View Poll Results: What engine would you rather in an XY?
351, worked, 500hp 98 62.82%
turbo 4L OHC, 500hp 41 26.28%
other: please specify 17 10.90%
Voters: 156. You may not vote on this poll

Old 19-11-2007, 07:05 PM   #1
nugget378
Weezland

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to impart knowledge in the technical areas. 

Originally Posted by TomXY
i dont really care, just wana see how many people thought it would be a good idea, and get an idea of how many people will hate me for it!
Sounds like you care what people think after all.. :
Old 19-11-2007, 07:05 PM   #2
StealthAu

If you're even considering anything other than a cleveland or windsor in an XY : than you might as well go the whole "ricer" route and include a Rotary in your equation...
oh.. and some Kenwood stickers too... :Reverend:
Funny enough, I was going to suggest a turbo rotary. He said he wants different
Old 20-11-2007, 12:37 AM   #3
Cooper69S

Originally Posted by stockoau
Funny enough, I was going to suggest a turbo rotary. He said he wants different
haha - he can line up at the drags next to a mazda roadpacer. anyone remember the 13b powered holden kingswood sold by mazda in 1976 or thereabouts? hilarious.
Old 20-11-2007, 03:10 PM   #4
T-BOOST
Blue Power enhanced

If you're even considering anything other than a cleveland or windsor in an XY : than you might as well go the whole "ricer" route and include a Rotary in your equation...
Just because someone might have a turbo doesn't mean the cars a ricer!
If thats the case the whole new Ford line up is just ricer cars is it???
Turbo Falcons (sedan/ute), Focus, Mondeo and Territory. Nearly every model has one.
The word ricer is so missused these days!

I do think you should go the V8. But it depends on what your going for.
If you want something differant go the turbo. The V8 will probably sell better when the day comes though.

also selling my C.A.P.A tune box

pics of my Turbo Ghia are here
EGO TTG
Dont forget to rate it :
Old 20-11-2007, 03:15 PM   #5

rotaries are ricers? your mums a ricer - plenty of Rotaries street registered that would pass you like you were standing still -

Rice - I think not
Old 20-11-2007, 03:22 PM   #6
FlipXW

Originally Posted by gozza
rotaries are ricers? your mums a ricer - plenty of Rotaries street registered that would pass you like you were standing still -

Rice - I think not
I think he was refering to putting a Rotery in an XY would be rice. The key point was turbos dont belong in XY falcons.
Old 20-11-2007, 03:51 PM   #7

Originally Posted by gozza

Rice - I think not
Nothing like jumping the gun hey....

Besides, rice is rice, (i.e rotary or T6 in an XY) weather it will cover the 1/4 in 8 seconds or 18 seconds... ITS STILL RICE.

Old 20-11-2007, 07:06 PM   #8

You're not necessarily ricer if you don't go Clevo or Windsor.

Modular V8, 460BB, 429, 428, 427, 390 etc. Lots of other Ford V8 good stuff.

Old 19-11-2007, 08:58 AM   #9

go the turbo. v8 xy's are so common now i tune them out unless its something different
Old 25-11-2007, 10:54 PM   #10

Originally Posted by |||
go the turbo. v8 xy's are so common now i tune them out unless its something different
There is never enough XY V8s. I'm lucky to see one a week, how many do you see a day, 5, 10, More? Its still not enough.
Old 25-11-2007, 11:04 PM   #11
mr302xd
Formerly MR BAXR6t

OK. If anyone seen Fast and furious tokyo drift movie, and seen the mustang with the turbo motor in it, i think u would agree its just plain **g stupid!!

U JUST DONT DO IT!! ITS WRONG!!

Its like say would you put a 351 in a skyline (if possible).. u just dont!

Fords ive owned-
2010 FG XR6 5 speed auto in Mystic
81 XD S-Pac 302c 4sp manual
78 Yellow TE Cortina Wagon 4.1L
92 Green EB Fairmont GT replica
01 Black AU XR8 II Manual
04 Rapid BAII XR6T 220rwkw
04 Mandarin BA XR6T 247rwkw
07 BF II XR6T 385rwkw
1980 ZJ Fairlane 302c
Old 27-11-2007, 10:21 PM   #12
Melchior3

Originally Posted by mr auxr8
OK. If anyone seen Fast and furious tokyo drift movie, and seen the mustang with the turbo motor in it, i think u would agree its just plain **g stupid!!

U JUST DONT DO IT!! ITS WRONG!!

Its like say would you put a 351 in a skyline (if possible).. u just dont!
If you watch the making of Fast and Furious, they actually used Ford big blocks in the Mustangs for those scenes, which just goes to show that a turbo RB won't cut it (and would be ghey)

I'd go for the worked 351 because you just can't beat that sound and as mentioned, you really can't have enoough V8 XYs.
BUT, I think a turbo 4L would be quite good also, but I'd only do that for a daily or frequent driver, V8 for cruising all the way.
Old 26-11-2007, 01:47 PM   #13
Ozzyosko
Another stroked coupe

Originally Posted by Falc'man
There is never enough XY V8s. I'm lucky to see one a week, how many do you see a day, 5, 10, More? Its still not enough.
Agreed.. Spotting an XY on the road is a fairly rare occasion for myself, and I gotta say I'd be pretty disappointed if passed by without hearing a V8 rumbling away.
Old 19-11-2007, 10:04 AM   #14
Boosh Brus

Go a Big Block
Every ones XY has a 351 and a turbo 6 is a downgrade.
Old 19-11-2007, 10:08 AM   #15
hrdcor

Do something different. The only reasons to go 8 are authenticity and noise. That being said, as much as I like the turbo six idea, the xy deserves better. Blown 427 FTW.
Old 19-11-2007, 10:47 AM   #16
GTP owner

turbo 6, save the soundtrack for the slower cars, or play it on your stereo if you need to hear that kind of thing....i am now waiting to be hammered! A 6 is different, but the v8 sounds the bizz. I would not be basing my decision on other peoples thoughts - that is why they build their cars. You do your own thing, and that way you will be satisfied with the outcome. You are the one that will be driving it, not anyone else.
E3 chubsport - fully fat (and slow), sitting there waiting for me to get sick of it and sell it.
BA XR6T for a daily
NT Pajero for the bush
XB 4 door project- swallows a BF xr6 turbo

My dad is a generous bloke. He gave away his dead car batteries free of charge....
Old 19-11-2007, 12:32 PM   #17
cuz

Originally Posted by GTP owner
turbo 6, save the soundtrack for the slower cars, or play it on your stereo if you need to hear that kind of thing....i am now waiting to be hammered! A 6 is different, but the v8 sounds the bizz. I would not be basing my decision on other peoples thoughts - that is why they build their cars. You do your own thing, and that way you will be satisfied with the outcome. You are the one that will be driving it, not anyone else.
I agree with your idea of building it to suit what you want but I'm going with 4VMAN and saying that IMHO a XY should be home to a clevo.
Old 19-11-2007, 11:40 AM   #18

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

I'd say the I6T, but I'd look at the BA T. It would be very uniquie...but probably alot of money.
Old 19-11-2007, 12:36 PM   #19
V3RSAC3
... Fear it!

Don't be a girl!! Turbocharge the V8!!

that's it, thread clossed!

Chrysler 300C Sedan
SY Territory Ghia
Old 19-11-2007, 04:25 PM   #20
Riksta
Captain Malcolm Reynolds

V8 just for the sound
Riksta likes VN's so much, he has the ashes of a VN in a jar on the mantle piece, a vile of VN engine oil hanging from his neck and a BT1 build plate locked up in a safe, buried under 6ft of concrete.
pretty much what has happened here is i trolled you. and it was fun.
Old 19-11-2007, 04:50 PM   #21

TOMXY, did your parents forget you at kindy and your on the staff PC? Do us a favour and do the 6T and impress your friends.
Old 19-11-2007, 04:52 PM   #22
TomXY
XY

TOMXY, did your parents forget you at kindy and your on the staff PC? Do us a favour and do the 6T and impress your friends.
ha..ha...............
nice comeback.
Old 19-11-2007, 04:54 PM   #23

ha..ha...............
nice comeback.
To what? You know you want to do the 6T, so do it and get 500HP like you say you can. If it is an original 6 and you want it to stay that way you have little choice.

Ive got a 302, its not that quick but thats waaay down on my care list.
Old 19-11-2007, 04:57 PM   #24
TomXY
XY

Ive got a 302, its not that quick but thats waaay down on my care list.

so you care more that its loud enough and uses enough fuel to make people think its quick?
Old 19-11-2007, 04:59 PM   #25

so you care more that its loud enough and uses enough fuel to make people think its quick?
LOL...see this is where you are wrong. I dont care what some thinks of my car. I know its quick and I dont flog it around trying to prove it.

I also dont care about fuel, or I would have brought a laser.
Old 19-11-2007, 04:55 PM   #26
XCSEDAN
i'm baaaack....

personally, i'd do a hot v8 (preferably supercharged), that is because, i find with turbo cars, the torque builds up to a point, holds, then drops off and generally they aren't as nice to drive (throttle response, crusabililty etc) where as a hot v8, the torque builds up in a more natural way (both NA and supercharged) because its a mechanical build up not nuematic (i dont think that's spelt right).

while a turbo 6 would be really nice to see under the bonnet, i just dont think it would be as nice to drive, but if you do go the turbo route, go a BA/BF motor. SO much nicer then all the older motors its not funny.

just my opinion mate so do what you want the most
Old 19-11-2007, 04:56 PM   #27
banarcus
hmm eyebrows

The younger generation and their need to not only have the last say, but also their yearning for affamation. Do what ever makes you happy mate, there's no need to worry what others will think of a XY that sounds a little 'different'
Old 19-11-2007, 05:00 PM   #28

Originally Posted by banarcus
The younger generation and their need to not only have the last say, but also their yearning for affamation. Do what ever makes you happy mate, there's no need to worry what others will think of a XY that sounds a little 'different'
Yes...i guess it depends on why he's building it, If he's building it for personal satisfaction then he should build whatever he wants, but if he's building it for acceptance and overwhelming "adulation from the majority of fans" i think the results of the poll tell the story...

Old 19-11-2007, 05:02 PM   #29
xrfranjo
whats that noise

The heart is never wrong....... with a legend like that needs a legend ground rumbling V8... dont mix and match like some idiot in wollongong... i think it was a LJ torry with a 13b chook cooker in it.....
Old 19-11-2007, 05:09 PM   #30
TomXY
XY

Originally Posted by xrfranjo
The heart is never wrong....... with a legend like that needs a legend ground rumbling V8... dont mix and match like some idiot in wollongong... i think it was a LJ torry with a 13b chook cooker in it.....
I dunno if your calling me a legend, or calling me an idiot.
I hope your not comparing a torquey 4L turbo with a rotor.