31-12-2010, 11:28 PM | #31 | ||
I think yours is positioned pretty decent, not really blocking much road there
31-12-2010, 11:51 PM | #32 | ||
Technically you can be booked if any part of it is within the swept area of the wipers.
My portable GPS units are always placed on the left of the interior rear view mirror. I place them as high as practicable so the bottom of the unit does not sit below the bottom of the mirror. There is no possible way that plod could claim it to be in my normal line of vision. From the outside it can't be seen because of the tinted band on the screen and this suits me just fine as it doubles as a theft deterrent. |
01-01-2011, 01:34 AM | #33 | ||
I'm leasing a car in France for a holiday in a couple of months . . it is a Peugeot 3008 1.6 Diesel. (Don't laugh they are cheap to lease and good on fuel.)
The one i'm getting comes with built in Sat Nav and looks like this .... I wonder how Queensland's finest would deal with something like that? Being in the middle of the screen and popped up the way it is they might get narky? Happy New Year to All. - Mike
Current - 2014 FG MkII FPV GT (No 1460) Winter White, Black Stripes - 6 Speed ZF - Factory Leather & Sat Nav - Tint - Full Metal Dipstick - K&N Filter. Wife's - 2018 Peugeot 3008 Gtline, Pearl White - 6 Speed Auto - Fully Optioned. My Toy - 2014 Smart Fortwo Passion Crystal White, Black Tridion Cell - 5 Speed Auto with Flappy Paddles - Tint - Twin Exhaust The only good Commodore is the one now very very quickly disappearing in my rear view mirror. |
01-01-2011, 08:02 AM | #34 | ||
If its from factory like that then it should be ok.
01-01-2011, 08:58 AM | #35 | ||
good, I am sick of these idiots that mount them in the middle of the window and wonder why they didnt see the kids crossing the road!
I have mine up next to the mirror and out of the FOV! |
01-01-2011, 12:52 PM | #36 | |||
I have mine in the same spot. Being 6 foot 3 and having a car with a weird dash/front windscreen and a high bonnet, the only thing it blocks out is my vision of a part of my dash and bonnet. Does not block out the road at all. You do see idiots with theirs dead in the middle of the windscreen, and I admit that's stupid. |
01-01-2011, 01:31 PM | #37 | |||
Steve |
01-01-2011, 01:35 PM | #38 | |||
But understand that this was done by the zealots. They have a long history of misinterpreting laws to suit their agenda and no tolerance whatsoever for any mitigating circumstances. (sort of zero tolerance and mandatory sentencing......now where have I seen that sort of thinking recently) Fortunately we have courts and the judiciary to decide what is just and fair. |
01-01-2011, 03:15 PM | #39 | |||
Clutch Cable Killer
I then changed and put them on the windscreen and it took a week or two to get used to. Not because you can't see out, but seeing something out of the corner of your eye. (you can sort of see through the ones I have though) But I agree, they create more of a blind spot then a little sat nav in the corner. I only changed to the window placement because I think it is less noticable from outside, therefore looks better and was sick of ripping my chamois on the metal bracket EDIT: In fact my rego sticker probably creates a larger blind spot then the sat nav
Matthew 1997 Manual EL XR6 in Heritage Green Extractors and 2.5" exhaust- - 16" Tickford Wheels - Full EL XR bodykit - COYO73 Plates HID projectors, lowered on King SL and Koni Shocks. Daily - 2002 AUIII SR Stock as she comes. Coyote's EL XR6 ^^Click Me^^ 15.132@ 91.51 MPH Photos by Me https://www.facebook.com/PhotosByMatthewWylie |
01-01-2011, 03:26 PM | #40 | ||
I have stuck it on drivers side window angled towards me... works well there, except when winding the window down! Usually have aircon on 100% of the time here so i rarely open the window.
01-01-2011, 08:23 PM | #41 | ||
not nsaying its a great idea, but you can get mounts that mount from the vents etc. when i was in california rented a car and they supplied this as you cant have one on the windscreen in that state. i cant see what the issue is if as pointed out your sensible and put nup in the right hand bottom corner.
01-01-2011, 08:34 PM | #42 | ||
Tried those vent mounts weren't real good,vibrating and slipping down etc.
01-01-2011, 08:35 PM | #43 | ||
I'll post a shot of mine tomorrow.
03-01-2011, 09:27 PM | #44 | ||
Here you go
03-01-2011, 10:59 PM | #45 | ||
Try again don't know it didn't show in last post. Well I cant figure this it says I've already posted the image but there is nothing there.
Can a mod please try to sort this. Thanks
04-01-2011, 06:59 AM | #46 | ||
Will take another shot and try again in a few hours.
04-01-2011, 09:34 PM | #47 | ||
Hopefully this time
04-01-2011, 10:00 PM | #48 | |||
How do you find the Navman? I hate mine, biggest piece of crap ever. The touchscreen is a struggle to work most the time. |
04-01-2011, 10:36 PM | #49 | ||
i hate the navman, the way it inputs makes me stresssed
tomtom is much more forward! love it i haad a M55T for 1 week and sold it and got a tomtom go 750....sooooooooooo much better! |
04-01-2011, 10:41 PM | #50 | |||
So I did this. It's not as convenient to look at, as you have to look down from the road, but at the same time it doesn't obscure vision. Plus switch the audio to Bluetooth and the voice and music sync through the audio, so you don't really need to look at it. Not sure if it's legal, but it makes sense to me. The moral of the story though? Buy a 'hairdressers car' and you NEVER get pulled over!
04-01-2011, 10:47 PM | #51 | |||
There was a comparison test on Today Tonight last night and the navman didn't rate to well. From memory I think Tomtom came in first then Garmin. If I do find the need to change will do heaps of research first. The navman I've got was on special and seemed to have what I was looking for. It gives me fixed cameras etc.
05-01-2011, 09:25 AM | #52 | ||
nice spot in that hairdressers car! Keeps it out of view nicely
What time can i get a haircut? |
05-01-2011, 09:43 AM | #53 | |||
ACA did a compareson last night as well.... TomTom tops the list and I think the NavMan was last....
05-01-2011, 09:46 AM | #54 | |||
i have to admit the windscreen is the only place to mount them in the falcon... there's certainly no flat blank areas you could mount them permanently. i've got an old garmin, but i updated the voice to that of KITT (aka knight rider voice talent William Daniels)
05-01-2011, 10:35 AM | #55 | |||
05-01-2011, 11:11 AM | #56 | ||
Garmin, Tom Tom and Navman all have their strong and weak points, none are perfect.
You don't need to have them up in fron of you, they all work perfectly just sitting on your console. |
05-01-2011, 11:47 AM | #57 | |||
did anyone see that woman on aca that was having the winge about her navman taking her out in the wops... she didnt notie anything was wrong until they stopped to open a gate... plus when she was driving, every time the gps gave her a direction she touched something on the screen, so i reckon she either has no clue about how to use/set up a gps, or shes just whinging for the sake of whinging. oh, and it was a winery tour she was on... maybe she should have been breath tested... |
05-01-2011, 12:40 PM | #58 | ||
Just had a look at the report and they were testing for ease of use etc but no mention of accuracy of maps.
I have vented my displeasure of Tom Tom map updates in another thread here. If they have the speed limit incorrect for almost the whole distance from Liverpool to Melb and half the distance from Newcastle to Brisbane on their latest map update for my Tom Tom GO 910 what faith can you place in them? Not to mention the speed camera warnings for cameras that no longer exist due to hwy upgrades
T3 TL50 #147 Silhouette Auto ESS - Brembos - Last of 3 in T3 spec, only AUIII TL50 ever built -14.2 sec @ 98mph bog stock. Only customer ordered T3 TL50 built, only LWB sedan plated AUIII and the last performance enhanced LWB sedan built by Ford Aust. AUII Fairlane Ghia Sportsman 5.0L in Blue Pearl OWN THE ROAD |
05-01-2011, 01:29 PM | #59 | |||
One observation though; if it is not safe to have the gps mounted lower than the windscreen why are ALL the factory units which must comply with ADRs mounted in a low position. |
05-01-2011, 01:40 PM | #60 | |||
zdcol71