You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 23-08-2011, 01:15 PM   #31

Default Re: My car is a write off!!!

your heart sank, i would have been sick to my stomach seeing that..

agree with streets about being so composed..
Old 23-08-2011, 01:31 PM   #32

Some people are only alive because it's illegal to kill them...

You'd have to wonder how he managed to drive off after an impact that big. The cops would probably be very interested in it as well...thier pet hate of hooning combined with someone leaving the scene of an accident...they'd find the bogan that did it sooner or later.
Old 23-08-2011, 02:27 PM   #33
fightingfalcon
ZF Heaven

yeah it was pretty gutting I have to say... took me ages to find an XT with a 6speeder

2011 XR6 in Silhouette ZF 6 Sp // Have you driven a FORD, lately?

Previous Rides:
1986 XF S-Pak: Red. 1st car.
1992 EBII Falcon S: Burgundy, Fully optioned
1995 EF Futura:
2007 BF Falcon XT - ZF in De Ja Vu,
2005 Fairmont Mk II
fightingfalcon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2011, 02:32 PM   #34

Originally Posted by fightingfalcon
yeah it was pretty gutting I have to say... took me ages to find an XT with a 6speeder
there are a few around, but BF XR6 ZF's are the same price so go that instead.
Professor Farnsworth is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2011, 02:42 PM   #35
fightingfalcon
ZF Heaven

Originally Posted by Professor Farnsworth
there are a few around, but BF XR6 ZF's are the same price so go that instead.
I meant when I bought it. Might have to take the next step to an FG instead

Previous Rides:
1995 EF Futura:
2005 Fairmont Mk II
Old 23-08-2011, 02:53 PM   #36

I meant when I bought it. Might have to take the next step to an FG instead
yes i know that's what you meant, i was saying there are a few around at the moment if you wanted to replace it with the same thing.

Decent FG XT's are around 15K at the moment but they're 5 coggers (auto)
Old 23-08-2011, 03:13 PM   #37
steve.zissou

what R1XSTA said
lots of jobs that pay $20 per hour and have the opportunity for time and a half or double time overtime.

I used to work at a servo and got $30+ an hour on sundays and $40+ ph if i worked more than 8 hours on a sunday.

as a construction worker, OT wasa also good.

public service - I should have got a govt job that pays overtime.
steve.zissou is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2011, 03:15 PM   #38
fightingfalcon
ZF Heaven

Originally Posted by Professor Farnsworth
yes i know that's what you meant, i was saying there are a few around at the moment if you wanted to replace it with the same thing.

Decent FG XT's are around 15K at the moment but they're 5 coggers (auto)
The main reason I wanted the ZF was that over the course of owning e series falcons i got sick of rebuilding the 4spd btr... Now I know that the 5er is not a ZF, but it is supposed to be a pretty good box also isnt it? can anyone give me some feedback on the FG? was looking at one today, bit high on the KM;s though at 113k for a 3 year old car

Previous Rides:
1995 EF Futura:
2005 Fairmont Mk II
Old 23-08-2011, 03:22 PM   #39

The main reason I wanted the ZF was that over the course of owning e series falcons i got sick of rebuilding the 4spd btr... Now I know that the 5er is not a ZF, but it is supposed to be a pretty good box also isnt it? can anyone give me some feedback on the FG? was looking at one today, bit high on the KM;s though at 113k for a 3 year old car
both my BTR 4 speeders have 251,000 and 270,000 respectively and are still going strong! It's a bit of a misconception that the ZF is a more reliable unit. Yes, it is a far greater gearbox, i've owned one myself. However all BA-FG's are susceptible to cross contamination and gearbox failure as they all have an unreliable trans cooler. The BA has one incorporated in the radiator which fails, leaks coolant into the gearbox which destroys the glue on the clutches and bye bye gearbox. The BF has a revised heat exchanger located on the block which still fails and causes destroyed gearboxes. This applies to your damaged BFII and the FG. The difference with the ZF is that instead of shelling out 2500K to fix the damage to a BTR 4 speed, it's closer to 7 grand.

This is all of course if you're running the stock cooler setup, there are kits available for the BA, and it can be adapted for the BF, unsure about the FG as i haven't heard of anyone putting one on. However i remember a recent story of an AFF member with a 30,000KM old FG XR with the ZF which failed causing extensive damage.

The moral of the story - with the stock setup, it's pot luck. You could get 300,000KM out of a cooler, you cold get 3000KM.

As far as the 5 speeder, it's not too bad. However the repair costs to me at least are an unknown quantity as they're a short run, and therefore rare unit at least locally.
Old 23-08-2011, 03:35 PM   #40
fightingfalcon
ZF Heaven

Cheers for the info and sympathy guys.

Previous Rides:
1995 EF Futura:
2005 Fairmont Mk II
Old 23-08-2011, 03:38 PM   #41

no worries, don't let it put you off buying what you want, but it's good to have knowledge on what you can do to minimise issues. Speak to a respectable shop about a cooler for the FG.
Old 23-08-2011, 04:09 PM   #42

Originally Posted by kpcart
the sad thing is, the person who did it could be someone in these forums - quite possibly an owner of a high performance ford or holden (wheel spin is usually done on high-po rear wheel cars = Ford and Holden V8 which are the majority). this is also an incident which shows why buying a car new is the biggest waste of money of anything (besides going to the casino) - i personally am happy to buy a $3000 second hand car. sure i may be up for a few more service costs then a new car, but i can not lose because in resale my car will be worth the same or not much less in 2 years, and any extra service cost is well within the resale losses new car owners get, and the running costs are no less too with my last 4 cars being lpg.
The saddest thing of this incident is the monetary loss - because the owner bought a car which loses value considerable after purchase. the other sad point is the continued idiocy of hoon drivers in australia - WHY? is the question they need to ask themselves.

Hmm I am wondering why its says Temporarily in front of Banned

Anyway apparently most confiscated hoon cars are cheap clunkers.
So if we use your logic of stereotyping, then that draws us to the conclusion that you, kpcart, are a hoon. There is no denying it. Your logic worked against you

So on topic, I notice that if you want to insure your car for an agree value, it still has to fall somewhere in the range of its market value. So that brings me to the question if you have your car insured for an agreed value of 30k when it is new, then after 10 years it is only worth 10k, will the insurance still pay out for your original agreed value of 30k.
Old 23-08-2011, 04:44 PM   #43
EASYBOSS
Matakana NZ

Pics coming
Any update on the pics?
SOLD : BA XR8 4 Speed Auto in Mercury Silver, Bluepower CIA, Full Diffilipo Big Boy Quad System, Tune, 4.11 Diff Gears, FPV Starter Button, FPV GT Rear Spoiler, Tripod Gauges, PWR Trans Cooler. 230 RWKW's. Many thanks to Chris at Bluepower Racing Developments

Hers : F6X build #150 in Ego, Stock as a Rock, untill the warranty runs out, including the extended one.

My Work Wagon AU Futura Wagon in Gold.

On the Farm : Ford 6600 Tractor
EASYBOSS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2011, 05:00 PM   #44

Originally Posted by steve.zissou
Yeah, it's pretty tops hey
feels weird turning down double time overtime cos there's so much of it
Old 23-08-2011, 05:02 PM   #45
FalconForce

sorry to hear that mate hopefully your insurance covers you enough to get a new car

What's scarier than the thunder? The Typhoon

Doesn't matter anyway whatever they do its wrong according to people on here.
FalconForce is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2011, 05:20 PM   #46
stang65
FPRJET

Hmm I am wondering why its says Temporarily in front of Banned

Anyway apparently most confiscated hoon cars are cheap clunkers.
So if we use your logic of stereotyping, then that draws us to the conclusion that you, kpcart, are a hoon. There is no denying it. Your logic worked against you

So on topic, I notice that if you want to insure your car for an agree value, it still has to fall somewhere in the range of its market value. So that brings me to the question if you have your car insured for an agreed value of 30k when it is new, then after 10 years it is only worth 10k, will the insurance still pay out for your original agreed value of 30k.
No because every year they adjust it. Also Agreed means what they will agree too, they may agree to a $15.000 be insured for $20.000 with extra premium of course but may not agree to $15.000 car be insured for $25.000.
Old 23-08-2011, 05:22 PM   #47

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Valued contributor especially in the FG threads. Offers help and information to all. Posts are always in a positive manner. 

Originally Posted by kpcart
the sad thing is, the person who did it could be someone in these forums - quite possibly an owner of a high performance ford or holden (wheel spin is usually done on high-po rear wheel cars = Ford and Holden V8 which are the majority). this is also an incident which shows why buying a car new is the biggest waste of money of anything (besides going to the casino) - i personally am happy to buy a $3000 second hand car. sure i may be up for a few more service costs then a new car, but i can not lose because in resale my car will be worth the same or not much less in 2 years, and any extra service cost is well within the resale losses new car owners get, and the running costs are no less too with my last 4 cars being lpg.
The saddest thing of this incident is the monetary loss - because the owner bought a car which loses value considerable after purchase. the other sad point is the continued idiocy of hoon drivers in australia - WHY? is the question they need to ask themselves.
Catch the bus bro.
Dave R is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2011, 05:27 PM   #48
Day-mow
rexnet

lots of jobs that pay $20 per hour and have the opportunity for time and a half or double time overtime.

I used to work at a servo and got $30+ an hour on sundays and $40+ ph if i worked more than 8 hours on a sunday.

yes Overtime. we you used to be good friends.
not so much anymore tho

Remember it is the internet,So beware of trolls, If you argue with trolls the kids will laugh at you

Follow me on twitter @ Day_mow
Day-mow is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2011, 06:04 PM   #49

Originally Posted by R1XSTA
What do you do, and how can i do it also?
Theres plenty on $40-$50 an hour

It was more so an example,clunkers Vs new
That most will do a few extra hours to pay for that newish car, than spent the same time on bandaid repairs

Ive offered $20 an hour cash , for a general labourer
Know what, noone turned up

I dont bother anymore ,with workers
I get the job done quicker myself
Too many people think unskilled workers have to be paid a fortune an hour
But thats another story,for another day

Last edited by 302 XC; 23-08-2011 at 06:11 PM.
Old 23-08-2011, 06:09 PM   #50

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always level headed and i notice him being the voice of reason when a thread may be getting heated 

Originally Posted by 302 XC

Ive offered $20 an hour cash , for a general labourer
Know what, noone turned up
Where are you? I don't earn at that rate.
Old 23-08-2011, 06:14 PM   #51

Originally Posted by geckoGT
Where are you? I don't earn at that rate.

Last bloke who worked for me , at that rate,lived 30 mins away
After a week, he wanted me to pay , all his meals ,and all his fuel
Turned up when he wanted, left when he wanted,just got stuffed around

So,he isnt here, down scaled instead
Old 23-08-2011, 06:31 PM   #52

...erm...$52.50 an hour ordinary time. Ahem. Yes it is embarassing sometimes especially when you meet old workmates on a quarter of that...

Any update on the situation? Cops involved yet? Any leads on the tard that did it? How does your insurance work when you haven't got the other guys number plate...I remember my mother going through all sorts of bother after coming back to her car in a Woolies carpark to find someone had reversed into it, nailing the tailgate heavily. I seem to recall they just said "sorry, if we don't know who the other driver is to pursue them for costs, you have to pay the full excess"...
Old 23-08-2011, 07:24 PM   #53

duaned is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2011, 07:25 PM   #54
fightingfalcon
ZF Heaven

sorry guys my photobucket got deleted. when i get time i will make another one

Previous Rides:
1995 EF Futura:
2005 Fairmont Mk II
Old 23-08-2011, 07:31 PM   #55
Werd.
nou

sorry guys my photobucket got deleted. when i get time i will make another one
no, just no.

Go to www.hostthenpost.com (read the URL carefully, there's a specific order here in which things should be done.)

Upload your image, buy selecting browse, and navigating to it, and clicking "Host"

Copy and paste the "Direct URL"
Werd. is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2011, 11:18 PM   #56
TadKa
Wait? What?

Bad luck mate. My poor Falcon got written off while parked a couple of months ago. 5 years of good service to me. Insurance was great though. paid out in 3 days.... and I bought an Alfa 159 (Don't judge me).
TadKa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-08-2011, 12:08 AM   #57
JamesR

Originally Posted by 302 XC
Feel sorry for the OP,
As hard as it it to keep ya head above the massive depreciation on late model stuff, then be offered rubbish for damage you dont do
Kinda makes ya wonder what in breeding is doin to the brains in some

Good luck whatever the outcome

Ill challenge your 3K clunker
Start it everyday, and be at a dedicated distant, usually work
5 days a week
Not late 1 day
Jump in your 3k clunker,and drive from brissie to melbourne, right now
1 new car i bought years ago, travelled without touching a thing
60,000 Ks in 9 months
Some people buy clunkers as thats usually all they can afford
Some choose to pay an amounth every month , for creature conforts, and reliability
Most who do this, dont care what they depreciate, as the difference is just worked into the next car
The payment is just kept the same, just over another 5 years
Im all for value for money
But a 3K clunker,then brake work, suspension work,tyres,paint repairs
Its not 3 K is it ???
Then add in your time
People who earn $40-$50 an hour, would rather work an extra few hours a week , and afford that new car
Than spend 3-4 hours a week and a clunker
Horses for courses
Would i rather work a few extra hours to pay for that new car, than slave on a clunker to get buy
You betcha
a 3k car doesnt have to be a clunker.
i bought my current car for 3k.[ef wagon]
the only thing i really had to do to it was change the engine,but after 400k kms they tend to get a bit tired.
other than that its great, i can get 500ks on gas and 400k on petrol.
i have spent a lot on it though, with just unnecessary mods.
i also earn between $40-$50 an hour [120k last year] (Fitter- casual.)
i really want a new car, but this thing just keeps going! the replacement engine has never had head gasket changed, so as soon as it fails or rego runs out, ill be buy a Subaru.

sorry to be off topic..
also sorry to the OP about the car, but hey, at the end of the day, you have insurance, and it'll be fixed/replaced. not a good thing to happen though.

my photo blog;
http://www.jamesruff.net
JamesR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-08-2011, 12:22 AM   #58

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=20569
Old 24-08-2011, 12:43 AM   #59

Plently of jobs in IT that earn over $40 an hour, one of the contractors we work with is on $3000 a week before tax.

Sad to hear another car has been lost to stupidity, hope insurance doesn't try and bend you over.