You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

View Poll Results: How many Klms do you drive each year?
0- I dont drive 0 0%
0-5000- I dont drive much 7 3.85%
5000-10000 17 9.34%
10000-20000 37 20.33%
20000-30000 44 24.18%
30000-40000 31 17.03%
More than 40000 39 21.43%
Im a courier/hired car/taxi driver 6 3.30%
Dont know/Dont car 1 0.55%
Voters: 182. You may not vote on this poll

Old 24-04-2006, 09:37 AM   #31
mash85

so far ive done 15K in about 3 months. so guess that works out to be about 60K in a year. lookiong at buying a daily driver, something small and economical give me time to play around with the beast too
mash85 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-04-2006, 09:40 AM   #32
nat_daly
Nat D

had my licence since may 2005 and done 35,000 k's
i drive up the coast alot..so i guess that dosent help
old ride#1: ED XR6 5 speed-gone to new home:(
old ride#2:dumped EL fairmont 5l
new ride: Winter white AU2 XR8-manual
nat_daly is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-04-2006, 09:41 AM   #33

30 000 - 40 000 for me. I take the opportunity to drive whenever I can.
Old 24-04-2006, 09:43 AM   #34

Used to be around 35000 - 40000 a year doing 100 kms a day, 6 days a week.

Going off how far I drive now, wouldn't be anymore than 10,000km a year.
Old 24-04-2006, 09:55 AM   #35
GreenMachine
Mopar/No Car

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Sensational write up about drum brakes. 

Varies... My old Falcon did 90,000k's in 02, private use only... Probably going to hit 60ish this year - The EB Ghia's been registered just on 6 week and I've done 6,000k's...

'72 Plymouth Scamp
'80 Courier
'13 Kawasaki ZX14-R
'13 Berlina
'92 Suzuki DR650

If you don't fight - You lose
GreenMachine is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-04-2006, 10:08 AM   #36
Tote

About 55,000 Km a year, luckily someone else wears the depreciation and fuel costs.
Regards,
Tote
Old 24-04-2006, 10:21 AM   #37

Probably about 15,000 a year.

These days I try to drive my car as little as possible.

It's suave, more subtle, and yet no less stirring. In fact, the boosted Ford is more polished than any big sedan Australia has ever produced. It's just so damn good, it makes the SS feel crude... Ignore the WRX. Forget the E49. Falcon XR6 Turbo is king.
Old 24-04-2006, 02:40 PM   #38
Full Spectrum
Only a matter of time.

Around about 7800 km home is where i work.
Old 24-04-2006, 03:16 PM   #39
ten[A]cio[U]s

In my first car (the ex-family car), my NA Fairlane. I go it late feb with 242,000 kms on it. and when we sold it it was in early november with 264,000 kms on it. so in about 8ish month is put about 22,000 kms on it. i sure did love driving the baby..
ten[A]cio[U]s is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-04-2006, 03:31 PM   #40
Deadman

About 50,000km per year ( even with the office being at home :( )
Deadman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-04-2006, 03:44 PM   #41
Yummy Mummy

Had my car since November 2005, travelled 20,000klms since then, so I suppose I'll be looking at around 40,000klms.
Yummy Mummy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-04-2006, 08:49 PM   #42
Dimi_Ghia
Yeah it's a V8 mate.

Had my car for a year and have done about 15000kms. I am only 12kms from work but most of the Kms I do have been done on the weekends....

2016 LZ FOCUS TREND SEDAN IN CANDY RED
Dimi_Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-04-2006, 09:01 PM   #43
Noddy
Mercury Silver T3

5000-10,000.

2017 Magnetic Mustang

What to hear a tuff T3?
Click here
http://s7.photobucket.com/albums/y30...ent=Movie2.mp4
Noddy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-04-2006, 09:13 PM   #44
normxb

Location: Sitting on the Dunny , Contemplating "What to do Next".

About 5-6,000 in the wifes ED (cheaper to run)
1,200 in my XF wagon
40 Kilometres in my XB

I live in a small town 3 blocks from the main st. that helps

Brother-in-law in Canberra did 1.3 mill K's in 14 yrs (2 motors) XF Falcon but then again it was a Cab & he had 2 relief drivers :nutsycuck

Keeping FORDS in the family

(Embarressment :yeees: , Son now has a "Camira" : )
"Look Right , Look Left , Look Right , BEFORE crossing Roads"
normxb is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-04-2006, 09:27 PM   #45
GUTLES
Adam.

XF - 37000 - drives 110 return trip to work 6 days a week & a bit of running around..
EF - 25000 - the family car..
AU - 15000 - was driven mainly on weekends..

Mmmm yeah, I like driving ;)

2007 BF Mk2 Winter White E-Gas Wagon, 6 Seater.

2002 AU3 XR6, Liquid Silver, Manual, Sunroof, LPG, Rebel Kit, BA GTP's, Momo Steering Wheel & Gear Knob.
GUTLES is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-04-2006, 10:24 PM   #46
goXF
Now AU powered

average about 12,000 a year - mainly on weekends - the good xf has just had it's 125,000 service! Genuine K's!
goXF is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-04-2006, 10:25 PM   #47
RavenLS1

10k-20k for me.
Old 25-04-2006, 09:44 AM   #48
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

I probably average between 4500 to 5000 km’s a week, or roughly 250,000 a year.

Cheers, Danny
Full Noise is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-04-2006, 02:37 PM   #49
Smoked
Burnin Rubber

23141 km - worked out using this years ave km.
Travelled 4402km in the last 2 months.

Aved 22475 km with the EB when i had it.
***Coming Soon: Clear Side Repeaters***
Originally Posted by The-ShowStoPPa
...dont get me wrong this 3.8v6 is pretty special, it does come with the popular shake rattle and roll option and the auto compliments this with the ever popular snap crackle and pop feature
Smoked is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-04-2006, 02:41 PM   #50
Smoked
Burnin Rubber

Originally Posted by Full Noise
I probably average between 4500 to 5000 km’s a week, or roughly 250,000 a year.

Cheers, Danny
Dude, doing what?

Assuming 10 hrs of work a day at 70km per hour, thats 700km per day or 3500km per week.

Not sure if your amount is possible.
...dont get me wrong this 3.8v6 is pretty special, it does come with the popular shake rattle and roll option and the auto compliments this with the ever popular snap crackle and pop feature
Old 25-04-2006, 03:08 PM   #51

Originally Posted by Smoked
Dude, doing what?

Assuming 10 hrs of work a day at 70km per hour, thats 700km per day or 3500km per week.

Danny has the same job as me (terrorising motorists with a B-double) and 250.000 a year is about average these days.
Although I think Danny goes all over the place - not unlike his driving - I only drive from near the Vic Border to the Qld border 5 times a fortnight.
Old 25-04-2006, 03:29 PM   #52
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

Originally Posted by Smoked
Dude, doing what?

What? For starters, I don’t know what a 10 hour day is, however, I’ll give you an example. Eastern suburbs to western suburbs of Melbourne, 38 kms. Laverton to Narrandera then to Leeton then back to Melbourne, around 990 kms. Laverton back to eastern suburbs, another 38 kms, so that’s 1066 kms and that is just for tonight. I work six nights a week, although some nights I might only do around 700 kms and on other occasions I may not work the Saturday so as you can see it’s quite possible.

Cheers, Danny
Old 25-04-2006, 03:46 PM   #53
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

Originally Posted by GasOLane
I think Danny goes all over the place - not unlike his driving -
You’ve been spying on me, haven’t you. :hihi: :
Old 25-04-2006, 03:48 PM   #54

Originally Posted by Full Noise
What? For starters, I don’t know what a 10 hour day is,
Cheers, Danny
Geez Danny, I only do a 10hr day...well 10 1/2 if you count my regulation legal enforced half hour break.

Roger.
Old 25-04-2006, 03:55 PM   #55
Smoked
Burnin Rubber

Ok.
If figured you might be a truckie, but 250k sounded to be alot, thanks for clarifying.
Old 28-04-2006, 12:29 PM   #56
sven

i do about 18000 a year
Old 28-04-2006, 12:47 PM   #57

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

I don't do as much as the truckies out there ... but I mainly cover the Sydney metro area when doing courier work ... on average that can be 300-400km for the day.

Then I can do the odd country job here and there (longest run was a 1700km round trip - overnight next day).

And when travelling to and from my Optus office job ... I travel from Kurrajong to Chatswood ... so that round trip is 150km for the day (as I live 75km from work).

So I have varied distances ... depends on work and where I get sent.

Last year I only managed 60,000km ... but for the first part fo the year I didn't do that much in the way of courier work .... i think this coming year I will have many more added to that.
Old 28-04-2006, 01:42 PM   #58

Originally Posted by Mechan1k
I don't do as much as the truckies out there ... but I mainly cover the Sydney metro area when doing courier work ... on average that can be 300-400km for the day.
I'd rather do 4000k's out here on the highway than 400 in Syd traffic.
You deserve a medal for just putting up with Morris's wonderfull traffic system, not to mention all the courteous drivers there!
Old 28-04-2006, 01:51 PM   #59

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

I avoid the Cross Sh1tty Tunnel like the plague.
LOL.

I don't mind metro ... I am used to Sydney traffic ... I thought it was full of bad drivers ... untile I went to Melbourne .... JEEEEEEZUS. I was shocked at the amount of people that can't drive at all down there. Sydney traffic seems civilised and somewhat educated ... LOL (except for "most" of city taxi drivers though).

I'd rather do country mileage as well ... metro is not too bad though (in a ute that is ... dunno about a truck). Inner city ... well ... it's survival of the fitest in there somedays.

It takes it's toll though ... the ute needs very regular servicing ... my 60,000km per year wear and tear is much different from country 60,000km wear and tear.

I do a monthly oil change (filter every 2 months) ... transmission service nearly every 2nd month ... brake pads seem to last me 6months/30,000km ... luckily my 17" tyres have lasted me 50,000km so far and I still have plenty left on them. Coolant flush every 3 months.

It's not cheap really ... I do get discounts though ... but it still adds up ... and so do tolls ... thank God I am running LPG ... otherwise I'd need to take a loan out to afford any other form of fuel.
Old 28-04-2006, 02:00 PM   #60

Approx 500km/week. That's approx 26,000/year.

Sometimes more, sometimes less. Depends.