You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 04-06-2011, 12:36 AM   #31
fasty73

Thumbs up Re: Burnouts at another funeral

Originally Posted by StrokedXT
Good on em, people need to get over the burnouts kill crap it's a bit of fun, oldies doing 50 kill more people than burnouts ever have.

If tyres don't get popped at my funeral I'd be disappointed.
Here bloody here!!!!!!!!!
Old 04-06-2011, 12:44 AM   #32
vanman_75

Default Re: Burnouts at another funeral

I think after seeing the tribute vid he would have loved that , and I would say his family would have too . Media beat up .rip phatty. be a pity if anyone got upset by that it looked like he lived for it .
Old 04-06-2011, 10:21 AM   #33

Originally Posted by EDManual
Good on the cops for not stopping them
Risk management. Burnout less risky than inciting knuckle-dragging boneheads.
Old 04-06-2011, 02:46 PM   #34
Morexbs

The most cringe-worthy thing any half responsible car enthusiast will ever see.No wonder the public perception is of knuckle dragging caveman bogans with no respect for anyone else after seeing pathetic behaviour like that.
If you think a burnout at a funeral is "a nice tribute",you must be an absolute moron too.
Next time you get pulled over for driving a nice old car you can thank losers like these.
Old 04-06-2011, 03:15 PM   #35

i could`nt agree more..... MoreXbs, a better tribute to their mate would be to turn up neatly dressed to funeral neat an tidy and show some consideration to the dudes family, by all means have a wake or do burnouts elsewhere later with your mates.
Old 04-06-2011, 06:35 PM   #36
fasty73

I do agree it all needs to be legit. I never do burnouts on public street, just at car events.
Old 04-06-2011, 07:02 PM   #37
sudszy

so the police just stood back and watched the lunacy?(tribute to their dead friend....no just a mindless excuse to do another burn out) in case they upset the people at the funeral?

the public and indeed the Police that decided to hang back are very lucky another funeral wasnt the result of letting these morons play in a public space.

i hope this isnt the last we hear on this, especially the actions of the police.
Old 04-06-2011, 07:13 PM   #38
GRNKPR
DPC PERFORMANCE Race prep

Originally Posted by Sorted
RIP

Some ppl express their feelings in a different way & it doesn't matter what other ppl think when it comes to some one close passing away

im no prude do it legally

FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria

Ford Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car Club
Old 04-06-2011, 07:18 PM   #39
GRNKPR
DPC PERFORMANCE Race prep

Good on em, people need to get over the burnouts kill crap it's a bit of fun, oldies doing 50 kill more people than burnouts ever have.

If tyres don't get popped at my funeral I'd be disappointed.

do a whole day of tributes at the proper places you all get on here and ***** and moan when cops go hard on car people think this helps

stupidly insane by both the drivers and the police how different would this be if someone lost it into the crowd and another 10 died ??????????????????? or the school buss got hit and killede children on it cops would have no remorse on any of your cars

FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria

Ford Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car ClubFord Performance Car Club
Old 04-06-2011, 07:34 PM   #40
StrokedXT

But none of that happened, bunch of bitches ooohhhh a burnout the worlds going to end. It was a planned tribute to a mate who loved the sport.

I've seen bands at the funerals of music lovers, surfing for suffers what's the difference.
Old 04-06-2011, 07:42 PM   #41
Uncle Raggy

But none of that happened, bunch of bitches ooohhhh a burnout the worlds going to end. It was a planned tribute to a mate who loved the sport.

I've seen bands at the funerals of music lovers, surfing for suffers what's the difference.
Um, music is legal....surfing is legal.....burnouts on a public road are not. Pretty simple really.

Here's a thought, instead of bringing our hobby, sport and at times our lively hood under the microscope at every opportunity, why not hold a legal offstreet meet. Promote it as a benefit and maybe raise some money for the families of the deceased, who may just appreciate some financial assistance now that one of the family bread winners is no longer around?

Nah of course not, carry on like knuckle dragging bogans instead and make everybody in the modified car scene suffer....
Old 04-06-2011, 07:55 PM   #42

If you can see the difference... why try explaining it to you?
Seriously if you dont understand why "car enthusiasts" have such a bad name and why more and more restrictive laws are made, then maybe you deserve it.

Old 04-06-2011, 08:11 PM   #43
StrokedXT

What do I deserve Jim? I have done nothing wrong so what do I deserve?
Old 04-06-2011, 08:16 PM   #44
FPV+fteT3
Performance Inc.

the point is clearly lost on some people there is a time and a place for everything but burnouts on a public road at a funeral you cant get much more wrong than that if you cant see the irony the deceased died in a car accident......WTF is wrong with some people bet the grieving wife and parents were really impressed not.

FPV Super Pursuit Build no 0080/91
Lotus Exige S/C S240

Kart Hasse Chassis 100J Power

Rental cars, the equipment of choice to get to destinations where 4WDs fear to drive......
Old 04-06-2011, 09:03 PM   #45
93EB_SXR6
I totalled my XR6

Some knuckle-draggers on here only appear to speak the fabled language of the Derpish.

Derp.
Derpitty derp.
Old 04-06-2011, 09:10 PM   #46
XD 351 Ute
Excessive Fuel Ingestion

Originally Posted by Peuty
At my funeral, I'll be very disappointed if there isn't Chisel turned up to 11 playing as well as some nice big burnouts.

All legally, of course...........................

+1.

Ed
Old 04-06-2011, 09:37 PM   #47
shepv8
V8's for ever

if the guys were burnout regulars then I would think that showing some footage of them at the funeral, doing burnouts at comps and what not is a bit more in line, kinda like when people make photo slideshows at funerals. I mean, who are the burnouts for, the deceased? He's probably not going to appreciate the burnout due to the fact they are....deceased. Im sure it was , however , far from comforting to the grieving relatives and friends who have just buried a loved one due to a motor vehicle accident. I love it when people try and justify their anti social behaviour with a non related cause..........Ive seen heaps of burnouts at weddings too. What a great wedding it would be if the bridal car lost control mid skid and killed somebody......... brains , I guess they just arent for everybody
Old 04-06-2011, 09:41 PM   #48

Originally Posted by sudszy
i hope this isnt the last we hear on this, especially the actions of the police.
saw news report .. police said they were taking down rego and would be issuing infringement notices
Old 04-06-2011, 10:02 PM   #49
XR2DOOR

boys will be boys
Old 04-06-2011, 10:18 PM   #50
GT 160

Originally Posted by Professor_Evans
Some knuckle-draggers on here only appear to speak the fabled language of the Derpish.

Derp.
Derpitty derp.

As the saying goes,

"You can't argue with idiots, they just drag you down and beat you with experience"
Old 04-06-2011, 10:29 PM   #51
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

It was a planned tribute to a mate who loved the sport.
Since when have burnouts been considered a sport?
Old 04-06-2011, 10:36 PM   #52
93EB_SXR6
I totalled my XR6

Originally Posted by Full Noise
About the same time that McDonalds started being been considered a "healthy choice" for young kids I guess.
Old 04-06-2011, 10:51 PM   #53
sudszy

Originally Posted by b0son
saw news report .. police said they were taking down rego and would be issuing infringement notices
Well there is some comfort in that, but if they were on the scene, isnt their role to actually enforce the law and protect the public? Surely this was a case where the law needed physical enforcement to protect the public, its as ridiculous as just taking photos when a shooter is on the loose.
Old 04-06-2011, 10:57 PM   #54

Well there is some comfort in that, but if they were on the scene, isnt their role to actually enforce the law and protect the public? Surely this was a case where the law needed physical enforcement to protect the public, its as ridiculous as just taking photos when a shooter is on the loose.
they probably thought it would lead to a riot and considered that the lesser of two evils. or perhaps they were showing some sensitivity to the grieving family in light of the meat head presence.
Old 04-06-2011, 11:12 PM   #55

Originally Posted by Full Noise
Nothing to do with the funeral or this topic but I consider burnouts a sport and so would a lot of other people. Just ask the likes of mick brasher, john taverna, peter grmusa etc. There are constantly more and more dedicated burnout cars being built and to show car standards. To a lot of people its a sport.

Old 04-06-2011, 11:12 PM   #56
tweeked
N/A all the way

Sudszy, you have never done a burnout, you have no idea just how harmless they are. The fact that the police are just going to collect the revenue is proof of that.

Old 04-06-2011, 11:31 PM   #57
93EB_SXR6
I totalled my XR6

I have nothing against burnouts as long as they're done in safe conditions.
I don't think that a road crowded with people is a safe place to be dropping a skid... not trying to be PC, just my opinion.
Old 04-06-2011, 11:37 PM   #58

Originally Posted by tankclare
To a lot of people its a sport.
So is synchronised swimming.
Old 05-06-2011, 12:20 AM   #59
MAV50L

As usual there is a lot of AFF Nannaing going on here.
Get over it , who really cares.
Old 05-06-2011, 12:26 AM   #60

Originally Posted by b0son
So is synchronised swimming.
It sure is

You were saying?

Back on topic, I get that some people express grief in certain ways, and not everyone may agree with the way in which they express it.

I've watched lots of burnouts and for the majority of the time everything has been fine and dandy... except things can go wrong:

Hot-rod horror puts three into hospital
By Daniel Knowles
22aug04

POLICE have vowed to keep up their fight against hoons after a hot-rod ploughed into a crowd of car enthusiasts at a popular Brisbane eatery.

Three people were taken to hospital on Friday night after the modified Ford T-bucket vehicle ran on to the footpath at Harry's Diner on Newmarket Rd at Windsor.

It is the second time in two years that a vehicle has hit pedestrians at the diner. In January last year, two people suffered leg injuries when a Chevrolet Corvette flew into a crowd after losing control doing a "burn-out".

Harry's Diner is a regular meeting point for performance-car enthusiasts.

Friday night's crash happened in front of a crowd of more than 200 people, drawn to the hangout by a car show this weekend.
Time and a place, sure isn't at a cemetary. My 2c