View Poll Results: Would you eat named meat
Yes 103 79.23%
No 16 12.31%
Maybe 11 8.46%
Voters: 130. You may not vote on this poll

Old 06-05-2008, 06:23 PM   #31

I'd eat it even if it had a last name and a tax file number.

Sourbastard is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-05-2008, 11:51 PM   #32
MotherNatureVer2

We are currently eating Bullseye ..... he is tasty ......

Naming poddys is not an endearing thing ..... its so the kids know who hasnt had their bottle yet ........... " Bubbles hasnt eaten, neither has Rosemary ..... give the next bottles to them" ......

hehehhehehee

Ask smincer1 how bullseye was :P Tastier than the serenity out here
MotherNatureVer2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-05-2008, 12:01 AM   #33
5L
[ 5L ]

pending how old the animal was, anything under 12 months is a goer.

as they get old the meat gets tough, and develops a certain scent.

my father is a butcher by trade, and he also does deer shooting. there are animals he shoots for trophy antlers, and then there are animals he shoots for meat. ones for meat are generally young does (females) as they have the best quality meat.

as for them having names i dont see a problem in that, lol we have bambi, and all santas deers on offer at times.
[ 5L ] 2001 AU series 2 xr8, 220kw, 5speed, leather interior, premium sound, narooma blue, cat back exhaust, k&n filter,willall edit,MSD coil packs, MSD leads, monroe gt gas shocks, superlow kingsprings 187rwkw (mainline)

www.ignitionimages.com
5L is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-05-2008, 01:12 AM   #34
351buzz

I'd eat it even if it had a last name and a tax file number.
351buzz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-05-2008, 11:17 AM   #35
bob 351
MIGHTY MAGPIES 2010

Location: yarram se vic in the shed listening to pinkfloyd and rubbing panels

I love cats ( they taste like chicken )
FUNNY I THOUGHT THAT IT TASTED LIKE PUSSY
bob 351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-05-2008, 12:12 PM   #36
shane3
FPV GT 0915

Who cares if the thing has a name it's all meat!!!!
Bluprint BA GT 2004 Model - Mods: Tinted Windows, Premium Sound, BBS Mags, 245/35R19 fronts, 285/30R19 rears, BMC POD Filter, SS cold air induction, HM tri-y headers, Redback cat back system, Herrod power snorkle, moded Herrod helix spacer, 4" ram air induction, More to come..
shane3 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-05-2008, 12:37 PM   #37
troppo
Mr old phart

I was once accused of being cruel for naming a sheep "Lambchops" until I pointed out there is a whole children's television show based on a puppet of the same name.

BA GT-P Blueprint
troppo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-05-2008, 12:49 PM   #38
Dazza TT
Now Prado Powered

I've never had a problem with it, and we've had plenty of calves/lambs that we've hand raised over the years.
My missus does. We did a mates Brahman steer the other week, and he had a name. Now neither of our partners will eat it.
Old 11-05-2008, 09:47 PM   #39
aussiblue
FG XR6 Ute & Sedan

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Has been floating around the oze tech section for a long time and is always there to give advice when people have an issue. 

So what happended to all the SNAFOs (Sensitive New Age Ford Owners)? Sounds like stomach first sensitivity last from most respones so far.
Old 11-05-2008, 09:49 PM   #40

Why not just called them all either Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner then when you are sitting down to eat...just tell the kids...Hurry up and eat Dinner!
Old 12-05-2008, 04:00 AM   #41
[Tonko]

I could never eat Dudley!

thats my old man in the pic aswell...

EF XR8 - Koni's - Cam and Headwork -3.9s - Ex VIC TMU -

1982 Nissan Patrol - 460 ci Big Block soon - Semi Gloss Black - Dark Tint - 4x 6" Infinity Kappa Perfect Splits - 5" Kappa 2 ways - Kappa 6x9's - 2x12" Kappa perfect subs - 2x4 Channel and 2x Mono Kappa amps-

[Tonko] is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-05-2008, 09:24 AM   #42
Abacus
Life's a Gas

You could name them after politicians. "Hey, we're eating Julia Gillard tonight".
Abacus is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-05-2008, 12:24 PM   #43
King Nothing
He has, the Knack..

Originally Posted by Abacus
You could name them after politicians. "Hey, we're eating Julia Gillard tonight".
*shudder* Pass thanks!

I'd eat it named, no problems with killing/cooking/eating meat. At least i'd know how it had been treated.

Although some people find it bad taste when I catch fish to catch fish, either as live bait or straight into the berley pot and mash em up. Maybe cut the gills open so they bleed more. Nothing better than a boat covered in blood! (except at cleanup time!)

Workhorse, stock as a rock

2004 BA MKI Futura - Now the wife's

For Show: 18" Kaotic Shadow Chrome, King SL all round, Cadence Amp, Kenwood 12" Sub, JL Audio 5x7's, Scuff Plates, MP3 Connector

For Go: SVI LPG, K&N Filter, F6 CAI, XR6T snorkle, XR8 catback, Magnaflow metal cat, Pacemaker headers, Underdrive, Thermostat, Custom tune, DBA4000

Now with baby seat and toys

175.6 rwkw

www.bseries.com.au/King_Nothing
King Nothing is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-05-2008, 12:35 PM   #44
Mont5.0

^^ok.
Old 12-05-2008, 02:36 PM   #45
GreenMachine
Mopar/No Car

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Sensational write up about drum brakes. 

Originally Posted by Abacus
All sorts of problems with that... Julie Gillard leaves a bitter aftertaste, Joe Hockey would be too high in cholesterol, John Howard would be too old and tough to eat, Kevin Rudd would taste too bland... And for someone reason, no one would touch the Brendan Nelson steaks...

'72 Plymouth Scamp
'80 Courier
'13 Kawasaki ZX14-R
'13 Berlina
'92 Suzuki DR650

If you don't fight - You lose
GreenMachine is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-05-2008, 02:40 PM   #46

Originally Posted by GreenMachine
All sorts of problems with that... Julie Gillard leaves a bitter aftertaste, Joe Hockey would be too high in cholesterol, John Howard would be too old and tough to eat, Kevin Rudd would taste too bland... And for someone reason, no one would touch the Brendan Nelson steaks...
anyone for fillet of alexander downer? I reckon some of the higher end money earners wouldnt mind a bit of Wayne Swan rump either. :P

Old 12-05-2008, 02:42 PM   #47
TOASTED
JMM modded EF

yea id eat it even if its name was rudolph

Guess the alcohol tax is turning people to mind altering drugs.
I drive : A heavily modified EF Fairmont with a JMM dev5 cam, worked head, 3.5" mandrel bent intake, exhaust, and a few other bits n pieces like a stally etc.

"She goes like a zirtek"

WANT A FAST FORD RING THIS BLOKE V V

Abbott Engines for HeadWork
20 years experience
PH Rob on (07) 5526 3883
TOASTED is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-05-2008, 11:55 AM   #48
Shonky
my other ride is the bus.

*slaps head* :

My mum does this - names the babies and then when they grow up she can't bring herself to "do the deed"...

Fortunately for my stomach (and unfortunately for the little beasties) I'm not so compassionate with my food. out:

We are eating one of our cattle at the moment. Hes not very good unfortunately... got flighty and ran around before he caught a bout of lead poisoning so the lactic acid was pumping when he died. Oh well - still edible.

+ Lots of Land Rovers

Originally Posted by Sourbastard
Edelbrock.... not Peter Brock. Theres a world of difference. For a start my heads have much less gum tree in them.
Shonky is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-05-2008, 12:19 PM   #49

Originally Posted by GTP006
Every animal has a name. You know what chicks are like, that calf's mother would have had his name picked out years before he was born. Would have been one of the more common names as cows aren't as concerned with being hip like us. Probably something like "Moo", "Mooooo", "Moo Moo" or "Gavin".
Bwahahahahahahahahhahahahaha!!!!

Old 14-05-2008, 12:21 PM   #50

Originally Posted by [Tonko]
I could never eat Dudley!

thats my old man in the pic aswell...
I'd scoff 'em both........

I reckon 'Dudley' would make good bacon!

Burnout is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-05-2008, 11:33 AM   #51
Mark351
Built Ford Tough

We've inherited a lamb that some other kids had named Gary. Gary is unlikely to become a rack of lamb, chops, etc no matter how fat he is getting on long life milk - the kids and missus think he's the new pet now.
Mark351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-05-2008, 06:37 AM   #52
AU-MUSTD
Flat floor shifter

I'd find it hard if l was in some way attached to the said beast but would still enjoy if they were nice tender cuts.
AU-MUSTD is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-05-2008, 01:15 PM   #53
GMACK24
Blue Ghost

meh Probably not.

I have a pet goldfish and I am afraid to name it cuz I know the ers gonna die soon.......

They never last more than a few months and naming it... meh.. can't do it
Old 28-05-2008, 11:15 PM   #54
full house

I eat it even if its a worm or frog. . .as long as its meat or flesh!

: : :
full house is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-05-2008, 11:45 PM   #55

If I reared some female cows for eating I'de name them Dianne
Old 30-05-2008, 08:54 AM   #56
MotherNatureVer2

Originally Posted by rodderz
If I reared some female cows for eating I'de name them Dianne