You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 04-07-2023, 12:10 AM   #5491

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 
Default Re: What made you feel good today?

Originally Posted by Tassie f100 View Post
Did you remember to write down the winning combination LOL
I’ve left it open, I will reset it to match another combination lock rather than double up.
Citroënbender is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-07-2023, 12:38 AM   #5492
mad2
Regular...with metamusal

Originally Posted by Syndrome View Post
My birthday

mad2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-07-2023, 04:45 PM   #5493

Miserable rainy day today so what does one do on such days, eat pies and have coffee out.

Had my favourite pies in Euroa. On walking out of the cafe the OP shop lady next door decides to stick an old tool box out on display. Sign says toolbox and tools $30. Bargain.
Had just about every imperial open end and large ring spanners I was about to buy new.

To top it off they had a NOS water bag I've been looking for to hang on the truck.

Old 04-07-2023, 06:45 PM   #5494

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

I definitely have water bag envy! Well done!
Old 04-07-2023, 11:30 PM   #5495
ford71V8

Sometimes its not who you know, its where you are
ford71V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-07-2023, 01:34 AM   #5496
asagaai

Ha Ha toolbox is a rusted box- misleading and deceptive- makes one think the tools would be similar condition.

But the tools inside- USA and German made gold. What a score.

Originally Posted by roKWiz View Post
M Sign says toolbox and tools $30. Bargain.
Had just about every imperial open end and large ring spanners I was about to buy new.

To top it off they had a NOS water bag I've been looking for to hang on the truck.

Ford Fiesta ST Mk 8 -daily- closest thing to a go kart on road for under 50K

FG X XR8 smoke manual - Miami hand built masterpiece by David Winter, BMC Filter, JLT Oil separators, Street Fighter Intercooler Stage 2, crushed ball, running 15% E85 and 85% 98- weekender
asagaai is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-07-2023, 06:07 PM   #5497
.:4:.
Kicking back

Yesterday at the hotel im staying in i went down to extend my stay. It was the manager on the desk and she was pushing hard for me to sign up for the free loyalty thing. So i did that just to get out of the annoying conversation. So i never got the confirmation email, whatever thats good, but a few hours later in passing the manager lady turned customer service × 1000. Turns out i was a member since 2011, i had silver 'status' and she started rattling off my 'entitlements'. I was polite, but asked her to stop and turn off customer service and what are the actual benifits to myself. Turns out yeah there are a few.
But with customer service turned off i was just talking to her as a person whatever whatever and i said the main benefit today of finding out my 'status' and 'entitlements' is i can joke with the concierge on the next shift. I told her what i was going to do.
So the next concierge was the new lady to the job. Yes she is lovely and polite, we have already had a joke about things. But i walk up straight faced and said i had been talking to the manager this morning and turns out you have to be nice to me. Her face changed as if i had got her in trouble. Her response was 'im always nice to you'. I said yeah, but before you didnt have to be. So i cut it off there and let her know i was just messing with her. So we kind of joked about the wording like 'status', and even more so about the 'entitlements'. Like seriously, a personalised greeting? Hi, how are you?, thats plenty enough greeting for me.
.:4:. is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-07-2023, 05:32 PM   #5498

Hearing the glorious sounds of the Rolls Royce Merlin Spitfire being put through its paces above the skies of Wangaratta just now.

Old 12-07-2023, 09:45 PM   #5499
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willingly providing technical info and documents, despite glitches. 

Originally Posted by roKWiz View Post
Hearing the glorious sounds of the Rolls Royce Merlin Spitfire being put through its paces above the skies of Wangaratta just now.
Definitely my favourite sounding engine, on either a spitty or a Mustang.

And this is my fave video featuring a merlin

Bugger, embedded video disabled. Click on the link to watch it on the tube

Life is a journey, not a destination.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Daily: 2013 FGII EcoLPi in Winter White
Play: 2015 FG X XR8 in Emperor Show' N Shine thread

Gone, but not forgotten: 2015 SZII petrol Titanium Territory in Emperor
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-07-2023, 08:55 PM   #5500

Looking after my disabled brother because he was having a touch of gastronomy.
Wanted to make sure he didn't dehydrate and end up in hospital, again.
Didn't trust his carers to keep on top of it.
Anyway, he slept pretty well through the night, woke up feeling good.
Gave him a good breakfast, happy as.
Now he's a huge Tom Jones fan so I had the ipad on the table, YouTube Tom Jones and played Delilah.
He was rapt, started singing, tapping his foot, jumped up and gave me a big kiss on the cheek.
Made it all worth while.
Old 13-07-2023, 09:04 PM   #5501
asagaai

[QUOTE=FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0;6826614]Definitely my favourite sounding engine, on either a spitty or a Mustang.

Yes that supercharger wail- just fantastic. Here is the banshee super wail in a Mustang P51D

Ford Fiesta ST Mk 8 -daily- closest thing to a go kart on road for under 50K

FG X XR8 smoke manual - Miami hand built masterpiece by David Winter, BMC Filter, JLT Oil separators, Street Fighter Intercooler Stage 2, crushed ball, running 15% E85 and 85% 98- weekender
asagaai is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-07-2023, 12:53 AM   #5502
Kicking back

So i treat my son as a mate (unless he is being silly which virtually never happens). Anyhow, tonight he points out something i had never noticed. I know why this is, but its very much one of those things you dont know unless you are shown.
His left thumb is significantly shorter then his right thumb. So i says to him now im allowed to call him little thumb. He fired back instantly by saying atleast both his thumbs have finger nails, so therefore he can call me no nail. I says fair call little thumb, he replies no worries no nail. He thinks quick. Yes i only have a nail on my right thumb, lost the nail on my left thumb almost 20 years ago, but for him to instantly fire back with an insult that is relevant, im proud of that.
Old 14-07-2023, 12:56 AM   #5503
ford71V8

For awhile there my youngest boy was Mr One More.

One more minute, one more game, one more over....
ford71V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-07-2023, 01:17 AM   #5504
Kicking back

Originally Posted by ford71V8 View Post
For awhile there my youngest boy was Mr One More.

One more minute, one more game, one more over....
I only have 1 kid so dont have anything else to compare him to, but bar asthma attacks that arent his fault, and the countless broken thumbs, being his dad has been pretty easy. Yeah he is 13 now and taller then me, but i once got asked by a colleague does my kid swear? I said no and asked why the question? He said his then 5 year old son swore worse then he did. So i asked does he swear around his son? He goes yeah, when he is on the phone, and swears at his kid if he is being a little ****. Bingo, thats the problem, kids look up to their parents. If i had my kid in the car and recieved a call i would announce that fact so the caller knew not to swear.
I actually had to have the conversation with my son not long ago. I asked does he know all the swear words? He says yeah. I said its ok to swear around me if its appropriate, but not around people who you have not guaged their sensitivities.
Yes that was a weird one, but whilst he still doesnt swear, i think he sorta took it as he is growing up or something.
Beats the **** out of having to tell off a kid for ****ing swearing...
Old 14-07-2023, 10:43 AM   #5505

[QUOTE=asagaai;6826818]
Originally Posted by FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0 View Post
Definitely my favourite sounding engine, on either a spitty or a Mustang.

Yes that supercharger wail- just fantastic. Here is the banshee super wail in a Mustang P51D
This is my favourite. Volume up for best effect.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=brd44OS0Ueo
Old 14-07-2023, 10:57 AM   #5506
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willingly providing technical info and documents, despite glitches. 

[QUOTE=jaydee;6826885]
Originally Posted by asagaai View Post
That's the same as what I posted, yeah?

Life is a journey, not a destination.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Daily: 2013 FGII EcoLPi in Winter White
Play: 2015 FG X XR8 in Emperor Show' N Shine thread

Gone, but not forgotten: 2015 SZII petrol Titanium Territory in Emperor
FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-07-2023, 11:13 AM   #5507

[QUOTE=FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0;6826888]
Originally Posted by jaydee View Post

Oops, yes it was, my bad, getting old.
Old 14-07-2023, 03:30 PM   #5508

[QUOTE=FoxtrotGolfXray 5.0;6826888]
Originally Posted by jaydee View Post

Classic. Poor bloke nearly had a heart attack.

Had to do a trip over to Mt Meg (Thoona) this morning to pick out a granite plinth stone off the side of the mountain.
I was only there to pick it, as it was suppose to be brought down by an excavator, carried across the paddocks and placed over in the garden as a feature for another carved stone to cap it off.

All three of us agreed on the stone and after much "oh that's too heavy" I jimmied it off the rockshelf, sent in tumbling right down to within a couple of feet from my truck at the edge of the fence line, her gardener and I slid it up some wooden ramps onto the back and a quick cross country drive through the scrub had the plinth sitting proudly on display in the right location.

The lady of the farm couldn't be happier, it was where it was supposed to end up and saved the cost of bringing a costly excavator out to extract it.

My 1 hour "I'll have a quick look" turned into 3 but it was nice to help someone out. Ultimately it will save me time to carve the top stone at home as well.

Old 14-07-2023, 03:34 PM   #5509

Glad it didn’t bounce and flatten the truck. #FailArmy
Old 14-07-2023, 03:37 PM   #5510

Glad it didn’t bounce and flatten the truck. #FailArmy
He He, No, there was a certain amount of crossed fingers aiming and of course the well made farmers catch fence.

Old 14-07-2023, 03:48 PM   #5511

[QUOTE=jaydee;6826885]
Originally Posted by asagaai View Post
This would be my fav, featuring both Mustang and Spitfire, oh so low flying.

Old 14-07-2023, 03:54 PM   #5512

And to cap off the little trip, stopped off at Auto8 for a spare alternator for the XF.
In stock, Oh, I can do that at a better price for you than online. Hows $170 sound. Thank you very much.

Old 14-07-2023, 04:00 PM   #5513

Make sure to test it by unhooking your battery while it’s running.
Old 14-07-2023, 08:20 PM   #5514
1970XW351
Angry Dub Driver

All this talk of WWII aircraft over the last few days made me feel good.
But... A question needs to be asked.

What is better than a Merlin rumbling overhead?

...Two, of course!

And, although only twin Allison equipped, these jiggers give me a very special feeling inside..

Cheers, Tony
1970XW351 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-07-2023, 01:17 AM   #5515
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

I've been telling people for years that artificial sweetener is worse than sugar. Sugar is not good but it is a highly processed product of a naturally occurring substance. Artificial sweeteners are man made and therefore not natural and something living organisms have no mechanisms to tolerate them. Well the WHO has announced that aspartame is possibly a carcinogen. Bwahahahaha.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aspartame#Cancer

My cars

Current ride
2016 FG X XR6 - 6 speed manual

Previous rides
2009 FG XR6 - 6 speed auto
2006 BF MkII XT ESP - 6 speed auto
2003 BA XT V8 - 5 speed manual
1999 AU Forte - 5 speed manual
1997 EL Fairmont - 4 speed auto
1990 EAII Fairmont Ghia - 4 speed auto
Syndrome is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-07-2023, 07:57 AM   #5516

Originally Posted by Syndrome View Post
I've been telling people for years that artificial sweetener is worse than sugar. Sugar is not good but it is a highly processed product of a naturally occurring substance. Artificial sweeteners are man made and therefore not natural and something living organisms have no mechanisms to tolerate them. Well the WHO has announced that aspartame is possibly a carcinogen. Bwahahahaha.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aspartame#Cancer
And they only just discovered this ?? geeze.

Pretty much the same for any processed food over natural.

Old 15-07-2023, 08:07 AM   #5517
LG17

The orthopaedic specialist fully agreed with my diagnosis of my left knee.
Even used the exact same terminology.
"It's ****ed!" he said, then proceeded to marvel at how I was actually walking.
LG17 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-07-2023, 10:01 AM   #5518

Originally Posted by 1970XW351 View Post
All this talk of WWII aircraft over the last few days made me feel good.
But... A question needs to be asked.

What is better than a Merlin rumbling overhead?

...Two, of course!

Cheers, Tony
And what's better than 2 Merlin's?
4 Merlin's.
Old 15-07-2023, 11:37 AM   #5519
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

I first saw a WWII aircraft at an airshow in Leongatha late 80s. The sound the flying Mustang made was glorious!

My cars

Current ride
2016 FG X XR6 - 6 speed manual

Previous rides
2009 FG XR6 - 6 speed auto
2006 BF MkII XT ESP - 6 speed auto
2003 BA XT V8 - 5 speed manual
1999 AU Forte - 5 speed manual
1997 EL Fairmont - 4 speed auto
1990 EAII Fairmont Ghia - 4 speed auto
Syndrome is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2023, 08:22 PM   #5520

Cut a huge swath of feral Murraya hedge at my messy yard job, I could see by the “knuckles” it had been trimmed before - but probably most of a decade since any hard cutting. So, a mini-mountain of green waste, which I then impressed the customer further by chopping small to easily fit in their bins, which go out tonight. It’s good to hear people say things unconsciously like “I didn’t realise there was so much space”.