Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
The Bar For non Automotive Related Chat |
30-05-2020, 07:53 PM | #3361 | ||
Looks like I still can't go to Adelaide for my yearly holiday to the lovely clean city, but Greece is welcoming me with open arms
https://www.9news.com.au/world/coron...0-a93c714422e5 Surely we should allow cross border travel within our own country before you allow us to fly to the other end of the planet |
30-05-2020, 07:54 PM | #3362 | |||
Mate...I ask you again where did i say kids are more contagious than adults? If simply quoting everything i posted is your best shot then mate...you better change your medication cause you are having hallucinations. Social distancing is impossible in schools, that is the point. Best if you stop posting till you see your doctor me thinks. |
30-05-2020, 09:53 PM | #3363 | ||
Finally...the link to how Corona virus jumps from one species to another revealed.
The essential ingredients are stupidity and third world levels of bio-security. we are all rooted... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YGNjo6upgo0 https://edition.cnn.com/2020/05/29/i...cli/index.html |
This user likes this post: |
30-05-2020, 09:58 PM | #3364 | |||
Greece does sound tempting. Would be hammering down the lamb Yeeros' big time.
31-05-2020, 10:07 AM | #3365 | ||
12 new cases for Australia and no deaths so CMR drops to 1.434% and active cases down to 6.6%.
No new cases or deaths for NZ so CMR is unchanged and active cases drop to 0.1% (1). The UK had just over 1.6k new cases and 215 deaths so the CMR is back down to 14.066%. Just over 24k new cases in the USA and 1,212 deaths sees CMR down to 5.832% and active cases down to 65.2%. Other notable points: Brazil had more than 30k new cases; The USA completed 17M tests; Turkey 2M and Peru 1M; Europe passed the 2M case mark; Asia reached 30k deaths; Myanmar (17), Nepal (189), Azerbaijan (257), Djibouti (281), Kazakhstan (450), Nigeria (553), Argentina (795), Afghanistan (866), Egypt (1,367), Colombia (1,548), Qatar (2,355), Peru (7,386), India (8,336) and Brazil (30,012) all recorded new daily highs.
Last edited by russellw; 31-05-2020 at 11:57 AM. |
31-05-2020, 11:49 AM | #3366 | ||
Sweden and Switzerland make an interesting case study as they have similar size populations but have adopted opposite strategies for dealing with Coronavirus; the former choosing a herd immunity approach and the latter using a model not dissimilar to ours.
Note: There is a big difference in population density - 219 km2 for Switzerland and 22.2 km 2 for Sweden and there is also a substantial difference in the amount of testing with Switzerland having tested 5593 / 100k while Sweden has only done 2910 / 100k. Both of those factors will obviously impact any comparison. Having said that, they have not dissimilar case numbers per 100k of population with Sweden having 452 and Switzerland 437 but where they do vary substantially is the deaths per 100k of population with Switzerland almost half the rate of Sweden (27.1 v 53.6) despite the higher population density. Hypothesis time. I'd argue that if Sweden had the same level of tests and only identified cases at the same level as Switzerland (12 tests to each positive) then the extra 160k tests would yield another 13k cases and make the case rate per 100k about 50% higher than Sweden. Conversely, it would also make the mortality rates almost identical which not only suggests that those numbers are more realistic but leads to the reasonable conclusion that the 50% higher infection rate is the price paid for taking the herd immunity approach but that mortality rates might still be about the same anyway. Of course, it's a comparison that is fraught with difficulties so it may offer no more than an indicator.
Last edited by russellw; 31-05-2020 at 01:16 PM. |
31-05-2020, 12:15 PM | #3367 | |||
AU3 ute EL futura
31-05-2020, 12:36 PM | #3368 | |||
I think a comparison with the combined figures from Norway and Finland with Sweden gives a better picture and reveals the true figures of how totally unsuccessful the Swedish plan has been. While the epidemic may still have some time to run it is not premature to write off the Swedish strategy. They have not achieved herd immunity and their attempt to isolate the vulnerable failed completely Bloody volvo drivers.. |
31-05-2020, 01:16 PM | #3370 | ||
Fixed.
31-05-2020, 02:06 PM | #3371 | |||
https://www.health.qld.gov.au/system...direction/help
Advice on going out, travel, recreation and gathering in Queensland Quote:
https://www.health.qld.gov.au/system...ring-direction
01-06-2020, 10:01 AM | #3372 | ||
It should be noted that the planned easing of restrictions in Victoria has been postponed until at least June 21st.
14 users like this post: |
01-06-2020, 10:53 AM | #3373 | |||
Tourism is this country’s lifeblood, so it ain’t good for the already fragile economy.. But they are determined to keep the numbers low at all cost. (Personally, ain’t good for us financially with no guests since Feb, but... Hey! What better place in the world to endure a pandemic then this paradise?)
Current vehicles.. Yamaha Rhino UTV, SWB 4L TJ Jeep, and boring Lhd RAV4 Bionic BF F6... UPDATE: Replaced by Shiro White 370z 7A Roadster. SOLD Workhack: FG Silhouette XR50 Turbo ute (11.63@127.44mph) SOLD 2 wheels.. 2015 103ci HD Wideglide.. SOLD SOLD THE LOT, Voted with our feet and relocated to COSTA RICA for some Pura Vida! (Ex Blood Orange #023 FPV Pursuit owner : ) |
01-06-2020, 11:05 AM | #3374 | ||
10 new cases for Australia and no deaths so CMR drops to 1.432% but active cases rise to 478 (6.6%).
No new cases or deaths for NZ so CMR is unchanged and active cases remain at 0.1% (1). The UK had just over 1.9k new cases and 113 deaths so the CMR is back down to 14.008%. Just over 24k new cases in the USA and 1,015 deaths sees CMR down to 5.81% and active cases down to 64.7%. Other notable points: The USA dropped below 30% of global cases; Brazil passes 500k and Russia passes 400k cases; Asia recorded a new daily high of 29,277 new cases; South America passed 40k deaths; Africa CMR (2.85) dropped below that of Asia (2.71); Kazakhstan (476), Bahrain (605), Bolivia (861), Oman (1,014), Egypt (1,536), Bangladesh (2,545), Pakistan (3,039), Peru (8,805) and India (8,782) all recorded new daily highs.
Last edited by russellw; 01-06-2020 at 01:56 PM. |
01-06-2020, 01:48 PM | #3375 | ||
For those who believe that the worst is behind us, in a global sense that is far from true.
The global new case rates have been trending upward and this last week contained five of the ten highest daily tallies we've seen thus far. This is due, in part, to the increasing case numbers in Africa which has recorded highest totals over the last five days but also South America and Asia which have both recorded their two highest totals in the last week.
4 users like this post: |
01-06-2020, 05:37 PM | #3376 | ||
🚫⏰4️⃣🐃💩
I sincerely hope, once the Australian borders open, all those people planning to travel overseas on holiday, think again.
We need to do everything we can, as Australians to recover, and boost our economy. Travelling within Australia will go a long way in helping our tourist industry recover, and in turn helping our own economy. Keep the money in Australia. Not long ago there were cries of 'boycott China'. Well, for the next couple of years at least, we need to not only boycott China, but every other country as a holiday spot. |
01-06-2020, 05:44 PM | #3377 | |||
(especially Queensland.) Flying in Australia is a humiliating process with the likes of Jetstar and all the airport bull crap. |
01-06-2020, 05:55 PM | #3378 | |||
QLD would probably see heaps of tourists if it opens the borders since it is much nicer in winter then freezing your **** off down here |
01-06-2020, 07:07 PM | #3379 | |||
🚫⏰4️⃣🐃💩
Then again, QLD is the Chinese favoured destination. So QLD government being so eager would probably lobby the government to open the borders asap. What could be worse than Chinese tourists coming to Australia in the middle of winter and catching a flu?? |
01-06-2020, 07:10 PM | #3380 | |||
No way our international borders will be open for a long time. |
01-06-2020, 09:58 PM | #3381 | |||
Unbelievably the Hobart Airport management were well in negotiations with China Air with cheap runway charges to entice them to make Hobart the gateway for Chinese tourists. Can you imagine what the number of Covid hotspots there would be if this happened just 6 months later? |
01-06-2020, 10:07 PM | #3382 | ||
Qld health have confirmed further tests show that the 30 year old miner from Blackwater did not have the carona virus before he died last week. The true cause of death is yet to be confirmed.
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-06-...topsy/12307546 |
01-06-2020, 11:27 PM | #3383 | |||
4 users like this post: |
02-06-2020, 06:00 AM | #3384 | ||
02-06-2020, 06:20 AM | #3385 | ||
The poor fella had cancer FFS. RIP and howt he heck that gets caught up with CV19 who knows. Perhaps QLD gov still trying to justify keeping the place shut.
02-06-2020, 06:27 AM | #3386 | ||
I felt it was insinuated by a number of the initial reports on his death, that he’d contracted the virus by some less-than-honourable means. Either playing the field behind his partner’s back or pursuit of illegal substances.
02-06-2020, 07:35 AM | #3387 | |||
HUGH JARSE
Will we find out the true story? Oh, and you know that nurse from Rocky that has been travelling all over the countryside infecting every man and his dog in the pursuit of the perfect sunset? It seems she drove to Minneapolis and infected that big black bloke as well. No this is true. They have conducted two autopsies so far and each has come up with a different cause of death. I'm sure if they conduct another autopsy it will reveal that it was the Rocky nurse's fault. If they fail to carry out the third autopsy it is because they want to hide the real truth - that's what we want - truth over facts, or was that facts over truth? |
3 users like this post: |
02-06-2020, 08:05 AM | #3388 | |||
Never suspect conspiracy when incompetence explains things better. |
02-06-2020, 08:52 AM | #3389 | ||
Heard on the radio this morning they're planning to organise a 'thankyou' concert to our 'frontline' health workers.
Ummmm, not wanting to troll, but thankyou for what exactly? Let's face it, this hasn't come close to stretching resources in Australia. The max number of ICU patients statewide in NSW was only 43 at any one time. Surely if we're going to be thanking anyone, it will be the lab workers doing covid-19 testing who have processed nearly 1.5 million samples so far? |
3 users like this post: |
02-06-2020, 09:21 AM | #3390 | |||
I thought a little bonus at tax time might be nice, but thats about it. God forbid we go to war one day....