You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > MotorSport > Drag Racing

Drag Racing Discuss Drag Racing here be it dirt or tarmac. Sponsored by Sydney Dragway.

Old 01-10-2007, 08:34 PM   #31
FLUB378

Too me the Fastest Street Car deal is street appearing vehicles that are highly modified. Who gives a fu$k if it isn't road legal anymore. Not much is with the way the cops police everything now. Drag Racing is about going fast and getting faster. Next you will have to categorize the cars by weight. People are more impressed by my 3500 pound XB running a 10.1 than saw a capri that weighs 3000 pounds running a 9.90. My car isn't road legal but it is raced with a full interior, panelled out show boot and all steel panels. That to me is still a street car cause it isn't gutted out.
FLUB378 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-10-2007, 12:52 AM   #32
schnoods

For me having a car set up for Drag Duties is a great thing.

A better set up car making better times, better launches is a great thing to watch. But it is a shame seeing a beautiful, caged XA coupe being trailered to and from an event even though it is being borderline road legal, it is drivable. It'd be boring going to the drags and every one rocking up in rails, slingshots and the likes.

Even if they never brought in DYO times, Do you think it'd be worthwhile just to watch Big Block torries and Capri's???

I reckon Street CLass Are Great, It just something you can relate to going home from the drags and seeing a camaro, xy falcon taking off like a shower of , instead of a specialised piece of machinery that happens to be slotted in a 30 year old car.

95 EF XR8, Advance headers, Vortech V2 t trim blower, Ported Cobra Manifold, Capa Switch Chip Eliminator. 307 rwhp 395 ft/lb 13.2 @ 105mph

Now NA- AFR 165 heads, 1.6RR, Ported Cobra 269rwhp 14.2 ... needs stall and 4.11's

1977 CL Chrysler Panel Van, 360, 727 torqueflite auto soon to be restored.
schnoods is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-10-2007, 12:52 PM   #33
wizardy
fairmont xb hardtop

i'm gonner get toasted for this but here goes i believe the a street car is that wich drives to the track fully legal with legitamate rego and being able to cruiz in traffic without ending up on the side of the road with the bonnet up due to failure because it was built to run for 9to13 seconds at full noise.
i dont belive a car claming to be a street car should live on a trailer or hide in the garage .
till it is time to go full noise.
dont get me wrong full credit to those that have cars that are perpous built but to me they are race cars.
thats my 2cents worth and my opinion
Old 02-10-2007, 05:25 PM   #34
brenx

Originally Posted by wizardy
i'm gonner get toasted for this but here goes i believe the a street car is that wich drives to the track fully legal with legitamate rego and being able to cruiz in traffic without ending up on the side of the road with the bonnet up due to failure because it was built to run for 9to13 seconds at full noise.
i dont belive a car claming to be a street car should live on a trailer or hide in the garage .
till it is time to go full noise.
dont get me wrong full credit to those that have cars that are perpous built but to me they are race cars.
thats my 2cents worth and my opinion
Your spot on. I recently drove the XB to the Ford nationals, raced and drove back. It was good to get back on the track to get wipe the drag cobwebs off me. The XB's been driven pretty much every w/e and some week days while I was having a drag stip break. I did attend quite a few cruises too.

Tuned by Hallam Performance
brenx is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-10-2007, 06:07 PM   #35
superpursuit83
KITTY Crew Member

Exactly to the above. My pb is 13.01. Did have MT's on. (I reckon I get more grip on the street anyway)
But I drive my ute all day for work in and around the city, take the laptop out and run a 13 at the drags, then a quick trip to wanneroo for a 1minute stint around the short track. Then go home and let the wife take it to a tupperware party.

Now thats what I call street trim. (must remember to drop the spare next time)

BAII Super Pursuit 0083

Awsome power by XTREME FORD TUNING 500rwkw New ALLOY Block

Awesome exhaust by THE EXHAUST CENTRE MIDLAND

Awesome Kenne Bell Supercharger setup by AGRO! and Bluepower Racing Developments

Now with full DOT approval and Permitted for road use
superpursuit83 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-10-2007, 04:55 PM   #36
wizardy
fairmont xb hardtop

like the spare is going to give you any more than 1/1000th on a second.
but seriously street is street and races is race then there are those who hide in the shadows and shal not be named for fear of lightening bolts.
Old 03-10-2007, 09:08 PM   #37
xdclevo
The Fun Mobile

Originally Posted by wizardy
like the spare is going to give you any more than 1/1000th on a second.
Probably 1/100 of a second.
If i lost 4 spare wheels, i would have run a 10.99, instead of 11.04.
2V powahhhhh
xdclevo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-10-2007, 12:05 AM   #38
Tony xa
Streetrides panel & paint

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Tonys qualified advice on paint and panel is always very good 

I have said it before and will love for this form of racing to be intruduced here one day .
Street racing at the track .
Start at a servo fuel up with fuel tag fuel caps, bonnets ,wheels ,boots etc drive 50km though normal daily taffic to the drag strip and race without changing a thing .Anyone having to remove a tag for any reason is gone .
Just like street racing just at the track safe and legal .
Tony xa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-10-2007, 09:15 AM   #39
xw383

Sounds like a good idea. I'd be in for a go. Would just have to get some MT ET streets.
xw383 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-10-2007, 01:33 PM   #40

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Shares his in-depth tuning knowledge with the forum, very helpful. Contributor: For members who make a contribution worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For his indepth tutorial on adding borders to photographs 

Originally Posted by xw383
Sounds like a good idea. I'd be in for a go. Would just have to get some MT ET streets.
Great tyre for the strip, but not legal in australia

ratter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post