08-08-2021, 09:15 AM | #31 | ||
Yeah, wagon's are fun.
Now that the all Pommie backpacker's have left we have a whole new scope of wagons to choose from.
08-08-2021, 09:54 AM | #32 | |||
Can't ya feel it......... Cheers Billy |
This user likes this post: |
08-08-2021, 11:08 AM | #33 | ||
#neuteredlyfe
08-08-2021, 11:15 AM | #34 | ||
Drive'n Cruise'n Live'n
Whenever I take the AU2 SR sedan in winter white or the AU2 XR8 220 in
narooma for a run they attract attention and compliments. This has surprised me and increasing in its prevalence as they age with grace. Still wonderful to drive particularly on the open road. |
08-08-2021, 11:16 AM | #35 | |||
FG XR6 Ute & Sedan
08-08-2021, 12:48 PM | #36 | ||
6 users like this post: |
08-08-2021, 01:21 PM | #37 | |||
Kicking back
4 users like this post: |
08-08-2021, 01:25 PM | #38 | ||
My AU XR8 Series 1 is a working ute, still lugging loads to the tip, picking things up for various friends and relos. Every time I take her for a spin, someone always asks if I want to sell her.
4 users like this post: |
08-08-2021, 03:07 PM | #39 | ||
Come on gents, I mean just bloody look at it
I know the average forte doesn't look like this so I can see why folks don't like em. But T Series Inc. This is the pinnicle Imo. *apologies if the owner is here and I stole ya pic, it was on google Having had an S2 manual HP. Then a T2 TE50. I really enjoyed both. The build quality is leaps and bounds ahead of my FG. Not to mention looking better also.
08-08-2021, 03:20 PM | #40 | |||
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Rides (past and present) Current: 2004 Ford Falcon 5.4L 3v Barra 220, Manual Past: Mitsubishi Sigma (m), Toyota Seca (m), Toyota Seca SX (m), Toyota Vienta V6 (m), Toyota Soarer 4L v8 (a), BA XR8 ute (m), T3 TE50 (m), BMW Z4 (m) AFF motto - If contrary views trigger, please use ignore button. |
08-08-2021, 03:32 PM | #41 | |||
I do admire the T3, I mean it was the best. Honestly, I'd pick a nice T2 TS50 instead if I was looking, bit more subtle. (yeah lacking the 5.6L) But I'd definitely pick an S3 220 over the lot. Manual with as many options as possible.
08-08-2021, 03:37 PM | #42 | ||
Here is my old ugly au 220kw 5 speed xr8 next to the ba xr6 turbo I would later sell it for because my wife needed an auto one of the many car related decisions in life I came to regret.
With a nice set of wheels and lowered I still think they are one of the hottest falcons around picture upload sites
08-08-2021, 03:41 PM | #43 | |||
Dunno bout the BA, next to it 😂 Heres my old girl
08-08-2021, 05:54 PM | #45 | |||
08-08-2021, 06:24 PM | #46 | ||
08-08-2021, 06:32 PM | #47 | |||
The then new T3 had me as a young teen lusting after these T3 images. I was lucky enough to live out my teen-dream a decade later with a Blueprint TS50. THE BEST driving Falcon ever made!
08-08-2021, 07:44 PM | #49 | ||
AKA "the other bloke"
I was never a au fan initally but once i picked up my ghia i fell in love with it
Still have it although the father in law drives it now The boys xr i must says gets a heap of thumbs up ive noticed when i drive it as too has the boy
Her's: 2000 AU II Fairmont Ghia 75th anniversary VCT meteorite & 2014 yaris - white His Toy: 2012 fg II GT-E, emperor red His: VS Ute 5 Litre 5 speed (povo pack) His: 2012 FG II GS, Vanish His: 2003 BA GT-P, Lightening Strike Jnr: 2002 AU III Falcon XR6 ST, 5 speed Blueprint & 1978 XC Fairmont Neptune Blue Previous: 1976 HX 50th Anniversary Kingswood 2014 FGX G6E Turbo 1980 XD Falcon GL 2003 BA Falcon XR6 1991 EB Falcon S 1989 EA Fairmont 1982 XE Fairmont 1968 XT Falcon |
5 users like this post: |
08-08-2021, 08:56 PM | #50 | |||
Do agree re T2 looks, so understated.
08-08-2021, 08:57 PM | #51 | ||
Kicking back
The one thing in regard to my brothers au that we sort of agree on is to Picasso it. As in, it has the 'elegance' 17s that were my spare set on it and i reckon theyre the ugliest rims ever. But the series 3 xl has the series 1 bonnet and the ute egg crate grill. But to Picasso it a waterfall grill will look heaps more artistic.
08-08-2021, 09:14 PM | #52 | |||
That big 5.6 sure did like a drink! The guy who I sold it to in 2014 sent me a message a few months ago with some pics attached. Great to see it being used and loved.
09-08-2021, 08:31 PM | #54 | ||
Regular...with metamusal
12-08-2021, 02:24 AM | #55 | ||
It's no secret I've been looking at AUs ever since covid lockdowns but all good ones seemed to have disappeared during 2020 because many others thinking the same.
Was hoping to find a good fairmont or v8 but they disappeared, nothing on gt or whatever. I bit the bullet and looked at FB so you don't have to. https://www.facebook.com/marketplace...84313799384430 I'd want to see how shagged the interior is with it's 380k km, and at those kms I'd budget for trans, susp etc but it looks pretty good! Of course it's white - because all metallics look crap and every other colour has clear coat failure at ~ 20 years old, I've learnt for budget cars always look for white anyway. |
12-08-2021, 09:38 AM | #56 | ||
What's a very clean AU V8 forte worth these days, I know of one, live axle, rather immaculate. Doesnt seem to be too many of those around with a v8. Its an ex police highway car apparently.
15-08-2021, 09:53 PM | #57 | ||
My series 2 V8 LTD is not going anywhere anytime soon!!.
19-08-2021, 11:57 PM | #58 | ||
Looks like this thread has become both an AUs overseas and AU appreciation thread. I approve of this. Just don't let people in other countries see this thread!
20-08-2021, 06:24 AM | #59 | ||
AKA "the other bloke"
Would think that’s a rare beast for a sedan, in vic & I suspect nsw, any highway patrol AU V8’s were XR8’s and not forte with a V8.
Her's: 2000 AU II Fairmont Ghia 75th anniversary VCT meteorite & 2014 yaris - white His Toy: 2012 fg II GT-E, emperor red His: VS Ute 5 Litre 5 speed (povo pack) His: 2012 FG II GS, Vanish His: 2003 BA GT-P, Lightening Strike Jnr: 2002 AU III Falcon XR6 ST, 5 speed Blueprint & 1978 XC Fairmont Neptune Blue Previous: 1976 HX 50th Anniversary Kingswood 2014 FGX G6E Turbo 1980 XD Falcon GL 2003 BA Falcon XR6 1991 EB Falcon S 1989 EA Fairmont 1982 XE Fairmont 1968 XT Falcon |
20-08-2021, 06:40 AM | #60 | ||
My silver 2000 AU2 Fairmony sedan with near 400,000 klm on it is still running, cold starts it has to be nursed along, a bit like using a Manuel choke!
I can't find a skerrick of rust anywhere in chassis or body, but in saying that it did get a good coating of oil for a while underneath, auto leak, its been a good car for $1,500 in 2011 in Sydney and quick service and drove to Perth! Was so disappointed when my neurosurgeon stopped me driving my 2007 Mazda Bravo dual cab canopy, and then I was supposed to drive the 85 Corvette Coupe, he knocked that on the head too, so I just thought bugger it my mate had a AU1 Falcon, pretty nice to drive in so I looked around for an AU but wanted Fairmont, and ended up with same car still 10 yrs later. I was getting under 9L 100klm across Nullarbor on cruise control, they are very reliable to get to shops or work and back. Cheers Billy |