This is my liberty gt. I reckon it’s the last of the good Subarus
I love these. Brilliant wheels. Don’t ever sell it
Old 11-09-2021, 07:03 PM   #32
98TLS

Default Re: New WRX revealed.

Wasnt fussed on the old ones (read as old bugger blah blah) but cant argue the performance for sure,many moons ago spent some years working at a Cable Price Toyota dealership and amongst many other things over the years there drove a in those days very expensive Celica 4wd for a month or so day in day out,got my respect i can tell ya,and looking back not to hard to look at.The Focus looks cracker i will add.
Old 11-09-2021, 07:04 PM   #33

Originally Posted by Giant Cranium View Post
I have a mate that has a liberty by STi I think it's called.
Had some good coin spent on it E85 and all. It's a bloody wicked car factory brembos etc.
Old 11-09-2021, 07:07 PM   #34

I think he is saying you are a girl. Like a single mum with kids who is a bit of a good time girl.
I'm interested.
Old 11-09-2021, 07:08 PM   #35

Originally Posted by Franco Cozzo View Post
I'm interested.
Soz, I'm out of your league
Old 11-09-2021, 07:11 PM   #36

Originally Posted by DJM83 View Post
Soz, I'm out of your league
Its not you, its me

They sort of went down the path of Honda, who were trying to emulate Toyota, except unsuccessfully.

I'm not sure why suddenly car manufacturers turn their back on a successful formula that worked for them, I understand the need for change but if you're in a successful niche area then maybe keep at it.
Old 11-09-2021, 07:57 PM   #37
98TLS

Out of interest whats that worth over there,great car and plenty over here in the day,be interesting to compare prices.
Old 11-09-2021, 08:16 PM   #38
Giant Cranium
PURSUIT 250

Default New WRX revealed.

Originally Posted by 98TLS View Post
Out of interest whats that worth over there,great car and plenty over here in the day,be interesting to compare prices.

Covid. 14k

Normal time 10ish

I paid $10500 in 2017

It’s near perfect condition with 150000kms on it. Unfortunately it’s auto. It’s a rubbish auto. So slow to change

But it’s a nice car to drive. In manual I would like it more than my pursuit 250
Giant Cranium is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-09-2021, 08:38 PM   #39
MercuryT

Covid. 14k

Normal time 10ish

I paid $10500 in 2017

It’s near perfect condition with 150000kms on it. Unfortunately it’s auto. It’s a rubbish auto. So slow to change

But it’s a nice car to drive. In manual I would like it more than my pursuit 250
There's a wagon here in your colour that has been modded a bit.

Great looking wagon and great car imo as I nearly bought one.
MercuryT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-09-2021, 08:40 PM   #40

What's with the plastic guards? It's not an XV.
I'll pass on that one tbh.
But I like AU falcons so I have no taste apprantly

Previous model looked way better Imo.
Easier to bolt on plastic flares for wider wheels?

Old 11-09-2021, 08:43 PM   #41

Back of the WRX looks like a Honda City.

Old 11-09-2021, 08:44 PM   #42
MercuryT

Covid. 14k

Normal time 10ish

I paid $10500 in 2017

He lives just hear me.

Has the works done and yes, is manual.

It's a tad loud but being a wagon pretty cool (I love the Audi RS6 as pretty much the perfect vehicle)
Old 11-09-2021, 10:34 PM   #43

One of the reader comments in that article the OP linked to sums up Subaru perfectly

Originally Posted by Tibbso
It's kinda like when you're having family night in front of the TV and a bloated old once great actor comes on and your 16 year old kid says "who is that?" and you have to explain that he or she was once a great performer and a sex symbol.
It seems we're a long way gone from the Subaru of the 1990s and the Colin McRae era:

8 users like this post:
Old 12-09-2021, 04:24 PM   #44
MercuryT

Originally Posted by GasoLane View Post
If you don't like either there are plenty more threads that you can post in instead of trolling this one.
Wasn't trolling.

Giving my opinion rather.

How is saying the Liberty looks great trolling?
Old 12-09-2021, 04:33 PM   #45

Originally Posted by MercuryT View Post
Wasn't trolling.

Giving my opinion rather.

How is saying the Liberty looks great trolling?
See below.

I'd have the WRX before that girly hatchback above.
It's a nice colour admittedly.
Just look at who drives them, more so than ever.
Plus they are useless in practicality outside a girl with kids.
From the Urban Dictionary.

Trolling –making random unsolicited and/or controversial comments on various internet forums with the intent to provoke an emotional knee jerk reaction from unsuspecting readers to engage in a fight or argument
Old 12-09-2021, 04:38 PM   #46
MercuryT

Originally Posted by GasoLane View Post
See below.

From the Urban Dictionary.

Trolling –making random unsolicited and/or controversial comments on various internet forums with the intent to provoke an emotional knee jerk reaction from unsuspecting readers to engage in a fight or argument
Hence not what I did or said.

Thanks for clarifying though.
Old 12-09-2021, 05:23 PM   #47
kypez

I don't understand the rear bumper treatment. I don't mind the rest of the car. Bit soft on the outright performance numbers. Will be interested in how it drives.
kypez is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-09-2021, 05:28 PM   #48
MercuryT

Originally Posted by kypez View Post
I don't understand the rear bumper treatment. I don't mind the rest of the car. Bit soft on the outright performance numbers. Will be interested in how it drives.
I suspect Subaru think it has enough performance for the "average" buyer.

Knowing how big the tuning market is maybe they knew many owners will enhance regardless.

Just my opinion plus no doubt they are leaving extra room for higher spec models
Old 12-09-2021, 05:33 PM   #49
fiestaz

I30N - 206kw, 392nm
Focus ST - 206kw, 420nm
VW GTi - 180kw, 370nm
WRX - 202kw, 350nm

The wrx only gained 5kw from the old model, same torque. It’s also detuned on torque compared to the same motor in the Outback in the US.

In my opinion it went sideways just like the GTi.
Old 12-09-2021, 05:36 PM   #50
MercuryT

Originally Posted by fiestaz View Post
I30N - 206kw, 392nm
Focus ST - 206kw, 420nm
VW GTi - 180kw, 370nm
WRX - 202kw, 350nm

The wrx only gained 5kw from the old model, same torque. It’s also detuned on torque compared to the same motor in the Outback in the US.

I think those numbers are more than high enough for the average purchaser of cheap performance.

Maybe they saved money on the engine to improve elsewhere as the previous model was VERY poor inside imo.
Old 12-09-2021, 05:46 PM   #51

I30N - 206kw, 392nm
Focus ST - 206kw, 420nm
VW GTi - 180kw, 370nm
WRX - 202kw, 350nm

I'd own any of those hatchbacks over the new WRX.

Old model different story as looked pretty bloody good.
Not even worried saying it, the I30N is a bloody nice car to look at and from what I've seen goes well too.
Focus ST no brainier for me, thats what I'd have if I didn't have my Ute.

No doubt the WRX will drive well, but I just can't come at the looks. But looks are always subjective.
And as fracno said about Subaru are a long way from the glory days they once had.
Old 12-09-2021, 05:49 PM   #52
fiestaz

I think those numbers are more than high enough for the average purchaser of cheap performance.

Maybe they saved money on the engine to improve elsewhere as the previous model was VERY poor inside imo.
No pricing announced as yet. So it may not be cheap. Car manufacturers are only raising prices currently.

They power figures are only numbers, they don’t tell the whole story of course but having the same motor detuned from outback is a weird decision seeing as it would only push it closer to competitors.
Old 12-09-2021, 05:51 PM   #53
fiestaz

I'd own any of those hatchbacks over the new WRX.

Old model different story as looked pretty bloody good.
Not even worried saying it, the I30N is a bloody nice car to look at and from what I've seen goes well too.

No doubt the WRX will drive well, but I just can't come at the looks. But looks are always subjective.
And as fracno said about Subaru are a long way from the glory days they once had.
I’d happily buy a i30N in a heartbeat. The new model just released is outstanding.
Without driving either, I lean more towards the i30N than the new Focus ST.
Old 12-09-2021, 05:53 PM   #54
MercuryT

No pricing announced as yet. So it may not be cheap. Car manufacturers are only raising prices currently.

They power figures are only numbers, they don’t tell the whole story of course but having the same motor detuned from outback is a weird decision seeing as it would only push it closer to competitors.
I meant cheap in terms of comparisons to the European performance cars.

But yes it might not be as "cheap" as it should be with those figures. Let's see.

I agree on the surface to detune a motor seems very odd. However I'm sure there's a good reason for it
Old 12-09-2021, 05:58 PM   #55
kypez

I don't mind the Fastback version.

Agreed, the ST is great but I'd like the Subaru full time AWD setup over the FWD of the ST. Just personal preference on driving style.

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
kypez is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-09-2021, 06:27 PM   #56
M&Ms

STi might be a bit more appealing, and with 300kW and 500Nm at 1580kg, might be a decent drive too

MY18 Black WRX STi Spec-R
'16 White FGX XR8
'09 Black FG FPV GT 5th Anniversary
'04 Blueprint BA XR8
'97 Mocha Foam EL Fairmont
M&Ms is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-09-2021, 07:50 PM   #57
MercuryT

That rear is just so bad
Old 12-09-2021, 08:19 PM   #58
Raptor
^^^^^^^^

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For quietly going about moderating in a fair and even manner. 

That rear is just so bad
Really, I like it.

You’ve commented well over a dozen times in the past few hrs so we know you don’t like it, which is fine. Now take the hint and stop posting here, you’ve expressed your opinion more than enough already.

Old 12-09-2021, 08:29 PM   #59
fiestaz

Originally Posted by M&Ms View Post
STi might be a bit more appealing, and with 300kW and 500Nm at 1580kg, might be a decent drive too

Makes a big difference having those black plastics painted instead
Old 12-09-2021, 08:48 PM   #60

There's a limit on posting amounts?
Not necessarily, but we've heard the same comments from you ad nauseam so you may want to listen to Raptor's advice.