them) :

Healthcare (eg: our Medicare)
Unemployment benefits (eg: our Centrelink)
Public Housing (eg: Ministry of housing systems)
Subsidised Prescription medication.
Fair tax for low wage earners.
Etc ...

This apparently is “Communism” or “Radical Socialism” 😉

Ref: Australia, UK, France, Germany, Canada, etc

I say good luck to them, I like our Social systems here in Australia.
Old 11-11-2020, 09:40 AM   #327

Originally Posted by Fordman1 View Post
The strange thing is a large percentage of Trump Supporters come from demographics that are seriously struggling financially, socially etc, yet many aggressively oppose “Socialist systems” that many Western Countries have (because the Republicans very much oppose them) :

Healthcare (eg: our Medicare)
Unemployment benefits (eg: our Centrelink)
Public Housing (eg: Ministry of housing systems)
Subsidised Prescription medication.
Fair tax for low wage earners.
Etc ...

This apparently is “Communism” or “Radical Socialism” 😉

Ref: Australia, UK, France, Germany, Canada, etc

I say good luck to them, I like our Social systems here in Australia.
Spot on, the system is rigged and its every one else fault except theirs. oh yeah and the old cliché "the big end of town"...nice.

We need to move on from liberal = business minded and does care about people and Labour = basically a union movement...both extremes are not true.

I am not stupid enough to suggest international affairs do not effect us, of course they do, but the level of interest and detail some get into regarding American politics is perplexing when they probably haven't even stepped foot in the country. Their "knowledge" of their systems and beliefs is in some cases (perceived) to be greater than our own at times!

Also thankful for what we have, no system is perfect and you need a country to have a couple of healthy parties. But the antics internally of recent years makes it hard to be enthusiastic about domestic politics. Imagine if we have someone with a bit of charisma and brains..what a combo. Unfortunately it seems the system makes a goof out of otherwise intelligent people.
Old 11-11-2020, 09:41 AM   #328

As I stated I am a member of a US drag racing forum, they are mostly Trump supporters and the language around supporting those less fortunate is extraordinary. There is just no tolerance among them for supporting anyone other than themselves. I can't type here what they actually say as the auto-censor kicks in, but the lack of empathy is extreme
Old 11-11-2020, 09:44 AM   #329

Spot on, the system is rigged and its every one else fault except theirs. oh yeah and the old cliché "the big end of town"...nice.

We need to move on from liberal = business minded and does care about people and Labour = basically a union movement...both extremes are not true.

I am not stupid enough to suggest international affairs do not effect us, of course they do, but the level of interest and detail some get into regarding American politics is perplexing when they probably haven't even stepped foot in the country. Their "knowledge" of their systems and beliefs is in some cases (perceived) to be greater than our own at times!

Also thankful for what we have, no system is perfect and you need a country to have a couple of healthy parties. But the antics internally of recent years makes it hard to be enthusiastic about domestic politics. Imagine if we have someone with a bit of charisma and brains..what a combo. Unfortunately it seems the system makes a goof out of otherwise intelligent people.
without Googling I bet most Australians can't name our first PM and if they can, they generally get the name wrong, however they know who America's first President was - interesting eh?

What makes them goofy is that are forced to follow Party lines, if we followed the true intent of our Constitution then there would be no Parties, that would make a whole lot of difference for sure, people would debate and vote on either what their heart says or what their constituents want

Interesting that many, including you call the ALP a "union movement" well I would say the Liberal Party is a "bosses movement" controlled by lobbyists for big business, the Gina's, Twiggy's, AIG, Coal, etc

(PS please get the spelling of the Australian Labor Party correct - www.alp.org.au)

Last edited by Trevor 57; 11-11-2020 at 09:50 AM.
Old 11-11-2020, 09:51 AM   #330

anyway . . . . . . . . back to USA 2020 Election