You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 16-06-2011, 06:48 PM   #4321
fordman302

Default Re: Epic Fail's - Car related....

If I was so proud of the car o bought I would want everyone to know who made it, maybe I will put a Honda sticker only cheap copy Chinese generator
Old 16-06-2011, 08:04 PM   #4322

Originally Posted by Falcman0o7
Oh dear....I'm not talking about 40 years ago.
And i'm pretty sure a mustang is a ford
GM is GM is GM is GM, all the same company in the end.
Forgetting that since the 70's Aussies used to put Chev badges on their Holdens when they put a Chev small block in their cars?
Old 16-06-2011, 08:07 PM   #4323
ZC-Cruiser
The car's got pickup

Originally Posted by MethodX
Forgetting that since the 70's Aussies used to put Chev badges on their Holdens when they put a Chev small block in their cars?
Thank goodness Al Gore invented the internet so we can put the latest crop in a Fail Thread
Old 16-06-2011, 08:18 PM   #4324
Falcman0o7

Originally Posted by Ryan
Well...

Festivas were/are re-badged Kias.

Lasers were/are re-badged Mazdas.

Mavericks were/are re-badged Patrols.

Corsairs were/are re-badged Pintaras.

Telstars were/are re-badged Mazdas.

There's more to Ford than just the Falcon. Ford have done plenty of taking this piece from here, re-badging that car with a Ford badge over the years. Holden just do what most car manufacturers do, take a car from another manufacturer and put their badge on it, but at least the majority are from within GM. Can't recall many "badge engineered" Holdens from outside of GM.

Also I agree with Chev badges on Commodores . I've always been one to believe a car should be badged as it did from factory. If someone had a Toyota Lexcen and put Holden badges on it they would be just as bad IMO.

Commodores get sold as Chevs over seas, but I see no problem with that as that's what they're sold as and that's what it has on its rego, insurance etc.

I would NEVER put a Chev badge on a Holden. Chevs are cool, but if I wanted a Chev I would just buy one.
True....

But most fords these days are FORDS.
Holdens are still bitsas
Old 16-06-2011, 08:23 PM   #4325

Originally Posted by Falcman0o7
True....

But most fords these days are FORDS.
Holdens are still bitsas
GM is GM, all the same company.
Old 16-06-2011, 08:24 PM   #4326

Originally Posted by ZC-Cruiser
Thank goodness Al Gore invented the internet so we can put the latest crop in a Fail Thread
You mean like the Failane failed?
Old 16-06-2011, 08:33 PM   #4327
ZC-Cruiser
The car's got pickup

Originally Posted by Ryan
Can't recall many "badge engineered" Holdens from outside of GM.
Nova and Apollo - Toyota
Original Barina - Suzuki Swift
2005 Barina - Daewoo Kalos
Epica - Daewoo Tosca
Rodeo - Isuzu
Jackeroo - Isuzu
Shuttle - Isuzu
Piazza - Isuzu
Astra - Nissan Pulsar
Old 16-06-2011, 08:57 PM   #4328

Originally Posted by ZC-Cruiser
Nova and Apollo - Toyota
Original Barina - Suzuki Swift
2005 Barina - Daewoo Kalos
Epica - Daewoo Tosca
Rodeo - Isuzu
Jackeroo - Isuzu
Shuttle - Isuzu
Piazza - Isuzu
Astra - Nissan Pulsar
Holden and Toyota hadd an alliance at the time, and were one company, disbanded now.
Isuzu was part of GM for many years, no longer.
Old 16-06-2011, 09:11 PM   #4329
fordman302

Yeah yet isuzu d max and Holden Colorado are the same thing
Old 16-06-2011, 09:23 PM   #4330

Holden and Toyota hadd an alliance at the time, and were one company, disbanded now
are you suggesting that gm owned toyota or toyota owned holden??

they did share some cars, but when were they the one company
Old 16-06-2011, 09:27 PM   #4331

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

This thread is becoming a fail.
Old 16-06-2011, 09:27 PM   #4332
irish2

Originally Posted by gtxb67

Never. But you already knew the answer to that.
Old 16-06-2011, 09:28 PM   #4333

Originally Posted by gtxb67

I seem to remember them forming an alliance and sharing cars.
Because of the Button plan.
United Australian Automobile Industries (UAAI) was a firm founded in Australia in 1989 as the result of an agreement between Holden (the Australian subsidiary of General Motors) and Toyota. Disbanded in 1997.
Old 16-06-2011, 09:40 PM   #4334
fasty73

EPIC FAIL.
Old 16-06-2011, 09:44 PM   #4335
P6LTD351
Blue Blood

GM is GM is GM is GM, all the same company in the end.
GM is GM. GM is the Parent company of Chev and Holden. Chev is NOT Holden. Has got nothing to do with Holden. This is regardless of where the engine comes from. These people who put Chev badges on their Holden's may as well put a Cadillac badge on. Do they put Nissan badges on their VLs?

I might go and put a Mustang badge on my XR8s now.
1986 XF Fairmont Ghia 4.1L EFI Regency Red, trip computer, venetians - 163Ks
1979 P6 LTD 351, Goldust - 185Ks
1989 Mazda MX5, Red 1.6L, 5sp manual - 102Ks
Old 16-06-2011, 09:49 PM   #4336

Originally Posted by eb2monty
GM is GM. GM is the Parent company of Chev and Holden. Chev is NOT Holden. Has got nothing to do with Holden. This is regardless of where the engine comes from. These people who put Chev badges on their Holden's may as well put a Cadillac badge on. Do they put Nissan badges on their VLs?

I might go and put a Mustang badge on my XR8s now.
Holden never used Cadillac engines in their classic cars, but they did use Chevrolet.
Ford Aus is NOT Ford America then is it going by your rationale.
Old 16-06-2011, 09:55 PM   #4337
stang65
FPRJET

Which Ford and nissan had the same agreement under the Button Plan.
Also ford owns part of Mazda and did with the 323/Laser and the 626/Telstar.
Old 16-06-2011, 09:58 PM   #4338
P6LTD351
Blue Blood

Holden never used Cadillac engines in their classic cars, but they did use Chevrolet.
Ford Aus is NOT Ford America then is it going by your rationale.
I know that Holden didn't Cadillac engines. I was just using a silly example to illustrate the point. The fact is, putting a Chev badge on a Holden is trying to make it something that it's not.

So going by your logic it's fine to put a Mustang badge on my XR8 without it being something that it's not? I don't know where you're going with Ford Aus vs Ford America. Are you saying that because Ford America is the parent company that it would be logical for me to put Mustang badges on my Windsors?
Old 16-06-2011, 09:59 PM   #4339
fasty73

Holden did use Buick engines.
Old 16-06-2011, 10:02 PM   #4340
P6LTD351
Blue Blood

Originally Posted by fasty73
Holden did use Buick engines.
Was in the VN?
Old 16-06-2011, 10:03 PM   #4341

seriously, who cares if someone puts a chev badge on their holden. it neither enhances, nor detracts - a skoda badge might enchance either of them though

it is their car, so they can do what they want - i am sure there are things that "normal" people do that makes chev-badged-holden owners scratch their heads too. for the good of humanity, i just hope the bowtie holden folk don't put the family stickers on their cars - imagine the uproar here. the forum would implode
Old 16-06-2011, 10:06 PM   #4342

Originally Posted by eb2monty
I know that Holden didn't Cadillac engines. I was just using a silly example to illustrate the point. The fact is, putting a Chev badge on a Holden is trying to make it something that it's not.

So going by your logic it's fine to put a Mustang badge on my XR8 without it being something that it's not? I don't know where you're going with Ford Aus vs Ford America. Are you saying that because Ford America is the parent company that it would be logical for me to put Mustang badges on my Windsors?
Putting chev badges on has always been around, was seen as an ok thing to do in the 70's and 80's. on Hq's Torana's
Only now does it have its detractors, with Holden and Ford being labelled as Bogan cars.
Old 16-06-2011, 10:09 PM   #4343
P6LTD351
Blue Blood

Putting chev badges on has always been around, was seen as an ok thing to do in the 70's and 80's Hq's Torana's
Only now does it have its detractors, with Holden and Ford being labelled as Bogan cars.
Yeah I know it has been around forever. Growing up as a kid in the 80s and looking at Street Machine I would see all of the old Holdens with Chev badges. It confused me then. It seemed as if Australians wanted their 'Australian Holden' to be American - sort of an inferiority complex. To me there is more to the car than the origin of the engine.
Old 16-06-2011, 10:19 PM   #4344
GreenR

Not that I really care if Commodores have Chev badges or not, but reading all through those comments I found a few interesting reasons that people had.
1. The Holden badges on the front grill is massive and deemed ugly and unnecessary (particularly on the VE)
2. Holden charge too much money for new badges so people buy Chev ones for much cheaper
Old 16-06-2011, 10:41 PM   #4345

Would having a multitude of stickers on the back of a ute/van/wagon be an epic fail too?

Old 16-06-2011, 10:52 PM   #4346
martinijosh
▇ ▅ █ ▅ ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▅ ▃ ▅ ▅

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Excellent guide for headlamp repair. 

Originally Posted by TheInterceptor
Would having a multitude of stickers on the back of a ute/van/wagon be an epic fail too?
Yeah. Rum pigs are pretty fail.
Headlights don't work in your B Series? Here's how to fix it!
Old 16-06-2011, 10:53 PM   #4347
MGGT RAA
AUII XR8, BA XR8 290 UTE

Epic failing threads thread next?
Old 17-06-2011, 12:21 AM   #4348
nipper575

LOL, only have to mention the word "Chev badge" and watch the next 100 posts turn into a big debate.
Old 17-06-2011, 12:21 AM   #4349
martinijosh
▇ ▅ █ ▅ ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▅ ▃ ▅ ▅

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Excellent guide for headlamp repair. 

Originally Posted by nipper575
LOL, only have to mention the word "Chev badge" and watch the next 100 posts turn into a big debate.
*** CHEV, *** COMMODORE, *** *** CNT ***!
Headlights don't work in your B Series? Here's how to fix it!
Old 17-06-2011, 01:38 AM   #4350
|Nate

I'm going to...you know, stay on topic: