Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
The Bar For non Automotive Related Chat |
View Poll Results: The smoking plan | |||
Good idea, should start ASAP | 18 | 23.08% | |
Good idea but it will never work as no one will agree on anything | 26 | 33.33% | |
Stupid idea, taxing is better | 4 | 5.13% | |
All smokers should be shot. | 7 | 8.97% | |
Stupid idea, smoking should be deregulated completely. | 8 | 10.26% | |
Ban smoking outright immediately. | 15 | 19.23% | |
Voters: 78. You may not vote on this poll |
30-04-2010, 04:14 PM | #31 | |||
avenge me
30-04-2010, 05:10 PM | #32 | |||
72xa
Yep thats what will happen, rudd and his bunch of bozos will target another area, i dread that being a pollution tax or some spin like that to be put on older cars, then a lot of fellas on this forum, smokers and non smokers will squeal like stuck pigs, me being the loudest. |
30-04-2010, 05:51 PM | #33 | ||
Those who believe that the (new) extra tax on tobacco will go to health care are the same ones that believe that speeding fines go toward road safety.
30-04-2010, 06:10 PM | #34 | ||
IMO its a great idea but i fail to see the money going to good use. And before all of the smokers out there go into your local shop abusing the person behind the counter think again it was the govt not retailers, my g/f copped a spray from a disgruntled customer today i was not impressed (Woolies)
30-04-2010, 06:21 PM | #35 | |||
30-04-2010, 06:36 PM | #36 | |||
72xa
Thats sad to hear that has happened to your partner, some really brain dead people out there walking the streets, i do feel feel for you, my elder daughter works in coles and she had copped an earfull all day, wish i was there with her, might have got a bit punchy though. |
30-04-2010, 07:47 PM | #37 | |||
30-04-2010, 08:34 PM | #38 | |||
Oldfordnut, I don't think that the government would offset loss of revenue from cigarette smokers(if they all quit at once) by raising income tax. I for one would refuse to accept that...they'd just find other ways to tax us to fill the void.
30-04-2010, 08:46 PM | #39 | ||
as an ex smoker it does not matter what they cost people will still buy them.the only way they will give up is if they make up there own mind and commit to it !
30-04-2010, 09:11 PM | #40 | ||
Drink Green tea with herbs grown in my own shoe box of dirt
Drive a toyota camry that runs on chip oil and has a speed limiter smoke yesterdays newspaper rolled into a biddy Pizz on the garden to save the water tax attach a wind turbine to the seat of my pants to capture free energy and then we should be able to save a dollar under our mattress so the banks do not tax us on that, some people want things to easy these days. |
30-04-2010, 09:22 PM | #41 | |||
30-04-2010, 09:47 PM | #42 | |||
30-04-2010, 10:36 PM | #43 | |||
01-05-2010, 12:15 AM | #44 | ||
Why should smoking be abolished? If people are prepared to pay to shorten their lifespan (considerably in many cases and painfully also) just for a bit of relief through their day then let them. Smokers are highly aware of the consequences of smoking and the damage it can cause, they are greeted by it on every packet they purchase.
What made me happy was when smoking was taken outdoors, no longer would I have to go to the pub and be greeted by layers of smoke when i'm having a beer with my mates. I absolutely agree parents should not smoke around their kids and they definitely shouldn't smoke in the car with kids in the back (well you shouldn't smoke in any car unless it's worthless). Smoking is dirty which is another reason i'm happy they decided to take it outdoors, I won't have to go home from a big night smelling like i've been in a bonfire unless I go outside where people are smoking. Cigarette butt pollution is still disgusting and disposal of cigarettes definitely needs to be improved, tougher penalties should be enforced better. What amazes me is how it is not illegal for a person under 18 years of age to possess cigarettes is absolutely beyond me (this is in Victoria, not sure if this applies to other states) and should be fixed immediately. Second-hand smoke research is inconclusive and grossly exaggerated as we all probably know; so with more strict age control, better disposal methods (harsher penalties also) and a zero tolerance outdoor only policy Australia-wide I don't see the problem with people smoking as they freely choose to do so. If smoking is banned it is only a matter of time before alcohol goes down the same path.
01-05-2010, 12:36 AM | #45 | ||
smoking is a filthy dirty habit it pollutes the air we breathe (at higher levels than the smoker inhales thanks to the filter) and smokers seem to think it is acceptable to stub out just outside doorways to buildings leaving their filthy butts everywhere. Every non smoker has the right to clean air inside and out I don't want to breathe their filthy stink nor do I want my children to. My personal opinion is that all smokers should stop crying and should sack up and QUIT
ALSO to all you smokers that whine about the costs of fags think about that when you are in hospital costing the taxpayers of this nation a crapload to keep you alive. Who would deliberately choose cancer not me thats for damn sure.
01-05-2010, 08:40 AM | #46 | |||
01-05-2010, 08:49 AM | #47 | ||
Like your idea Flappist.
The only addition I would want to see is that anyone buying the licence also signs away their right to any sort of 'free' medical help down the track for any illness directly caused by their smoking. I don't smoke, but do feel sorry for smokers. Fore some people it is the only pleasure or relaxant they have to look fwd to.... We will be all paying for the government stimulus for a VERY long time. I hear they will soon be taxing wine based on alcohol content... The NSW RTA has already put a 'surcharge' on all vehicle rego over 975kg... what's bloody next? |
01-05-2010, 08:52 AM | #48 | |||
Driving an XR6T is a filthy dirty habit it pollutes the air we breathe (at higher levels than smokers) and XR6T drivers seem to think it is acceptable to drop skids just outside doorways to buildings leaving their filthy rubber everywhere. Every non XR6T driver has the right to clean air inside and out I don't want to breathe their filthy stink nor do I want my children to. My personal opinion is that all XR6T drivers should stop crying and should sack up and buy a Camry ALSO to all you XR6T drivers that whine about the costs of insurance, tyres and petrol think about that when you are in hospital costing the taxpayers of this nation a crapload to keep you alive after rolling your XR6T. Who would deliberately choose an accident not me thats for damn sure. qs |
01-05-2010, 08:58 AM | #49 | |||
Why do you NEED to drive a high powered large car? All that extra pollution going into your air for your own greedy pleasure. You can after all reduce all that filthy pollution you are pumping into the air by driving a Prius or a 50cc scooter. So say, tomorrow, the Gov' imposed draconian extra taxes based on these 2 above mentioned 'excesses'... and it was YOU who would be bearing the brunt of it financially... what would YOU say to a person who said "Stop sooking"! Just stop having a beer, and go out and buy a Suzuki Alto and be done with it..... Last edited by Yellow_Festiva; 01-05-2010 at 09:06 AM. |
01-05-2010, 09:08 AM | #50 | |||
This thread is a poll. Not about bashing smokers or non-smokers, if you want to do that, start your own thread.
01-05-2010, 12:39 PM | #51 | |||
01-05-2010, 04:32 PM | #52 | ||
Flappist, I think your plan has merit, as it's very close to the thought in my head of how to achieve a non-smoking population - has to be done gradually in a way that will prevent the 'new' smokers from having access to smokes in the first place, and as the 'old' smokers age and stop smoking, cigarettes and tobacco products can be phased out over time.
I doubt however, that the Govt will go for it, because as has already been stated, they get too much revenue off it. Plus there are tobacco farmers who will have to find new crops to grow and be subsidised by the Govt until they are self sufficient again. Having said that, any loss in revenue will probably be offset by the benefit of having fewer Australians in Govt-funded public hospitals with smoking-related medical issues. And unfortunately, making cig packs 'clean skins' won't make any difference to smokers buying habits, what idiot thought that up? People don't display their cig packets for others, they are mostly interested in what's inside them! Waste of time and money. But that's just my opinion. Shazz
01-05-2010, 09:21 PM | #53 | ||
Intelligent comments about going to a doctors to get a licence, and then saying smokers are a burdon on the hospital system as it is. All that's going to achieve is choke up the doctors and the hospitals all at once. Bad idea.
Buying tobacco, we are paying for our own hospital care, via the taxes. If we choose to die a painful death as a result of smoking, that's our choice. Myself. I might get lung cancer by smoking. I've also worked in the motor industry for years and lived in a fibro house for the first 20 years of my life. So I'll probably end up with asbestoses. Thing with that is, I didn't pay for the privledge of possibly getting that disease. I was paid for the privledge. At least I can say, at least I'm offsetting the costs of my care, should I get cancer. Are you non-smokers doing the same with your future hospital care?
A wheel alignment fixes everything, when it comes to front end issues. This includes any little noises. Please read the manual carefully, as the these manufacturers spent millions of dollars making sure it is perfect.....Now why are there so many problems with my car, when I follow the instructions to the letter?....Answer, majority rules round here Lock me up and throw away the key because I'm a hoon....I got caught doing 59 in a 60 zone |
03-05-2010, 01:11 PM | #54 | ||
I agree flappist i had a similar idea- other recreational drugs are illegal due to being harmfull and yet cigareetes and alcohol are not- it is just that they are socially acceptale although cigareetes are less so these days
Same could be said for other harder drugs to remove the criminal element and the changable quality of the drugs - would also keep the thieves out of your house and car |
03-05-2010, 02:30 PM | #55 | ||
Cut out smoking, cut out the revenue which should go in to the health system...
but the medical issues remain...and will do so for years to come. Bit of a dog chasing its tail... - medical issues from smoking remain, without the funding to pay for the Health care, so keep the smoking going..which generate further health issues which need funding.... The other issue: How powerful is the smoking lobby and the cigarette companies... ? |
03-05-2010, 04:36 PM | #56 | |||
old skool
03-05-2010, 06:37 PM | #57 | |||||
Captain Malcolm Reynolds
Currently: 2014 Mazda6 GT (Daily) and 1999 Mazda MX5 (Fun Car) Previously: 2001 Ford Escape XLT; 2010 MC Mondeo; 1984 FD LTD; 2001 AU2 Falcon Forte; 2005 LS Focus Zetec; 1988 RE Colt; 1982 RB Colt; 1974 KE20 Corolla Quote:
|||||
03-05-2010, 07:05 PM | #58 | ||
As a smoker currently trying to give up (with the aid of Zyban - first week in), this sounds like a good plan. I must say that if smokes were illegal, I would never have started; not that I'm a goody two shoes or anything, but I know I wouldn't have because as a 16 year old, I would have had no clue where to get them from!
Best and most effective way to stop smoking is never to start. Second best way to stop smoking is to die. 3rd best way is to have enough willpower to just not do it (with or without stop smoking aids).
The Hammer: FG GTE | 376rwkw | 1/4 mile 11.793 @ 119.75mph 1.733 60' (4408lb) 1 of 60 FG MK1 335 GTEs (1 of 118 FG Mk 1 & 2 335 GTEs). Mods: Tune, HSD/ShockWorks, black GT335 19” staggered replicas with 245 & 275/35/19 Michelin Pilot sport 5s Daily: BF2 Fairmont Ghia I6 ZF, machine face GT335 19” staggered Replicas with 245s and 275s, Bilsteins & Kings FPV 335 build stats: <click here> Ford Performance Club ACT |
04-05-2010, 10:23 AM | #59 | ||
Seems this fella has a different option, interesting.....
http://bigpondnews.com/articles/Heal...ly_458081.html Senator praises smokers for dying early Tuesday, May 04, 2010 » 07:43am A Liberal Senator has told smokers to keep smoking and die early, to save the health system money. Liberal powerbroker Nick Minchin has slammed the federal government's plan to increase the tax on cigarettes as he told smokers to: 'Go for it'. 'They die early, they actually save us money,' Senator Minchin told ABC television on Monday. He rejected comments by another panellist on the ABC's QA program that smokers should pay more tax because they cost the health system money by getting sick. Senator Minchin, who is leaving politics at the next election, is a key figure in the Liberals' conservative faction and was a minister under former Prime Minister John Howard. He has kept a relatively low public profile this electoral term, but broke loose in his fiery television appearance. The South Australian Senator said smoking was a 'hideous habit' but people had the right to indulge it in a free country. 'We've all got to choose our way to go, everyone's going to die of something,' he said. 'If people choose to die of smoking, I as a Liberal think well that's your problem but go for it.' The government was 'slugging poor old smokers every time they need money' by proposing the tax hike. Senator Minchin, a prominent climate sceptic, also expressed doubt about the science of climate change.