Old 28-01-2023, 04:30 PM   #5101

Default Re: What made you feel good today?

Not today as such as im making up lost ground after my well deserved 2 week ban, but I must confess I've fallen in love with Melbourne and that made me feel good on many days.
Arrived home from Melbourne last week having spent 2 weeks there doing rail replacement on the Pakenham/Cranbourne line. The job itself was absolute **** having never driven low floor public transport buses doing rail work never mind doing it in a foreign city ive barely driven a car around without getting lost and on next to no sleep as the shifts played havoc with my sleep patterns and emotions.

The people I met, however, we're bloody fantastic and the odd occasion I found myself with time to smell the roses allowed me to wander around the Yarra and take in the sights and sounds.
I even managed to tick a night at the Aus Open in Rod Laver off my bucket list.

Managed to get a good look around Duttons prestige at Burnley where I had my pic taken with a Shelby GT500 and stumbled across a twilight photo shoot outside Shannons at Heatherton that featured 2 of the most iconic cars in Australian touring car history, a PH3 HO and a VL Walky sharing the forecourt with numerous other exotics.

I never thought id say it but I get it, there is so much to see and do in Melbourne.

To top it all off, the coin was well worth the stress and it allowed me to top up my piggy bank enough that I finally could splurge out on a toy Ive been wanting to get for a while now but always felt guilty about, so today I picked up a 1 owner, low hour, 2016 Yamaha Waverunner FXHO for hours of Family fun on the water.

Last edited by BENT_8; 28-01-2023 at 04:37 PM.
Old 28-01-2023, 11:53 PM   #5102
V8Crazy

Originally Posted by .:4:. View Post
Are you able to do the half hour stuff like rego unspections or clear defects?
Only asking because if the answer is yes, invest in one of those not too expensive pod coffee machines. Reason being is that if a customer waits around for the 30 minutes/hour or so, the 40c or whatever the coffee costs you will make them feel really looked after, so encourage repeat business and word of mouth. Not so much with dudes, but think about it when it comes to women who like to gossip. Something as simple as a very average machine coffee that costs next to nothing can be something to talk about.
Thats actually a cracker idea, thanks

Considering ive already got an aldi coffee machine in the back room it wouldn't be difficult to figure out.

Can't do rego checks just yet but it is something im investing in now that im up and running
Mods : Capa Vortech V2 SQ Supercharger @ 8psi, 42lb injectors + 2Bar Map, Walbro GSS342 Fuel pump, 2.5" XForce Quadtip Catback Exhaust, 100 Cell Cats, Xforce Stainles Extractors, Complete SuperPro Front & Rear, Whiteline Adjustable Swaybars, Oil Catch Can, Braided Hoses & Alloy Watertank, Volt/Oil Pressure/Temp/Boost Guages
V8Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-01-2023, 11:59 PM   #5103

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

It’s good to hear someone excited about the automotive trade. Hope it keeps moving the right way.
Citroënbender is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-01-2023, 11:45 AM   #5104

Waking up this morning knowing the Scorchers are through to the final next Saturday.
Went to the match last night with my son, watched Sixers get scorched.
Old 29-01-2023, 03:15 PM   #5105
Tonz

Originally Posted by V8Crazy View Post
Thats actually a cracker idea, thanks

Considering ive already got an aldi coffee machine in the back room it wouldn't be difficult to figure out.

Can't do rego checks just yet but it is something im investing in now that im up and running
create a good waiting area, as well as coffee splash out on womens mags (for them) and provide good mechanical service, you wont need to advertise. Let social media do all the hard yards and be prepared to pacify the odd grumpy.
Social media can have amazing results on a business ...both ways
Old 29-01-2023, 03:27 PM   #5106
.:4:.
Kicking back

Originally Posted by Tonz View Post
create a good waiting area, as well as coffee splash out on womens mags (for them) and provide good mechanical service, you wont need to advertise. Let social media do all the hard yards and be prepared to pacify the odd grumpy.
Social media can have amazing results on a business ...both ways
I wasnt going to say it, but have 2 magazine racks. 1 with womens mags, one with car mags and pornos. Just be selective of when the mens magazine rack is out depending on the days clients....
.:4:. is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-01-2023, 03:44 PM   #5107
Tassie f100

Originally Posted by .:4:. View Post
I wasnt going to say it, but have 2 magazine racks. 1 with womens mags, one with car mags and pornos. Just be selective of when the mens magazine rack is out depending on the days clients....
The pornos might be alright behind your dunny door,where sexism is your business,but very inappropriae in a waiting room used by people of all ages and gender,
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-01-2023, 03:56 PM   #5108
.:4:.
Kicking back

Originally Posted by Tassie f100 View Post
The pornos might be alright behind your dunny door,where sexism is your business,but very inappropriae in a waiting room used by people of all ages and gender,
Yeah, i know that. As a contractor, not a customer, i have worked in many masoginistic places.
The inclusive to all thing to do would have a magazine rack with womens mags, car mags (maybe club marines aswell) and the odd kids book like the hungry caterpillar. But to be fair, most people are glued to their phones and their kids are glued to ipads.
.:4:. is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-01-2023, 05:25 PM   #5109
marty351
Shenanigans..............

Maybe have some sort of subliminal advertising through certain websites that encourage a bored yet inquisitive customer to help upsell a particular service, such as preventative maintenance or in-car environment (cabin filters)?
marty351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-01-2023, 12:15 PM   #5110
HIPO
Al

Daughter in complete remission from stage 4 cancer.... fingers crossed!
HIPO is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-01-2023, 12:53 PM   #5111

Originally Posted by HIPO View Post
Daughter in complete remission from stage 4 cancer.... fingers crossed!
Good news, how old is she?
Old 31-01-2023, 01:36 PM   #5112
HIPO
Al

Originally Posted by jaydee View Post
Good news, how old is she?
thanks mate! shes 40.
HIPO is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-01-2023, 07:30 PM   #5113
ford71V8

Pub lunch and a few ales in adelaide hills beer garden on a perfect day. And the schnitzel hung off the plate.....havent seen one that size for awhile.
ford71V8 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-01-2023, 08:11 PM   #5114
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willingly providing technical info and documents, despite glitches. 

Originally Posted by ford71V8 View Post
Pub lunch and a few ales in adelaide hills beer garden on a perfect day. And the schnitzel hung off the plate.....havent seen one that size for awhile.
Not since they stopped using growth hormones?

Life is a journey, not a destination.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Daily: 2013 FGII EcoLPi in Winter White
Play: 2015 FG X XR8 in Emperor Show' N Shine thread

Gone, but not forgotten: 2015 SZII petrol Titanium Territory in Emperor
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-02-2023, 10:54 AM   #5115
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willingly providing technical info and documents, despite glitches. 

As of today in Victoria, the following single-use plastic items are banned from sale or supply:

Drinking straws
Cutlery
Plates
Drink stirrers
Cotton bud sticks

and especially
Expanded polystyrene food service items
Expanded polystyrene drink containers.

Why are they being banned?

Single-use plastics make up a third of the litter in our streets and waterways. They remain in the environment for a long time, harming our wildlife and contaminating our food and water. This ban will also help reduce plastic waste and contamination at recycling facilities.

Life is a journey, not a destination.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Daily: 2013 FGII EcoLPi in Winter White
Play: 2015 FG X XR8 in Emperor Show' N Shine thread

Gone, but not forgotten: 2015 SZII petrol Titanium Territory in Emperor
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-02-2023, 04:51 PM   #5116
TrVrPhiLpsiNdstrys

Hey all... *koff* a few things... may i post pic's in here or no ?
Old 01-02-2023, 04:54 PM   #5117

Originally Posted by TrVrPhiLpsiNdstrys View Post
Hey all... *koff* a few things... may i post pic's in here or no ?
Preferably start a new thread for a few pics.

But you could chuck one in here for a teaser leading to the new thread
Old 01-02-2023, 05:45 PM   #5118
TrVrPhiLpsiNdstrys

This video made me feel good...

Old 01-02-2023, 06:42 PM   #5119
TrVrPhiLpsiNdstrys

Originally Posted by GasoLane View Post
Preferably start a new thread for a few pics.

But you could chuck one in here for a teaser leading to the new thread
Fair call Rog, but my Stinger Tribute in Ascot Green with Terracotta Interior i have ordered wont arrive until March next year apparently

I wont even have a price or final options until July lol so she is gonna be one hell of a special car !!

We shall see how much my Black Beauty grows on me i guess, i doubt i will start a thread about her tho' ...
Old 03-02-2023, 10:07 AM   #5120
LG17

The Heat downing the Sixers
LG17 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-02-2023, 11:26 AM   #5121

Originally Posted by LG17 View Post
The Heat downing the Sixers
Who in turn will go down to the Scorchers ( I hope, got tix so had better).
Old 03-02-2023, 11:47 AM   #5122
ford71V8

Nailing the second interview for a job I applied for last month. First one was a phone deal which went OK but I tend to fast-talk on the phone, trying to get my points across ALL AT ONCE. Much prefer face to face.
Seems the process is not a short one. I am one of 3 left and was told to expect a call for a third interview.
My biggest concern is how many cars attempt to squeeze into their carpark! Offices look comfortable but carpark looks scary.
"Sorry, Id love to work here but I cant leave my car in there"
ford71V8 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-02-2023, 09:20 PM   #5123
danzvtil

Originally Posted by FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0 View Post
As of today in Victoria, the following single-use plastic items are banned from sale or supply:

Drinking straws
Cutlery
Plates
Drink stirrers
Cotton bud sticks

and especially
Expanded polystyrene food service items
Expanded polystyrene drink containers.

Why are they being banned?

Single-use plastics make up a third of the litter in our streets and waterways. They remain in the environment for a long time, harming our wildlife and contaminating our food and water. This ban will also help reduce plastic waste and contamination at recycling facilities.
We’ve had this for some time in SA, the problem is my local Westfield food court only has general waste bins not composting ones. So they end up in landfill anyway.

2019 LDV G10
2009 Mitsubishi Express-GONE
2011 Honda Jazz
Old 04-02-2023, 12:23 AM   #5124
Late braker

Going to the tip is a depressing event. It’s awful the amount of waste humanity creates. Every day…
Late braker is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2023, 01:59 AM   #5125

I'm going to be promoted but yet to get an offer officially.

What they don't know is that I'm going to take that because it's worth an extra 20% on my final entitlements before I pull the mic drop
Old 04-02-2023, 10:31 PM   #5126

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

Quick evening trip to Woolies, their in-store playlist is quite variable. Cheryl Crow came on with All I Wanna Do, I’d forgotten what a well-assembled song it is, with such a beautiful bassline for manufactured pop. Felt like singing along as I prowled the laundry products aisle.
Old 04-02-2023, 10:36 PM   #5127
prktkljokr
praek tih kl jo kr

Quick evening trip to Woolies, their in-store playlist is quite variable. Cheryl Crow came on with All I Wanna Do, I’d forgotten what a well-assembled song it is, with such a beautiful bassline for manufactured pop. Felt like singing along as I prowled the laundry products aisle.
LOL

Every time the wife used to make me come shopping with her I sang along to the music in the shops, she does not ask me to come with her anymore
prktkljokr is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2023, 10:40 PM   #5128

Because no room in the car for the groupies?
Old 04-02-2023, 11:04 PM   #5129
prktkljokr
praek tih kl jo kr

Because no room in the car for the groupies?
Nah, only have 1 groupie, her.

Im a 54 year old kid, a bit of a joker ( hence the username ) I myself think im entertaining, I also think I sound quite good 🤣, and what I don't know I make up 😁.

She is the serious mature one that keeps me out of trouble 😒 .

You only live once, may as well have fun while your here right?, that's my motto.
prktkljokr is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-02-2023, 08:17 PM   #5130

No supermarket karaoke today, was chasing specialised power steering fluid for a Frog and happened to find the parts interpreter was a fellow I knew years ago from another major dealer - had lost contact after they folded.

So in the space of five minutes I went from being a walk-in stranger, to getting the rundown of who was doing what at the current dealership, right down to where old mate was holidaying next week. Ten years can pass very quickly.