You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Ford Australia Vehicles > Small and Mid Sized Cars > Focus

Old 11-03-2009, 02:42 PM   #31
#Russ#Es#
Hello Koni's!

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: This member has made a few valuable contributions to the Forum in the Focus section, seems to know exactly what he is talking about with his posts, which are helpful and concise. 

Originally Posted by Jondalar
My interpretation of the LV is it's the same car with a prettier face. Mazda's new 3 is a different body completely, that is a dramatic change. Since the 3 and Focus used to be co-developed I expected Focus to keep pace with the 3. I really don't think the new front styling is all that different, just extends the corporate face to the Focus.

Don't get me wrong I do like the new face, but it's not enough difference for a current owner to go "oh I have to have one of those" to my mind.

So why have they dropped the Ghia?
You can almost guarantee the Focus will be given a dramatic refresh when production starts in Oz next year (from latest reports). You have to remember the Focus model cycle (ie LS/LT/LV) is a couple years behind the 3.

Re: dropping of Ghia - agree with the RJO89. Also, with Ford dropping the Ghia nameplate for the Falcon range, you can see how Ford can justify the decision. The (Focus) Ghia was hardly packed with extra kit anyway...
Lower airbox removed, K&N Panel filter
Momo gear knob + boot + pedals, Ghia boot garnish, Zetec Chrome interior door handles
JVC KW-XR816 Headunit + more to come...

#Russ#Es# is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-03-2009, 04:12 PM   #32
Spazzsfocus
RS Dreamer!

An indication of what the next generation Focus will look like...

http://www.netcarshow.com/ford/2009-iosis_max_concept/

1969 Ford Capri
Starlight Blue, 1600, 4-speed manual
Spazzsfocus is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-03-2009, 10:38 PM   #33
BrisVegas
Noobie

with normal wheels, headlights, boot lid and B pillars etc, it would look like a chunkier version of the new Fiesta. I like it.
LS Focus Zetec 5dr - gone
WS Fiesta Zetec 5dr - gone
BrisVegas is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-03-2009, 03:25 PM   #34
LilKev

LV Focus Pics........
File Type: jpg 078_78.JPG (22.6 KB, 63 views)
File Type: jpg 079_79.JPG (27.3 KB, 64 views)
File Type: jpg 081_81.JPG (21.9 KB, 58 views)
File Type: jpg 080_80.JPG (26.4 KB, 65 views)
File Type: jpg 082_82.JPG (22.5 KB, 83 views)
File Type: jpg 083_83.JPG (17.2 KB, 52 views)
File Type: jpg 085_85.JPG (23.1 KB, 67 views)
File Type: jpg 086_86.JPG (22.2 KB, 76 views)

Last edited by LilKev; 19-03-2009 at 03:32 PM.
LilKev is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-03-2009, 08:50 PM   #35
zetec
Zoom Zoom

My sister's getting a LV Zetec hatch, in either Ocean or Tit Grey.
Old 20-03-2009, 11:29 AM   #36
LilKev

Is the basic LV Focus Sedan or basic LV Focus Hatch better looking?

I think Sedan....

Also can you buy sedan lights and retro fit on LT?
LilKev is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-03-2009, 12:39 PM   #37
Fredo
Nice kitty . .

Is it just me or does the photo on the Focus web site make the front look a little Lancer'ish ??

Oh oh! Its got an arm rest :1syellow1 . . . 'wish I had an armrest. _

Late 2005 LS CL, 5spd Manual, 5 Door, Titanium Grey
To Do List:-
:- Using 95 RON Fuel (DONE -easiest upgrade of all) :- XR5 Springs (DONE) :- Lower air box removal (DONE) :- K & N Panel Air Filter (DONE)
:- 2.25" Cat Back (DONE) :- DBA Brake upgrade (DONE)
Fredo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-03-2009, 01:47 PM   #38

Anyone know what the quoted 0-100kph time is for the normal everyday cl or lx is please?
Old 20-03-2009, 03:54 PM   #39
sumpPUMP
SUMPA's sedan

the tail lights on the lv sedan are terrible, looks like an astra! (very boring looking):
ls/lt are alot better.
Old 22-03-2009, 01:29 AM   #40

They took the chrome ring out of the tail lights.
looked better before.
MethodX is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-03-2009, 08:30 AM   #41
819_FLY

Originally Posted by deesun
Anyone know what the quoted 0-100kph time is for the normal everyday cl or lx is please?
Prob about 8-9 seconds would be my guess, if they havent changed engine output or type then considering it is a similar body shell times would be comparable to that of the LS/LT models.

Check out 819FLY!!
819_FLY is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-03-2009, 08:14 PM   #42

^^^^^ Thanks mate. I am thinking of updating and its currently a toss up between a 3 year old low K Mazda SP23 or a new Focus. Will go the new model if its the Focus. Mazda looks to have more grunt but I've only driven a Focus so far. SP has a 2.3 and about 7kw and 25 more nm of tourque in the same weight body and a bucketload more gizmos. As its prolly for wifey to drive mostly i'm leaning towards the Mazda but a drive will tell. Mazda is a tad uglier tho.
Old 23-03-2009, 05:09 PM   #43
sumpPUMP
SUMPA's sedan

^^^^^ Thanks mate. I am thinking of updating and its currently a toss up between a 3 year old low K Mazda SP23 or a new Focus. Will go the new model if its the Focus. Mazda looks to have more grunt but I've only driven a Focus so far. SP has a 2.3 and about 7kw and 25 more nm of tourque in the same weight body and a bucketload more gizmos. As its prolly for wifey to drive mostly i'm leaning towards the Mazda but a drive will tell. Mazda is a tad uglier tho.

focus has alot better fuel consumption compared to mazda. better fuel economy to power (kw) ratio too!
Old 01-04-2009, 06:49 AM   #44
AG3

Same engine/transmission so expect similar performance figures as the outgoing model.

To get an idea of their acceleration times, here are the specs of the outgoing model from Ford South Africa: http://www.ford.co.za/servlet/Conten...MCSA&c=DFYPage
2.0 manual 0-100 km/h: 9.2 sec
2.0 automatic 0-100 km/h: 10.7 sec
(figures are close or identical to the ASEAN and European Focus models)

Last edited by AG3; 01-04-2009 at 06:59 AM.
AG3 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-04-2009, 09:59 PM   #45
Rhubarb

My sister's getting a LV Zetec hatch, in either Ocean or Tit Grey.

Tit Grey ???? Interesting colour
Rhubarb is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-04-2009, 04:16 PM   #46

I wonder why they don't have the diesel available in the sedan?
outback_ute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post