Old 04-08-2016, 10:33 AM   #5101
munron

Default Re: Welcome to New Members - Post here to say gday!

New here and just a standard Ford owner of a BA wagon and a BF XR6 ute.
Need the Forum for general repair tips.
Spent 3 hours trying to trouble shoot a jammed drivers seat on the XR6 ute. Would not slide forward. Was within 10 minutes of removing the whole seat and tracks... then I spotted it... the 50c coin wedged at the left hand rear track ! Had to manufacture a 'hooked' stiff wire to yank it out.
BEWARE 50c pieces if you have the XR6 UTE !

Does anyone know of any tonneau aftermarket supports that will stop the inevitable pooling of rainwater fwd and aft of the transverse supports.

XR6 ute Auto Trans cable ball and socket... What genious designed this ?? A nylon socket ! Wired it up to get going with cable ties and then picture framing wire.
Final fix .. drilled out the ball and put a bolt and washers through it. Probably cheaper in the manufacturing than the stupid ball and nylon socket.

XR6 ute light stalk .. internal wiring frayed. Hardly surprising .. seems to have been manufactured to save 2mm of additional micro wiring in the stalk. Pulled apart 'tiny'extra wire soldered in other wise $200 for new stalk,

BA wagon .. spend my life hitting the right rear panel to get the right rear brake light working !
Munro Nichols Brisbane
munron is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-08-2016, 06:09 PM   #5102
Woz Bruv

Hello m8s,
I just moved to Australia from Spain a few weeks ago (I'm English and had been living in Ibiza, Spain for over8 years).
My wife and I have just bought a 2013 Focus as our best car and 2006 Fiesta Zetec Sport for me to get to work in. Both seem like pretty good cars so far.
I've owned various fords over the years and recently had to scrap a Transit tipper when we were in Spain because it was too old to bother doing it up to sell before coming to Australia. It was sad to wave goodbye to the old workhorse.
I thought I would join now in case I need any advice in the future. Got a few useful tips on the UK Transit website in the past so I'm hoping for the same kind of thing here.
Btw, I am absolutely loving Australia so far. I think it's the greatest country on earth.
Woz Bruv is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-08-2016, 06:29 PM   #5103
Nathan73

I lived in London for 10 years so understand your car choice, but in Oz mate have a crack at a V8 😊 welcome
Nathan73 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-08-2016, 07:07 PM   #5104
Woz Bruv

Maybe in the future. This move has cost us a fortune so we just wanted a couple of small reliable cars to get us started, m8
Woz Bruv is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2016, 10:27 AM   #5105
fairing

Thumbs up Re: Welcome to New Members - Post here to say gday!

Good Day all,
I am in Hervey Bay Qld.
I had for over 15 years a FORD EF.. reliable, comfortable, parts easy to get and just what I (now 75 yrs old) like - the style, the fuel consumption, parts easy to get and the car to service is cheap. Why FORD has been unable to sell the cars I find hard to understand.
The EF needed quite a few parts to put it in good condition again. I found a 1994 Falcon Ghia Fairmont with 144 K Km on the clock - it was cheaper to buy then the parts needed for the EF.
After a good clean up and claying the car it looks nice again. I have been driving for many month to relocate cars for AVIS and most of them late models.
The Fairmont I would prefer over any of them.
I am now replacing all sensors and the thermostat. The car drives well - but suddenly It does not want to idle - stays at 1200 rpm. Shut it of and restart =all good. I have another CPU - same thing.
I found a fault code reader in the UK (I bought two:-) and am waiting to scan it.
Still waiting for parts - Australia Post - 12 days now to get the thermostat fro MEL to H-Bay !! Anybody wants a fault code reader? Only for Ford EEC-IV !
fairing is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2016, 11:14 AM   #5106
madfab

Hi just joined looks like some good early falcon stuff look forward to checking it all out. This is my XM pretty stock apart from lowered and mooneys.
File Type: jpg IMAG0051.jpg (148.1 KB, 15 views)
madfab is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2016, 01:24 AM   #5107
Jarrad88

Hi guys just rejoined the ford family with a xr6t ute
Jarrad88 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2016, 07:02 PM   #5108
Apw

Hey guys. Recently acquired an fg na xr6 in that wicked green until i get off my p's. So far i am very happy with it, particularly shifting up the gears entering a freeway getting up to speed. Nothing over the speed limit of course!
Apw is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-08-2016, 09:10 PM   #5109
Captain Risky

Gday my names Captain Risky (aka Jes), I live in QLD. In case your wondering I chose the name because about 6 different people swear I am that dude in real life . I have loved lots of cars but have never owned a ford. Recently I bought this. Its an XA fairmont with 302 and auto. Im in love with it BIGTIME!!!
Id been looking for about 2 years but with coupe prices going nuts recently I decided to get one while I could. I actually have another project car to finish first so dont expect a full restoration immediately.
Also I know bugger all about fords so go easy on me please! Anyhow very proud to finally have one of these beasts and meet with like minded car people,

Captain Risky
Captain Risky is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2016, 07:33 PM   #5110
bafalconute

Hello & Thank You for the warm welcome.
Regards,
bafalconute
bafalconute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-08-2016, 05:14 PM   #5111
radford

Default Re: Hello First Time Poster- xw owner

Hello to all, this is my latest acquisition, 1970 xw panel van/ambulance.
File Type: jpg IMG_20160717_081342.jpg (66.0 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20160717_170900.jpg (49.4 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20160722_170637.jpg (49.9 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20160722_170714.jpg (54.1 KB, 7 views)
radford is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2016, 11:47 AM   #5112
hisdibs

Hi all. Looks like a great site wih lots of interesting info and conversation.
I have a dead stock 1967 XR Falcon wagon, 170ci, 3 on the tree.

Talk soon ,
Joe
hisdibs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2016, 05:12 PM   #5113
Rob67

G'day y'all, ta heaps to the admin for my acceptance. I've not long acquired my 3rd ford and am now the proud owner of a BA 5.4l ute. Altho it's to be more my workhorse/everyday car. I previously owned and loved a BF XR6 turbo, awesome car but alas was the undoing of my licence. I also once owned an XD ute with 5.8l V8.

Last edited by Rob67; 30-08-2016 at 05:29 PM. Reason: memory lapse
Rob67 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2016, 06:42 PM   #5114
Saarge

Hi All,

I'mlooking forward to hearing all the Ford chat.
Ex-owner of an '67 XR wagon and an XE panel van. Soon to be owner of a 1965 F100.
Thanks for sharing.
Saarge is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2016, 08:05 PM   #5115
Pedro472

Hi All, thanks for accepting my application. On to Ford number 5, which is an 2016 FG-X XR6 Sprint. Previously owned EB S Wagon, ED Futura, KE Laser Sedan (!) and a manual FG XR6. Just sent application to local Ford Club. Cheers, Pedro.
Pedro472 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-08-2016, 01:43 PM   #5116
kimf100

Greetings too all and thank you for accepting me on your fine forum. I'm a long time (meaning I can remember when a lot of your classics were new) Ford owner and lover. Currently have a F100 LWB 4x4 with original 351C on LPG - love it.
kimf100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2016, 12:42 AM   #5117
ijes3107

Good evening all, can anybody tell me if I can fit BA standard rotors and pads into a series 2 AU Falcon. I have series 1 which I have converted to series 2 set up front and rear. dba quote different parts numbers AU to BA on the rotors etc. Any help would be appreciated. Regards Ian
ijes3107 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2016, 02:28 PM   #5118
Ash01

Hi there everyone.
I'm not sure how to use this sight.
Does anyone know where I can find a Ford Explorer Specialist in brisbane?
I have had a mechanic that has tottaly ruined my car and need to get someone who specifically knows about the Ford Explorer Xlt 2004 model.
Thanks heaps in adavance guys.
Go Ford
Ash01 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2016, 03:46 PM   #5119

Originally Posted by ijes3107 View Post
Good evening all, can anybody tell me if I can fit BA standard rotors and pads into a series 2 AU Falcon. I have series 1 which I have converted to series 2 set up front and rear. dba quote different parts numbers AU to BA on the rotors etc. Any help would be appreciated. Regards Ian
Have you tried the search function? Or ask in the AU-BF forum

http://www.fordforums.com.au/forumdisplay.php?f=30
Originally Posted by Ash01 View Post
Hi there everyone.
I have had a mechanic that has tottaly ruined my car and need to get someone who specifically knows about the Ford Explorer Xlt 2004 model.
The Explorer Forum would be a good place to start, Someone in there may be able to help.

http://www.fordforums.com.au/forumdisplay.php?f=364
Old 02-09-2016, 04:02 PM   #5120
Ansimp

Originally Posted by Ash01 View Post
Hi there everyone.
Thanks heaps in adavance guys.
Go Ford
Unfortunately many in the trade refer to them as Ford Exploders....
Ansimp is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-09-2016, 07:01 PM   #5121
Holmes11

I thought I'd best say hello, as I've been hanging around for a few months now to soak up some knowledge.

Have a PX Ranger and a SZ Territory currently in my possession, had come seeking the know how to fix various issues on the pair of them.
Holmes11 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-09-2016, 07:50 AM   #5122
waynocrano

Smile waynocrano says HELLO to all...

Hello to all...
Im waynocrano and new to the forum......
I'm from out of Perth and drive a white dec 2007
BF F6 RSPEC, and I'm in love.....love the car....
The car is immaculate and has just turned over
60, 000 km
All original except for 100 pound
injectors and a flash tune, 300 rwk, thanks to
Simon at extreme ford perth
Cant wait to get in the forum, looking forward to it
See ya on the road
waynocrano is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-09-2016, 09:46 PM   #5123
HOTPSUTE
RED HOT ALLOY BLOCK

Default Re: waynocrano says HELLO to all...

Hello back at ya waynocrano

2.8H Kenne Bell
Mild ported heads
Ford Motorsport GT Alloy Block
463 rwkw