You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

View Poll Results: xbox 360 or PS3
Xbox360 68 49.64%
PS3 69 50.36%
Voters: 137. You may not vote on this poll

Old 15-07-2007, 11:49 PM   #31
Ryan

Originally Posted by RTSW
Xbox is now completely discontinued
Hmmmmmmm the local BIG W hasn't sold any XBOX games in quite a while. Maybe that could explain this absence.
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-07-2007, 11:58 PM   #32
I FluXx I

Originally Posted by RTSW
PS2. It's the most popular, Xbox is now completely discontinued and the PS2 continues to outsell the PS3. You'll find your son will have the best selection of games to choose from too, so you can't go wrong.
The PS2 has the most games, yes. But it also holds the title for having the most crap games compared to other consoles.

Therefor, having the most games means nothing, seeing as though most of the games are crap.

Jac, You mite be able to pick up a pretty cheap second hand 360 on ebay or the paper. Saves you for the next few years from being nagged to buy the newest console

Performance mods: SL's(front) and leveled at the back, Front 30mm whiteline sway bar, 4" dump, 4" cat, 3.5" exhaust split to Dual 2.5" with quad tips, Plazmaman stage 1 polished intercooler and piping kit, 60lb injectors, Walbro fuel pump, upgraded actuator, GFB BOV, K&N panel filter

Mods for show: 19" black Speedy Inferno rims, MTX 5x7's front and rear, 2x Kenwood 4ch amps, 3x Kenwood 10" subs, chrome fuse box cover
I FluXx I is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2007, 12:08 AM   #33
Ryan

Originally Posted by I FluXx I
The PS2 has the most games, yes. But it also holds the title for having the most crap games compared to other consoles.
Well that's rather questionable. I certainly wouldn't say the GTA series is crap, or GT3/4, but everyone has their own tastes in games I guess.
Old 16-07-2007, 12:18 AM   #34
AussieJason

Get a 360, and with the left over money get a Wii as well. Between them they do everything a PS3 can do.

as for PS2 vs. XBox, get a PS2. The PS2 is still being made, has loads of games and new ones are still coming out.

Previous Falcons:
2003 BA Falcon XL Ute White
1994 EF Falcon GLi Aqua

bseries.com.au Member

And drive a Holden company car...
AussieJason is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2007, 12:21 AM   #35
I FluXx I

Originally Posted by Ryan
Well that's rather questionable. I certainly wouldn't say the GTA series is crap, or GT3/4, but everyone has their own tastes in games I guess.
but the xbox has those aswell. I didnt say that all ps2 games where crap, just alot of them are.

Performance mods: SL's(front) and leveled at the back, Front 30mm whiteline sway bar, 4" dump, 4" cat, 3.5" exhaust split to Dual 2.5" with quad tips, Plazmaman stage 1 polished intercooler and piping kit, 60lb injectors, Walbro fuel pump, upgraded actuator, GFB BOV, K&N panel filter

Mods for show: 19" black Speedy Inferno rims, MTX 5x7's front and rear, 2x Kenwood 4ch amps, 3x Kenwood 10" subs, chrome fuse box cover
Old 16-07-2007, 12:53 AM   #36
M&Ms

If buying right now, go XBOX 360

If buying in 6-12 months time (probably what i'll be doing if I still have any interest left in video games) then go for the PS3 then.

That's just what I'd do. The price difference and wider range of games work in favour of the XBOX. However, once the PS3 comes down in price and a few more (sorry, a hell of a lot more) games get released, then it will definately be the one to have.

If you can afford it though, buy an XBOX 360 now and a PS3 next year. You'd probably end up spending the same on both as you would spend on just the PS3 now, and as an added bonus, would have the best of both worlds...
M&Ms is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2007, 02:45 AM   #37
EX-Y494

I got ps2 that i never use but if I had to update it, it would be the xbox360. but when I do go out and buy this, somthing better comes out with better games. so I stick with my PC games.
C2R body kit, 2 1/2 cat back Exhaust, Red Diamond 2800rpm stall converter
BA front brakes, BA air box with pod
http://www.aufalcon.com.au/cgi-bin/i...act=item&i=326
EX-Y494 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2007, 08:45 AM   #38
Ryan

but the xbox has those aswell. I didnt say that all ps2 games where crap, just alot of them are.
GT3/4 is a PS2 exclusive, and the GTA series was ported to the XBOX just after San Andreas came out.

Actually the PS2, and XBOX share alot of games with eachother, unless it was the exclusives you were talking about.

Oh well each to their own.
Old 16-07-2007, 10:13 AM   #39
XWGT
Powered by Marshall

Wii with Far Cry.

Nuff said

However I see your dilema, and really its "now vs later" decision as many have pointed out here.

PS3 will get cheaper, however so will Blu Ray so the XBOX plus Blu Ray options looks more viable. As someone also noted, you can get a HD DVD option for the Xbox so at some point they will converge in terms of price and functionality.

PS3 is behind in games but should catch up.

XBOX should enjoy more system updates and tweakes being an MS product, but may take awhile.

Overall if its now then the XBOX. If its 6 - 12 months then the PS3. However as I said, Wii with FarCry is the mutts nuts at the moment
Old 16-07-2007, 11:17 AM   #40
I FluXx I

Originally Posted by Ryan
GT3/4 is a PS2 exclusive, and the GTA series was ported to the XBOX just after San Andreas came out.

Actually the PS2, and XBOX share alot of games with eachother, unless it was the exclusives you were talking about.

Oh well each to their own.
the gta series wasnt ported to xbox after San Andreas. Vice city was ported around six months after the ps2 got it, and I think San Andreas was ported to xbox around a year after ps2 got it. But it looks like this time playstation and xbox will get gta4 the same time as each other

Old 16-07-2007, 01:20 PM   #41

can anyone give me a link to show what PS2 games are backward compatible with PS3?

The game in question is Singstar. I know I know, lame as hell but my wife will let me buy PS3 straight away if singstar is compatible with it. Im not one for karaoke. :P I really want the F1 championship and motorstorm.

Old 16-07-2007, 01:30 PM   #42

dont lol but yes we have it also ill try it later on the ps3 mate
06 Turbo Terri AWD 6 sp in Neo with stuff i didnt even need, side steps,15.2 inch roof mounted DVD,Pioneer $tezza,Selby 30/18mm swaybars,debunged,100 cpsi Ballistic cat,Plazmaman under battery Cai injectors 14/lb boost,ZF tuned,Xtreme's magic. :
svo347 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2007, 01:33 PM   #43

Originally Posted by svo347
dont lol but yes we have it also ill try it later on the ps3 mate
thanks mate.

Old 16-07-2007, 01:36 PM   #44
fou_bleu
Get EcoBoosted

PS3 hands down! More technology than 360... Will be cheaper than 360 in a few years reckons some magazine...
fou_bleu is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2007, 01:50 PM   #45
SB076

Originally Posted by blueoval
can anyone give me a link to show what PS2 games are backward compatible with PS3?

The game in question is Singstar. I know I know, lame as hell but my wife will let me buy PS3 straight away if singstar is compatible with it. Im not one for karaoke. :P I really want the F1 championship and motorstorm.
They did have something on the Playstation website (www.playstation.com.au) but it might have moved. I did find reference to a site http://faq.eu.playstation.com/bc so try that and see how that goes.

I have a PS3 and think its great - I play Buzz with the family and its great fun. Games are a bit limited at the moment - but that will improve

Isnt Xbox having quality issues (three lights light up which basically means the system is useless - it affects something like 1 in 5 Xboxs??? - read something in the paper not that long ago - think Microsoft are going to increase the warranty of any affected Xbox's)

with Sunroof and tinted windows
with out all the go fast bits I actually need :
SB076 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2007, 02:06 PM   #46
sunsxr6t
19 x 10.5inch rear

i bought my ps3 when it was first out in japan which was december last year and i played xbox360 as well, mate PS3 graphics on the games kills the xbox360, once it is hooked up to a full HDMI LCD screen forget it, and recently the US xbox360 are being recalled due to technique issues lol so GO PS3
sunsxr6t is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2007, 02:17 PM   #47
RIPGMH

PS3 shites all over 360, being newer theres going to be less games. Microsoft seem to work on a few really good games but generally only produce one or two good games per genre.
RIPGMH is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2007, 02:25 PM   #48

Originally Posted by SB076
They did have something on the Playstation website (www.playstation.com.au) but it might have moved. I did find reference to a site http://faq.eu.playstation.com/bc so try that and see how that goes.

I have a PS3 and think its great - I play Buzz with the family and its great fun. Games are a bit limited at the moment - but that will improve

Isnt Xbox having quality issues (three lights light up which basically means the system is useless - it affects something like 1 in 5 Xboxs??? - read something in the paper not that long ago - think Microsoft are going to increase the warranty of any affected Xbox's)
legendary. I just checked the singstar games. Looks like singstar original is the worst copy to use. My wife wants singstar 80's and songstar ROCK. I have heard only the rolling stones song on the 80s game has issues. No big deal.

Its good that it can work and I guess if I make sure the software updates are current then hopefully it will get better.

Old 16-07-2007, 07:31 PM   #49

Those with a PS3, what is online gaming like? I've been using 'Live!' for years now and it's quite handy with mates to set up a game and just play, I used to play Project Gotham with a dozen rotating mates and that was possibly the best online fun I've ever had in a game. It extends the life of your games by quite a margin. What is PS3's online community like?
Old 16-07-2007, 10:19 PM   #50
ST

Therefor, having the most games means nothing, seeing as though most of the games are crap.
WTF? I didn't say the most, I said the BEST selection of games. As in the highest quantity of quality games, nobody gives a rats about crap games.
Old 16-07-2007, 10:25 PM   #51
daniel_rossy
AU Falcon

i have an xbox 360, they are great but if u dont care about the price, id say go the ps3 but if u want a good quality gaming unit go the 360 (not saying ps3's are bad)
daniel_rossy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2007, 11:21 PM   #52
greg444
Greg

PS3 is way better than Xbox 360 apart from price and game loading times
greg444 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-07-2007, 12:06 AM   #53
I FluXx I

here are some links that compare 360 graphics with ps3 graphics, so people can make up there own mind. To me, almost every single 360 shot looks better than the ps3 shot. Lighting looks alot better with the 360. I keep hearing alot of people saying that the PS3 graphics are alot better than the 360's, but I think they either: 1-they own one console and are loyal to the grill, or 2- they dont own any console and are following everyone else.

When the page loads, the shots that you will see are from the 360. move the mouse over the pic and wait for the ps3 shot to load.

http://au.gamespot.com/features/6162742/
http://au.gamespot.com/features/6162742/p-2.html
http://au.gamespot.com/features/6162742/p-3.html
http://au.gamespot.com/features/6162742/p-4.html
http://au.gamespot.com/features/6162742/p-5.html
http://au.gamespot.com/features/6162742/p-6.html
http://au.gamespot.com/features/6162742/p-7.html
http://au.gamespot.com/features/6162742/p-8.html

Old 17-07-2007, 12:14 AM   #54
XR8-260

I would get the 360 based on price and also Halo 3 :. If the PS3 were cheaper, then it may be a different story.
XR8-260 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-07-2007, 09:01 AM   #55
BLDNUT01

interesting its even on the votes at the end of the day it comes down to game play like look at the graphics on any GTA game and you don,t hear any1 whinge about that, its mostly about what you did in the game
Old 17-07-2007, 09:12 AM   #56
YOOT

I will go 360 when the time comes for four reasons:

1. I have and Xbox and am used to the games/controller/system
2. Unless you have a $5000 1080p TV with HDMI cables none of the PS3 HD stuff will be of any advantage
3. The PS3 Controller sucks so bad, it sucked when they bought it out on PS1, it sucked on PS2 and it still sucks on PS3. My hands hurt after 10mins on PS controller, the Xbox one is fantastic.
4. The Xbox is 1/2 the price, who would pay $1000 for an HD device that won't look any better unless on a $5000 TV.
YOOT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-07-2007, 09:43 AM   #57
Gambit

Originally Posted by YOOT
I will go 360 when the time comes for four reasons:

1. I have and Xbox and am used to the games/controller/system
2. Unless you have a $5000 1080p TV with HDMI cables none of the PS3 HD stuff will be of any advantage
3. The PS3 Controller sucks so bad, it sucked when they bought it out on PS1, it sucked on PS2 and it still sucks on PS3. My hands hurt after 10mins on PS controller, the Xbox one is fantastic.
4. The Xbox is 1/2 the price, who would pay $1000 for an HD device that won't look any better unless on a $5000 TV.
You also need to buy the HD cables for the PS3, it only comes with the standard av cables.
Gambit is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-07-2007, 09:55 AM   #58
Gambit

Imo buy whatever console has the games you want to play on it not just because you have had a PS2 or Xbox before.

The X360 has/does have problems but takes approx a week to fix if it happens (happened to mine) but I'd buy another 1 no worries, have to much fun to care about losing it for a week.

The X360 has more games than the PS3 at the moment & most people seem to say the graphics are on par with each other. A bloke at work got a PS3 when they first come out, played his roommates X360 then got 1 of them & his PS3 is just collecting dust now.

The PS3 has lost alot of exclusives for the previous generation inc GTA4 (the X360 is also getting exclusive episodes for GTA4) Devil May Cry 4 etc.

The main Games I will hopefully buy a PS3 for will be Final Fantasy XIII, Metal Gear Solid 4 (which is rumoured to be going to X360) & GT4 but not before it drops a hell of alot in price.
Gambit is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-07-2007, 11:08 AM   #59

Im impressed with those screen shots. For me, it will come down to the overalll package. If you take the price difference out, I reckon Id still go the PS3. BUt the 360 has alot of merit, and I understand why so many people choose it.

Old 17-07-2007, 11:32 AM   #60

Microsoft anounced last week or week before that they are extending warranty to 3 years - Im not sure if its for people who paid for extendy warranty soley..I have a feeling its 3 year from Date of Purchase for everybody......I also think its mainly because of the 3 Ring of Death or as some call "Bricking"

Also if you have had to pay for your 360 to get fixed MS will refund your money

Has anyone had any 360 dramas?