Old 15-09-2005, 01:21 PM   #31
Penelope Pitstop
Can't get enough of this.

Location: Standing on the driveway sobbing because I don't have a PINK ute anymore :0(

When I see a patrol car driving in normal traffic all I do is whack on the cruise control. It means that I don’t have to worry constantly about my speed and gives me time to check the lippy, throw on a big smile and check out the men in uniform. mmmm men in uniform.

Cheers, Tori
Penelope Pitstop is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2005, 01:25 PM   #32

id be always paranoid when i drove a period of time with a suspended license
then i got pulled over 2 weeks before getting it back...after going to court i decided it wasn't worth the hassle...not too mention thinkin how much of an idiot i was

besides i now drive like a granny
i play a little game when drivin and the point is to not breach 2000rpm
Old 15-09-2005, 01:29 PM   #33
Mrs347stroker

I do get a bit paranoid when a cop car is behind me, buy I know I have nothing to worry about.

I have never been pulled over by a cop the entire time I have held a drivers licence in 12 years. Maybe I am just lucky!!
Mrs347stroker is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2005, 01:43 PM   #34

If I saw a police vehicle following me on the highway my first thought would be "How the hell does a cop car do 250km/h?" :
Old 15-09-2005, 01:45 PM   #35

Originally Posted by rebelpilot
Wife has a limited edition Camry (GTP Pak)Body Kit/Big Wheels/Tints/Lowered/Leather Wheel/Woodgrain Dash/ex dealer principle car/ Very Nice Lookin Ride
There is such a thing as a Camry GT? :lookedat:
1966 Ford Mustang coupe. 347 stroker, PA reverse manual C4, TCE high stall converter, B&M Pro Ratchet, Edelbrock alum heads, Edelbrock intake manifold, MSD ignition, Holley Street HP 750 CFM carb, gilmer drive, wrapped Hooker Super Comp Headers, dual 3" straight through exhaust, Bilstein shocks, custom springs, full poly suspension, American Racing rims, Open Tracker roller spring saddles and shelby drop.

merlin is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2005, 01:49 PM   #36

Why all the Paronoia? Unless you are "breakin the Law" they have better things to do.
I was done for doing nothing wrong and was not breaking a single law!

I still take 5 off the limit even though I have had my speedo calibrated and only shows 1klm out at 100!

There should be more 'blue n whites' on the road, I see offences broken daily and these bad drive keep going on their merry way.... Grrrrrr
Old 15-09-2005, 01:58 PM   #37

Originally Posted by FPV GT
The cops around my way know me and the car, and leave me alone.
A couple of times I have even been pretend breathalyzed.

Cop... "Dont worry mate, if ya driving a car like this, you wouldn't have been drinking"
Me... "Damn, wish I had those drinks now"
Cop... "What"
Me... "Only joking"
Cop... "Oh, ah, okay see you later"

Regards
Paul
LOL. Reminds me of my Dad. At a random breath test, the cops knew my Dad so they were like:
Cop... "Hey Gerry, you been drinking?"
Dad... "No"
Cop... "Righteo, have a good night"
Didn't even pull out the breathaliser. Dad is a very honest bloke anyway.

Old 16-09-2005, 06:29 PM   #38
drphil

Actually the smart thing to do is not to try to look too much like a goodie goodie when u are driving. cops will get more suss seeing a VL or so with cut spring and chasers on the rear driving like as if their being tested than them driving safely and legally but honestly. If I was a cop I'd know what these done up cars driving at 40km/h are up to when they see a cop car.

My two cents though
Old 16-09-2005, 07:57 PM   #39
The MaDDeSTMaN
No longer driving a Ford.

Originally Posted by drphil
Actually the smart thing to do is not to try to look too much like a goodie goodie when u are driving. cops will get more suss seeing a VL or so with cut spring and chasers on the rear driving like as if their being tested than them driving safely and legally but honestly. If I was a cop I'd know what these done up cars driving at 40km/h are up to when they see a cop car.

My two cents though
Good point, that's why I only drop to 2 km/h below the limit, and in my case it's not like a completely stock (for now) XF Falcon really stands out as much as said VL with cut springs and chasers on the rear...
The MaDDeSTMaN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-09-2005, 09:51 PM   #40

dont matter to me i just drive and see what happens

no point crapping yourself or slowing down if your going to be pulled over they will have already made their choice and got all your particulars on their little computers on the dash

Old 17-09-2005, 10:12 AM   #41
HOON69

depends really
if im a few kmh over usually 5-10 then i slow and might watch my rear view mirror abit till i know they aint gunna rapeme over it but usually if i see one i dont look directly at em nor brake cause that throws supsicion right off the bat,but i remember one time i had a unmarked follow me through moderate traffic then we stopped side by side they thought to be funny and make a siren noise at me to let me know they were watching i laughed and put a fake worried look on me face and drove right around em and on my merry way at the speed limit of course..

but yeah depends really..
HOON69 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-09-2005, 12:01 PM   #42
vino3o2
owning V8=having no $$$

I was followed by a bike cop for 10mins on Sandgate rd...I started going a little slower so he would pass but he did'nt...he was starting to worry me, then he decided to ride up next to me and give me the thumbs up!! Goes to show there are some cops out there that are rev heads at heart.

The Reality: 13.1 @ 106mph.... The Goal: somehow get into the 12s!!! :sm_headba

www.qldsuperkart.org
vino3o2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-09-2005, 12:09 PM   #43

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

Originally Posted by ArgonEF
I dont change my normal driving habits at all. In my old pulsar I would have, drive 2 or 3 kays lower, be very very cautious, and would still get pulled over... Now in the EF I don't even get a second look from them. They mustn't like pulsars
I don't change my driving habits either.
Even with the HIDs on and the lagrer wheels and louder exhaust ... they don't give me a 2nd look .... must be the courier magnetic signs on the side.

Even when i am making my way through traffic (kinda quickly) ... I have had cops follow me ... but never pull me over ... I just think of them as another vehicle on the road.

Have only been pulled over once for RBT ... and that's all.
Old 17-09-2005, 08:20 PM   #44
Bobman

Saw one of those blue Mercedes cop vans (Security 350 / 355) cut an AU P plater off last week late at night, however I didn't change my own driving for the sake of them being there. They love people being afraid, so don't show it.

On the way home from Warnambool last night got pinged at 118.. in 100 zone (straight stretch of highway late at night no traffic - police decide to keep the seargant happy and keep their quota up). Lucky they didn't get me at a higher speed that had happened just earlier.

Real crime get's unnoticed but the easy target motorist makes the $$ for GovCo, it sucks.

Current Cars:
2000 AU2 Fairmont (2019-current)
2003 BA1 Falcon Divvy Van (2017-current)
2009 VW Mk6 Golf 118TSi (2020-current)
2003 MCX10R Avalon VXi (2017-2020)
1995 EF1 Falcon GLi (2016-2019)
1997 XH2 Falcon Van OPT20 (2016-2019)
2006 BF Fairlane Ghia (2013-2018)
2001 AU3 Futura (2010-2013)
1996 EL Fairmont (2008-2010)
2004 BA XR6 (2005-2008)
2001 AU2 Forte (2005-2006)
1988 EA Fairmont Ghia (2003-2005)
1984 AR Telstar TX5 Ghia (2001-2005)
Bobman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-09-2005, 08:43 PM   #45
xxxc
tuff

i was doing 100 down springvale rd ages ago ,20 over ,past a cop car with a radar didnt get done but i sh*t myself ,dunno what the go was there pfffft
xxxc is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-09-2005, 09:15 PM   #46
CruizinEB

i do the speed limit and do the right thing
CruizinEB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-09-2005, 10:50 PM   #47
Bobman

DUMPT: I've done that a few times past cop cars with radar's.. the heart pops right back in if they don't move

Remember there are *VERY FEW* cops who have common sense built in upstairs, if its late at night with hardly any traffic on a main road then where is an issue?

Obviously going 50km over is a different story.

Current Cars:
2000 AU2 Fairmont (2019-current)
2003 BA1 Falcon Divvy Van (2017-current)
2009 VW Mk6 Golf 118TSi (2020-current)
2003 MCX10R Avalon VXi (2017-2020)
1995 EF1 Falcon GLi (2016-2019)
1997 XH2 Falcon Van OPT20 (2016-2019)
2006 BF Fairlane Ghia (2013-2018)
2001 AU3 Futura (2010-2013)
1996 EL Fairmont (2008-2010)
2004 BA XR6 (2005-2008)
2001 AU2 Forte (2005-2006)
1988 EA Fairmont Ghia (2003-2005)
1984 AR Telstar TX5 Ghia (2001-2005)
Bobman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2005, 06:41 PM   #48
xxxc
tuff

yeh my mates step dad ,uncle or something is a coppa and apparently he said they dont bother with 20km/h or under because of the paper work -they CBF ,probaly depends where they are and what road they are on too
Old 18-09-2005, 09:12 PM   #49

Why all the Paronoia? Unless you are "breakin the Law" they have better things to do,although,
Unless you drive a Truck.
General Duties Cops usually do have 'better things to do', like real Police work, but most Highway Patrol seem to think they are a seperate Police Force.

Like a general duties once said to me, "Highway Patrol requires no thinking, You see the criminal (speeder) and you catch him, not much detective work there!

Roger.
Old 18-09-2005, 11:29 PM   #50
GTP 200
Traction Control Films

Originally Posted by DUMPT
cops hate P platers :p
Nahh, I think you have it all wrong. The cops LOVE P platers, thats why they are always pulling them over, they can't get enough of them

cam
GTP 200 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2005, 11:36 PM   #51
GTP 200
Traction Control Films

Originally Posted by GTP 320
Isn't it funny how our driving habits change when the coppers are about. lol
Cheers John
See John, the change in driving habits depends WHEN you notice the coppers are around. heheh

I had an interesting one the other day, driving my old ladies car (BA XR6T), got pulled over. . . .

sarg said 'this your car?' . . . . I said 'No, its mums'.

The Sarg then said 'what do you drive?' . . . . I said 'GT-P'.

The sarg yells 'struth!!! no wonder you were driving under the limit, this ones slow in the scheme of things'

Im said 'with respect . . . no comment', then he just laughs.

cam
GTP 200 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-09-2005, 09:58 PM   #52
xxxc
tuff

Nahh, I think you have it all wrong. The cops LOVE P platers, thats why they are always pulling them over, they can't get enough of them

cam
hmmm that is soo true
Old 20-09-2005, 12:10 PM   #53
hrtrip
I Hope Holden Dies

i was on my way home from work one day on Victoria Parade in the city (MELB) and received a text message at the traffic lights. i thought ah well im pulled over ill have a read - out of the corner of my eye i saw a police car sitting next to me. my immediate reaction was FAAAAARK!! i put my phone down and had a very slight geez at them. as soon as i looked over sure enough down their window came. i looked back over as they slid up next to me and said oh sorry officer, the copper sed 'nah nah mate your right' and was kinda looking over my shoulder. sure enough i look to my right and what do you know, there is a spanking new Porsche GT3RS sitting next to me (one of those real rare race breed ones with the red wheels). anyway the guy next to me in the porka is screaming into his phone to this guy about how he owes him 200 grand or something. so i look back over at the coppa and he ses 'hey mate can i jump in front of you in that gap?' i quite happily said go for your life mate. but i did poo my self for a little bit there as i really cant afford 3 points for being on the phone. but anyway the coppa jumped infront of me and got this guy in the porka. i thought it was pretty funny.

if i see a cop driving around i normally turn the music down to a 'normal' level and continue driving at the speed limit and pretend i didnt even see them but some of them can be good blokes and others complete and utter ****s

HRT R.I.P

Icon Blue BFII Fairmont
Stock as a rock... :(
hrtrip is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-09-2005, 12:28 PM   #54

sorta off topic but i had a cabbie the other day tell me that snr sergent said to him that coppers considor cabbies lower than dogs balls...to his face...and he said well at least i got fu%kin mates