You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 27-08-2008, 09:45 PM   #31

Originally Posted by go_ford
I thought there was actually a pot of gold at the bottom of a rainbow
There isn't??

Old 27-08-2008, 11:02 PM   #32
gz1

Originally Posted by TUF_302
I used to think any car with stripes was a GT Falcon lol!
and
Originally Posted by Peuty
I used to think that if a car had dual exhausts that it was a really really fast car
Trouble is that many grown-ups still do.
gz1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-08-2008, 03:57 AM   #33

yeah they work at FPV.
Old 28-08-2008, 09:00 AM   #34

I used to think that my old man actually went riding goats with an apron on every Monday night, and also wonder how come he was so ****ed when he arrived home!
Charliewool is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-08-2008, 10:09 AM   #35
ogtrip

Drop Bears!!!!...... I hate my cousins.
Old 28-08-2008, 10:16 AM   #36
Shounak

My stupid neighbour convinced me a chocolate tree exists. Where you pick chocolate right off it.
Old 28-08-2008, 10:42 AM   #37
Cobra
Bear with a sore head

I used to think that when mum pushed the choke in on old escort that it's actually choked the little man behind the dash and made him work harder. It didn't help when I watched Looney Tunes and saw the same thing happen to Daffy Duck!
Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-08-2008, 10:43 AM   #38
Cobra
Bear with a sore head

Originally Posted by tempest
I used to think my small country town was all of Australia beleive it or not!!! I remember watching the weather on the news, seeing the map of Au and thinking it was my home town :

Quite humourous now I look back on it
Yeah Adelaide is a small country town!
Old 28-08-2008, 10:45 AM   #39
Debzilla_108

i convinced my then 5-6 year old sister red onion tasted like watermelon LOL i was in lots of trouble when she went balling her eyes out to mum because she took a bite.

"When there's nowhere left to turn...........turn right!"
Debzilla_108 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-08-2008, 10:57 AM   #40
Cobra
Bear with a sore head

Originally Posted by krt10
howd you work out it wasnt true. trial and error?
Trial and error indeed! After thinking he shot blanks for 3 years he went with his missus to get tested. They they gave him the little container and the mag he supplied them a urine sample instead. When they told him "Nah dude, you've got to cum in there not " he' was like "SAY WHAT!?"

You figure out the rest...
Old 28-08-2008, 11:14 AM   #41
henry_ford
order taker

Thats funny cause my name is john and my other half is called Eva.
chuckle
henry_ford is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-08-2008, 01:32 PM   #42

My street name is a "Parade"
When I asked my old man what the name of our street is, he is "<street name> Parade".
I asked, "Can we go there?"

Rationale behind that was the "Parade" tag. Thought there was a party going down.

Old 28-08-2008, 05:21 PM   #43

I convinced my son that we were getting a special limited time only deal at the Chicken shop where if you brought a chook they gave you 2 drumsticks instead of 1 this went on for months so much so when ever we went to get a chook it was always do they still have the deal, it wasnt till we went to my sisters and she pulled a chook out of the oven and he piped up about the deal that the gig was up

Old 29-08-2008, 05:50 PM   #44

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Use to think Fords were rubbish and Holdens were great......stupid kid.
Old 29-08-2008, 07:35 PM   #45
xr8chick
HSV - I Just Ate One!

The Tooth Fairy.

Old 29-08-2008, 11:45 PM   #46
StAndArdAU
Back in a Blue Oval

i used to think i had the perfect family where everyone loves each other......then my parents got divorced and my bro went off the rails.

still, at least I am perfect!
Old 30-08-2008, 12:26 AM   #47

Originally Posted by TUF_302
I used to think any car with stripes was a GT Falcon lol!
Yep same. Also anytime I saw an old Falcon, I instantly thought it was a V8.

Also when we went to the pub for a counter meal, Dad told us that there was a man with a big stick who would hide behind the curtains, and bash kids if they got loud and disruptive. Well, it worked!

Daily 2010 FG XR50T ute - Lightning Strike
6 speed manual, XR8 bonnet, hardlid, Streetfighter airbox

Old 30-08-2008, 12:40 AM   #48
Booka
OzECruisers FTW

Originally Posted by ogtrip
Drop Bears!!!!...... I hate my cousins.

BAHAHHAAA mates for the us and canada still belive they exist and that we ride Kangaroos to school and work

EB II GLi, AU 4lt and auto conversion :evil3: , 17" mags, Tub's on the way, Sound system, Tinted windows, Lowered.
Booka is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2008, 12:53 AM   #49
aye you
The Origional, The Best

Originally Posted by Booka
BAHAHHAAA mates for the us and canada still belive they exist and that we ride Kangaroos to school and work
haha, we managed to convince a danish mate of ours that their real
Lowerage on KingSprings Lows | Engine...Period | Sounds System

I Use And Recommend F1 Tyres And Wheels On The Gold Coast

Proud Supporter of Beat The Heat (NT)
aye you is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2008, 03:30 AM   #50
snappy

Originally Posted by Falcon_Phill
When people mentioned the 'old days', I always thought things back then were in black and white. Seriously.
Haha same here though i asked my old man how long it took to paint the world.

have a couple others two . I used to grind my teeth and was told i need a mouth guard and thought it was like a man with a sword.

Aslo if i ate multi grain bread i would turn in to superman like the ad on the telly. so i just keeped eating heaps
snappy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2008, 03:38 AM   #51
Ladiesman217
I can count to potato!

I used to think that the Moon was made of cheese and was green on the inside. That's what the old man used to tell me so naturally I believed it. - Also used to believe that shopping trolleys carried AIDS and I was sooo scared of them!

Ladiesman217 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2008, 08:36 AM   #52
Zed7fiddy
Temporary Australian

I remember thinking (way back int he days of VHS and people wouldnt rewind them) that the videos would keepplaying in their cases on the shelf in the video shop, because everytime we hired my favourtie movie (read: Mask or He-Man) it would always be half way through the movie
Zed7fiddy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2008, 09:27 AM   #53
bingoTE50

In the employment section I always saw ads for bodybuilders growing up!!
I thought I better get to the gym . Keep fit and get a job , how good was that...

I also believe when I was about four yrs old that little monkeys were used in traffic lights to change the signals, that what my parents told me..
bingoTE50 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2008, 09:47 AM   #54
SeXC
Pushrodosaurus Rex

+1 for dad knowing everything.

I was so disappointed the first time i beat him at chess...... i was 10
SeXC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2008, 01:10 PM   #55
outback_chick
*CHIXUTE*

haha..... I have so many of these....but I was brought up on alot of old wives tales.... like ... if you eat crusts it makes you hair curly so I never ate them...and that I could see better in the dark if I ate my carrots..thats why rabbits eat carrots so much... and if you pull that face and the wind changes you stay like that forever... and if you saw santa claus at christmas time christmas would disappear forever...and I believed IN santa.... til about 10yrs old... and if you sucked on your dummy all day long your teeth would be crooked...(they dont say anything these days about sucking on other items or objects:P)

I believed in magic tricks until I learnt them myself...
I thought I was the best at playing all these games when I was younger because I would always win..little did I think they let me win...
When my babysitter plaited my hair she used to say if I guessed right I would win a bag of lollies.... so I used to sit there and count while she plaited but then she would match my number and pretend I was right.. GRRR I thought I was so clever...

That people were true and honest....(biggest misconception of all)
outback_chick is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2008, 01:14 PM   #56
Daymoe

I still believe in the crusts thingo, (I don't eat my crusts when i have toast lol). Mum asked me the other day why I don't eat them and I replied that it'll make my hair curly haha.
Originally Posted by sourbastard
ive got the weight gain bit mastered, Colonel Sanders is my personal trainer.

As to weight loss, nah, im a fat bastard and proud of it, im going to die from a massive heart attack, for theres nothing worse then lying around in hospital dying from nothing.
Daymoe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2008, 02:32 PM   #57

I used to think if you hugged a guy you'd get Aids, and also if I put toast in the VCR player, it would show toast on the screen....
Old 30-08-2008, 09:54 PM   #58
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

When I was little, I remember thinking that people who were in their twenties were old and if you were in your thirties, you were really really old.
Originally Posted by Falcon_Phill
When people mentioned the 'old days', I always thought things back then were in black and white. Seriously.
Me too. I always thought of the olden days as black and white.
Full Noise is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2008, 10:14 PM   #59
paule11

Back in the black and white tv days they used to have musicals and cowboy movies on all the time. I thought that all girls were really nice when you wanted agirlfriend you sang a song and then you got the girl and lived happily ever after
paule11 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2008, 10:45 PM   #60
outback_chick
*CHIXUTE*

Originally Posted by Danny
also if I put toast in the VCR player, it would show toast on the screen....

DID YOU TRY IT
outback_chick is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post