Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
The Bar For non Automotive Related Chat |
22-02-2008, 04:39 AM | #31 | ||||
Life begins at 40
Over a period of time, show these people that you are genuinely interested in learning. After that, make a few deals with the boss. For example: Say that some of the mechanics are working on a fairly complex job and you would like to be involved with it, and there’s cleaning to be done. Offer to do the cleaning in you own time, at the end of the day, if you can help out with the job. Showing initiative like this will go a long way. Remember, these mechanics don’t have to teach you anything if they don’t want to, so show them that you’re worth their effort.
22-02-2008, 11:17 AM | #32 | ||
i just finished my apprenticeship.
im now a CNC Machinist. when i started i got a lot of shitty jobs. did the one job for about 9months, all i did was cut grooves in stainless steel plates using a machine called a shaper. most boring, monotonous job ever. but i didnt complain, stuck at it, and now im programming CNCs. the way i see things, is that jobs have to be done, cleaning has to be done, and someone has to do it. if you run out of work, ask for more. just stick at it, things will get better. alot can happen in 4 years.
22-02-2008, 12:10 PM | #33 | ||
Being a motor mechanic at a dealership is a real s.h.i.t. kicker job.
22-02-2008, 12:18 PM | #34 | ||||
Life begins at 40
Where did you start your working career, at an F1 team?
22-02-2008, 12:19 PM | #35 | ||
You are cheap, you will get the crappy jobs for a while. Why would they pay a mechanic 3X your wage so they can sweep floors?
22-02-2008, 04:20 PM | #36 | ||
I knew what I was in for, and I knew the type of money I was going to be earning. That's not bothering me. Its the actual job, not so much doing menial tasks, its just that I see the other mechanics resenting their work.
This week wasn't so bad. And to the memeber who said dealership work is for kickers. Call me a kicker. |
22-02-2008, 05:24 PM | #37 | ||
When I started out in spray painting, I got all the crap jobs that everyone else avoided or didn't want to do. That included washing the workshop ute, sweeping floors, emptying bins, getting the lunches, driving customers etc etc. As boring and degrading as it may feel at times, my then employer was accessing my ability to follow direction and do what what I was told. That gave them the confidence to move me on to better jobs as time went on.
I'm now running a workshop, where it's my job now to hand out the shite jobs and I normally pass on them on to the newbies. Why? So I guage if they have the ability to handle something that's basic, easy and commonsence, and if they can do the job without the lip or attitude. The guy's who show the most promise, usually move ahead quick. The numbnut's, whingers and lazy *** halfwits are left where they are until they begin to show some inititive and the will to learn. You seem pretty keen, so hang in there, it'll be all worth it!!! |
22-02-2008, 07:25 PM | #38 | ||
OzECruisers FTW
"Well, this week I started my apprenticeship in motor mechanics at a dealership"
Thats the problem right there, if you can try to get into a smallish workshop, much more hands on dude
22-02-2008, 07:45 PM | #39 | ||
LOW AND SLOW
boss-290, Hang in there mate. Give yourself time to adjust and then re-evaluate further down the track. I felt the same way last year when my work went bust and we were all camped outside for two weeks. I started a new job as a CNC Machinist/Programmer and found it really hard at first but time has passed and i am really happy there now. It was a challenge that i was determined to win. Stay strong and focused mate, this way, you will know if its what you really want. Cheers, Adam.
22-02-2008, 08:09 PM | #40 | ||
Nikon
Mate stick it out and after you got 10 yrs exp mechanic its time to leave
Or maybe not 10yrs but still be a tradie |
22-02-2008, 10:32 PM | #41 | ||
The reason why the blokes at your work dont like it is because its a crap job that pays little.
If I had my time over id do a licensed trade. eg plumber, sparkie or fridgie. |
23-02-2008, 12:39 AM | #42 | |||
Turbo Dinosaur FTMFW
ahhh the cleanliness of a well-equipped dealership workshop.. I spend the majority of my working day in a pit working on trucks.. |
23-02-2008, 10:57 AM | #43 | ||
Is there any good jobs? they all suck except maybe pro surfer, F1 driver etc
23-02-2008, 12:03 PM | #44 | ||
Im still in my trade as a diesel fitter. The reason why I dont get out of it I cant afford to take a pay cut while I learn skills in another trade.
If your going to spend 4 years earning little then do a trade that pays well at the end of it. Working at a dealership earning maybe $20 per hour once qualified isnt going to get you very far in life. I dont enjoy working on cars anymore because I spend everyday at work on the spanners. This is just my opinion on being a motor mechanic. Im just trying to give some insight as to why the people he works with arent enthusiastic about the job. |
30-10-2008, 12:31 PM | #45 | ||
I had enough of this job.
I rang my field officer this morning telling him I want out. My Foreman is calling me names constantly, putting me under huge pressure. (They gave me a clutch and expected me to know what I was doing, and basically gave me no help! and I'm a first year!) I'm practically doing what the qualifieds are doing, for $7.00p/h GET ! I am having a meeting this afternoon with my Host boss and field officer to sort this out. I am now looking for other career paths.
30-10-2008, 12:57 PM | #46 | ||
Ahh, the Y generation.
All of us here have more than likley started at the bottom doing the sh!t jobs It will not come to you the easy way. (If it does please let me know!)
30-10-2008, 01:00 PM | #47 | ||
He has, the Knack..
Well mate at least you gave it a fair crack. Best of luck with everything. Maybe look into being a sparky? A couple of mates are mine are apprentices, they are enjoying it plus its good money eventually (or so I'm told).
I'm getting sick of my job as well atm, but thankfully this project is almost over!
2010 BF MKIII Falcon wagon "EGO" Workhorse, stock as a rock 2004 BA MKI Futura - Now the wife's For Show: 18" Kaotic Shadow Chrome, King SL all round, Cadence Amp, Kenwood 12" Sub, JL Audio 5x7's, Scuff Plates, MP3 Connector For Go: SVI LPG, K&N Filter, F6 CAI, XR6T snorkle, XR8 catback, Magnaflow metal cat, Pacemaker headers, Underdrive, Thermostat, Custom tune, DBA4000 Now with baby seat and toys 175.6 rwkw www.bseries.com.au/King_Nothing |
30-10-2008, 01:12 PM | #48 | |||
He has, the Knack..
Not having a go at you mate, I'm just sick of hearing about gen Y being picked on. Sure there are d***heads amongst us, but personally I don't know many of them. I'm 23, paying for my own wedding, saving for a house deposit, live with my fiancee paying our own way, paid cash for my car (which I worked my rear end off for), and have no debt (except for HECS). All my mates are in similar positions (whether they went to uni, tafe, or work after school). I'm sticking with my job atm, even though it sucks right now I know (at least I hope!) it will lead to better things. Not all of us are dropkicks. By that sort of logic, we can thank the baby boomers (and some gen x's) for stuffing up the environment and the economy. Not to mention that there is no way, at all, that me and my fiancee could safely afford a house in Sydney and we're on not small wages. Sorry for going o/t there!
2010 BF MKIII Falcon wagon "EGO" Workhorse, stock as a rock 2004 BA MKI Futura - Now the wife's For Show: 18" Kaotic Shadow Chrome, King SL all round, Cadence Amp, Kenwood 12" Sub, JL Audio 5x7's, Scuff Plates, MP3 Connector For Go: SVI LPG, K&N Filter, F6 CAI, XR6T snorkle, XR8 catback, Magnaflow metal cat, Pacemaker headers, Underdrive, Thermostat, Custom tune, DBA4000 Now with baby seat and toys 175.6 rwkw www.bseries.com.au/King_Nothing |
30-10-2008, 01:59 PM | #49 | |||
Keep ya chin up mate, you'll work something out, your a long time at work so you may as well find something you enjoy. If I had my time again I would look into doing an apprenticeship as a Sparky, good trade to fall back on, never out of work, good pay, apparantly they get paid the most of all the tradies on the building sites. Good luck with it all, let us know how you get on. |
30-10-2008, 02:09 PM | #50 | ||
Sorry to hear about what you are going through, after all the time you have put in it really would be a shame to chuck it away.
If your heart really isn't in it then not sure if it ever will be. Keep us posted. |
30-10-2008, 04:26 PM | #51 | |||
I started work when I was 16 at Coles pushing Trolleys, Packing Bags for Customers, Unloading Semi Trailers with 24 Pallets of Stock on them in the Rain at night & even cleaning Damm Tampon machines in the Girls rooms : I was not keen on it however I did not think like that mostly as I was happy to have a fulltime Job at that Age as Many I went to School with had no Job at all. I was able to Buy a Car with the Money I earnt as well as some other things. Well was not long until I was a Trainee Manager & then not long after a Manager in charge of 30 or so People much older than myself. Then one Promotion led to another until after a fair amount of years & long Hours (many Unpaid) I resigned & went on to Better things. Now I Have my own Business & life is Good. Now I could have quit when I was young as apart from the bad Jobs I had to do for awhile I also came across nasty treatment at times from Older Managers, however I stuck it out as that is what you did way back then. These days it is all "I want & I expect to be Given". Well easy street is about to end so maybe Many of you young people will have to toughen up, suck it in & be happy in the Fact you have a Job. As many will not in the coming years. |
30-10-2008, 04:41 PM | #52 | |||
30-10-2008, 05:20 PM | #53 | ||
Abuse is abuse either way you look at it and it should not be tolerated in todays workforce.
I did a trade as a sparky, still am, and I am damn sure all the other tradies have had the crap jobs and "sucked it up" and have ventured further. It will only last the first year or two and then it is onward and upward. Don't look back at the past, keep flogging ahead, only you will know where you want to be in the future! Just my $2 worth C
30-10-2008, 05:28 PM | #54 | |||
I couldnt agree more, I have no suggestions on how to protect yourself, others may give you some informed information, everyone else on their high horse, STFU |
30-10-2008, 08:44 PM | #55 | ||||
It was the opposite when my older cousin started his apprenticeship in cooking, he started at the Windsor Hotel in Melbourne and was treated really well, when he was fully qualified that's when the poo hit the fan, his head chef even hit him once.
I'm all for people not copping abuse in the workshop.
30-10-2008, 09:41 PM | #56 | |||
boss-290 - Good luck with things and hope you find something you can enjoy doing .... its along time working! Not everything suits everyone. | [/url] |
'73 Landau - 10.82 @ 131mph '11 FG GT335 - 12.43 @ 116mph '95 XG ute - 3 minutes, 21.14 @ 64mph 101,436 MEMBERS ......... 101,436 OPINIONS ..... What could possibly go wrong! Clevo Mafia [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] |
30-10-2008, 10:01 PM | #57 | |||
31-10-2008, 04:44 AM | #58 | ||||
Life begins at 40
Boss 290.
First of all, are you sick of the job or are you just sick of working at the place where you’re working? There’s a big difference. I don’t think that there was a single day in the first three years of my apprenticeship where I didn’t feel like throwing it in, however, I was not going to let those Bar**ards win. I fixed the problem and found another place to continue my time. It was that easy. Quote:
If you seriously think that the pressure that they’re putting you under is huge, then you have some real big shocks coming your way. And as for the comments in this thread about the abuse, well, I nearly fell off my chair laughing. Boss 290, PM me your phone number and I’ll tell you about some of the things that used to happen to apprentices 20 and 30 years ago. You probably won’t believe a lot of it, however, I can assure you that it went on. I was one of those kids who was tortured in my early years and nearly feel like putting my fist through the computer screen when people say that they are being abused just because a foreman is yelling at them. I could only dream of someone just yelling and abusing me. Apprenticeships also build character and self discipline, that’s why it’s important to stick with it. Try and find another place to work before you consider throwing in the towel. Remember, nothing worthwhile in life comes easy. When I was an apprentice, I used to think that I was hard done by. One day I picked up a book about a bloke called Nelson Mandela. After reading about this bloke, I realised how insignificant my problems at work really were.
31-10-2008, 07:16 AM | #59 | ||
... but you have just ended up being an old grumpy bugga, it has marked you for life.
Would you tell your son to htfu, I certainly wouldnt, in fact I would be more inclined to meet the boss and bestow the intended htfu as a stfu or else! |
31-10-2008, 07:38 AM | #60 | ||
certified nutter
I'm sorry that things panned out that way, but the part of what full noise said about are you sick of where you, two entirely different things, I'm a first year myself with one of the little guys, and I absolutely love it, sure i do my share of cleaning but my boss HATES how apprentices have been treated and doesnt want to continue that cycle, I do plenty of real work and when there is time the boss even teaches me a bit on the auto-elec side, which once i'm second year i'd like to start getting qualifications in that too.
Good Luck mate with whatever you choose to do in life |