Old 15-01-2011, 08:23 AM   #421
Mercury 8

I have not read any of this thread since I posted yesterday morning nor seen the news so sorry.Unbelievable is all I can say.Before I got to my mates place that took .8m into bottom level a generater was awaiting.Don't know who he was but turned up into street and asked my mate if he could use it.Was still in it's packing.With thousands of sandbags to be shifted the council were on the job.Trucks of workers helping disasemble and getting rid of them,others removing damaged furniture and goods,Great job.An old fellow who went through the 74 floods helping out. People randomly wandering in offering help.People with eskies full of food,others with drinks,old mate in the Hummer with boxes of ice blocks as the day warmed up.Those who were lucky rolling up there sleeves.People cooking BBQ's and sending sausage sizzles down the street.A big thankyou to Subway at Morningside.Sent my daughter up to pickup around 100 dollars worth and they wouldn't take the money.Di Farmer our local pollie dragging an esky down the street.No film crews or introductions,just helping out.Kevin Rudd's guys,one in a Porsche,opens up the bonnet................or was it the boot,pulls out all sorts of gear to help.Sporting clubs in the droves.The police keeping an eye on the flood effected areas,lots of houses where people are away ect,so justing making sure those places are secure.I have always loved our community of Bulimba/Balmoral/Hawthorne and Morningside and yesterdays event reminded me of how great it is.Plenty more to mention.Some advice to anyone who wants to help.Bring some gear with you.Be it a mop and bucket or a broom or general cleaning stuff.This is the biggest problem.Petrol gurneys and generaters are in desperate need to make the task easier.Where the house took water you need to start from outside,driveway ect to stop the mud being dragged back in otherwise your efforts can be futile.The mud is so thick it is hard to walk with sandbags ect as well.Thankyou to all queenslanders,you make me proud to be a part.The cleanup continues,the suburbs that went under needs your help so don't hesitate.Now is the time to help our fellow man.
Mercury 8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2011, 08:34 AM   #422

Fantastic effort you guys with the BBQ, shows the great spirit Aussies have helping out !
I would serioulsy come up, but i am working 6-7days a week on the Governments Disaster Recovery Payment phone line, trying to help people get some emergency fund-age, they sure as hell need it !
Top job guys, will send out some rep when i am home next (on a real pc)
Old 15-01-2011, 09:20 AM   #423
Mercury 8

Originally Posted by Lukeyson
Fantastic effort you guys with the BBQ, shows the great spirit Aussies have helping out !
I would serioulsy come up, but i am working 6-7days a week on the Governments Disaster Recovery Payment phone line, trying to help people get some emergency fund-age, they sure as hell need it !
Top job guys, will send out some rep when i am home next (on a real pc)

Hey Lukeyson,you may not be on the front line with the cleanup but trust me your services are helping.So many people in need relying on guys like yourself working in the background.Your efforts are helping relieve the pain that so many are suffering.Thanks mate.To all out there who can help in any way be it big or small,the battle has just begun so pitch in,be it at Dalby,Rocky,Bundaberg,Towoomba,Brisbane or any of the vast area that has been effected.As Australians this is going to bring communities back together.and together we can continue to rebuild.
Mercury 8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2011, 11:18 AM   #424

I am heading down to Rocklea to help out on of my suppliers who had 5 meters of water thru his business. I'm taking a 13hp spitwater gernie with a 30 meter hose and generator. If any of the AFF members who got flooded want to borrow either give me a call on 0408 220 503
Old 15-01-2011, 11:49 AM   #425
Corzza

Thousands of Volunteers filling into brisbane

Race 2 Clipsal 500 2014

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8NOZvWBp4Eo

"I plucked her into first, gave it some jandal and F@#$ Yeah!" - Scott McLaughlin
Corzza is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2011, 12:27 PM   #426

A bloke on the news the other night summed it up perfectly. A few years back, in Hurricane Katrina, the place flooded and the streets turned to anarchy. Robberies, looting, crime happened there, yet here we see levels of help and mateship only Australia can provide.
Old 15-01-2011, 01:55 PM   #427
My poor XF
Geelong FC 07, 09 & 2011

Originally Posted by rodderz
A bloke on the news the other night summed it up perfectly. A few years back, in Hurricane Katrina, the place flooded and the streets turned to anarchy. Robberies, looting, crime happened there, yet here we see levels of help and mateship only Australia can provide.
Too right, this country might not be the biggest and it sure has it's faults but I wouldn't want to live anywhere else.
Old 15-01-2011, 02:03 PM   #428
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

Originally Posted by My poor XF
Too right, this country might not be the biggest and it sure has it's faults but I wouldn't want to live anywhere else.
Agree 100%.
Full Noise is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2011, 02:31 PM   #429

Originally Posted by My poor XF
I tried to give you rep points but im at my limit with them, when i can i will. I 110% agree, id never live anywhere else EVER im a proud Aussie and a proud QUEENSLANDER. The mateship that has been shown is nothing short of astounding, i emptied my pantry today to give to someone who will need it.
DJM83 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2011, 07:22 PM   #430

Great day out with the BBQ today - we've still got a heap of food so tomorrow is a goer, even been getting calls this afternoon asking if I'm doing Monday too.... not sure yet.

My count, based on bread usage is that we fed a smidge over 180 people today. Lots of hungry people out there and the mess they were living in and trying to clean was epic.

I had one or two people throughout the day whinge about the fact that the council was still sending volunteers and they didn't need them - comments about poor management etc but I will tell you this - if you're complaining about having too much help by 2pm on the first day of the official clean up, the council has done a spectacular job.

It sort of looks un-organised, but there was definitely a well communicated plan to every house in the are of Rocklea that we were. Every house dumped everything on the nature strip, blokes in bobcats worked like ants getting it into a never-ending stream of trucks who just kept taking the crap away.

As you would expect, people were very happy to see us, particularly in one street that geckoGT was keen to hit. The people in that street had lost pretty much everything, they were not wealthy people by any stretch and were made up a mix of a few Aussies, a few Islanders and the majority appeared Indian.

All were very well mannered, polite and were very gracious in accepting our meagre support. At one stage I reckon there was a line of around 30 people at the back of the ute and there was PLENTY of sangas, cupcakes, water and soft-drinks to go around.

We would have liked to give away more but I guess we have to remember that the less we handed over, the better the overall situation really was. At the end of the day that is what this is all about - pitching in like every one else is to try and make this bloody miserable time a little better for everyone.

I can tell you for a fact, some of the people we encountered through the day had their first food or water out of our setup - I can only imagine that they must have felt pretty alone before hand.

Anyway, enough of my ramblings, I've got snags to get into the fridge!!
Old 15-01-2011, 07:29 PM   #431
Corzza

Awesome stuff!

I was watching on telly and they were interviewing all the volunteers who were supplying food. There were a fair few. Was keeping an eye out for you fellas. No spotting though

Race 2 Clipsal 500 2014

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8NOZvWBp4Eo

"I plucked her into first, gave it some jandal and F@#$ Yeah!" - Scott McLaughlin
Corzza is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2011, 07:30 PM   #432
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

I’m glad that the day went well.

Any pics of you ugly buggers?
Full Noise is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2011, 07:41 PM   #433

Originally Posted by Scott
Great day out with the BBQ today - we've still got a heap of food so tomorrow is a goer, even been getting calls this afternoon asking if I'm doing Monday too.... not sure yet.

My count, based on bread usage is that we fed a smidge over 180 people today. Lots of hungry people out there and the mess they were living in and trying to clean was epic.

I had one or two people throughout the day whinge about the fact that the council was still sending volunteers and they didn't need them - comments about poor management etc but I will tell you this - if you're complaining about having too much help by 2pm on the first day of the official clean up, the council has done a spectacular job.

It sort of looks un-organised, but there was definitely a well communicated plan to every house in the are of Rocklea that we were. Every house dumped everything on the nature strip, blokes in bobcats worked like ants getting it into a never-ending stream of trucks who just kept taking the crap away.

As you would expect, people were very happy to see us, particularly in one street that geckoGT was keen to hit. The people in that street had lost pretty much everything, they were not wealthy people by any stretch and were made up a mix of a few Aussies, a few Islanders and the majority appeared Indian.

All were very well mannered, polite and were very gracious in accepting our meagre support. At one stage I reckon there was a line of around 30 people at the back of the ute and there was PLENTY of sangas, cupcakes, water and soft-drinks to go around.

We would have liked to give away more but I guess we have to remember that the less we handed over, the better the overall situation really was. At the end of the day that is what this is all about - pitching in like every one else is to try and make this bloody miserable time a little better for everyone.

I can tell you for a fact, some of the people we encountered through the day had their first food or water out of our setup - I can only imagine that they must have felt pretty alone before hand.

Mate you guys are legends among men im looking forward to joining in tommorrow
DJM83 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2011, 07:45 PM   #434

Originally Posted by Corzza
Awesome stuff!

I was watching on telly and they were interviewing all the volunteers who were supplying food. There were a fair few. Was keeping an eye out for you fellas. No spotting though
I don't think we went to a "nice enough" area (I'm sure there's a better way to say that, but we didn't head to a Cafe precinct is what I am getting at) to spot any media. The area we chose was decided on because it wasn't getting a lot of attention on the news and the people there would probably get more out fo our help than perhaps elsewhere that may have been more self sufficient and had better or more ready access to support.
Old 15-01-2011, 07:50 PM   #435

Originally Posted by Full Noise
I’m glad that the day went well.

Any pics of you ugly buggers?
Thanks mate

There were a few taken, Daz took a couple and I took a couple but mine will take a while to get off the camera as I've got a bit on in prep for tomorrow.
Old 15-01-2011, 07:57 PM   #436

Well done guys, you deserve some sort of coverage for the excellent effort you are putting in, those you have helped will not forget.
Old 15-01-2011, 08:16 PM   #437

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always level headed and i notice him being the voice of reason when a thread may be getting heated 

Originally Posted by FPV8U
Well done guys, you deserve some sort of coverage for the excellent effort you are putting in, those you have helped will not forget.
I think I speak for the others when I say I do not think we should get any coverage, we are not heros here. In the grand scheme of things we did not do much, the real workers were the "mud army". I am just glad we made their day a little nicer, that is all the reward and recognition I need to make the day (and sunburn) well worth it.

A big thanks to all the Brisbanites (both born and adopted) that showed me what the Aussie spirit is today, I will never forget it.
Old 15-01-2011, 08:24 PM   #438
SLO AU XR8

Originally Posted by geckoGT
I think I speak for the others when I say I do not think we should get any coverage, we are not heros here. In the grand scheme of things we did not do much, the real workers were the "mud army". I am just glad we made their day a little nicer, that is all the reward and recognition I need to make the day (and sunburn) well worth it.

A big thanks to all the Brisbanites (both born and adopted) that showed me what the Aussie spirit is today, I will never forget it.
Exactly! All we did was give those who were getting in and doing the hard yards some food. We didn't do the cleaning!
Forced Performance Tuned
SLO AU XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2011, 08:41 PM   #439
Spudz27
Call me Spud

Not sure if this has been posted before but it literally made me have tears roll down my face. I feel so sorry for them.

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/national/...girl-in-floods
Spudz27 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2011, 08:42 PM   #440

Originally Posted by SLO AU XR8
We didn't do the cleaning!
Easy up mate.. I've just cleaned the tongs!

As said above, we were a very small wheel in an enormous machine.
Old 15-01-2011, 08:47 PM   #441

Originally Posted by Puffin Fresh
Originally Posted by ninemsn
"The moment Stacey realised she didn't have her baby any more she gave up and went under water, but within moments the helicopter pilot rescued her and took her to hospital," he said.

Rescue pilot Mark Kempton, who helped save 28 people in Grantham, cannot forget Stacey's distress when he winched her to safety.

"There was a woman that we rescued that had told us that she had been in the flood, she was washed along with her child in her arms and the child was torn out of her arms," Mr Kempton told the Nine Network through tears.
There just aren't words to describe her grief. This sot sort of tragedy really puts things into perspective.
Old 15-01-2011, 09:23 PM   #442

Thumbs up

Yep how good was that i will take a sore elbow from carrying eskies over the sore back from the work through the week ...

How's the sunburn ?

You guys are an inspiration .. i will upload a couple of pics in the appropriate thread later...

Good work team AFF ...
Old 15-01-2011, 09:23 PM   #443

Originally Posted by geckoGT

It all helps, having been involved in a somewhat minor role with my local bushfire clean up on a mates farm, we would have been pretty thrilled to see a bunch of blokes with a BBQ stacked with meat and drinks turn up!

Every role deserves recognition, perhaps coverage wasn't effective wording.
Old 15-01-2011, 09:27 PM   #444

There just aren't words to describe her grief. This sot sort of tragedy really puts things into perspective.
It certaintly does, the little thing's in life that we see as so trival amount to nothing comaprred to this, My heart goes out to that poor family and everyone else that has suffered through this hard time.
Old 15-01-2011, 10:32 PM   #445
turboxf

Originally Posted by rodderz
that is true to a point mate , the tv news wanted bad stuff at that time for some reason in America, but we didn't see the african americans & whites helping each other on tv no we carn't show that ?, it was only when aussie & british tv crews went in that we got the whole picture that there was community help in the districts that there was no crime & looting going on , then most of the big tv networks did docos on the helping out of the town people, but by then all americans saw was anachy & the looting, until the docos came on in there homes. Plenty of african americans had shops too that were inundated with water & crap

Yes the aussie spirit is alive & rocking

Last edited by turboxf; 15-01-2011 at 10:37 PM.
turboxf is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2011, 10:50 PM   #446

You blokes wouldn't believe just how many people are in there doing something... anything... everything.

There is no way in hell this city and this country were going to sit back and let these poor buggers do it alone.

No pretense, no classes, no bull **** - point me at a mess and I'll fix it was what I saw all day long. Lots and lots of ants eating one freaking big elephant.
Old 15-01-2011, 11:16 PM   #447

Lots and lots of ants eating one freaking big elephant.
You BBQ'd an Elephant?

(Congrats to all of you for a top effort today)
Old 15-01-2011, 11:54 PM   #448
Sam_Boss260
Have Boost, will use it..

Well done guys awesome effort.

I went back at it today and helped some more people. I was amazed by the amount of council volumteers. At one stage we had to turn help away, so that is a good problem to have.

We too had people helping the volunteers with people walking around handing out drinks, hotdogs and bbqs were everywhere.

It was again an awesome day helping people who have lost so much. Even if I had to walk from home as the Brisbane traffic was just inbeleivable !!
Sam_Boss260 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-01-2011, 11:59 PM   #449

Originally Posted by Sam_Boss260
We too had people helping the volunteers with people walking around handing out drinks, hotdogs and bbqs were everywhere.
Was that in Chelmer again Sam?

We were in Rocklea today, there was a Lions Club BBQ that was pretty big up the road a bit, we were almost as big and there was a much smaller (though contributing no less) outfit in the area we were.
Old 16-01-2011, 12:11 AM   #450
Coyote mk3
Clutch Cable Killer

Great to here guys,

I have been unsuccessful in getting out of what I am going to do tomorrow, so I won't be there.
Awesome effort by everyone who has/is contributing to the flood victims though. Good on you all.
HID projectors, lowered on King SL and Koni Shocks.

Daily - 2002 AUIII SR
Stock as she comes.

Coyote's EL XR6

^^Click Me^^

15.132@ 91.51 MPH

Photos by Me https://www.facebook.com/PhotosByMatthewWylie
Coyote mk3 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post