You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 03-07-2014, 11:03 PM   #31
Paull
P6 LTD

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: For all the hard work performed around paint, trim, engine codes in the Classics section. General all round knwoledge and willingness to impart on others 
Default Re: FIFO advice

Originally Posted by EF_6 View Post
O.k so how would a diesel mechanic make his way into oil and gas???
You have a number of options (for WA)

1) Apply online. You can either look at brownfields or green fields employment.

Brownfields would be Woodside, Apache, Santos & MODEC. Woodside typically use contracting companies such as Transfield to supply trades (fitters, electricians, welders, riggers, scaffolders etc). There is also UGL.

http://www.transfieldservices.com/
http://www.ugllimited.com/people-career

When it comes to the oil companies, direct employment for a person outside the industry, can be a bit difficult. However, it does not hurt to try. They do in some cases employ trades directly

http://www.santos.com/careers/
http://www.woodside.com.au/careers/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.apachecorp.com/Operations...lia/index.aspx
http://www.modec.com/career/
http://www.bhpbilliton.com/home/peop...s/default.aspx

In regards to the greenfields projects/companies, there are 3 main companies currently in the construction phase. These are Inpex, Chevron and Shell. As these companies are still building, they will continue to be employing over the next 12 to 24 months. In that, keep an eye out on their webpages.

http://www.inpex.com.au/projects/ichthys-project.aspx
http://careers.chevron.com/global_op...ons/australia/
http://www.shell.com.au/aboutshell/c...n-prelude.html

Note that these companies typically advertise on Seek as well.

The Inpex project will have two offshore assets (north west WA) and one land based asset in Darwin. Shell will be strictly offshore. Chevron will have 2 land based assets (Gorgon on Barrow Island and Wheatstone down stream plant in Ashburton (Onslow) and one offshore asset. Inpex are the big payers when it comes to the above.

One thing to know about the greenfield projects is that in some cases, there is a lot of external hiring. That is, the companies look for people who have never been in the industry. The reason behind this is that just because you have 20 years experience offshore, does not necessarily make you a good employee. Also, the typical onshore worker can be enticed by what they see as a good salary whereas an existing offshore worker would not accept some of the salaries being offered.

2) Look at getting a traineeship.

CCI are typically the first point of call for most of the brownfields companies in employing apprentices & trainees. As you are already a tradesman, your best bet would be to look at getting a Production Technician traineeship. These typically last for 2 years: not normally the best salaries (in comparison to the usual oil & gas salaries) but still ok.

http://www.cciwa.com/what-we-offer/a...ainee-services

When it comes to direct employment, being a Production Technician is perhaps the better way to go. In effect, there is no formal qualification, just on the job knowledge/experience. In the last 10 years though, companies have pushed for a minimum of Cert II but if you are keen, you can always do the Cert IV on your own prior to applying.

https://training.gov.au/Training/Details/PMA08

This course is offered Australia wide and accepted at all companies. You would also do this training course as part of the aforementioned traineeship.

There are other options but I think they will take too long to explain and the above are fairly straightforward ways of getting in.

3 points to take note of.

1) Attitude over aptitude everyday of the week. You may be the best and brightest but if you have a poor attitude to safety/work ethic, you will not get a look in. You can train for aptitude but not attitude.
2) If you manage to get an interview, research as much as you can about the particular company/project/field. The companies really love this stuff as it shows that you are keen. It will actually make a difference wen it comes to comparing candidates.
3) The most important by far - SAFETY, SAFETY SAFETY!!!!!!!!!!!! In everything you do, safety is always at the forefront. Always keep that in mind.

Also know that with all of these companies/jobs, you can live anywhere in Australia. The usual roster is 2 weeks on, 2 weeks off, 2 weeks on and then 4 weeks off. Woodside are moving to 3W on, 3Woff, 3W on and 6 weeks off.

And lastly, best of luck.

Last edited by Paull; 03-07-2014 at 11:09 PM. Reason: left something out
Paull is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-07-2014, 07:47 PM   #32
Luke G

Originally Posted by Paull View Post
You have a number of options (for WA)

1) Apply online. You can either look at brownfields or green fields employment.

Brownfields would be Woodside, Apache, Santos & MODEC. Woodside typically use contracting companies such as Transfield to supply trades (fitters, electricians, welders, riggers, scaffolders etc). There is also UGL.

http://www.transfieldservices.com/
http://www.ugllimited.com/people-career

When it comes to the oil companies, direct employment for a person outside the industry, can be a bit difficult. However, it does not hurt to try. They do in some cases employ trades directly

http://www.santos.com/careers/
http://www.woodside.com.au/careers/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.apachecorp.com/Operations...lia/index.aspx
http://www.modec.com/career/
http://www.bhpbilliton.com/home/peop...s/default.aspx

In regards to the greenfields projects/companies, there are 3 main companies currently in the construction phase. These are Inpex, Chevron and Shell. As these companies are still building, they will continue to be employing over the next 12 to 24 months. In that, keep an eye out on their webpages.

http://www.inpex.com.au/projects/ichthys-project.aspx
http://careers.chevron.com/global_op...ons/australia/
http://www.shell.com.au/aboutshell/c...n-prelude.html

Note that these companies typically advertise on Seek as well.

The Inpex project will have two offshore assets (north west WA) and one land based asset in Darwin. Shell will be strictly offshore. Chevron will have 2 land based assets (Gorgon on Barrow Island and Wheatstone down stream plant in Ashburton (Onslow) and one offshore asset. Inpex are the big payers when it comes to the above.

One thing to know about the greenfield projects is that in some cases, there is a lot of external hiring. That is, the companies look for people who have never been in the industry. The reason behind this is that just because you have 20 years experience offshore, does not necessarily make you a good employee. Also, the typical onshore worker can be enticed by what they see as a good salary whereas an existing offshore worker would not accept some of the salaries being offered.

2) Look at getting a traineeship.

CCI are typically the first point of call for most of the brownfields companies in employing apprentices & trainees. As you are already a tradesman, your best bet would be to look at getting a Production Technician traineeship. These typically last for 2 years: not normally the best salaries (in comparison to the usual oil & gas salaries) but still ok.

http://www.cciwa.com/what-we-offer/a...ainee-services

When it comes to direct employment, being a Production Technician is perhaps the better way to go. In effect, there is no formal qualification, just on the job knowledge/experience. In the last 10 years though, companies have pushed for a minimum of Cert II but if you are keen, you can always do the Cert IV on your own prior to applying.

https://training.gov.au/Training/Details/PMA08

This course is offered Australia wide and accepted at all companies. You would also do this training course as part of the aforementioned traineeship.

There are other options but I think they will take too long to explain and the above are fairly straightforward ways of getting in.

3 points to take note of.

1) Attitude over aptitude everyday of the week. You may be the best and brightest but if you have a poor attitude to safety/work ethic, you will not get a look in. You can train for aptitude but not attitude.
2) If you manage to get an interview, research as much as you can about the particular company/project/field. The companies really love this stuff as it shows that you are keen. It will actually make a difference wen it comes to comparing candidates.
3) The most important by far - SAFETY, SAFETY SAFETY!!!!!!!!!!!! In everything you do, safety is always at the forefront. Always keep that in mind.

Also know that with all of these companies/jobs, you can live anywhere in Australia. The usual roster is 2 weeks on, 2 weeks off, 2 weeks on and then 4 weeks off. Woodside are moving to 3W on, 3Woff, 3W on and 6 weeks off.

And lastly, best of luck.
Lots of good info in this post,

Monodelphis is the contractor you want to be looking at rather then TW.

You will need your Cert 4 instrumentation and your Hazardous area to get a look in at a gas plant for an electrician.

The rosters you mentioned at the end are close, but some of the companys have a different set up. Construction is different then an operational roster too.

Luke G is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-07-2014, 08:22 PM   #33
stazza

www.bepartofsomethingbig.com.au

This is where I work and who I work for, they are still hiring so get in quick.

Highest paid construction workers in the world. Lap it up whilst it's here.
2011 SILHOUETTE FPV GS 315 #0275
20x10", 20x8.5" Lenso D1R's
Pedders XA Coilovers
Brembo 4/1
Pacemaker 1" 7/8 Headers
Twin 3" Stainless Manta Catback
XFT Built Motor
XFT Custom Surge Tank
XFT Stage 3 ZF
Final Drive Chromoly Tailshaft
KPM Twin Air Filter
KPM Stage 2 Intercooler
KPM Twin Throttle Body
2.6L Kenne Bell on E85
BlueStreak Circle D Converter
900+ rwhp thanks to Xtreme Ford Tuning
stazza is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-07-2014, 08:25 PM   #34
chriso89

Mine work is hard to come by these days.

Oil and gas pay just as well though with Australia having many Gas pipeline projects in the construction phases at the moment.

I.e Gorgon, Wheatstone, whatever the NT Inpex job is called, Roy hill etc etc.

your best chance of FIFO work in my opinion at the moment is in the gas industry.

Chris.
Vertini magic Concaves 19x8.5 fronts 19x9.5 rears.
PW S1 cooler kit, Plazmaman T/Side intake+Battery Relocate, 4" Exhaust, Injectors, V-Springs, eBoost2, custom tune + ZF Tune.
-------------------------
-PREVIOUS-
N/A 2010 FG XR6 ute in EGO.
Atomic Stage 4 Cams + Valve Springs.
Full XFORCE 2.5" Exhaust.
Full Custom Tune - 167.2 RWKW
chriso89 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-07-2014, 07:56 PM   #35
FlipXW

Originally Posted by FlipXW View Post
I'm an electrician and I have just applied for the Curtis island LNG project in Gladstone QLD. Really hoping to get a start as I have a couple of mates that are working there and they are earning bucket loads.
Well I had a medical for this position today and all went sweet so hopefully ill be up here within the next few weeks
FlipXW is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-07-2014, 10:07 PM   #36
chriso89

Good luck flipxw.

on a side note how good is the electrical trade? I've just started my degree as an electrical engineer after being a specialist electrician in the oil and gas industry for a couple of years - so much opportunity (if you can get in) lol.

good on you mate bechtel is a decent company.
PW S1 cooler kit, Plazmaman T/Side intake+Battery Relocate, 4" Exhaust, Injectors, V-Springs, eBoost2, custom tune + ZF Tune.
-PREVIOUS-
Old 17-07-2014, 10:25 PM   #37
05_ENFORCER

Originally Posted by chriso89 View Post
Good luck flipxw.

on a side note how good is the electrical trade? I've just started my degree as an electrical engineer after being a specialist electrician in the oil and gas industry for a couple of years - so much opportunity (if you can get in) lol.

good on you mate bechtel is a decent company.

Why the **** would do the engineering bit and go backwards????

Depending what you call "specialist electrician in the oil and gas industry" of course.

A chief engineer (good sparky) on an expo semi sub is in excess of 200/250 gees!

A half good sparky is on roughly 140/180 gees on a 28/28 roster!

I am not trying to shoot down your aspirations, but holy baby of jesus !

Old 17-07-2014, 10:49 PM   #38
chriso89

I'm on good money mate and I have no plans to stop doing what I'm doing at the moment but while work is paying for me to do the degree to add to my knowledge base and increase my technical abilities I will be doing it.

my field is HV protection so you kind of can't just stay a sparky if you want to get anywhere with it.
I plan to be a field engineer, not an academic engineer with no prior skills or grasp of the regs.

It's win win for me.

I'm already making the coin and get to travel throughout the country and asia pacific.
natural evolution.
-PREVIOUS-
Old 17-07-2014, 11:11 PM   #39
05_ENFORCER

Originally Posted by chriso89 View Post
I'm on good money mate and I have no plans to stop doing what I'm doing at the moment but while work is paying for me to do the degree to add to my knowledge base and increase my technical abilities I will be doing it.

my field is HV protection so you kind of can't just stay a sparky if you want to get anywhere with it.
I plan to be a field engineer, not an academic engineer with no prior skills or grasp of the regs.

It's win win for me.

I'm already making the coin and get to travel throughout the country and asia pacific.
natural evolution.

Good onya, best of luck, you are obliviously young, you will work it out in the end, no doubt...........

Old 28-07-2014, 08:52 AM   #40

http://www.couriermail.com.au/news/n...=1406497834120
Old 28-07-2014, 09:43 AM   #41
smoo

Fckn selfish *****. No one was forcing the precious soul into earning $3-4k/week. First world problems. Just aswell he wasn't in the military.
smoo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-07-2014, 10:02 AM   #42

Bring laptop, buy Telstra NextG USB dongle and load up a portable hard drive full of movies if you spend all night in your rooms or socialise with other people?

Surely these people arent locked up in their rooms like jail cells lol.
Old 28-07-2014, 10:39 AM   #43
MDS69

I have lived on the east coast all my life. I worked up in Dampier at Hammersly Iron for 3 months in the early '90's and stayed on site for the entire time in single mens quarters. It was the best time I have had at work but I understand it would be much different to the mine camps. I have no experience with the mine camps and FIFO but there must have been other issues in this mans life. As mentioned above find another job at home or do what is mentioned above, socialise, watch movies etc. Am I simplifying it or is it really that tough.
MDS69 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-07-2014, 11:25 AM   #44
richo77

Originally Posted by buggerlugs View Post
Sad story indeed but no one is forcing these guys into the job. He knew he had mental health issues which he attributed to FIFO yet continued to work there until his demise. It doesn't take a genius to work out whose really to blame here.
richo77 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-07-2014, 12:10 PM   #45

Originally Posted by richo77 View Post
Sad story indeed but no one is forcing these guys into the job. He knew he had mental health issues which he attributed to FIFO yet continued to work there until his demise. It doesn't take a genius to work out whose really to blame here.
Agreed. Whilst I feel for the guys relatives, it was his choice to stay when he could have quit.

Not unlike Interstate Truck Drivers who blame their job for ending relationships.
They had the choice of either having a well paid job and not be home every night, or take a lower paid position closer to home.
Old 28-07-2014, 10:12 PM   #46
chrisandsharon

No different to an unhappy bloke working 9-5, shift work, in the defence force, trucky etc with mental issues.....no different, everyone's got a story and an opinion.........usually an opinion that could relate to their own perfectly balanced life but too scared to look in the mirror.

Do they need an enquiry to realise someone working a 4/1 roster indefinitely isn't happy long term. That bloke says it's good for a single person......total BS.......it's great for contracting companies who are allowed to employ unskilled workers as kitchen hands on a 4/1 roster to save on airfares employing them on a 1/1 even time roster.

Make no mistake, there are some awesome FIFO rosters out there, and there are shockers.......the shockers are legalised slave labour rosters that are no good for anyone........period.

Gota laugh regarding the drinking comment, again it's the same in the defence force, building industry, car industry, professional sports etc....... the list is endless, if a bloke can't handle his **** the problems gunna catch up with him no matter if he's a doctor or on a 4/1 FIFO roster. It's bloody sad that blokes story but the truth is the same happens everywhere........so regarding a taxpayer funded enquiry into the obvious FIFO BS rosters..........fn please!
chrisandsharon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-07-2014, 10:23 PM   #47

obviously not in a good head space to begin with

don't blame the FIFO
pottery beige is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-07-2014, 05:27 PM   #48

I've had association with Mine workers for over 20 years as many of my wife's family work in the industry.
In that time I have seen suicides, relationship breakdowns, bankruptcy and constant drug/alcohol abuse.

It is true that all of these things are present in all walks of society but I think the difference is the $ and how much more their is at stake as a result of the conditions.

In all of the above situations it was due to money problems and the need to support the lifestyle.

In the first case a close family friend suicided because his pay got cut by about $15k. This was in the early 90's and he was on about 120k at the time but up to his ears in debt.

The next, a marriage breakdown, ended in suicide for the man. She soon met another miner...

The 3rd case was a bloke who got out but ran out of money in no time flat. Lost a business venture and is now right back in the hole.

All of them have drug and alcohol issues although they would never admit it.

Only 1 of a dozen has made it work for him and he's still doing it after 20 years.

From an outsider I have watched it all over the years.
Sure, I've envied their new HSV's, Jetski's, Speedboats, Mansions.

But in there lies their own demons, the need to keep it up or risk losing their appeal.
Its all about the spend.

I know of 2 fellas in my street who work FIFO and you can tell what their current roster is by what their missus is wearing, or should I say isn't wearing and how late the car rumbles back down the street.
Not that im a stalker..lol, its blatantly obvious.
I can understand why so many relationships breakdown.

I couldn't do it, I love seeing my wife and kids too much to miss 3/4 of their lives and to be honest, at 38, with 4 kids and a wife I've been with since I was 15, my relationship is probably one that could survive the stresses of FIFO.

Unfortunately its the nature of the beast in many cases.
Old 29-07-2014, 11:16 PM   #49
chrisandsharon

Then again bent-8 look at the blokes doing the great FIFO rosters that spend near on 8 months at home earning the coin that don't drink or do drugs. Not all the 50 odd thousand FIFOs are in it for the spend/appeal.Many are in it for the obvious reason - coin - but the quality family time that a great FIFO roster will also give a sheila/bloke if lucky enough to pick it up is a priceless.......they get huge amounts of quality time with their kids - school pick ups/drop offs/canteen/weekday sports training etc. I know plenty of em' that would happily do that for 20 years on their current FIFO arrangement. Regarding boys toys, some have no toys, they spend money on holidays, paying mortgages etc.

My old man worked from dawn till after dark Monday to Friday in the customs game. We mainly saw him only on weekends. He was a good man /father that very rarely had a beer and looked after us like a good man would. Thank **** he wasn't a drinker because the weekend would have been a write off for us. We're best mates now and I cherish that. Some of the guys I know on the awesome FIFO rosters see their kids heaps more than what our dad saw of us........no comparison.

It's not surprising in the least what you have said but again it comes down to the bloke and the roster. There are mining companies that will not allow some of the 4/1 rosters for example that the enquiry will investigate, they don't allow it for a reason.

I feel sorry for the genuine blokes who have alley cats for a partner.......FIFO/school teacher/shiftworker/defense etc, wouldn't matter what their bloke worked, once an alley cat always an alley cat. My ex fiancé was one, would root anything with a heartbeat, she was a shocker lol.....and I can laugh about it now

Mate I can tell you what the 20 blokes in my street are doing tomorrow at 11, they're at work and half their missus are at home. Doesn't mean anything irrespective of what they wear.

My mate landed on the shores of Timor in late 99'. 6 months later he returned to no woman. She had cheated on him while he was away and cleaned his bank account out just before he got back, low life. Just another sad story though, there's a thousand more. Poor bloke though.

Mate I respect what your saying and yes it's time for the slave labour FIFO rosters to come to an end. It will stop the problems that you have witnessed and more. A FIFO support worker will tell someone who starts a 4/1 roster that you need an 'exit strategy'. If someone thinks they can do a 4/1 roster long term they are living in fairy land. Maybe a handful of people could do it, but most would struggle and break in the end......along with the loved ones around them. Again though the same problems happen in thousands of homes across Australia that work a mon-fri job.

Look at Gina Rinehart. Joanna Gash (MP) was in talks with her to sign up some of Shoalhavens long term unemployed to work a 4/1 roster on her new Roy Hill venture. They were even looking at chartering a plane from Albion Pk direct to Port Hedland. I bet over half of em wouldn't have got on that plane again, **** this they would have said after the first tour! It never got off the ground as far as I know.

Finally I'll tell you a conversation I witnessed 2 weeks back. A couple was talking about his 4/1 roster. She said 'yeah it's great..... his got gyms/pools/ipad etc.
He was struggling though, he was not agreeing with her. He said yeah I have that but it's still pretty lonely and I'm not with you and the kids. She was brushing off his struggles (half laughing) to us as not that important and I thought you poor bastard. It's blokes like that who are in danger and are the ones this enquiry will help by killing off the slave labour FIFO rosters.
chrisandsharon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-07-2014, 12:00 AM   #50

Originally Posted by chrisandsharon View Post
Then again bent-8 look at the blokes doing the great FIFO rosters that spend near on 8 months at home earning the coin that don't drink or do drugs. Not all the 50 odd thousand FIFOs are in it for the spend/appeal.Many are in it for the obvious reason - coin - but the quality family time that a great FIFO roster will also give a sheila/bloke if lucky enough to pick it up is a priceless.......they get huge amounts of quality time with their kids - school pick ups/drop offs/canteen/weekday sports training etc. I know plenty of em' that would happily do that for 20 years on their current FIFO arrangement. Regarding boys toys, some have no toys, they spend money on holidays, paying mortgages etc.

My old man worked from dawn till after dark Monday to Friday in the customs game. We mainly saw him only on weekends. He was a good man /father that very rarely had a beer and looked after us like a good man would. Thank **** he wasn't a drinker because the weekend would have been a write off for us. We're best mates now and I cherish that. Some of the guys I know on the awesome FIFO rosters see their kids heaps more than what our dad saw of us........no comparison.

It's not surprising in the least what you have said but again it comes down to the bloke and the roster. There are mining companies that will not allow some of the 4/1 rosters for example that the enquiry will investigate, they don't allow it for a reason.

I feel sorry for the genuine blokes who have alley cats for a partner.......FIFO/school teacher/shiftworker/defense etc, wouldn't matter what their bloke worked, once an alley cat always an alley cat. My ex fiancé was one, would root anything with a heartbeat, she was a shocker lol.....and I can laugh about it now

Mate I can tell you what the 20 blokes in my street are doing tomorrow at 11, they're at work and half their missus are at home. Doesn't mean anything irrespective of what they wear.

My mate landed on the shores of Timor in late 99'. 6 months later he returned to no woman. She had cheated on him while he was away and cleaned his bank account out just before he got back, low life. Just another sad story though, there's a thousand more. Poor bloke though.

Mate I respect what your saying and yes it's time for the slave labour FIFO rosters to come to an end. It will stop the problems that you have witnessed and more. A FIFO support worker will tell someone who starts a 4/1 roster that you need an 'exit strategy'. If someone thinks they can do a 4/1 roster long term they are living in fairy land. Maybe a handful of people could do it, but most would struggle and break in the end......along with the loved ones around them. Again though the same problems happen in thousands of homes across Australia that work a mon-fri job.

Look at Gina Rinehart. Joanna Gash (MP) was in talks with her to sign up some of Shoalhavens long term unemployed to work a 4/1 roster on her new Roy Hill venture. They were even looking at chartering a plane from Albion Pk direct to Port Hedland. I bet over half of em wouldn't have got on that plane again, **** this they would have said after the first tour! It never got off the ground as far as I know.

Finally I'll tell you a conversation I witnessed 2 weeks back. A couple was talking about his 4/1 roster. She said 'yeah it's great..... his got gyms/pools/ipad etc.
He was struggling though, he was not agreeing with her. He said yeah I have that but it's still pretty lonely and I'm not with you and the kids. She was brushing off his struggles (half laughing) to us as not that important and I thought you poor bastard. It's blokes like that who are in danger and are the ones this enquiry will help by killing off the slave labour FIFO rosters.
I guess that's the price of a comfortable lifestyle for some. I don't have a problem with the concept of FIFO, I just believe it is not for everyone and people need to look past the lure of the dollar and the thought of getting rich quick because it isn't always what its cracked up to be.
The family member I alluded to previously who has made the lifestyle a success went straight from school, stayed single until his late 20's and was set up financially before marrying and kids.
He has had his share of toys but keeps it real, I have no doubt he could retire now at 45 and live a very good existence but he too loves the job and his relationship is secure.

It is what it is, some make it some don't.

Unfortunately the young bloke in the previous link got in over his head and found himself taking it on alone, add the isolation, being unable to do what men do and get things straightened out and the results shouldn't surprise anyone who has seen the signs before.

Having said all that I wouldn't deter anyone from giving it a go, you never know until you give it a go, but go in with both eyes open and have a solid plan 'B'.
Old 30-07-2014, 09:30 AM   #51
FlipXW

I fly out today for my first stint. Im youngish (24), single and have no debt. I plan on doing this for around 18 months. I want to save enough money for a decent house deposit and a trip around Europe. When im all done my old boss said they will take me back. Two of my good mates are also starting today with me up there so its all looking pretty good. Perfect scenario for this kind of work I feel.
Old 30-07-2014, 12:35 PM   #52

All the very best to you mate, I hope it works and you make a real go of it.

Its would appear that you have that plan 'B' setup so there is nothing to lose and everything to gain from the experience.
A mate gave it away 6 months ago, he got in and made some money. Luckily he was in the same situation as you whereby his previous employer guaranteed a place if it didn't work out. He was ok with the work, but the isolation got to him.

Let us know how you get on.
Old 30-07-2014, 01:55 PM   #53
Big_Daz

I reckon good on those people who are FIFO and love it.... My personal opinion is I could never see myself doing it.. My Mrs and I have good jobs that we both enjoy and we live quite comfortably.. we may never be rich but thats fine... I value the time I get with my son, my friends and my family..

My Brother in Law does FIFO to Chile and was on a 3 months on 1 month off roster (now doing it in Canada).. the money is/was obscene but his marriage and relationship with his kids suffers something major... Problem is, he has been in the mining game for 20 years or so and doesnt know anything else...

Hers: 2024 Ford Everest Platinum in Equinox Bronze
His Daily: 2020 (MY21) Kia Sorento GT-Line in Mineral Blue
His Weekender: 2017 Commodore SSV Redline manual in Light My Fire Orange
Big_Daz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-07-2014, 03:12 PM   #54

I fly out today for my first stint. Im youngish (24), single and have no debt. I plan on doing this for around 18 months. I want to save enough money for a decent house deposit and a trip around Europe. When im all done my old boss said they will take me back. Two of my good mates are also starting today with me up there so its all looking pretty good. Perfect scenario for this kind of work I feel.
How did you get in and what as?
Old 31-07-2014, 10:02 PM   #55

goodluck with it bud, have fun and stay safe
pottery beige is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-07-2014, 10:36 PM   #56

There are some blokes out there too who like the FIFO lifestyle because they do not give as many carefactors as some of us about spending time at home with the Mrs and kids...knew one such bloke who looked forward to going back to site to get away from the demanding and nagging Mrs and couldn't be arsed helping manage their (rather young) kids. Guess where that marriage ended up...

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 13-04-2015, 10:03 PM   #57
FlipXW

Well its been 9 months so I thought I might check back in to this thread. I have my house deposit that I was aiming for, I upgraded my D40 Navara to a brand new XLT Ranger which I own. After just a couple of weeks in I met a girl from up this way who has been together with me for 6 months now. I went boarding in Japan for 2 weeks and Ive nearly all but left my self destructive party lifestyle behind (not that I didn't get stuck in my first couple of r&r weeks ). Im now piling parts to finish my XW project. They are the positives. It has definitely been worth while for me taking this job and I'm stoked with where its got me.

Now the downsides of FIFO. I honestly don't know how anyone with a wife/husband and family or even a girlfriend/boyfriend back home could cope being away for 4 weeks at a time. It is a seriously long time, I personally couldn't do it, I find it hard being away from my friends for that long. The week off just disappears too, I never manage to fit half the things I want to do in. You miss out on so many events that you would usually go to or like to go to but can't. You are literally working your life away on a 4:1 roster so I certainly don't see it as a long term thing. But it is an awesome way to get ahead in a short amount of time.

goodluck with it bud, have fun and stay safe
Thanks mate, all is going well. Sorry didn't check back on this thread until now.

How did you get in and what as?
As above i didn't see this sorry bud. Im an electrician, a mate working here gave me the heads up they were hiring a heap of sparkies so I applied and I was one of the luck ones at the time.
Old 13-04-2015, 10:19 PM   #58

Copy that mate couldn't agree more.... I'm happy just to own my own truck/house/cars and be debt free working as a a paper boy and see my grandkids every weekend...

#lovinfamilylyfe
Old 14-04-2015, 10:55 PM   #59
LyleXR8

Good to see you buying cars etc with cash, that's where most get stuck for life when they have huge mortgages, couple investment properties they have to top up, brand new $90k+ Car every 2 years, dirt bikes, road bikes, boats, jet skis, the list goes on, I know plenty of them like this, if you pay for everything with cash, only borrow for a house you know you can repay of you go back to a 38 hour working week and you'll be fine,
LyleXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-04-2015, 11:34 PM   #60
chriso89

Hey mate you would not happen to be on the inpex job in darwin would you?
reason I ask is my bro works up there and just recently did a boarding trip to Japan with dudes from work.
-PREVIOUS-