Old 27-06-2010, 12:31 AM   #31

I missed it! Wanted to watch it but wasn't home in time.

I did get my copy of the lift out in Friday's paper about the 50th Anniversary though.
Old 27-06-2010, 09:38 AM   #32
mick457

i wacthed the tail end of it
what was that thing about "love the beast" with eric banner
looked pretty cool is that a dvd or something
might have to look that up

Performace
DBA 4000s, Blue power intake, Whiteline swaybars, FG manifold, PWR Radiator, king springs low, Monroe gt sport
DJR bobtail, LSD 3.46, 20%UD
Pacemaker 4490s, Venom cat, redback catback
mick457 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2010, 09:57 AM   #33

hey mick

have a look at this link

http://www.ezydvd.com.au/item.zml/806573

Jason

Old 27-06-2010, 11:01 AM   #34
rancidpunx
FPV GTR

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: For technical contribution to all things car-care related. And helping/advising forum members with the best possible information. 

Was abit short and really was a big ad that climaxed with a pitch on the 50th Anniversary FG's. They look better on TV than they do on the net. The interiors look good. Makes me want to sell my ute before all the new stuff arrives as re-sale will be shot in a few months.
- Veridian Green PJ Ranger XLT -
The Work Truck

rancidpunx is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2010, 01:41 PM   #35
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

Originally Posted by SteveJH
One of the things I noticed, is that it specifically said that the Phase 3 GTHO had 381 HP (284kw). Not sure if that was actually ever stated by Ford before.

They had a 30 second section made up of snip's from "Love the Beast".

A fair bit of it was made up of an Interview with Dick Johnson. Discussing mainly bathurst and an AD he was in.

There was more, but those are the main things I remember....
When I heard them state that power figure, I thought the same thing.
DFB FGXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2010, 08:42 PM   #36
Daggs

Hi i missed the show. I am will to pay a small fee if some one will burn and post a copy for me PM for my details. Thank Darryl
Daggs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2010, 09:38 PM   #37

It was on today in WA. Thought they got through a fair bit considering the small running time. Showed Falcon has achieved quite a lot over the years and was the first to introduce most of the main things like disc brakes, airbags, ABS, watts link etc across the range. Although they did make a mistake saying it was the first with IRS.

Originally Posted by Luke Plaizier
No mention of anything between EB and AU though.
They didnt go thoroughly through any of the models. Just touched on a few things in each generation. They mentioned EA,EA2, EB,ED, EF breifly and spent a bit of time on AU
Old 27-06-2010, 09:52 PM   #38
Fordman

The thing i liked most was at the end, when they said "you ma think Ford is looking back, but infact they are already looking to a strong future" Or something along the lines, anyway i liked that!!!!
Fordman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2010, 10:42 PM   #39
FERG_51

Thumbs up

Saw it tonight and thought it was great. Hilighted a few firsts and the highest aust content and a few other truths that a lot of people would otherwise not know. Great advert for the blue oval.
FERG_51 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2010, 10:44 PM   #40
Chilliman

Just saw it in W.A. All too short as a documentary on 50 years of the mighty Falcon but as a marketing tool to aid the introduction of the EcoBoost Falcon it was spot on. Did any one else notice all the Falcon ads spruiking the upcoming EcoBoost Falcon?

Me thinks from now until its introduction next year, Ford will be ramming the EcoBoost moniker down our throats until it is a household word.

"Torque is the new horsepower"
Chilliman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2010, 11:06 PM   #41
nb_351
building the xe...

mentoning about the ecoboost, turbo 4 coming to falcon :0
nb_351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-06-2010, 09:43 AM   #42
XR6WGN

I missed half of it - came in around Dick Johnson talking about the rock. I wonder if it is only 1/2 hour on TV, there is a decent length DVD available - Come on Ford, Do It - It's not everyday that a product celebrates 50yrs.

Happy Birthday Falcon

My Gallery Photos Here
XR6WGN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-06-2010, 11:14 AM   #43
tapeworm

It was pretty good, I spoze any longer would have the average joe blow switching. I liked the bit when Dick Johnson was on talking about his racing years when he said they used to have a tow truck on stand by at all times to pick up all the Commodore wrecks - such an obviuos stab
tapeworm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-06-2010, 03:40 PM   #44
FPV+fteT3
Performance Inc.

Have a look at the 3 short video's click on the red writing 1/2 way down the page.

http://motoring.ninemsn.com.au/cars/...alcon-turns-50

FPV Super Pursuit Build no 0080/91
Lotus Exige S/C S240

Kart Hasse Chassis 100J Power

Rental cars, the equipment of choice to get to destinations where 4WDs fear to drive......
FPV+fteT3 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-06-2010, 04:51 PM   #45
R-Design
Guess Who's Back?

Ford has put up some video on its website, I assume it's from the Doco:

http://www.ford.com.au/servlet/Conte...FOA&deeplink=/
Old 28-06-2010, 09:10 PM   #46

All employees got a copy of the DVD. If someone else doesn't do it first I may figure out how to upload it.
Old 28-06-2010, 09:30 PM   #47
Romulus

Geez I tell you what the media struggle to paint Ford in a positive picture. Watching Sky News they announce Ford's 50th and 80th gig, announce a few accolated and then it's straight onto the Holden good news band wagon.

I like Ford's new advertising blitz, 50 years of firsts. Positive, upbeat and confident.
Old 28-06-2010, 10:42 PM   #48

Cool

Anyone noticed the sites new banner yet ?
Old 28-06-2010, 11:00 PM   #49
buggo
[BU66OS]

Yeah I noticed the banner tonight. Looks very nice. Gods job to mods/whoever designed that.

On the doc though, I think it should have been atleast 45min. They skipped 10 years from eb-el then mentioned AU then flew threw bseries is 15 seconds, mentioning new design and ZF. I'm not complaining, I liked the program, just felt it was a little restrained time wise.

BA XR8 Manual
buggo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-06-2010, 11:43 PM   #50
oranpark addict

WARNING
Bloody hell! This ****es me off. Today all you here about is how holden are reintroducing 2 shifts. They spoil every date something major happens in Ford. They are the king of spin. Ford has never in my recount done anything like this to Holden, yet it's a continual stream of Holdens news being more important than Ford.

RANT OVER. Safe to proceed.
oranpark addict is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-06-2010, 12:17 AM   #51
FERG_51

Originally Posted by oranpark addict
WARNING
Bloody hell! This ****es me off. Today all you here about is how holden are reintroducing 2 shifts. They spoil every date something major happens in Ford. They are the king of spin. Ford has never in my recount done anything like this to Holden, yet it's a continual stream of Holdens news being more important than Ford.

RANT OVER. Safe to proceed.
I agree mate. Tossers.
FERG_51 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-06-2010, 12:32 AM   #52
XAGSV8
Member 178

Yep just saw Ten News. They did a good 2 minute story on Holdens second shift then tacked on 10 seconds for the Falcon turning 50.

1963 Morris Mini

1999 NU Fairlane Ghia
XAGSV8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-06-2010, 02:58 AM   #53
Halfmo Rocks
Bearded Hermit

no mention of the introduction of the xr6 turbo...i'm not just biased because i have one...but it was a big deal for the manufacturer to release that, just seems like crap to me...20 minutes on start to AU...then finishes with the FG. almost didn't even mention the e-au-b series.
given a 2-3 hour doco, it would go well...but 30 mins is a joke
Halfmo Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-06-2010, 02:18 AM   #54
OZQUAD44

The show was pretty good, but all too short. I want to see the extended mix version.

I love Dicks comment on the broken down commodores.

I'm glad a few of you boys noticed what channel ten did with the double shift story sitting all over top of the 50 year Falcon anniversary story.

The West Australian is really bad for that as well, every single time there is anything upbeat about the ford Australia product, there's always some irrelevant link to the other brand. What annoys me is that its all cash for comment, advertisements dressed up as news. Its deceitful in that regard. NO wonder some media organizations can give away certain brands of cars all the time.
OZQUAD44 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-06-2010, 01:29 PM   #55
smally289
growing up is optional

Originally Posted by DAZZLER351
Anyone noticed the sites new banner yet ?

Yeah, how do I get a copy of that in jpeg format?
smally289 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-06-2010, 01:39 PM   #56

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Originally Posted by smally351
Yeah, how do I get a copy of that in jpeg format?
Right click over it and then choose save picture as.
Old 30-06-2010, 02:32 PM   #57
JutroXR8

Does anyone have the price break down for each of the 50th anniversary falcons?

FGX XR8, Auto, Black.

WG Fiesta ST Manual, Black.
JutroXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-06-2010, 06:38 PM   #58
XR6WGN

I thought that the pricing was being released on the 1st July - could be wrong but.

My Gallery Photos Here
XR6WGN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-07-2010, 02:26 AM   #59
Duffman
Oh Yeah!

Did anyone happen to record or have a copy of the show? I wasn't around to get to see it :(
Old 04-07-2010, 10:46 AM   #60
TRUBLU4DS

Typical underwhelming & underdone by Ford. At least it was better than nothing.
They had a chance to make this a huge event & blew it.
TRUBLU4DS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post