Old 09-06-2012, 10:16 AM   #32

Default Re: Discovery Centre to close

Im going to Melb in a couple of weeks, i might have to go have a look.
Old 09-06-2012, 11:03 AM   #33

Ditto, an opportunity may not ever occur again.
Old 09-06-2012, 11:17 AM   #34
mike_nofx

Funny how people don't want something until its gone, isn't it!

Wonder how many people will rush to go in the next month, who would never have gone if the place remained open.
mike_nofx is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-06-2012, 11:23 AM   #35

To be honest the only people that would of gone there are Ford diehards hence why they haven't had many visitors. I was lucky enough to visit a couple of years ago. Hopefully its just moved.
Old 09-06-2012, 11:26 AM   #36
stalker

Originally Posted by mike_nofx

Wonder how many people will rush to go in the next month, who would never have gone if the place remained open.

ive always wanted to go there, but dont like going to mexico (never have much of a reason to go either).. but im going to be biting the bullet and heading over. my misses is on holidays for a couple of weeks along with her brat so ill be dragging them along for the drive!

might stop in at ballarat and catch up with a mate with a yellow xb ute too..
XF ute 4.0ltr injected out of an ed with girl cam and 5speed, and an xd front end for good measure
stalker is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-06-2012, 12:23 PM   #37
smciner1
Detroit Locker Equiped TM

Very, very sad news.

Originally Posted by MRJUCY
Simple give the car a rev & have a listen a Windsor makes a sort of wheezy drone similar to an angry Hugh Grant when a Clevo will sound like Satan has woke up with a hangover & realized he is out of coffee & cigarettes
Falcon GT Club of Geelong.
http://www.facebook.com/FalconGTClubGeelong
smciner1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-06-2012, 12:43 PM   #38

Originally Posted by 1970XW351
mind you, 250,000 visitors in 13 years... that's what, 62 visitors a day (ignoring public holidays), assuming those people were all adults, that's $558 a day, which would hardly cover wages of the non volunteers, let alone rent, electricity, upkeep, blah blah blah...... So it makes a good business plan, but it is yet another reduction in Ford's presence that will undoubtedly have a negative impact on the brand
true, because it is not for profit, then it must cost money to run - i would rather ford put their money into keeping the cars going, than a museum. for sure museums are nice, but i would rather see their cars out on the road for years to come, than locked away in a building

it is sad, but i never went there. if it was in melbourne, i might have gone - being in geelong made it a certainty i didn't go. the only times i have been in geelong was for the afd, a game at kardina park or taking my wife down the great ocean road. visiting the discovery centre did not fit into any of those plans

as others have stated, it is only for the die hard ford fans, and there are not that many of us, nor those die hards who are genuinely interested in going to see it
Old 09-06-2012, 01:39 PM   #39
XD 351 Ute
Excessive Fuel Ingestion

Ditto, an opportunity may not ever occur again.
Go you blokes, you won't regret it.

Ed
Old 09-06-2012, 02:03 PM   #40

Possible ideas for the exhibits:

A smart dealer might get hold of the contents and display it at his dealership.

Move it to a tourist area such as GC or SC in QLD.

Make it a display at one of the state museums.

Move it next to another attraction or group of attractions similar to MOTAT next to the zoo in Auckland.
Old 09-06-2012, 02:10 PM   #41

Move it all to the National Motor Museum in Birdwood South Australia.
Old 09-06-2012, 02:21 PM   #42
Moby Vic
Cynical Idealist

Originally Posted by Windsor220
To be honest the only people that would of gone there are Ford diehards hence why they haven't had many visitors.
If only they could hold out a few more months. I'm traveling halfway around the world!
Old 09-06-2012, 03:55 PM   #43
ZcAmbo

Sad news i was lucky to be there for the grand opening years ago been probally 20 times back there in those years looks like i will be making another trip there for the farewell.
ZcAmbo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-06-2012, 04:05 PM   #44
bigwil

Talking Re: Discovery Centre to close

I'll like to do my bit and help, i can store the EA GT in my garage for free, for as long as it takes.Heck i might as well store the XY, XB and all the models cars all for free.
bigwil is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-06-2012, 07:38 PM   #45

i hope that they can set it up somewhere else, i would have liked to go for a look see but no chance to be going to vic in the next couple of months so i guess i`ve missed out .

would be good to see it set up near the factory or even at bathurst or somewhere like that with a motoring history.
Old 09-06-2012, 10:23 PM   #46

Old 09-06-2012, 10:37 PM   #47
FG_Frodza

Originally Posted by Brazen
Move it all to the National HOLDEN Museum in Birdwood South Australia.
Fixed.

And agree.
http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?p=4150126
FG_Frodza is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-06-2012, 10:47 PM   #48
Buntz
Straight Eight

Originally Posted by mr smith
Due for closure at the end of the month
http://www.forddiscovery.com/news/centre-closure.htm
Sinead Phipps mobile number at the bottom of that article. Maybe we can call her or text her words of consolation to the staff of the museum, and the factory. Maybe even give her our ideas for turning Falcon sales around.

(THIS IS A JOKE... DO NOT DO THIS)
Old 09-06-2012, 11:29 PM   #49
EDManual

Geelong council should put up some museum space themselves. There are empty buildings around!
EDManual is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-06-2012, 04:43 AM   #50
BFZ Wagon
Formerly All Wheel Drive

That's sad news and a huge shame.

My Dad and I went there one arvo in 2005 but didn't get past the front entrance/gift shop as the lady told us that it was closing in 45mins and we were advised to come back another time.

It was our last day in Melbourne (we'd come down from QLD) and unfortunately had to rush back home the next day so we missed out. We haven't had a chance to get back down there since.

I did manage to get my photo taken beside the sign out the front and the ute that was on display. I guess that's something.

Looks like I may have to try and get down there before it shuts.
BFZ Wagon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-06-2012, 06:18 AM   #51
baboon

Contributor: For members who make a contribution worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: went to the trouble of posting up some great Vids of the AFF drag meet 

Very sad. I really did enjoy myself the last time I went. The place is full of educational info, from real cut away's of the I6 engine and its workings, concept drawings of the falcons and territory's, the falcons history and fully built concept cars.

Im going to try and make to the centre again before it closes.

To be honest, I think they should move it to the Ford proving grounds behind the You Yangs and open up bus trips around their test track as an addition to the centre.
baboon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-06-2012, 09:22 PM   #52
Mr_Meaner
Impressive Member

Originally Posted by mike_nofx

Me for one. I live ~90 minutes away, but have never bothered going there.
Mr_Meaner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-06-2012, 05:13 PM   #53

Sadly this is reality.

I'll certainly be keeping my ear to the ground - i've been there a couple of times and would love to put my hand up or bid at the auction that the cars go to (if thats what it comes to) even if the proceeds to go charity or something like that.

EA351 GT, Predator EL, The Yellow EF Ute/Concept (can't remember its name) the Terri Ute, There was a whole host of cars down there that have been seldom driven and are VERY rare!

Anyone who gets the chance to go before the closure - should do so. It's worth it, and looks to be an experience that you won't get for long!
Old 12-06-2012, 12:14 PM   #54
barra240t

Possible ideas for the exhibits:

A smart dealer might get hold of the contents and display it at his dealership.

Move it to a tourist area such as GC or SC in QLD.

Make it a display at one of the state museums.

Move it next to another attraction or group of attractions similar to MOTAT next to the zoo in Auckland.
I've let the boss know to get in contact with Bowdens just to see if they are interested in anything at all. You never know! They have the first XK don't they?
Old 12-06-2012, 12:32 PM   #55

According to their website, all exhibits donated to the Ford Discovery Centre trust must be donated to another like minded organisation or trust. The prospect of auction or sales is nil unless they genuinely can't find a home for some of the exhibits.

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 12-06-2012, 12:50 PM   #56
rdmr

The building is owned by Deakin Uni and the Uni has plans in place to greatly expand their student numbers on the waterfront. Numbers that will not be sustainable in their current infrastructure.
This would not have been a Ford only decision.
rdmr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2012, 01:44 PM   #57

I have had my LTD on display there more offen than once, showing off what eseries has to give. It has been a while though. Probably why it's closing... LOL.

How people on here have been to support the museum??
Old 12-06-2012, 01:53 PM   #58
sprint347dave

is there a thread in the "SHOW n SHINE" section with pics from the discovery centre ?,,if not maybe someone who has pics should start one .
sprint347dave is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-06-2012, 02:01 PM   #59

Originally Posted by LTDHO
I have had my LTD on display there more offen than once, showing off what eseries has to give. It has been a while though. Probably why it's closing... LOL.

me for one.....even when I wasn't a fan of ford I still went

been to the echuca holden museum twice and birdwood 3 times

spent 3 days at the road transport museum in Alice, all day in the kenworth hall of fame drooling

I'm a "non brand" specific car/truck enthusiast

it will be a tragedy if it does close and wont do Ford one little bit of good......not the way to support the brand

may your day's be filled with smiles, your life be filled with love, may your children know nothing but happiness and joy, cherish the memory of those who strove before us for they cleared the way, spare a thought for those who serve we owe so much to so many, life and the freedom to enjoy it is a special gift that can be taken away far too soon!
Old 12-06-2012, 02:35 PM   #60

Originally Posted by LTDHO
I did attempt to visit in October 2010 when we were over there, during a weekday - it was closed.

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD