You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 30-03-2011, 01:54 PM   #31
dave289

Default Re: Ford Australia Revives Mad Max Interceptor

At first I thought OMG WIKKIIIIIIDDD and wondering what all you lot were complaining about but then I had a look at the hi-res pics and felt the same. Although the second one is better than the first.

They can and have drawn an FG coupe and it would suit Mad Max better:

That looks brilliant, shame you dont work for ford. Bit of topic but I have had the toecutter at my place drinking beers.
dave289 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-03-2011, 02:03 PM   #32

Originally Posted by dave289
That looks brilliant, shame you dont work for ford. Bit of topic but I have had the toecutter at my place drinking beers.
I didn't draw it, that was artwork done by Ford artists.

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 30-03-2011, 02:31 PM   #33

I saw these in the paper and frankly I am discusted.

Ford after jumping on Cobra, GT, GS, etc band wagon, is now on Mad max!!!

What have these got to do with Mad Max? Last we saw there was no fuel, and as Fury road is supposted to slot in after MM2, what exactly will these 'futuristic' cars going to be running on? Sun?
Being that Ford would have stopped production of new cars around the time the XB (XC) was new, why would these vehicle have ever been envolved?

Stupidity at it's finest, thanks Ford.
Old 30-03-2011, 02:36 PM   #34

prob got an LS1 in it :
Old 30-03-2011, 02:38 PM   #35

Nope. It's got to have a fake blower operated by an Aircon clutch sticking out of the bonnet
Old 30-03-2011, 03:07 PM   #36
BFZF8

Originally Posted by Brazen
OOHH I was really hoping for a Falcon GT on steroids: bash plate, big tyres, flashing police lights...
+1000. Spot on, mate.
BFZF8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-03-2011, 03:10 PM   #37
FalconXV

Ugghh I love the second sketch with the electrical field and the pointy thigns that are better than Lamborghini's offerings. Sooo good!
FalconXV is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-03-2011, 03:18 PM   #38
DanielXR8

Apparently Fords designers have already given up on Falcon as it never seemed to occur to anyone that they might like to base a design on the current production Falcon, much as the producers did in the day with Max's Falcon.

Seriously, even if you are a youngin designer, how could you work at Ford and not know about Mad Max and its connection to the Falcon? Maybe Allan Moffat needs to wander across and introduce himself, as they probably don't know that they use to race Falcon coupes either.

Still the team at Audi will be pretty excited with some of these designs and the free publicity. I guess the designers are all thinking about their next job.

Opportunity definitely lost for Ford on this one.

Dan
DanielXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-03-2011, 03:44 PM   #39

Originally Posted by FalconXV
Ugghh I love the second sketch with the electrical field and the pointy thigns that are better than Lamborghini's offerings. Sooo good!
It's meant to be a massive taser for zapping cars with apparently.

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 30-03-2011, 03:48 PM   #40
kocho
The Futuriser

Saw the first one a few weeks ago. Looks good!

Previous 2003 BA Ford Futura.

CKGD - Freelance Graphic Designer
kocho is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-03-2011, 03:50 PM   #41

They're taking alot of styling from the GT90 i think

Old 30-03-2011, 04:37 PM   #42
HULK EF

paint the ford artist designed cope matt back.. 6/71 supercharged coyote engine.. 500kw Black sunraysia rims.. 10 inch fronts-12 inch rears mini tubs and flared arches all round
HULK EF is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-03-2011, 04:43 PM   #43

Originally Posted by HULK EF
paint the ford artist designed cope matt back.. 6/71 supercharged coyote engine.. 500kw Black sunraysia rims.. 10 inch fronts-12 inch rears mini tubs and flared arches all round
Dont forget the side pipes and fuel tanks! And make sure the rear lights are smoked..

Old 30-03-2011, 05:05 PM   #44
ozrunner

What's a restyled Corvette doing on a Ford forum

Interceptor is all about a raucus animal not a plush shopping trolley.
ozrunner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-03-2011, 05:11 PM   #45

Yeah it needs a bit more 'feral-ness' about it and a design that is in keeping with the Mad Max theme of post apocalyptic law enforcement.

Old 30-03-2011, 05:13 PM   #46

Thumbs down Re: Ford Australia Revives Mad Max Interceptor

Originally Posted by TZENU
There can only be one Mad Max interceptor and that aint it!
i agree, what a load of backstuff. peeewww. that's nothing like the interceptor or what it means to me. it should be a tough no-nonsense brawler, and those look more like lambowannabes.
Old 30-03-2011, 05:20 PM   #47
grey_esp
Greys tuf too :-)

Its supposed to be a bit from here a piece from there.
And I think what leads to cult followings of movie cars is that they can be replicated, something like this will never have the following the original XB had.
Why dont they take a black FG weld the back doors shut, drop on the turret off the mustang, paint the roof and back half satin black, polished blower hanging out the front, side pipes, pump out the rear 1/4s and an awesome body kit, and I think air bag suspension so when you turn the blower on it lowers itself.
grey_esp is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-03-2011, 06:41 PM   #48

This thread should come with a warning...Owww...my EYES!!!

That is a shocker! Sorry but I don't like it at all..!
Old 30-03-2011, 08:06 PM   #49
GhiaEB
2004 TX Territory

Originally Posted by Geez Louise

You're not wrong there, as much as I'm a fan of Mad Max those cars car shockers.

Now a AWD TX Territory Daily
P6 Silver Monarch Weekender

And on 2 Wheels,
ZZR 250

Can do mixer shaft replacement on BA-BF Falcon and SX-SY, fix your heater Today. PM For more details

For sale: Heaps of Territory bits and bobs including front brembo doglegs, NOS I-design territory body kit painted offshore, also FPV 290 engine bits. FS thread here http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11397826 Pm for more details.
GhiaEB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-03-2011, 09:11 PM   #50
XRtowcar
Mustang GT mmmmmm......

I think i'd even like to see a.. a..a Monaro... Yep i said it... Before that other piece of crap.
Old 30-03-2011, 09:11 PM   #51
tezxr8man

Originally Posted by anto
why couldnt they adapt a current falcon into a coupe as a tribute...sheez what are these egg heads thinkin

In the mag there is a sketch of an FG falcon based car with new styled old school charger hanging out of the bonnet and it looked pretty good wonder why they didn't go down that road

its good to see the designers blowing off some steam, we don't see any concept cars from ford oz anymore so its a welcome. They don't look too bad these 2 designs but i do like a more traditional approach to the Mad Max Interceptor. I just really hope the turn them into a concept car with FPV driveline in there to make it a ripper drive kind of like the Efijy from a couple of years back
tezxr8man is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-03-2011, 09:17 PM   #52

Thumbs up Re: Ford Australia Revives Mad Max Interceptor

Originally Posted by TheInterceptor
I saw this thread and i genuinly got excited....how quickly excitment turns to dissapointment. Cant tell you how much i hate futuristic designs...

This.
Oh yeah, well my computer guy took one look at my new desktop and said OMFG !!!

Do Ford produce that ???
Old 30-03-2011, 09:18 PM   #53

Thumbs up Re: Ford Australia Revives Mad Max Interceptor

Originally Posted by Geez Louise

Opinions vary ....
Old 30-03-2011, 09:22 PM   #54

Originally Posted by Mr Hardware
the first one doesn't look like a ford at all and the second one looks like what an 8-year-old would draw if a superhero drove a Ford Probe.
Id love to see you do better then that. Some skills there.
Old 30-03-2011, 10:15 PM   #55
Adamz Ghia

The one by Simon Brook is tough. Love it.
Adamz Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-03-2011, 10:23 PM   #56
Mesa

Originally Posted by EFFalcon
in a world without Petrol and nothing but barren desert... technology sure has come a long way.

is it powered by pig ****?
It's funny how people forget this when these designs filter out. Last models made before the 'end of the world' were XB's. How do they explain where the later models come from if the industrial civilisation ended in 1980!!!!???

And stop turning coupes into Mad Max replicas. There's enough around to begin the MFP for real!!!! AAAAARrrrrrrrgggghhhh.
Mesa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-03-2011, 10:24 PM   #57
Coupes and More
Formerly HAMFIST

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: The work he does and the quality for his age is inspiring. keeps me always looking at his thread and a lot of people seem to get a better understanding on how to do things and what can be saved by his photo full threads 

the first 2 pics need to go into the epic fail thread i reckon!!! they are utter @#$T!!!!
Coupes and More is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-03-2011, 10:49 PM   #58

The original interceptor was a modified Falcon.

Why oh why did they not tread the same path this time.
Old 30-03-2011, 11:14 PM   #59

so many collective narrow minded heads stuck up their narrow minded collective bums...... no 2 is my pick looks good.....
Old 31-03-2011, 12:31 AM   #60
zak88
FG GT

It's good publicity for ford and number 2 is my pick.