Old 26-02-2012, 07:01 PM   #31

Default Re: When does Plastic become Classic?

if we is going to start throwing that word around...

aussie getting their asses kicked in the cricket.. thats a classic.....
Old 26-02-2012, 07:03 PM   #32
Legit290

they sure are.....and take those bags of cement out of the boot!
Old 26-02-2012, 07:10 PM   #33

Originally Posted by clarkey117
they sure are.....and take those bags of cement out of the boot!
thats how i roll..
Old 26-02-2012, 07:17 PM   #34
jixel 78

I reckon some of the prices for old cars is pretty classic. Especially GTs. All those zeros on the end of the price is a real knee slapper. Classic indeed.
jixel 78 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-02-2012, 10:16 PM   #35

Originally Posted by jixel 78
I reckon some of the prices for old cars is pretty classic. Especially GTs. All those zeros on the end of the price is a real knee slapper. Classic indeed.
Not if you're trying to buy one..

I'd love a Phase 2 but all those goddam zeros..
Stefan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-02-2012, 11:22 PM   #36
JG34JA

At the bottom of the depreciation curve.
JG34JA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-02-2012, 11:27 PM   #37
P6LTD351
Blue Blood

Originally Posted by JG34JA
You know, I think you may be on to something here.

I remember years ago when you couldn't give away XA - XC coupes. Now look at them.
1986 XF Fairmont Ghia 4.1L EFI Regency Red, trip computer, venetians - 163Ks
1979 P6 LTD 351, Goldust - 185Ks
1989 Mazda MX5, Red 1.6L, 5sp manual - 102Ks
P6LTD351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-02-2012, 11:35 PM   #38
JG34JA

Originally Posted by eb2monty
You know, I think you may be on to something here.

I remember years ago when you couldn't give away XA - XC coupes. Now look at them.
Thanks. I wanted the performance of an XW-Y GT, I didn't want the attention once I noticed my XW GS getting too many stares. I plumbed for a very stock and original manual ED XR8 Sprint with books and some history and spent less than $9K. The performance I bought absolutely knocks my socks off, it is incredible. I'm finding Ford fans are beginning to notice the car, but I love how understated it is, and that most people think it's just an old Falcon, and look down on it just as they did on XA GT's in the early 1990's...

If I could store more, being a Ford fan, I'd go an AUIII XR8, EL 185Kw XR8, T3, AUII V8 Fairmont Ghia with Tickford suspension and one of the last V8 Fairmont wagons with Tickford kit, but that's just me. They are currently on their way to the bottom of the curve.
Old 26-02-2012, 11:35 PM   #39
Neale

I think anything that is able to be put on Historic rego could be considered a classic.

There are heaps of old cars out there that have appeal because they are old. But back in the day they were just like hyundai exel's (mini's for example)

Another good exapmple is the XD Falcon & VB Commodore can now be put on Historic rego, which has upset alot of the older guys that dont consider a car to be old unless it was made pre 1940's. But even those cars were new once.

Heres an old XD fairlane on H rego.
Neale is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-02-2012, 11:36 PM   #40

*deleten*

Last edited by pottery beige; 27-02-2012 at 12:00 AM.
Old 27-02-2012, 12:11 AM   #41
Djrystofer

Originally Posted by JG34JA
Better start buying a few EB Fairmonts then
Djrystofer is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-02-2012, 02:23 AM   #42
flooded one

does this mean the holden camira will become a classic??? thats a scary thought
flooded one is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-02-2012, 02:56 AM   #43
JG34JA

Originally Posted by wildrider
I think its curve has come and gone...

Not every hand is a winner...
Old 27-02-2012, 03:55 AM   #44
V8 6I

The only thing a Camira will become is baked bean cans.
V8 6I is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-02-2012, 10:49 AM   #45

Originally Posted by eb2monty
So by your logic, an XE will never be a classic? An XB in 1974 was not known as a classic then. It became a classic with time.
Dont just use a common XE as an example
What about others from the period
Camira, pulsars,sigmas,a year or two later the first magnas

Cant ever see the camira being a classic in the sense

The XBs when only a few years old, just like every other car when hitting that age , wernt worth a cracker
Most cars either get flogged to death, paddock bashed, or crushed as noone wants things within a few years of age
Then years later when there is none or few left they start to become valuable that is if they have a following
Youd still buy immaculate XFs for a few grand, and if you paid any money for an early magna,youd have rocks in ya headI
Ill never think of an EA as a classic no matter how many years im in the ground
Old 27-02-2012, 11:11 AM   #46
trippytaka

Well one thing is for sure, it has to be desireable, "sought after", or collectable. A Holden Camira is 25 years old, but there's nothing classic about that clunker! Well, seeing one fall apart as you drive is a bit of a classic, but the car itself is not exactly a collector's item.
trippytaka is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-02-2012, 11:11 AM   #47

Originally Posted by jixel 78
i love this old knee slapper....

now.. before all these zeros at the end of GT prices came about and they were regarded as just rusty old bomb falcons...

a)why didnt you buy one..

b)why didnt you buy one..

c)why didnt you buy one..

thats right you more than likely had ample opportunity to enter the GT market but mr softied out.....

its all good to sit back and sook after the fact.. classic....
Old 27-02-2012, 11:31 AM   #48
max_torq
From the Futura

XD have a chance, they have V8s and 9 inch diffs, and LTD front ends and a bit of tinkering potential, but will anybody ever be excited about a nice straight low mileage XF. It might have a fuel injected six, and a digital dash, but so does a version of every other falcon built since then. I suppose a nice clean original VL turbo might interest somebody, and I guess there is always the possibility to turn up to a car show with a pristine ZZ/J camira... so it is the rarity of the car, what it represented to someone of the era, as well as the age and the fact you just don't see them on the road any more, plus some intrinsic aesthetic value that makes them a 'classic'. Why else would any one ever do up a gun-metal blue XC falcon 500 sedan with brown vinyl seats and an iron-head crossflow...
Old 27-02-2012, 11:38 AM   #49
Kevaclone

Originally Posted by XP6
Yep that is correct classic= 25yrs and over, ask your insurance company

Mehhh insurance Comapanies what do they know
it used to be that 21 was the magic age to be classified a Classic

I remember all the XYGT owners getting all excited around 1992-93 when their car would jump in value

And those of use that didn't have one thinking "Bugga now I'll never own one"
hmmm should have overextended myself and got a loan and got one anyway.. "Bugga"
99 5.8M Profish plate alloy carport decoration
Kevaclone is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-02-2012, 11:45 AM   #50

The most Classic Plastic.
You can't deny it.
Old 27-02-2012, 11:53 AM   #51

Originally Posted by Mr Hardware
You can't deny it.
love those things.. XA GT and Plastic Pig battles back in the day... FTMFW...
Old 27-02-2012, 03:07 PM   #52
Kevaclone

You can't deny it.

Those things were nothing but plastic
99 5.8M Profish plate alloy carport decoration
Kevaclone is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-02-2012, 03:44 PM   #53
Angeldust

u never know certain cars become classics through notoriety (Leyland?) so a camira still has a chance

Z series Clubsport HRT edition..
e46 320ci 2.2ltr Stocko
Angeldust is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-02-2012, 04:08 PM   #54
onfire

I guess its all relative to your age, give it 20 years and to Gen Y, an R34 Skyline will become "classic".
I think most half intelligent car enthusiasts would rate the R32 & R33 and even the R31 classic import. And without a doubt, the R34 will be a classic in the years to come.

Any comments about muzzas or rice burners are stupid, these vehicles wiped the floor with the domestic sports-orientated cars of their day.

onfire is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-02-2012, 04:11 PM   #55
davefromperth

I saw one of these beasts still on the road still just last week, was the first one I had seen in around 5 years. I was sure they had all died. Well, at least I hoped they had.
davefromperth is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-02-2012, 05:26 PM   #56
Falcman0o7

You can't deny it.
Wheres batman and robinn...

YUK!
Falcman0o7 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-02-2012, 05:31 PM   #57
Falcman0o7

The true classics are sitting in big plastic bubbles while the onwer is investing in other items he has no interest in besides the profits and because of that average joe like you and i can't enjoy what we love so much :(

What i would give to just own a nice XW falcon, That feeling of owning the road, the big wide bonnet and mustung style guards, the coke bottle shape the big chrome bumpers! EVERYTHING!

But sigh....

I will just keep my ED and before you know it she'l be a falcon not often seen.
Falcman0o7 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-02-2012, 05:44 PM   #58
motorcycles4eva
love the xa's

i think xe's are the last classics to be built.. if they were released with the last oldschool v8 engine, where you'd also find it in previous hard core classics , i think it would become desireable and classic .previous models for sure whipped them, but for me it lies beneath the bonnet for that classic appeal. (as well as appearance)
the falcons vrs the commodores
supra's vrs skylines/... etc...
apart from my opinion, who made the rules to what is and when it is?
motorcycles4eva is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-02-2012, 05:48 PM   #59
fte50
T3FTE -099. OnTemp Loan

Originally Posted by 302 XC
To answer the question , when does plastic become classic ???
Never !!!

As in reletive to the question,as mentioned its a new classification retaining to the cars age
Classic stopped at the chrome steel bumpers(1979)
You can get a mid 90s nissan patrol with a chrome steel bumper from factory (import model) as well as some toyota 4bies,but they certainly aint a classic

Yes there are and were rare models after that period, XE ESP, Brockadores,factory turbo hotties, but its different

Its your opinion but some of the "Worlds" (not Aust. alone) most desirable 'classics' are from the plastic era.

My opinion - true 'classics' stopped in the days with the end of eloborate fins, sheetmetal pressings, rapid rollout of new technologies etc.

Cars beyond that whilst desirable as they are now were in truth a lazier manufactred offering.
In hindsight, i would suggest a Falcon XD GL to be more of a classic than the XC your sig suggests as the XD was clearly more innovative - yeah ive opened a can of worms but aint the truth swell.

Warning - This users posts are classified (G).

G (General) – Contains material intended for general viewing. The content is very mild in impact.
IT IS STRONGLY ADVISED SENSITIVE ADULTS VIEW IN THE COMPANY OF CHILDREN
fte50 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-02-2012, 05:53 PM   #60
GTP-03

There was a sigma turbo at the chrysler day yesterday, in immaculate condition, I dare say that will be a classic one day!