You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 07-03-2005, 09:03 PM   #31

Ah yeah, forgot about the AU.

Anyone who went to the MMS can say how damn sweet the graphics are..I cant wait!
Where was it? I was busy playing V8 Supercars 2 at the Holden stand.....in a BA of course. Then laughing as someone ran over to change it the moment I got up.
Old 07-03-2005, 09:06 PM   #32

i didnt see it either...

unless its what they were running on the evo lancers
Old 07-03-2005, 09:41 PM   #33
BA GT-HO
Bring back Ambrose!

I played GT4 in Melbourne at the Grand Prix. They had a Playstation hooked up in a marquee. First thing I did was load up the Nurburgring and a stock Typhoon. HOLY JEEZUZ! Lets just say its way more realistic than GT3! The sense of speed is also spot on. The 'Ring is way more narrow than I expected. I turned TC off and yes the Typhoon does drift..

Can't wait!
BA GT-HO is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-03-2005, 09:46 PM   #34
Paris Hilton
Custom User Title

I want a ute! grah...
Paris Hilton is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-03-2005, 10:00 PM   #35
needfordspeed

Pretty much only 2 days left now! Can't believe it's only 2 days away i've been wanting this since mid last year! I can't even explain how excited I am!

Look at that!!! What's the deal with those rims though :S
1988 EA S-Pack|MPI|LSD|AIT turbo manifold|Garrett GT3540|3" Exhaust turbo back|Cooler|Sports ryder shocks|Pedders lows|Resprayed|Microtech LT8s|60lb Injectors|Bosch 044 with surge tank|3000 RPM stall|Ported AU head|Turbo grind cam|Crow double valve springs|1.3mm MLS headgasket|C4 Conversion|Built bottom end|Custom plenum|10.6@125MPH

Last edited by needfordspeed; 07-03-2005 at 10:09 PM.
needfordspeed is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-03-2005, 10:03 PM   #36
XKALBR
Order of the Temple

Yeah me to
XKALBR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-03-2005, 10:04 PM   #37

Originally Posted by BA GT-HO
I played GT4 in Melbourne at the Grand Prix. They had a Playstation hooked up in a marquee. First thing I did was load up the Nurburgring and a stock Typhoon. HOLY JEEZUZ! Lets just say its way more realistic than GT3! The sense of speed is also spot on. The 'Ring is way more narrow than I expected. I turned TC off and yes the Typhoon does drift..

Can't wait!
Do you lose control when you hit another car REALISTICLY? I'm sick of just bumping into other cars and being able to use them as brakes.
Old 07-03-2005, 10:07 PM   #38
Dave_au

Whats really annoying is that the yanks have had this game for a few weeks now.
Dave_au is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-03-2005, 10:18 PM   #39
BA GT-HO
Bring back Ambrose!

Psycho Chicken - I am unsure, I was just racing the track on my own. But I remember dropping a rear wheel on the grass under power and the car flicked around on my in an instant, so it was pretty realistic i suppose. The understeer is also pretty realistic. The graphics are just mad!

I have ordered my copy, a local shop has a deal, $299 for the 900 degree wheel and game. Bring on Thursday.
BA GT-HO is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-03-2005, 10:20 PM   #40

Bring on Thursday and the long weekend!
Old 07-03-2005, 10:23 PM   #41
TIKFD6
Number 5 is alive!

I got a call today about my pre-order.
they said that the game will take up to 6K, on a memory card.
:O
Huge.

"Experimental Racer" #6
1994 Gunmetal XG XR6 1997-1999
[B][COLOR=Red] 1994 Le Mans Red ED

Back in a Ford XR. MA XR5 Mondeo

TIKFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-03-2005, 10:27 PM   #42
devil cv8

I just purchased GT4 off ebay for $83 + $7 postage. In an answer today they state
This game has been sent to us today and we expect them in the morning ready for dispatch.
Over the last 2 days I also picked up a new PS2 slimline for $182 + $25 postage, and a memory card for $20 + $7 postage...

look at all the money I saved, aren't I good... lol :
Now to await it's arrival.
Old 07-03-2005, 10:34 PM   #43
TIKFD6
Number 5 is alive!

I got my copy from EB traded 3 games and paid $9.95
;)

"Experimental Racer" #6

Old 07-03-2005, 10:40 PM   #44

I had to laugh at EB, rip of bastards of the year.

They want $199 for a slimline PS2, you get a free copy of GT4. But you have to trade in your PS2 and one game, which I can only assume is something that has shelf value of at least $80 at the moment brand new.
Old 07-03-2005, 10:41 PM   #45

What games did you trade in Kerry? I was only willing to trade in The Getaway and MGS 2, but I'm guessing they wouldn't take them and $40 for GT4, so I just went elsewhere.
Old 07-03-2005, 11:03 PM   #46
TIKFD6
Number 5 is alive!

I cant remember what games they where mate.
but they came to about $11 each for a trade.
They will take any games not on the Excluded list.

"Experimental Racer" #6

Old 07-03-2005, 11:20 PM   #47

i just had a look, heaps of slim ps2's on ebay for the 170 - 200 mark...... cheap!
might have to get me one soon
Old 07-03-2005, 11:47 PM   #48
devil cv8

Originally Posted by MADNC_8
i just had a look, heaps of slim ps2's on ebay for the 170 - 200 mark...... cheap!
might have to get me one soon
just don't get in a bidding war...pick your maximum price you'll pay including the postage and stick to it... I set an upper limit of $220, and ended up at $207 inc postage. This was after getting outbid on half a dozen or so others that ended well over 200...
thought I was going to be stuck with 2 of them saturday, 195 and 205 were my top bids and with minutes to go I was outbid on both..I got the next one 2 hours later...
Old 07-03-2005, 11:50 PM   #49
[Martin]

Talking

I just want to know, if you flatshift in the FPV F6 Typhoon, does the clutch break?
[Martin] is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-03-2005, 12:01 AM   #50

Originally Posted by devil cv8
just don't get in a bidding war...pick your maximum price you'll pay including the postage and stick to it... I set an upper limit of $220, and ended up at $207 inc postage. This was after getting outbid on half a dozen or so others that ended well over 200...
thought I was going to be stuck with 2 of them saturday, 195 and 205 were my top bids and with minutes to go I was outbid on both..I got the next one 2 hours later...
oh yeah for sure, crazy the amount that are up to 250 odd, 20 bidders with 4 days to go......wi3rd0s
Old 08-03-2005, 02:52 AM   #51
RspecAU
BA GT-P Owner

I know where i'll be spending all my free time in the capsule with my older Logitech wheel
ON MAXXIS MAV1's 275/45/17 13.27 @ 106mph

Last edited by RspecAU; 08-03-2005 at 02:55 AM.
RspecAU is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-03-2005, 05:12 AM   #52
LOWAU

Originally Posted by [Martin]
I just want to know, if you flatshift in the FPV F6 Typhoon, does the clutch break?
Funny stuff, Just upgrade your clutch on the game and you should be fine
LOWAU is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-03-2005, 10:56 AM   #53

Sorry bout the late reply..yeah GT4 is at the mitsubishi stand, I didn't have a long look but basically they loaded a rally track and you race an evo8, funnily enough :/
Old 08-03-2005, 11:12 AM   #54
M14A-Mclaren
Foo Fighter

Does anyone know when the PS3 is due out? estimate?
M14A-Mclaren is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-03-2005, 01:04 PM   #55
RspecAU
BA GT-P Owner

Originally Posted by Ambrose_1
Does anyone know when the PS3 is due out? estimate?
I seen an article in last weeks Connect Guide in about new microprocessors and they said about mid 2006 for the playstation 3 which will be running these new chips.
ON MAXXIS MAV1's 275/45/17 13.27 @ 106mph
RspecAU is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-03-2005, 01:09 PM   #56

Well I just recieved my copy of GT4, and all I can say is AWESOME. The graphics, the gamneplay, everything is spot on.
I am yet to fully get into it yet, cos i am still at work, but tonioght, here i come!
Incase you were wondering, I work at Retravision and scored myself an early release!

Conclusion: fuggin awesome!

Old 08-03-2005, 03:00 PM   #57
M14A-Mclaren
Foo Fighter

Originally Posted by RspecAU
I seen an article in last weeks Connect Guide in about new microprocessors and they said about mid 2006 for the playstation 3 which will be running these new chips.
Whats so good about them? Cause I'm just considering waiting for PS3 then buy it rather than get a PS2 and have it outdated in a year or so. Plus my mate said he's probably getting one so I'll just play it on his, lol.

Last edited by M14A-Mclaren; 08-03-2005 at 03:04 PM.
M14A-Mclaren is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-03-2005, 03:19 PM   #58
The MaDDeSTMaN
No longer driving a Ford.

Originally Posted by TIKFD6
I got a call today about my pre-order.
they said that the game will take up to 6K, on a memory card.
:O
Huge.
6K? As in way less then 1M on an 8M memory card? Or is it more like 6M and you'll need an almost empty memory card to save to?
The MaDDeSTMaN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-03-2005, 03:45 PM   #59
Franky
Bring back the Phase

Geez I hope it's not 6mb cause mine is full as it is ;)

I preordered a copy today so hopefully i get a call on thursday

Last edited by Franky; 08-03-2005 at 03:49 PM.
Franky is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-03-2005, 04:16 PM   #60
The MaDDeSTMaN
No longer driving a Ford.

Originally Posted by Devil Racer
Geez I hope it's not 6mb cause mine is full as it is ;)
Same here! Also, does anybody know if it can use the license tests from a GT3 save game so you don't have to re-do the really basic tests, just like GT2 did with the original GT save games?

Either way, I can see myself getting a new memory card JUST for GT4
The MaDDeSTMaN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post