You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 30-08-2021, 03:43 PM   #3511
.:4:.
Kicking back

Default Re: What made you feel good today?

I was speaking to my brother, he is a motorcycle guy, im a boat guy. He was telling me one of his old neighbours called for a chin wag. This bloke was a jetski guy, but after having kids bought a seadoo jet boat. So a 310hp supercharged 1300cc kawasaki in a light 4.8m (i think) hull. I got my boat new in 2003. So 220hp stern drive, 5.3m hull, pretty heavy as it isnt bare bones. Its got a sun bed, swim deck and a few other things that deffinately do not add lightness. So obviously my brother has been on my boat more then a handfull of times. So he knows enough. So when he told his mate 95km gps top speed on an even tide (so no current) his mate said what in the crap? 95 is fast for a boat but not rediculous. And my boats rev limiter is at 4800rpm. 70kmh is considered pretty fast for any boat. The smaller, lighter, more nimble and more powerful seadoo revs to the moon but apparently runs out of legs at mid to high 70s. It will most deffinately get there much quicker, and at full tilt, probably a heap more fun. But still im a tad bit surprised a much lighter, powerful and more performance orientated boat doesnt have the legs of my more practical day trip boat. And by practical, im talking things like no reason to bring an esky aboard, it has an ice box, it has power steering as opposed to simple hydraulic steering. Stuff like that.
.:4:. is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-08-2021, 09:07 AM   #3512
slowsnake

Does a jetski aquaplane like a boat?
My brothers boats all got up and planed in the right conditions, pretty flat ocean, we used to go out from a Ocean Reef Perth, but once it got up to speed it just planed across the water, maybe that's what's going on!

Cheers Billy

Last edited by slowsnake; 31-08-2021 at 09:09 AM. Reason: Misspelt
slowsnake is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-08-2021, 09:59 AM   #3513
Kicking back

My brothers mate has a jet boat. So yes it planes. Jetskis do too. The jet boat is designed more for thrashing about, hence why its light and nimble. So its (dunno the marine term) geared short for acceleration. Its still not slow at all. The biggest difference apart from one being a jet drive and mine having an outdrive, is the engines. The jetboat has a 310hp supercharged 1300cc 4 cylinder that weighs next to nothing and revs to the moon. Mine has a 4.3L V6 that weighs (dry) 462kgs, makes 220hp and revs to 4800rpm. So whilst i have more top end, no chance mine could out accelerate or handle like the seadoo. Although, that being said, stability. My previous boat was a 4.7m with a 60hp 2 stroke outboard. It was light as a feather. Not heavy enough to require a braked trailer, but it bobbed like a cork at anchor, and got blown around in the wind etc. My current 5.3m is stupid heavy for its size, but is way more stable. Doesnt get bullied around by nature. Although, its got conflicting numbers. Tape measure says 5.3m. Hull plate says 5.8m. Rego papers say 5.7m. I think the manufacturer manipulated numbers to get away with the engine package. In basic form it came with a 135hp 3L 4 banger. The efi 4.3L v6 was a 9k option. I know that part as that box was ticked and i had to wait a few months for the boat to be built to my specs. Yeah ive had it since new in 03, but i still wouldnt change it.
Old 31-08-2021, 10:26 AM   #3514
Tassie f100

Originally Posted by .:4:. View Post
My brothers mate has a jet boat. So yes it planes. Jetskis do too. The jet boat is designed more for thrashing about, hence why its light and nimble. So its (dunno the marine term) geared short for acceleration. Its still not slow at all. The biggest difference apart from one being a jet drive and mine having an outdrive, is the engines. The jetboat has a 310hp supercharged 1300cc 4 cylinder that weighs next to nothing and revs to the moon. Mine has a 4.3L V6 that weighs (dry) 462kgs, makes 220hp and revs to 4800rpm. So whilst i have more top end, no chance mine could out accelerate or handle like the seadoo. Although, that being said, stability. My previous boat was a 4.7m with a 60hp 2 stroke outboard. It was light as a feather. Not heavy enough to require a braked trailer, but it bobbed like a cork at anchor, and got blown around in the wind etc. My current 5.3m is stupid heavy for its size, but is way more stable. Doesnt get bullied around by nature. Although, its got conflicting numbers. Tape measure says 5.3m. Hull plate says 5.8m. Rego papers say 5.7m. I think the manufacturer manipulated numbers to get away with the engine package. In basic form it came with a 135hp 3L 4 banger. The efi 4.3L v6 was a 9k option. I know that part as that box was ticked and i had to wait a few months for the boat to be built to my specs. Yeah ive had it since new in 03, but i still wouldnt change it.
Just as an aside,pretty sure boats are measured around the gunwhale rather straight from front to rear,so that would be where you are getting 30-40 cm difference
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-08-2021, 10:37 AM   #3515
Kicking back

Originally Posted by Tassie f100 View Post
Just as an aside,pretty sure boats are measured around the gunwhale rather straight from front to rear,so that would be where you are getting 30-40 cm difference
Measured it in all ways and never came close to 5.8m. Ive got a generic boat cover on it thats for 5.4m bowriders and thats not a tight fit. I cant really complain though. Bayliner 175s and other 5.3m boats only had a 135hp option for a stern drive. I have a mate with a 5.8m maxum with the same 220 and its deffinately bigger.
Old 31-08-2021, 10:50 AM   #3516
Tassie f100

Maybe it is measured on the keel line from stern to anchor roller
Old 31-08-2021, 11:01 AM   #3517
Kicking back

Originally Posted by Tassie f100 View Post
Maybe it is measured on the keel line from stern to anchor roller
Done that too. From the underside from stern to bow even with the curvature, it came in at 5.5m. I still cant complain. Its a convenient size, as in managable for 1 person to launch etc, but as im sure 135hp would still move it, 220hp is more. Also, for its age, it still looks modern. Its an 03 stejcraft islander. Metal flake blue gel coat. Its a bow rider, i think they stopped making them years back but continued the half cabs. From memory they only started making the half cabs in 05.
Old 31-08-2021, 06:28 PM   #3518
slowsnake

If all that measuring made you feel good the past few days then I'd hate to see what makes you feel ecstatic!...

Cheers Billy
Old 01-09-2021, 08:04 AM   #3519

Happy first day of Spring everyone.
Taking the day off and going for a bushwalk.

Old 01-09-2021, 11:26 AM   #3520
TrVrPhiLpsiNdstrys

Getting back on here for the first time in a week

The First day of spring

My continual weight loss journey

The bloke who now owns my last falcon coming over to buy the prestige plates that used to be registered with it and giving him the last of my parts that still gave me any kind of attachment to it.

Just everything in general right now ... except for the C word that is destroying so many peoples livelihoods down south right now

My thoughts are with you guys...x...

Daz
Old 01-09-2021, 02:01 PM   #3521
ford71V8

The sun and collecting a book from the library.
ford71V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-09-2021, 02:50 PM   #3522
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willingly providing technical info and documents, despite glitches. 

Sitting out in the alfresco area whilst working on the laptop. Sure, I'd be even better if I didn't have to work, but at east the sun's out and it's a nice day.

Expecting tops of 27 deg here tomoz, so it's going to feel very summery! Might even have to drag the shorts out of the cupboard

Life is a journey, not a destination.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Daily: 2013 FGII EcoLPi in Winter White
Play: 2015 FG X XR8 in Emperor Show' N Shine thread

Gone, but not forgotten: 2015 SZII petrol Titanium Territory in Emperor
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-09-2021, 03:16 PM   #3523

Originally Posted by FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0 View Post
Expecting tops of 27 deg here tomoz, so it's going to feel very summery! Might even have to drag the shorts out of the cupboard
Shorts !! Haven't put them away yet.

Old 01-09-2021, 04:15 PM   #3524
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willingly providing technical info and documents, despite glitches. 

Originally Posted by roKWiz View Post
I'm soft. And you tend to feel the cold a bit more when you're just sitting at a desk....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Old 01-09-2021, 04:22 PM   #3525
Tassie f100

Thats alright for you tough men who somehow manage to survive 18+deg days wearing only shorts and singlet.My shorts and T shirt get filed away from about end of April til about now.6-8 deg is too much for my old joints.
Old 01-09-2021, 06:00 PM   #3526

Originally Posted by FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0 View Post
I'm soft. And you tend to feel the cold a bit more when you're just sitting at a desk....
No good wearing long pants for work, when handling granite, usually sharp edges cut them off just above the knees within a day, then when you kneel the knee gets stuck in newly ripped hole and tends to make you fall over.
Shorts have their problem too, cutting granite is like cutting glass so you usually come home with bloody nicked legs.

Not a good look either way.

Old 01-09-2021, 07:58 PM   #3527
Rallye Sport
RS The Faster Fords

Happy first day of Spring everyone.
Taking the day off and going for a bushwalk.
We've had some good rain over here this year so wildflower season is looking promising.
Doing a bit of bushwalking myself, I've got a couple of weeks off between jobs.
Finding some early bush orchids and taking some pics is making me feel good.

FG XR50 Daily.
Rallye Sport is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-09-2021, 08:02 PM   #3528
slowsnake

Tiger orchid.....nice...

Do you know West Australia is the only place a special orchid grows and flowers underground, very hard to find too...

Cheers Billy
Old 01-09-2021, 08:35 PM   #3529
shedcoupe

My wife is on a ten day road trip with a girlfriend gang and has been sending photographs of wildflowers which are even more spectacular and numerous this year due to the wet winter.
I’m very happy she is discovering the beauty of the west which is a very different beauty when compared to her birth country.
shedcoupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2021, 12:03 PM   #3530

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Newest hive doing well, just a few days in.
The three established hives now have three supers each, it’s getting to the stage where they almost need a DA to go higher.
Citroënbender is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2021, 12:21 PM   #3531
shedcoupe

After not having kept bees for many years I set up three hives last year with new nucs (not quite sure why - it’s not like I don’t have enough to do already ....).
One is strong and powering, one is weak, and one queen ran away or died.
The tagasastes are flowering so there’s plenty of tucker for bees.

Last edited by shedcoupe; 02-09-2021 at 12:26 PM.
shedcoupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2021, 12:32 PM   #3532
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Sitting out in the alfresco area whist WFH, in shorts and a t-shirt.

So nice not having to have the heater on. I know it will only be short lived, but I'm loving it while I can!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Old 02-09-2021, 02:11 PM   #3533
slowsnake

Well it wasn't waking up at 2 am and wishing I could get a night's sleep that actually refreshed me, and it wasn't the driving rain and wind banging my already blown over back fence ( 6 weeks now ) against my $3000 aircon unit!
What made me feel good was checking my bank account, it was pension day yesterday so all bills paid automatically overnight, and, finding I had over $200 bucks left?.....all bills paid up, half tank fuel in the AU, grocery shopping done, cat asleep in front of the heater, I mean does it get any better......oh and no doctors or hospital appointments today, this is ambrosia!, and it feels ok....

Cheers Billy

Last edited by slowsnake; 02-09-2021 at 02:13 PM. Reason: Add bit
Old 02-09-2021, 06:05 PM   #3534

Got back into rust work on my car.
Had the passengers guard off for about 2 weeks sitting in the shed patiently waiting for me to get my shiyte together.
Inner guard support rotten, off to Rare Spares tomorrow for a new one.
Previous rust repair in the bottom of the guard, but it's an overlap.
Still in good nick, but not sure I like it, might chop it out and do a butt weld repair.
See what it looks like when I get the inner support completely off.
Old 02-09-2021, 07:11 PM   #3535
slowsnake

Originally Posted by jaydee View Post
Had the passengers guard off for about 2 weeks sitting in the shed patiently waiting for me to get my shiyte together.
Still in good nick, but not sure I like it, might chop it out and do a butt weld repair.
My nemesis was/used to be "rust" I hated telling a mate that I would look at their car for em, 70's and 80's and inform them its not just "a bit of rust" before I even looked, they would say, you haven't seen it yet!..

I would laugh, and laugh some more, then when I fixed it for free, never charge my mates ever, still don't, but they knew I drunk VB throw downs, but I always put the "bit of rust" in a bucket on the front seat, I was always amazed at their faces when they asked what that bucket full of sh.t was on the seat!
I would say "just a little bit of rust"...

Last edited by slowsnake; 02-09-2021 at 07:16 PM. Reason: Add bit more rust!
Old 02-09-2021, 07:24 PM   #3536
slowsnake

Originally Posted by slowsnake View Post
Tiger orchid.....nice...

Do you know West Australia is the only place a special orchid grows and flowers underground, very hard to find too...

Cheers Billy

Western Australia's incredible underground orchid
Date:
February 9, 2011
Source:
University of Western Australia
Summary:
Rhizanthella gardneri is a cute, quirky and critically endangered orchid that lives all its life underground. It even blooms underground, making it virtually unique amongst plants. Last year, using radioactive tracers, scientists showed that the orchid gets all its nutrients by parasitizing fungi associated with the roots of broom bush, a woody shrub of the Western Australia outback. Now, with less than 50 individuals left in the wild, scientists have made a timely and remarkable discovery about its genome

It's true, it really grows and blooms underground!
Old 03-09-2021, 09:20 AM   #3537
slowsnake

Oh I don't know, make something up for me!....

Cheers 14X
Old 03-09-2021, 09:38 AM   #3538
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Originally Posted by slowsnake View Post
Oh I don't know, make something up for me!....

Cheers 14X
It's expected to be a couple of degrees warmer over in the west today?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Old 03-09-2021, 10:58 AM   #3539
five 7

Originally Posted by jaydee View Post
One vote here for the butt weld Jaydee those lap joints are a recipe for rust.
five 7 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-09-2021, 12:18 PM   #3540

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Not maliciously,

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-09-...t-96/100431024

A good innings. How can anyone not like his best-known tune?
Citroënbender is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post