You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 04-08-2011, 11:26 PM   #4831
martinijosh
▇ ▅ █ ▅ ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▅ ▃ ▅ ▅

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Excellent guide for headlamp repair. 
Default Re: Epic Fail's - Car related....

No worries zxctive...

I'm sure you know how Peter Brock died, in context that's what your comment seemed to be referring to.
Headlights don't work in your B Series? Here's how to fix it!
Old 05-08-2011, 02:50 AM   #4832
|Nate

Oh yes I completely understand, it didn't actually cross my mind when I was writing the comment as I couldn't read the writing on the back of the spoiler in the first place thanks to my phone screen. I didn't originally understand your reply to my post and was a bit confused as to what joke I had made but I'm glad it is sorted out.

Peter Brocks death was incredibly sad and it was a loss of a great motoring icon, and be rested knowing I do not mock his death, or any persons death for that matter!
Anyway, here is some more fails:

Franga's true colours I spose :P

Old 05-08-2011, 08:43 AM   #4833
Jimmyd

Originally Posted by zxctive

Holy smokes Batman - a Camira still on the road
Old 05-08-2011, 08:45 AM   #4834

Originally Posted by Jimmyd
Keep in mind that pic did the rounds a few years ago, probably long since hit the scrap heap.
Old 05-08-2011, 08:50 AM   #4835
Riksta
Captain Malcolm Reynolds

Get that out of this thread!!! Clearly its a work in progress, turning it into a machine o' epic horn proportions. Definitely far from a fail.
Riksta likes VN's so much, he has the ashes of a VN in a jar on the mantle piece, a vile of VN engine oil hanging from his neck and a BT1 build plate locked up in a safe, buried under 6ft of concrete.
pretty much what has happened here is i trolled you. and it was fun.
Old 05-08-2011, 08:56 AM   #4836
ZC-Cruiser
The car's got pickup

Originally Posted by Riksta
Get that out of this thread!!! Clearly its a work in progress, turning it into a machine o' epic horn proportions. Definitely far from a fail.
Who could have predicted Riksta saying that?

Almost everyone I think!
Old 05-08-2011, 09:20 AM   #4837
myboyblue89

hahaha some awesome pics there
Old 05-08-2011, 09:45 AM   #4838
I ♥ EDM

I actually saw a Camira in the carpark the other day. It had its bonnet up & a distraught lady on the phone circling it. I shouldve just handed her a hand grenade & told her to get a VN.
Old 05-08-2011, 09:49 AM   #4839
fordomatic

Originally Posted by Riksta

Come on Riksta, your living a lie about VN's mate, it's time wake up
Old 05-08-2011, 09:56 AM   #4840
ZC-Cruiser
The car's got pickup

Originally Posted by Scotty85
I actually saw a Camira in the carpark the other day. It had its bonnet up & a distraught lady on the phone circling it. I shouldve just handed her a hand grenade & told her to get a VN.
How would blowing up a VN fix the problem with her Camira??
Old 05-08-2011, 10:00 AM   #4841
I ♥ EDM

Originally Posted by ZC-Cruiser
How would blowing up a VN fix the problem with her Camira??
The hand grenade fixes the Camira, getting a VN will cause her to fit in with her surroundings
Old 05-08-2011, 10:13 AM   #4842
Jimmyd

Originally Posted by Scotty85
The hand grenade fixes the Camira, getting a VN will cause her to fit in with her surroundings
VN - the family size Camira....
Old 05-08-2011, 11:47 AM   #4843
ZC-Cruiser
The car's got pickup

VN - the family size Camira....
Watch out, Riksta (aka The VN Police) will be after you!

(Unless he thinks Camiras are also horn)
Old 05-08-2011, 11:54 AM   #4844
martinijosh
▇ ▅ █ ▅ ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▅ ▃ ▅ ▅

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Excellent guide for headlamp repair. 

Is it just me, or does everything holden produces have really bogan sounding names?

Commodore/Berlina
Gemini
Camira
Torana
Barina
Old 05-08-2011, 11:59 AM   #4845
ZC-Cruiser
The car's got pickup

Originally Posted by martinijosh
Is it just me, or does everything holden produces have really bogan sounding names?

Commodore/Berlina
Gemini
Camira
Torana
Barina
Captiva
Adventra

And the classic:
Avalanche (isn't an avalanche something you don't want to be caught in? - like a Crossfire)
Old 05-08-2011, 12:32 PM   #4846

Commodore/Berlina
Gemini
Camira
Torana
Barina
Torana means 'flying' in some aboriginal dialect apparently, and 'berlina' means family sedan in Italian, so those are ok with me. But most of their model names come from European GM and they love weird abstract names over there. Look at the Corsa, Astra, Vectra, Jetta, Touareg, and my personal favourite, the Polo Match. What on earth is a vectra? What does it even mean? A "jetta"? Really?

Whereas most Ford names are either a noun or a verb - Expedition, Focus, Fiesta, Falcon, Territory, Escort etc. The only weird one I can think of is Cortina, which yet again comes from Europe. Mondeo of course comes from the word mondo/mondiale which means global.
Old 05-08-2011, 12:46 PM   #4847
martinijosh
▇ ▅ █ ▅ ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▅ ▃ ▅ ▅

It helps if you say it right too

Make sure the voice in your end really nasaly

"Comma door"

"Bar leena"

"Gym in oi ye"
Old 05-08-2011, 12:59 PM   #4848
wicksy
Just a bogan VF SS driver

Commodore/Berlina
Gemini
Camira
Torana
Barina
yeah but then you put @n@l in front of the ford names like explorer, territory, escape, cougar it sounds funnier hahaha
Old 05-08-2011, 01:40 PM   #4849
Matt47569

seen a for sale sign on a commodore.. with no details or phone number.. what are you supposed to do? chase them down and get them to pull over so you can ask for details if you are interested? idiots haha
Old 05-08-2011, 02:12 PM   #4850
Ryan

Originally Posted by Ford_The_Win
Torana means 'flying' in some aboriginal dialect apparently, and 'berlina' means family sedan in Italian, so those are ok with me.
"Calais" is also the name of a city/town in France.

I don't think the names themselves sound bogan, but when people say Commy, Torry, or Kingy is when it does.
Old 05-08-2011, 02:27 PM   #4851

Originally Posted by Ryan
"Calais" is also the name of a city/town in France.

I don't think the names themselves sound bogan, but when people say Commy, Torry, or Kingy is when it does.
Actually IIRC Calais is also french for sook/winge, so I was told by a native.
Old 05-08-2011, 02:59 PM   #4852
martinijosh
▇ ▅ █ ▅ ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▅ ▃ ▅ ▅

All this commodore talk reminds of the time I stopped at a set of lights on kingston road and a commodore rolled up next to me. A guy leant out the window (sitting on the window sill) leaning over to me and said "hey bro, we can hook you up with some 20's for that?"

lol... yeah mate...
Old 05-08-2011, 03:37 PM   #4853
|Nate

HAH, I would've laughed in his face and drove away.

Your time, reminded me of a time when I was at the lights on st kilda road in Dad's AU and a 300c pulls up next to me, this guy pops his head out of the read window and goes "Is that an original AU Futura?!" and I'm like...... Yeah why? and he goes, "Wanna trade?" I'm like hahaha I wish mate, can't drive it on my P's though :(

Then he's like "Well you should be my chauffeur, this guys a D*ck!" and then hands me his business card, Ryan something of Brighton Chrysler, Sales Rep

What a weird and funny moment :P
Old 05-08-2011, 06:15 PM   #4854
TheZHLANE

HAH, I would've laughed in his face and drove away.

Your time, reminded me of a time when I was at the lights on st kilda road in Dad's AU and a 300c pulls up next to me, this guy pops his head out of the read window and goes "Is that an original AU Futura?!" and I'm like...... Yeah why? and he goes, "Wanna trade?" I'm like hahaha I wish mate, can't drive it on my P's though :(

Then he's like "Well you should be my chauffeur, this guys a D*ck!" and then hands me his business card, Ryan something of Brighton Chrysler, Sales Rep

What a weird and funny moment :P
I would kill for an original au futura, phwooooaaah!! :P
Old 05-08-2011, 06:49 PM   #4855

Originally Posted by TheZHLANE
I would kill for an original au futura, phwooooaaah!! :P
Who wouldn't? They're such a rarity these days too.
Old 05-08-2011, 10:40 PM   #4856
TC200six

Looks like the owner couldn't decide whether he wanted Falcon hardtop or a Supra
Old 05-08-2011, 10:50 PM   #4857
samsy351
351XB - Underbelly II Car

^^ doesnt a ff member own this ??
Old 06-08-2011, 12:39 AM   #4858
Mitch89

Some of the owners of the cars in this thread are ********d in the head.
Old 06-08-2011, 12:47 AM   #4859

Originally Posted by TC200six
Looks like the owner couldn't decide whether he wanted Falcon hardtop or a Supra
not sure how it is a fail. the average earthling would not know the difference. the arrow straight panels and amazing workmanship makes it a win in my books. while i am not a fan of the dash board or the engine choice, the car is amazing - i could handle having it in my garage next to my coupe

and yes samsy - the owner is/was a member here. i think it was for sale a couple of years ago
Old 06-08-2011, 04:52 AM   #4860

He should have bought an Eseries and done that up instead. Not saying he didn't do a quality job, its just not the right car to be doing that to. It looks all wobbly.