Old 18-10-2013, 10:11 AM   #31

Default Re: Favorite car gizmos…

My favourite gizmo in the Paj is the courtesy indicator.

Flick the stalk up slightly, indicators will flash three times and done. Useful for roundabouts.
Old 20-10-2013, 05:05 PM   #32
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

One of the things I find really useful is the flux capacitor. I’d never buy a car that doesn’t have one fitted.

http://uncyclopedia.wikia.com/wiki/Flux_Capacitor
Full Noise is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2013, 10:11 PM   #33
NickyN

Originally Posted by Madaya View Post
"power quarter windows"...what the

p.s. some folk here wouldn't know what quarter windows are. Gotta see them in action.
I know what quarter windows are!

My add to this thread: a readout that tells me how many more miles I can drive with the fuel in the tank. I always fill it up when it reaches half tank anyway but it's always good to know how many more miles I can drive if I don't fill up.
NickyN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-10-2013, 03:28 PM   #34
NickyN

And.........automatic rain sensor. Yup.....automatic rain sensor.
Old 21-10-2013, 06:06 PM   #35
Tonz

Originally Posted by NickyN View Post
And.........automatic rain sensor. Yup.....automatic rain sensor.

my kids love these the go crizing with Grandad and squirty bottles, get beside right cars and quick squeeze of the ole bottle and wipers on the other car go into action.

When I was a Young hoon (as per this old one) we'd get the windscreen washers and manually turn them sideways and wet suckers going past us.
damn the dopey things we used to do and think funny.
Old 21-10-2013, 09:13 PM   #36

Originally Posted by Rapid_Axe View Post
My favourite gizmo in the Paj is the courtesy indicator.

Flick the stalk up slightly, indicators will flash three times and done. Useful for roundabouts.
My old Falcon ute has that.. When I first got it, I thought my indicators were faulty.
Charliewool is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-10-2013, 09:26 PM   #37

Originally Posted by noosacuda View Post
My 1966 Chrysler 300 has power windows, power drivers seat, tele-tilt steering column, a/c, automatic on/off headlights ("headlight sentinel") floor shift auto with console and "performance meter" (vacuum gauge),sure-grip LSD, high performance 365hp 440 ALL factory fitted!
Options also available for it were am/fm radio, power aerial, "reverborator" (stereo effect), power quarter windows, cental locking, ,vacuum boot release, separate front and rear a/c & heating, front disc brakes, auto-seeking radio (foot controlled button for changing station), automatic dipping headlights, 3 or 4 speed manual trans, so "gizmos" are not a new thing.
From memory, I reckon Caddies had that in the 50s?
Wonder why it's not on present day cars?
Charliewool is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-10-2013, 07:57 AM   #38
NickyN

Originally Posted by Tonz View Post
my kids love these the go crizing with Grandad and squirty bottles, get beside right cars and quick squeeze of the ole bottle and wipers on the other car go into action.

When I was a Young hoon (as per this old one) we'd get the windscreen washers and manually turn them sideways and wet suckers going past us.
damn the dopey things we used to do and think funny.
HEEEEEEY, that was you?

Just joking no one's ever done that. *yet*

Kids...and grown-ups who are just big kids. Just like the guys I know.
Old 22-10-2013, 07:43 PM   #39
Charger315
BLOWN the budget

Soft closing boot on my 1980 Caddy Deville

Illuminating keyholes on my NC Fairlane (Even though it had central locking on the button lol)

The electric seats on my DF LTD (Both driver and passenger, Ford don't do that any more for some reason. Bloody awesome seats, miss that car.)

Three cup holders in the back of the centre console of my Lexus

Fridge in the centre console of my Lexus (Holds five stubbies)

Collapsable steering column canister on my Valiants

2007 Lexus LX470... with a tape deck?
Charger315 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-10-2013, 08:11 PM   #40
GS0244

Push button auto in the old valiants, retractable seatbelts, keyless push button start

SOLD: 2011 5.0l Supercharged GS White Tuned by Forced Performance and tuning Toowoomba 436kw Herrod intercooler, Boost pulley upgrade, exhaust and fuel pump. Rolling on 20" Black Chrome Versus Interlace wheels

SOLD:2010 FG GS 5.4 BPR airbox, Herrod Cams, Billet Oil Pump, Xforce Exhaust... 295RKW
GS0244 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-10-2013, 07:55 AM   #41
FGX-351
Supercharged Mang-mobile

Electric seats in the FE LTDs.
09/00 VX HSV XU6 Build #0001 of 0171
http://fordforums.com.au/showthread....09#post5571209
-- Best E/T: |14.982 @92.12mph | R/T:0.013 | 60' 2.213| 330: 6.283 | 1/8: 9.624 @ 73.17mph | 1000: 12.529 | 25Deg, N/A Hum, 1010mb | Willowbank Raceway 7/12/16

Tickford EL Falcon XR6 RIP
-- Factory Manual
-- Best E/T: |14.991 @ 92.71mph | R/T: 0.607 | 60': 2.215 | 660': 9.665 |13Deg, 86%H, 1024mb, 184RA @ Willowbank Raceway
FGX-351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post