Old 18-11-2006, 11:14 AM   #31
Sledgehammer

Originally Posted by Laminge
Always amusing to sit there listen, agree and seem really interested, and then just say NO.

They gave up after the 3rd time I did that.

Yep standard phrase isnt it, must be a class for this....

I asked what was wrong with the paint if it needed to be protected and asked them about their 'galvanised' panels rusting? They had no idea.

Tinting is more than double any other tinter in the market as well......
Sledgehammer is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-12-2006, 11:39 AM   #32
Woodzzter

Have just been through the exact same thing and the prices quoted by everyone all seem to be about what I was given. They would throw in the window tinting if I bought a package deal for about $2000. Yes - They sent a girl out to talk me into it as well. Took a while for her to realise I wasn't buying anything.

They always try to agree with everything you say to look like they are on your side. When I mentioned that I had never got any paint protection on any new bikes I had bought - she chipped in with "yeah...because it's just a bike"! JUST A BIKE??? She obviously has no idea how much guys look after their bikes in a lot of cases. Over the years I have definitely washed my bike a lot more times than I have ever done my car!!! My current bike is a 2003 Yamaha R1 and that comment of hers put me off anything she was trying to sell me immediately
Woodzzter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-12-2006, 11:51 AM   #33

Originally Posted by Laminge
Always amusing to sit there listen, agree and seem really interested, and then just say NO.
Or go one better and begin filling in the paper work and half way through 'change your mind' :MrT_anim:
Old 13-12-2006, 11:54 AM   #34
GXL078

My dad just bought a Yaris sedan. And its not like him to fork out a cent more than he absolutely HAS to on anything. (He bought his house furnished in 1970 and still uses most of the furniture) This is the first new car he has had (other than the EF Fairmont I convinced him to get as a company car that he said he would have dumped back at the dealer if he had paid for it with HIS OWN money). Now, somehow he is getting this Yaris with tinted windows, paint protection, floor mats and premium number plates. Cost the big spender a whole $22,000 all up (its an auto). Not accounting for his taste in cars, is this a good buy? WOuld it have to be a demonstrater for that price? I don't really knowr care but I am surprised if he got talked into all those options. I don't think it will have as good resale as the hatch version, because, frankly, who drives them?
GXL078 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-12-2006, 12:13 PM   #35
kooky
WRX terrorist

When I last traded a car they tried to sell me the paint protection etc.... I pointed out to the carpark where my freshly polished & waxed trade-in was sitting, she said well you obviously know what you are doing so we will just chat and make it look like Im trying to pitch this ***** to you : At least she wasn's too hard on the eyes!!

Then of course there was the finance and insurance pitch after that, Nup paying cash and have my insurance sorted thanks :
Old 13-12-2006, 12:56 PM   #36

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

This is where they try and make up some of that cash they just lost trying to sell you a car.

Its a joke, they will tell you they are giving you $3 grands worth of protection for like $2,200. My Ford delear knows not to take me near the protection lady as I wont budge. Most of them charge something like $550 for tint these days, i got my car tinted for $250 with a better tint then the dealer was getting applied.

Ive heard of stories where dealers dont even get cars done in the paint protection, simply just give you some guarantee and let it slide, then when you have issues later on say you didnt use the right wash / maintain it properly.
Old 13-12-2006, 02:48 PM   #37
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

I got the same spin from the dealer when I bought my GT-P. They tried all of their usual garbage with windows, paint, fabric, termite and asteroid protection. I sat there and listened to the poor girl ramble on (as she was very easy on the eye) and then politely explained to her how I look after my cars and the easy life they have while under my care. I also explained to her how I wanted my windows a little darker than they were prepared to do them. Sometimes they just don’t get it when it comes to different customers.

However, I do get annoyed with the flowers they insist on giving you when you buy a new car. I persevered with it when I got my Fairlane. When I got my first XR8 I said to the dealer that I didn’t want them unless you think that I’m gay. What is it about a bloke giving another bloke flowers? When I purchased my second XR8 (same dealer) I said to the salesman that if you want to give me something, why not give me something useful like a couple of oil filters, so they did.
Full Noise is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-12-2006, 04:33 PM   #38
brendo83

A mate of mine bought 12 month old car a year back from a dealer and they tried to sell him all the extras, they even did a demo with the fabric protection pouring water on protected vs unprotected fabric and showed him the difference.
He asked since the previous owner purchaced it new from them wouldn't it already have this stuff on it. They said it hadn't, so he asked if they could do the fabric test they had just done on his car, and what do you know, it already had the protection.
You'd think they'd shut up after being caught out, but contiuned with the BS saying the paint and fabric protection really should be re-applied since it had been over a year since it was done, to which he replied, "what so the 2 grand worth of fabric and paint protectant is only good for a year?"
They didn't know what to say.
brendo83 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-12-2006, 04:45 PM   #39
RIPGMH

We have the good fortune of highly corrosive industrial fallout, which pretty much stops the paint protection speel in its tracks. You just say will it stop that- pointing to the mine, and they move straight on to window tinting.
RIPGMH is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-12-2006, 04:55 PM   #40

i want to buy a new car just so i can hear/see the woman trying to sell me this garbage haha
Old 13-12-2006, 05:23 PM   #41
xr8-200

xcgxl, last week my mum was looking for a new (used) car and toyota tried to convince her that she wanted a Yaris. A sedan optioned with an auto trans was priced at about $21,800 (new, not demo), with a bit of bargining they were prepaired to go to $20,000 although that is before any after market options. In the end it didnt matter as mum thought the yaris was weak and she walked out and bought an '05 pulsar instead.
xr8-200 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-12-2006, 06:08 PM   #42
GXL078

Originally Posted by xr8-200
xcgxl, last week my mum was looking for a new (used) car and toyota tried to convince her that she wanted a Yaris. A sedan optioned with an auto trans was priced at about $21,800 (new, not demo), with a bit of bargining they were prepaired to go to $20,000 although that is before any after market options. In the end it didnt matter as mum thought the yaris was weak and she walked out and bought an '05 pulsar instead.
LOL I think my dad is weak for not buying a real car, considering he is more than loaded. Was that $20K driveaway? ,if its true he would be ****ed off. Everyone on Mazda Forum reckons they get cars HEAPS cheaper than retail, but I suspect they fib a bit.
I hired an '05 Pulsar on my honeymoon and I thought it a very cheap and nasty car compared to my SP23. Very wide car with skinny tyres and lots of body roll and a cruise control that always wanted to downshift. At least it had a remote boot release which my SP23 doesnt. The worst thing abou the pulsar was the interior sun visors and the BANG they make when you let go of them and they hit the roof, Ive never heard anything like it.
GXL078 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-12-2006, 06:14 PM   #43
RS500
RB 25 TURBO USER

Its all a load of BS, never buy any of the protection carp, tint can be bought else where, same stuff but cheaper

our after market lady gets her personal car redone with paint protection every 6 months as it washes off. so much for a 3 year warranty.

don't feel guilty by saying no, they generally hire females to suck the money out of you. As women feel comfortable around a female sales consultant and the men are distracted by their low cut tops (works here any way)
RS500 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-12-2006, 06:40 PM   #44
RATT

Originally Posted by RACINGdork
my mrs is a ming mole, has been for 2 weeks.she has been employed to do a job, so she has to do it.it really nice to see her come home crying because shes been told where to go by rude, arrogant customers. like i said its her job.

but i can see where you guys are coming from
So your mrs is a good sort?
Old 13-12-2006, 07:00 PM   #45

i sold and applied these aftermarket products for 9 years in my own business.

i would only deal direct with the customers because the dealers in the area were pretty much all scammers.
i could sell the full package for half or less than the dealers using highest grade products and still make about double what i would supplying cheap crap with a flashy broucher to dealers .

the dealers would only pay a bare minimum $$ for the cheapest products and then sell them at huge prices as the best product available.
i also know of a few that dont actually do the job, just fill out a waranty card with some dodgy fine print and tell you its been done. especially fabric and paint protection. or just do the bonnet-roof &boot lid with paint protection.

some of the stories that customers told me about the claims and promises the aftersales people would make were so out there that you would really wander if they had any idea about what they were saying.

all these products are good , if they suit the usage of the vehical.

if a customer was buying a new car and it would be parked outside every day in the open and they said that they never polish it then i would recomend paint protection, if it was someone who was going to polish the car anyway or the car would be mostly garaged then i would tell them to save their money for something else.

a few years ago my brother bought a second hand nissan patrol wagon and the salesman tried real hard to sell him window tint. he just said "no thanks" ...the windows were already tinted from the previous owner. maybe they were going to take that good tint off and put new stuff on ???????
Old 14-12-2006, 01:03 PM   #46
PoMmYwOG

When i bought XR6 last week, i got sat down infront of the lady too, she tried selling me the paint protection, alarm, interior protection. I told her the car didnt need the paint protection(i look after paint pretty good, all my old cars were immaculate for 10yr+ cars) interior protection wasnt needed as i have all the leather protectant stuff at home from previous car, and for the alarm, im not payign 895 for sumthing i can get for 200 buks, i never realised how much they charged for all that stuff...695 for paint protection(funnily enough she dropped that down to 395 when i said no).

06' Mazda SP23
5spd auto
Luxury pack
PoMmYwOG is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-12-2006, 01:09 PM   #47

Originally Posted by Silver Ghia
Just wondering whats peoples thoughts are when you've finally agreed on a purchase of a new car, with all the options you want, and have negotiated a changeover price with the salesman when...

a lady is called over to try to sell you paint sealants/protectants, interior/upholstery protectants, anti-corrosion stuff etc etc, for quite a price on top of what you've already spent on the deal.

They then try to make you feel guilty if you dont buy it. I bought the paint sealant/interior/anticorrosion package some years ago when I was younger and more naive, but was sure they only put it on the top surfaces and not on the sides further down, also wasnt sure about the upholstery having being effectively protected. You just can't see what they've done. Never again after this.

I now anticipate them, and have the answer ready, but they still persist.

Whats your thoughts on this?
You neither want or need the stuff , spend $70.00and use a quality brand wax and some 3m fabric treatment on the car , last ute I bought it was tried until I pointed out the car was being used in a mechanical workshop
silly bint almost tripped running away .
Old 14-12-2006, 02:59 PM   #48
XR06T
13.96 @ 101.65

haha

when i bought my car they tried to flog me mats for $240!!!!!
i got 5k off and the manager said he wouldn't sign the deal unless i would talk to the chick..
i said no worries and couldn't believe what they were charging for all the junk..
i had just spent 30k, and they thought i had something else to give?? i wish..

dont even get me started on their finance, COMPLETE rip off..

as for insurance the guy said i'll get you the best deal no worries mate, after i had a quote from just cars $1500..

22, turbo, 9 months suspension just finished, ahh sorry mate, no one will touch you.

that after i told him he was dreaming.. idiots
Old 14-12-2006, 04:38 PM   #49
MarkAW

Peter Warrens at Liverpool asked me if I wanted to talk to the accessories person - I said no thanks and that was that.

BTW I asked for tinting as the price quoted by PW was cheaper than the local sol-ace. Its not sol-ace brand but still guarateed for life of vehicle. It will do.

On the other hand when we bought my wifes corolla waggon (aka boring-car) Windsor Toyota lumbered us with the crap-girl and she went on and on. Your right it does take longer to go through that shit than to buy the car.

All I can say is PW at Warick Farm has my vote and would go back there again.

Last edited by MarkAW; 14-12-2006 at 04:43 PM. Reason: (sp)
MarkAW is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-12-2006, 05:07 PM   #50
mowog
Discovery 4

They didnt try this on me with the Ute... But I suppose there is still time. Could be because I didnt do the deal at the Dealer. It was all done by e-mail phone and contract signed at my house.

Paul

If you read this dont bother getting the Ming girl to call me because I will just say no.
Lotus Trooper.
Mini Inspired by Goodwood.
mowog is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-12-2006, 05:24 PM   #51
Gaz
Got Ghia?

has anyone ever listened to it all then asked if they can offer you a flux capacitor and an energy polariser :P
Gaz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-12-2006, 07:20 PM   #52
MarkAW

They offered us some bullshit electronic rust preventer for boring-car. When I asked what it was and how it worked she didn't know at first then started making up this crap about electrons and such.

It was almost too funny to watch - when in doubt make it up - but first check who your trying to bullshit.
MarkAW is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2006, 06:47 AM   #53
qwigybo
hunting 300kw's

the accessories lady rang me whilst i was at the back signing the papers for the loan, i almost told the bank to forget it because she just would give up and was starting to "test my patience" although she did offer to re-apply the interior protection for nothing once i get the seats retrimmed and the window tint for $350
qwigybo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2006, 10:48 PM   #54
XRchic
Hello

I got the paint protection, interior proteection, window tint for $100 all up from the dealer when I bought the car. And a healthy discount too, on the price of the car.

: Cobra :
XRchic is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2006, 10:54 PM   #55
Aeron
DJR Fan

When I bought the SS I was late to work because I had to sit there and listen to the lady with the long fingernails try to sell me all of this garbage. I told her I have some fantastic wax and polish so I will not be needing paint sealant, so she told me that I shouldn’t polish my car because the paint is so thin. I was buying a Holden from a Holden dealer and she’s telling me that Holden don’t put enough pain on their cars.
Oh please…. : :

When I bought the XR6T I didn’t have to sit through any of that stuff.
EC 1:51.283
WP 1:10.190

Me Drifting on the Skid Pan **Video**
Aeron is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-03-2007, 12:48 AM   #56

Linked from another thread, maybe it's time for a revival.

I found the best way to deal with the girls who try and sell you aftermarket protection is to stare at their chest, rarely looking into their eyes. It really works. Next time you are being prepared to enter the spiel of aftermarket care just start to stare and watch how quick they leave you alone; in my case it was about 3 minutes.