You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 03-06-2011, 04:40 PM   #31
whales
351 Cleveland:Pure Muscle

Default Re: Vfacts May 2011

Kiss your *** goodbye Falcon
Old 03-06-2011, 04:44 PM   #32
GTP owner

oh noes, ford are doomed, the sky is falling, run for your lives!!
The sky has already fallen. Just some are knocking on the coffin hoping for signs of life. I think unless Ford reinvent the falcon as a mid-size rear driver then the FG is essentially the end of the road.
E3 chubsport - fully fat (and slow), sitting there waiting for me to get sick of it and sell it.
BA XR6T for a daily
NT Pajero for the bush
XB 4 door project- swallows a BF xr6 turbo

My dad is a generous bloke. He gave away his dead car batteries free of charge....
GTP owner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-06-2011, 05:01 PM   #33
bobthebilda

Does anyone know what sort of production Ford did in May. At 1400 Falcon, 500 Territory, maybe 500 Utes? = 2400 (plus 200 exports?) thats only 2600 cars in a 22 day working month. Even on a 3 day week, thats only 216 a day, for 12 days of manufacturing. Dont they plan to go to a 209 day/ 5 day a week operation in the near future. Either production was further curtailed that what was planned, or stocks must be growing even more.
bobthebilda is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-06-2011, 05:09 PM   #34
Fordman1

Originally Posted by bobthebilda
Does anyone know what sort of production Ford did in May. At 1400 Falcon, 500 Territory, maybe 500 Utes? = 2400 (plus 200 exports?) thats only 2600 cars in a 22 day working month. Even on a 3 day week, thats only 216 a day, for 12 days of manufacturing. Dont they plan to go to a 209 day/ 5 day a week operation in the near future. Either production was further curtailed that what was planned, or stocks must be growing even more.

SZ Territory has been in full production all month, but is only just about to be shipped. ie: approx 2000 units.
Fordman1 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-06-2011, 05:46 PM   #35

What concerns me is, that FORD don't seem to care.? FORD are doing nothing to promote the FALCON..end of year sales etc, do nothing. FORD need to run ads comparing Falcon to Commodore, so people know how superior the FG is..But they aren't. I see FORD allowing FALCON a slow death and saying " production ends Dec 2011, as no one is buying the Falcon." sad to say, but thats how I see it..Slow death by incompetence in marketting etc.. Bye Falcon, been nice to know you , past 41 years. (I have owned 4 plus a Fairlane and have a BF Mk 2 Ghia.)
Old 03-06-2011, 05:48 PM   #36
stevz

Originally Posted by Barraxr8
SZ Territory has been in full production all month, but is only just about to be shipped. ie: approx 2000 units.
I'm sure I read somewhere that the way the plant operates requires 2 Falcons to be made for every Territory that comes off the line. If this is the case then where are all these Falcons going, as the paddocks are bursting at the seams already?
stevz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-06-2011, 05:54 PM   #37
Fordman1

Originally Posted by stevz
I'm sure I read somewhere that the way the plant operates requires 2 Falcons to be made for every Territory that comes off the line. If this is the case then where are all these Falcons going, as the paddocks are bursting at the seams already?

It's a lot closer to 1 to 1 now.
Fordman1 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-06-2011, 06:35 PM   #38
ovl351
Boost Happy

May 2011 top ten makes:

Brand Sales / Movement % / Share %

Holden / 11,115 / -2.3 / 14.4
Toyota / 11,044 / -38.1 / 14.3
Hyundai / 7444 / +16.7 / 9.6
Ford / 6830 / -24.3 / 8.8
Mazda / 5941 / -14.2 / 7.7
Nissan / 5093 / -12.4 / 6.6
Mitsubishi / 4691 / -18.3 / 6.1
Volkswagen / 3625 / +8.8 / 4.7
Subaru / 2454 / -32.0 / 3.2
Kia / 2353 / +15.7 / 3.0

http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mell...2578A4001896DE

Last edited by ovl351; 03-06-2011 at 06:38 PM. Reason: Add link to source
ovl351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-06-2011, 06:35 PM   #39
JPFS1

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Thoughtful contributions to our community. 

it's going to get foggy in here...
JPFS1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-06-2011, 06:39 PM   #40

Originally Posted by JPFS1
it's going to get foggy in here...
We're not sure where Ford is going, maybe someone can reset the compass and point us in the right direction...
Old 03-06-2011, 07:20 PM   #41
JPFS1

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Thoughtful contributions to our community. 

actually my comment is better suited to a marketing thread.
JPFS1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-06-2011, 07:23 PM   #42

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Ford have alot more incentive to advertise a 1500 a month Ranger selling for high $30 thousands to public buyers, than it does selling 1400 a month low $30 thousand Falcons that mainly go to fleets anyhow.
They're selling Rangers for 21-22k.
Old 03-06-2011, 07:25 PM   #43

Well stop whinging and get out and buy a NEW falcon........
Old 03-06-2011, 07:35 PM   #44
GT69

Nooooooooooo....because it isn't a 600kw 1.1l/100 diesel wagon spaceship. Its resale isn't 150% and its build quality isn't NASA grade. /end sarcasm

I love my FG. I'll be looking forward to upgrading to a FG2 shortly

Current Ride - 2013 Ford Ranger, XLT 4x4, ARB kitted brick
Former Current ride - 09 XR6T in Octane, with a pinch of Sports pack
Weekender - Ford Cortina 1969 coupe
Project - 1968 Ford Cortina 4 door
GT69 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-06-2011, 07:39 PM   #45
Resurrection
I was correct - AGAIN

+1

I'm on number 6 and looking forward to my 7th Falcon.
Resurrection is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-06-2011, 07:42 PM   #46

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

The figure would be combined 4x4 and 4x2. Same goes for the Hilux figures etc.

Ford have alot more incentive to advertise a 1500 a month Ranger selling for high $30 thousands to public buyers, than it does selling 1400 a month low $30 thousand Falcons that mainly go to fleets anyhow.
Why??

Falcon actually has more margin in it for Ford / Dealers then the imported rangers do!!
Old 03-06-2011, 07:46 PM   #47
irish2

Would do so in spades if I didn't have 12 cylinders rego (in QLD) and a new house to pay off.
irish2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-06-2011, 07:55 PM   #48

I haven't updated my BF Mk 2 Ghia as the G6E isn't much different in style or equipment. The G6E should have the same equipment as the Mondeo Titanium.
I have looked at the Mondeo and would consider it if the BF no longer meets my specifications. Calais V V8 is on my radar..FORD has nothing in the price range. FPV is too expensive..If I was looking at FPV..THE HSV Senator would win..
End of my rant..
Old 03-06-2011, 09:23 PM   #49

What concerns me is, that FORD don't seem to care.? FORD are doing nothing to promote the FALCON..end of year sales etc, do nothing. FORD need to run ads comparing Falcon to Commodore, so people know how superior the FG is..But they aren't. I see FORD allowing FALCON a slow death and saying " production ends Dec 2011, as no one is buying the Falcon." sad to say, but thats how I see it..Slow death by incompetence in marketting etc.. Bye Falcon, been nice to know you , past 41 years. (I have owned 4 plus a Fairlane and have a BF Mk 2 Ghia.)
I have a feeling Ford isnt bothering marketing the Falcon because it cant compete on spec with everything else. They may be waiting for series 2 and then go all out. They seem to have burned a lot of money on getting the new engines in (Gas 6, FPV miami, ecoboost) and need the money for the next update to get some more interior goodies in the car. If they dont bother marketing the series 2 then we will know that they have given up on it.
Old 03-06-2011, 11:19 PM   #50

maybe the supporters need to catch up with ford, and realise they aren't the 'falcon' car company. so many on here see the v facts every month and hone in on one model.

falcon has been pretty steady this year (albeit in low numbers) and ford have the series 2, lpg and ecoboost coming so i doubt they are as worried as many on here are.
Old 03-06-2011, 11:22 PM   #51
naddis01
\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

Any other figures yet? How did Mondeo go? Were those 2 months just a blip on the radar and has it settled back to its <500/month? Mazda 6 only sold 425 for the month so I would say Mondeo is still ahead of it for 2nd in the Medium class.

Commodore has regained its number 1 position this month albeit by only 200 odd units.

http://www.ozmazdaclub.com/newsroom/...breakdown.html
Top Ten Sales By Marque (Marque - Monthly Sales)

1.Holden - 11,115
2.Toyota - 11,04
3.Hyundai - 7,444
4.Ford - 6,830
5.Mazda - 5,941
6.Nissan - 5,093
7.Mitsubishi - 4,691
8.Volkswagen - 3,625
9.Subaru - 2,454
10.Kia - 2,353
Total Market - 77,406

Top Ten Sales By Marque (Marque - YTD Sales)

1.Toyota - 72,614
2.Holden - 49,743
3.Ford - 36,008
4.Mazda - 35,170
5.Hyundai - 34,444
6.Nissan - 27,599
7.Mitsubishi - 25,283
8.Subaru - 15,642
9.Volkswagen - 15,415
10.Honda - 12,191
Total Market - 400,084

Top Ten Sales by Model (Marque/Model - Monthly Sales)

1.Holden Commodore - 3,504
2.Toyota Hilux - 3,162
3.Holden Cruze - 2,914
4.Mazda Mazda3 - 2,797
5.Hyundai i30 - 2,479
6.Nissan Navara - 1,983
7.Volkswagen Golf - 1,864
8.Hyundai Getz - 1,730
9.Ford Ranger - 1,520
10.Toyota Camry - 1,499

Top Ten Sales by Model (Marque/Model - YTD Sales)

1.Holden Commodore - 17,223
2.Mazda Mazda3 - 17,000
3.Toyota Hilux - 15,462
4.Toyota Corolla - 13,624
5.Holden Cruze - 12,942
6.Hyundai i30 - 11,715
7.Nissan Navara - 9,996
8.Hyundai Getz - 8,533
9.Mitsubishi Lancer - 7,779
10.Mitsubishi Triton - 7,734

Mazda Model Breakdown (Model - Monthly Sales - YTD Sales)

Mazda2 - 1,040 - 6,808
Mazda3 - 2,782 - 16,876
Mazda3 MPS - 15 - 124
Mazda6 - 425 - 2,301
MX-5 - 40 - 154
RX-8 - 9 - 41
CX-7 - 577 - 3,459
CX-9 - 241 - 1,331
BT-50 4X2 - 433 - 2,271
BT-50 4X4 - 379 - 1,805
naddis01 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-06-2011, 11:38 PM   #52
Quicksand
Lucky, lucky bastard!

I resent this. Many of us on here are buying as many new Falcon's as is financially practical (sometimes when it isn't). We are losing money hand over fist by changing to a new Falcon every 1-3 years.

By the sounds of it, it is just the forum and Ford enthusiasts that is propping up the Falcon. THATS NOT ENOUGH!!!

Ford needs to win over the public again, and by the sounds of it, they have resigned the Falcon to its fate and DONT GIVE A STUFF.

So if Ford dont give a stuff, why should i go out and keep taking crappy resale, poor quality build's, disgraceful after sales customer service and everything else up the tail pipe?

You are losing me Ford, just like you are losing everyone else.
Old 03-06-2011, 11:51 PM   #53
P6LTD351
Blue Blood

Let's face it. Ford have given up on the Falcon. They are allowing it to die. Has got nothing to do with a small group of enthusiasts buying NEW Falcons.

So one can't voice their frustration unless they buy a NEW car? I guess I better not comment on the footy either as I haven't played the game.

BTW I don't call it whinging, I call it CARING about the potential end of our favourite car.

But I best just shut my mouth as I can't afford to buy a new one.
1986 XF Fairmont Ghia 4.1L EFI Regency Red, trip computer, venetians - 163Ks
1979 P6 LTD 351, Goldust - 185Ks
1989 Mazda MX5, Red 1.6L, 5sp manual - 102Ks
P6LTD351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-06-2011, 10:27 AM   #54

WHy? Is the last Falcon going to be a collectible? The Magna wasnt...
b0son is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-06-2011, 10:37 AM   #55

Can't, he isn't a fleet owner...
Old 04-06-2011, 10:38 AM   #56
Fordman

Originally Posted by b0son
WHy? Is the last Falcon going to be a collectible? The Magna wasnt...
Nor the 380 for that matter. Lol.
Fordman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-06-2011, 10:42 AM   #57

The last Falcon made will probably never be sold and end up in a Ford museum
with 4,000 of it's brothers...

All jokes aside, it quite scarry that XR6 is $34,990 drive away and available on some plans as $30K drive away
yet Falcon sales are in the 1300s, maybe Ford is counting on Territory becoming the dominant vehicle.....
Old 04-06-2011, 10:51 AM   #58

maybe Ford is counting on Territory becoming the dominant vehicle.....
Ford need Falcon to sell in viable numbers for the territory to be viable also. If one dies, so too will the other in all likelihood.

Goodbye locally made Fords of any kind at this rate.
b0son is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-06-2011, 02:04 PM   #59

realised the Commodore Sportwagon has probably been outselling the entire Falcon range for quite some time now.
Old 04-06-2011, 02:59 PM   #60

The first set of graphical data is now uploaded in the Tech area.

russellw is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post