You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 04-12-2010, 11:23 AM   #31
RAREV8
Previously ScottishXC

Originally Posted by KS290
No one seems to be mentioning the Italian V12's from Lamborghini or Ferrari - surely acknowledged around the world as being the best sounding engines. Lamborghini Countach V12 at the start of the Cannonball Run films? What about the wailing flat 6 of a older aircooled 3.2L Porsche 911?

Yeah, they are the ones I'm not a fan of.....but as i said, I'm old fashioned with an out of date opinion

Gilesie
XAGTCoupe
Pilch
Aussie_afroman
Donut King
Bad Boy Benny
BAWITHLOT
Greenmachine
CUZ351
OhioXB
Falconunbelievable
4VXC
Uncleraggy

FG G6 Ego, tech pack, Tropic gold 1973 Landau, Cosmic blue 1975 P5 LTD....long term project
Im just bored of the single/narrow minded...
RAREV8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 11:24 AM   #32
wrongwaynorris

Originally Posted by KS290
No one seems to be mentioning the Italian V12's from Lamborghini or Ferrari - surely acknowledged around the world as being the best sounding engines. Lamborghini Countach V12 at the start of the Cannonball Run films? What about the wailing flat 6 of a older aircooled 3.2L Porsche 911?
Flat 6 Porsches just sound fussy .
wrongwaynorris is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 11:52 AM   #33

Maserati Quattroporte. very nice sounding.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RLPOpgP9pEk

Something rare.
Cizeta V16
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_5NgG...eature=related

Last edited by MethodX; 04-12-2010 at 12:07 PM.
MethodX is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 11:53 AM   #34
Neeek
65 Galaxie Hardtop

BRM V16. Find lots of clips on youtube. Simply magnificent.

http://www.youtube.com/results?searc...y=brm+v16&aq=f

Neeek is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 12:00 PM   #35
GazzF6
Perth WA

Best V8's
1) xw/xy 351 Nothing beats it at idle
2) US 70's cars Mustang, Camaro, GTO

Best 6's
RT E38/49 Six Pack
LJ Bathurst Torana
Tuned F6's

Best 4's
TMR Bathurst Evo
All Cosworth Models
Mini Cooper S

Best Euro
Ferrari - Almost all
C63 Merc
Audi R8
Lambo. Galardo

Best of the best: Ferrari F40 - Best looking thing on the road too!

2016 Jaguar XE Black Pack R-Sport
GazzF6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 12:06 PM   #36
Coyote mk3
Clutch Cable Killer

Originally Posted by KR1STO
C63 AMG.......!!!!
This ^^^^^

Not sure about the rex, certainly not the best sounding car in the world though.
With a bit exhaust it is sort of ricey, but nice and lumpy at the same time.
HID projectors, lowered on King SL and Koni Shocks.

Daily - 2002 AUIII SR
Stock as she comes.

Coyote's EL XR6

^^Click Me^^

15.132@ 91.51 MPH

Photos by Me https://www.facebook.com/PhotosByMatthewWylie
Coyote mk3 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 12:19 PM   #37
sxckevo
Ford motor company

Yep C63 AMG for me

WORK CAR: RED 1996 manual XG ute
sxckevo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 12:31 PM   #38

There's no replacement for displacement!, but i think a fully worked 351 clevo sounds better than anything else in the world!
Old 04-12-2010, 12:40 PM   #39
fou_bleu
Get EcoBoosted

Anything more than 8 cylinders for me goes to the Gallardo - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LxQ7GP3Q49c

8 Cylinders is easy, Koenigsegg CCXR - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2tym-...eature=related

Anything less than 8 cylinders is a toss up between the BMW I6 and any 5 cylinder engine, in this case, the Audi TTRS - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9S5nO...eature=related | http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4IOc...eature=related
fou_bleu is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 12:57 PM   #40
XRFutura

the best sound comes from the Lamborghini Murcielago LP670-4 SV.

Lamborghini Murcielago LP670-4 SV

Another nice sounding car, the lexus LF-A
Lexus LF-A

Past Vehicles:
2015 Ford Territory TS MKII - diesel burner
2016 Ford FM Mustang GT - The Dream Car
2007 FPV BF MKII GT - popping the V8 cherry
1997 Ford EL Falcon Futura - 6 cylinders of fury
XRFutura is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 01:10 PM   #41
TC200six

The exhaust sound of an old school V8. Hard to name an exact car, but the 351 Cleveland powered Falcons especially.
TC200six is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 01:14 PM   #42
Cam
Stroking it...

Originally Posted by KR1STO
C63 AMG.......!!!!
+ eleventy billion
Now: Busted assed EB Wagon - 5sp and Dual Fuel.
Cam is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 01:37 PM   #43

Big block Chev in a Monaro, there's nothing like the bellow of a big port motor....
Old 04-12-2010, 01:38 PM   #44
bdave351
R u a Fogwit or a HIDiot?

Another vote for the V8 version of the Audi R8.

All those hamster powered cars with milo tins sounds like they need a immodium.

The all V10/12 etc highly strung exotics dont float my boat either, high comp solid cam clevo is better.

Now Quattro RS3 powered
bdave351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 02:53 PM   #45
Neale

Thumbs up

Originally Posted by Neeek
BRM V16. Find lots of clips on youtube. Simply magnificent.

http://www.youtube.com/results?searc...y=brm+v16&aq=f

definatly, but also a F5000 at full scream. Theres nothing quite like it
Neale is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 03:19 PM   #46
Ibrox90

ASTON MARTIN DBR9 not even a challenger close

HIS
THUNDER
2004 BA XR8
Blueprint

Mods:
Quad Exhaust, Hi-Flow Air filter, BFtiming chain tensioners, Billet Oil pump gears
stage 2 shift kit, riding on G6ET 18's

HERS
FLASH
BA MKII XR6 Turbo
Phantom Purple
Typhoon front end

Parking your ford after a long day of being Awesome
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Parkin...37774932974038
Ibrox90 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 03:21 PM   #47
3vXT

C63 AMG

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UFtTL...eature=related

There is one on my street, it actually comes from the factory sounding like that
3vXT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 05:19 PM   #48
Rev28K
re

Location: Victoria - where being slow & incompetent is considered being "safe"

An AMG gullwing went past me as I was standing waiting to cross at the lights - sounded like a normal C63 turned up to 15.

All of my Hondas had modified exhausts, they sound good to me from inside the car.
Scuderia Rev: Otto the tow pig - 2007 3.0 litre Coupé, vernünftig schnelle aber kein peilstab, Bathurst 2007 und 2010 zwölf Stunde Gewinner Jaffa the angry ant - mid 70's Honda 市民の, 73 と立方インチ LSD Elle "the body" shell - early 70's Datsun フェアレディ coupe. いい体は彼女の内側、内側と土台を待つ
Rev28K is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 06:07 PM   #49
Bad Bird
Watts a panhard.

Dodge Challengers/Plymouth 'Cudas with 426 Hemis.
Old 04-12-2010, 07:19 PM   #50
I ♥ EDM

FEs & 385s. Pure Aural Sex

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P0sjqf-iR1o

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C6zVV2PK6pU
SSD-85 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 07:29 PM   #51
Auturbo6
The only thing u'll see!!

Lamborghini Contach. V10 bmw M6.
Old 04-12-2010, 07:51 PM   #52
Bent8
Long live the GT !

I was going to say the C63 but unfortunately it takes 2nd place to the SLS AMG I was sitting next to at the lights this arvo.

My god, you think the C63 sounds good!!!....you gotta hear this thing, I'm wishing I was in the passenger seat of my car so I could grab some video as he was hammering it off the lights. ...of course I was doing my best to try and keep up!

Watch this video at around 0:20 seconds in, then multiply the volume by 50 !!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tetkHnteoZM

"Whatya think of me car, XR Falcon, 351 Blown Cleveland running Motec injection and runnin' on methanol... goes pretty hard too, got heaps of torque for chucking burnouts, IT'S UNREAL !!" - Poida
Bent8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 08:10 PM   #53
ST

^That sounds incredible. Can you get a better sound out of a stock engine? Especially something so modern.

Keep them coming!
Old 04-12-2010, 08:13 PM   #54

So in simple Terms the AMG 6.2L V8.
Old 04-12-2010, 08:24 PM   #55
calais

You want a man's engine?

Right here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1PejXf3uLW0

392 cubic inches and more than 1000hp of chrysler hemi...... nothing comes close IMHO
calais is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 09:24 PM   #56
bingoTE50

Ferraris for me . RT Chargers . Clevelands for sure. I did not mind the XU-1 's either and another notable a Fiat 124 Sport . ( showing my age )
bingoTE50 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 09:33 PM   #57

Originally Posted by Bent8
I was going to say the C63 but unfortunately it takes 2nd place to the SLS AMG I was sitting next to at the lights this arvo.

My god, you think the C63 sounds good!!!....you gotta hear this thing, I'm wishing I was in the passenger seat of my car so I could grab some video as he was hammering it off the lights. ...of course I was doing my best to try and keep up!

Watch this video at around 0:20 seconds in, then multiply the volume by 50 !!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tetkHnteoZM
Good video, needed a bit more fanging though! What a noise from a stocky

Old school V8 sound is the duck's nuts, especially the clevo's. Those Pantera's have a great sound to them
Old 04-12-2010, 09:55 PM   #58
sleekism
1999 Ford Fairmont Ghia

I can't get past the sound of a 426 Hemi or any other big block V8 for that matter. That crackling bacon sound is delicious

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nLkw8...eature=related
sleekism is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-12-2010, 10:06 PM   #59

Another vote for AMG V8's - pure ear sex.
Old 04-12-2010, 11:06 PM   #60
homegrown
hotshot

My favs, top 3 are Gary Myers Mustang on the dyno, A genuine GT40, And Good Ol Mr ED.