Old 14-08-2007, 11:04 PM   #31

If it means slapping a number that's meant to be limited edition on the remaining FPV's then it's a rort. If there's a significant gain in this limited edition FPV, HP, extras, what have you.. then let the market decide.
Old 14-08-2007, 11:08 PM   #32
BionicGT
Living in GT Nirvana

The new Cobra version with it's link to past Bathurst racing wins could make this Cobra version worth more in time than the 40th anniversary model.

It's the Bathurst race track that has made some of the 1970's Fords so valuable (of course the most valuable 70's vehicles actually raced)
BionicGT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-08-2007, 06:39 AM   #33
ED Classic

Originally Posted by BionicGT
The new Cobra version with it's link to past Bathurst racing wins could make this Cobra version worth more in time than the 40th anniversary model.
Not that Id buy 1 for investment only (stick 70k in property, shares, term deposit etc for 20-30 years if making moneys someones wish) but yeah it will have much more potential IMHO, particually with the links to the 302 ontop of the rest of the story. But if you want the ultimate wait for Orion Cobra with the 351KW V8. :evil3:
ED Classic is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-08-2007, 04:57 PM   #34

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

knowone really thought EB and EL GT's would be a worthwhile investment too, because they "wern't a propper GT", but look whats happening now...

Old 15-08-2007, 07:22 PM   #35

Cant wait till friday!, bout time they showed us something new!
Old 15-08-2007, 08:29 PM   #36
sleekism
1999 Ford Fairmont Ghia

Originally Posted by LSTerritoryGhia
The fact that TURBO Ghia sales are on the low atm and the fact that they are going to bring a face lift out next year makes the objective of an FPV model seem very stupid.
Are you kidding?

I swear every second Territory I see is a turbo model they seem to be sell like hot cakes.

Their an aspirational model for every wannabe gangsta out there.

I think the limited edition models will be a big hit as they are LIMITED.

Has anybody noticed even the price of XE ESP's are going up and they had an impressive 149kw.

The problem still remains that even if they make 200 of each type they still have to rely on 90% of their sales are Typhoon, GT etc.

Limited editions work look at the huge success of all the Mustang variants FPV should be milking it for all it's worth. Heck go get Alan Moffat to sign 200 cars and then get Dick Johnson to sign 200 and colour them green tuff.

Fact remains that bodykits and stripes are cheaper to develop than engines and a lot of the time sell better than a power hike.

Last edited by sleekism; 15-08-2007 at 08:34 PM.
sleekism is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-08-2007, 08:38 PM   #37
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

Originally Posted by ESP
Do you own an FPV ?????
At the moment, no.

But here’s my old one. This allows me an informed opinion. I’m not anti Ford or FPV, however, I’ll call a spade a spade, regardless of the badge.

Full Noise is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-08-2007, 09:05 PM   #38

Originally Posted by Rodp
If it means slapping a number that's meant to be limited edition on the remaining FPV's then it's a rort. If there's a significant gain in this limited edition FPV, HP, extras, what have you.. then let the market decide.
Given "secondhand" GT 40th Ann cars have been selling for well above RRP the market is saying the concept works
outback_ute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-08-2007, 12:07 AM   #39
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

Originally Posted by FORD3V
Believe it not mate, he does own a GT?????

Most of the time he refer's to it as a taxi,it must terrible having such a low opinion of a car that you have spent 70k+ on.
I wasn’t ignoring your post here, Ford3V. I just missed it while I was looking through.

Off topic…

My GT-P was an awesome car, however, it was not perfect. There were some minor build quality issues that could have been fixed up very easily by Ford, however, they weren’t. Instead Ford and FPV dragged them out to the point where you just feel like giving up. Unfortunately I had four cars at once and no time to drive them, so the GT-P just sat there and was driven about every six weeks when I had time. Although I do refer to it as a taxi, most of the time it was “tongue in cheek”. I never really had a low opinion of the car, just for the people at Ford CRC and their subordinates that made the whole ownership experience frustrating and disappointing.

My next project car is still going to be a GT, just a very different shape.

Back on topic.

I wish Ford and FPV every success with whatever they release, limited edition or not, but realistically, unless they come up with some serious changes to tackle HSV “not just a new set of stripes” and a new attitude to their customers, they will lose market share. It’s a lot harder for a dealer to sell a new FPV now than it was three years ago.

Old 16-08-2007, 01:50 AM   #40
FalconXV

I thought the F6 spec R had already been announced?
FalconXV is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-08-2007, 07:04 PM   #41
gotanxr6

they are being advertised in tomorows herald sun cars guide!
300 cars being made the one in the ad is white,it doesnt really
look all that different to a normal f6.
cheers Dean
gotanxr6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-08-2007, 07:21 PM   #42

Hopefully full details are posted. I am always excited when new models come out!!
Old 17-08-2007, 02:45 PM   #43
Cuey
Built Ford Tough

FPV F6 Typhoon released today with Dark Acsents around the rims, dark struts for the rear wing, R-Spec badging, leather seats, FPV floor mats and ipod compatible, for only $1500 more than a normal Typhoon....

Not a bad deal if you ask me. This is a good start by FPV for the upcoming realease of two new models before Orion

Nice work!

"I believe it was an old, old wooden ship used in the civil war era."

Ron Burgandy - Anchorman
Cuey is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2007, 06:00 PM   #44
Elks

I've looked at my calendar and It's Friday.

Checked the FPV website, nothing.

Latest news is they appointed a new boss. If your going to do something crow about it. Oh unless it's a new set of stripes.

FPV F6 Typhoon released today with Dark Acsents around the rims, dark struts for the rear wing, R-Spec badging, leather seats, FPV floor mats and ipod compatible, for only $1500 more than a normal Typhoon....
Leather. Some paint. R-Spec badge (You have assume you get the springs) ipod connector $78rrp fitted to the ute aftermarket. OE cost probably $1500 all up.

Damm fella's add a $5k nizpro kit to a foon and they would sell like hot cakes
Old 17-08-2007, 06:52 PM   #45
5.4 GT

A write up with pics of the F6R:

http://www.carpoint.com.au/car-review/2774459.aspx
5.4 GT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2007, 06:57 PM   #46
BionicGT
Living in GT Nirvana

Quote from article "The audio system is also upgraded with an iPod connection."

Wow - got to get one of these exclusive models
Old 17-08-2007, 07:06 PM   #47
Cuey
Built Ford Tough

Originally Posted by myts
Leather. Some paint. R-Spec badge (You have assume you get the springs) ipod connector $78rrp fitted to the ute aftermarket. OE cost probably $1500 all up.

Damm fella's add a $5k nizpro kit to a foon and they would sell like hot cakes

Some people have no idea....

That's all good and well, but why release a 'race package' like they do with the nizpro kits only 6 months out from a complete new model release. Save the goodies for the new car, no need to go spending big on current models when we are that close

"I believe it was an old, old wooden ship used in the civil war era."

Ron Burgandy - Anchorman
Cuey is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2007, 07:10 PM   #48
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

Originally Posted by Cuey
Save the goodies for the new car, no need to go spending big on current models when we are that close
Geez, isn’t this the quote of the year. Perhaps the customers will be doing the same thing.
Old 17-08-2007, 09:24 PM   #49
BionicGT
Living in GT Nirvana

Look on the bright side. By keeping the "special edition" vehicles the same power as the standard ones, they haven't devalued the ones we have already bought by too much. FPV have always strived to maintain the resale value of its vehicles by not doing runout discounting or continually increasing kW with each minor model facelift.
Old 17-08-2007, 09:46 PM   #50
Whitey-AMG
AWD Assassin

Originally Posted by Full Noise
At the moment, no.

But here’s my old one. This allows me an informed opinion. I’m not anti Ford or FPV, however, I’ll call a spade a spade, regardless of the badge.
That's OK.........

Just curious.............however , by constantly dubbing an FPV GT as a V8 taxi, it really isn't calling a spade a spade as you have alluded to........just makes your philosophy a little bit harder to believe............

P.S. Your "old" GT looked magnificent.......Those series II BA GTP / series 1 BFGT 19" wheels are the best looking IMHO........
Whitey-AMG is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2007, 10:23 PM   #51
schnoods

I just wonder how long till we start seeing R badge ripoffs on ebay...

95 EF XR8, Advance headers, Vortech V2 t trim blower, Ported Cobra Manifold, Capa Switch Chip Eliminator. 307 rwhp 395 ft/lb 13.2 @ 105mph

Now NA- AFR 165 heads, 1.6RR, Ported Cobra 269rwhp 14.2 ... needs stall and 4.11's

1977 CL Chrysler Panel Van, 360, 727 torqueflite auto soon to be restored.
schnoods is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-08-2007, 09:42 PM   #52
ST

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/BA-BF-Ford-FP...QQcmdZViewItem

Old 20-08-2007, 10:02 PM   #53
Elks

Originally Posted by Cuey
Some people have no idea....

That's all good and well, but why release a 'race package' like they do with the nizpro kits only 6 months out from a complete new model release. Save the goodies for the new car, no need to go spending big on current models when we are that close
Some people have no idea.. : :

Obviously it wouldn't be an actual nizpro kit, but the concept of a special wow factor high boost f6 or supercharged GTP to make the BF11 something super desirable. This has positive rub off for all the thousands of people who have paid $60 to $80K for a BA/BF FPV in recent years. Rather than consign them to the dumpster as usual. This is not the USA and cars cost more than $30K and need to be around more than 3 years.

The new model is that, a new model and a whole gang of people are waiting to buy one because its new. It will no doubt be a better car in almost every way. That's evolution. So it's sales will take care of themselves. By making the old and new car desireable can only be of benefit to the Ford brand going forward.

And Cuey, as for people with no idea, FoMoCo, FPV their staff and dealers still need to eat in the 6+ months till orion arrives, a "Race Package" is what FPV have done, they just haven't gone far enough with it IMHO. And no I'm not one of them, just an observer.
Old 20-08-2007, 10:51 PM   #54
krt10
eskyman

Originally Posted by schnoods
I just wonder how long till we start seeing R badge ripoffs on ebay...
about 3 days