You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 17-01-2011, 03:14 PM   #31

Personally I wouldn't do it. Save the classic for weekends and special occasions.

You sound like you do a lot of stop and start driving, the wear and tear will get to you as well as the car sooner or later.

If you do a lot of work to get it comfortable and reliable that will help the situation, but you know how older cars can be, fix 1 thing only to find another problem.

I don't know your needs, driving style and personal situation but if I were relying on a car to do that much driving I would want something that started first time every time, was comfortable, safe and could be repaired very easily should I have a minor accident or engine problems.
Old 17-01-2011, 03:17 PM   #32
bigsta
Making superman jealous

mate i had a HZ wagon dropped with a wb caprice front and a XU1 inspired 202 as my daily for a few years about 15 years ago when i first got my lic.

I was a rep and i did about 1000kms a week i had spent $40000+ fixing this beast up with my dad and it got pretty much destroyed over the years i have lost count of the ppl who hit me and the like and it did break down on me a few times like old cars do and in the end a truck hit me and wrote it off i did not have insurance and even though i had receipts for all the work the idiots insurer would not give me more than $1500 but i was allowed to keep the car and got another $6k odd in selling parts.

In hindsight yes it was awesome driving it around all the time but it got thrashed and chances are I would still have it if it had not been destroyed by other idiots given that i lost my dad a while back i really wish it was not my daily and i still had it.

Think of damage that you currently get to your car and than you will see what i mean.

The other downside is the boys in blue will pull you over far more than a sleeper.

anyway mate its up to you but if you can put up with not having a few nice things a little bit of unreliability and idiots ruining your pride and joy go for it with your eyes open though.

2006 SY Territory Ghia AWD in ego with roof mount DVD, tints, 7 seats, iPod input

2005 Crewman Cross 8 with 350 cubic inches, AWD, black on black rims on black leather, tints and polished racks
NEW TOY Bayliner 185, inboard 3L 4 cylinder pushing us along at 50MPH whenever i get a chance

I love Aussie cars and are gonna really miss them soon.......
bigsta is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-01-2011, 03:24 PM   #33
dannyxm
was danny888

Both my XP and XC were dailys at one time or another, and will be when they are back on the road this year.

(but then again, if they were not daily drivers they would not need the rebuild!) But then again, i did drive like an idiot in my younger years.....

As long as they are 100% working order and reliable they should not cause any issue.

Hell, tbh, any car should be 100% ok anyway.

However, city driving, 500km a week is a long time to be in an old school car.

I got over it to a degree, hence me using the DC LTD to bash around town in and the work company car.

- food for thought, the company car i have for 2 months, i already have 3 scratches on it from idiots in car parks.

At the end of the day, build the car for daily duties, decent suspension, brakes, sound insulation etc etc.

Also with old cars, you cant blow up an ECU, Airbag sensors, coil packs, misc sensors, cat convertors, air con if you dont have them in the first place!

You only live once. Why spend it in a car that you dont want to drive?
Old 17-01-2011, 03:32 PM   #34
ea90_S

I say go for pending parking etc. if your gonna park it in a work carpark close by thats fine but to park it in places you dont know chances of idiot damaging it or worse stolen!
1992 Toyota Supra JZA70 - GT30
ea90_S is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-01-2011, 03:51 PM   #35
thefargo
black xb

I will sometimes drive the coupe to work, but then I'm always anxious that it may get damaged, the pics above don't help. So, generally it's just for the cruise, usually with nowhere specific to go. I guess in many ways a 'classic' is a luxury item.
thefargo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-01-2011, 05:37 PM   #36
snottygobble

...just put a auto trans in my 70 vg safari (my daily), making it less of a PIA to drive. you can probably guess which side of the fence i sit on .

'it's hard to run when a coathanger beats you on the thighs'
[COLOR=DarkOrange][FONT=Microsoft Sans Serif]
snottygobble is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-01-2011, 06:52 PM   #37

I used to drive me XB sedan as my daily driver for 4yrs nearly.
The constant attension from morons who wanted to race me got beyond a joke.
Then was the continual er.. harrassment? from Police... on average I was being pulled over once a month for that period of 4yrs.
At one stage I got pulled over 8 times in a month.
Random breath test, vehicle check, licence check.....

2005 to 2011 driving a normal "family" car, I have been pulled over 2 times from memory.

Next as everyone has mentioned is the worry about being stolen or damaged.
The ride isnt that crash hot, the steering is impossible at low speeds when trying to park (unless it has power steer), the lack of modern things like aircon also make it difficult to cope with in summer.

Rust is an issue, and imagine if the car is outside everyday at work while it rains it wont last long before your pulling things off it to find that leak.

Old 17-01-2011, 06:56 PM   #38
Snelens
tryhard

Thanks for the great replies. The points raised are all very valid and it makes the choice a bit harder as I have to now use my head as well...
I had to go from Richmond to Springvale today at 3.30pm. I made 3 calls on the mobile, enjoyed the climate control immensely....and also dealt with countless stop start stuff. The forum words of wisdom were ringing in my ears.
I love classics so I have contacted another forum member and hopefully he will take me for a little drive to help me make up my mind.

It's a bit funny really, I wouldn't buy an xr6t as they look a bit over the top for me but love the idea of a low white xa gt ute replica with superlite rims for that old school race car look.
If I only had the space I would get one but the fg would have to go as the escort is a keeper.
SAAB 9-5 Aero with chip, exhaust, bilsteins, brake upgrade. Sneaky quick, quiet, comfortable goodness. Now the nanny bus. Gone.
MK1 Escort (sitting in a shed with piles of nice bits collecting dust).
05 Vito 115 (also with Bilsteins, H&R springs and a tune....). Gone.
Now in a T6 4 Motion.
Snelens is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-01-2011, 07:00 PM   #39

When the Coupe is back on the road it will be driven as often as the Landcruiser, no pampered freeloaders here.....

Old 17-01-2011, 09:50 PM   #40
xy500
Constant annoyance

Originally Posted by auxr
Are you kidding? - no way would a 70's car have anything to compare with the handling and comfort levels that a modern vehicle can provide.
Haha! i'd put money on the fact my xy falcon would out-handle a 1600 odd kilo au xr8. Mind you its not exactly factory spec...
Definitely give it a try in a mates car if you can, its definitely not for you if your as soft as some of the members here...
Things like manual steering are easy to get used to, if you can afford to put air con in the ute then I'd say it could be an awesome daily.
Everybody's wives and girlfriends used to handle driving old cars just fine, if you're a bloke and healthy there is an issue if you cant use a manual steering box! I've driven the xy almost everyday since i bought it 4 years ago, reliability is even less of an issue than high k late models! Maintenance costs aren't as bad as some people make out, and barring the lack of air con on a hot day it's always a pleasure to drive.
Old 17-01-2011, 10:05 PM   #41
Streets

Originally Posted by mick_1010
Just imagine a modern everyday car, like an AU for example, and then make everything about the car a little bit worse. The ride is rough, more engine noise, more wind noise, more rattles, the handling is more hairy, it smells kind of funny (you know that '70s leathery car smell) and the brakes are crap.
That's called "character".

I would love to have an XB/XC Falcon or Fairmont, matte black, but with all the trim chromed, as my daily. That way all the chips and scratches wouldn't be a worry, and matte black is pretty much the toughest colour you can have on a car anway, and scratches only make it look meaner.
Streets is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-01-2011, 10:20 PM   #42
Mongoose
Can't go around corners

Originally Posted by xy500
Everybody's wives and girlfriends used to handle driving old cars just fine, if you're a bloke and healthy there is an issue if you cant use a manual steering box!
True, but remember thats from a time when women basically only drove around in small cars, there is a heap of difference between the manual steering in a mini compared to a falcon!

But as for having an older vehicle as a daily. It really depends on what kind of car it is. I used my 1974 buick electra as a daily for a month, only stopped due to not bieng able to park in any form of carpark. Also drove my extreme pov pack XC ute for 3 days in the same sorta traffic the buick had, couldnt bare it. not to mention old cars are generally a PITA to park, especially in the city.

But really it all comes down to how close you can get it to a modern car in terms of creature comforts. My buick had everything on it and it was a pleasure to drive regulary, if you can get an early X series ute close to something like an XG/H in terms of useability, then ide say go old school. Nothing else like it

Last edited by Mongoose; 17-01-2011 at 10:27 PM.
Mongoose is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-01-2011, 10:43 PM   #43
Elks

I say go for it. But you need to set the car up right.

You NEED air-con, power steer and really good brakes. No point in having refurbished "old" brakes when some dude in C63 is stopping in front of you. So setting it up wont be cheap.

Yes you will get scratched and dents and stone chips, that would happen if you bought brand new XR8 too. However your classic wont 1/2 in value in 3 years. So thats a win.

I used my 65 F100 as a delivery truck for 18 months, 302C C6 4 wheel discs, EL falc front end with power steer and A/C. Yes it was noisy, and needed maintenance, but god it was fun.

See...

At work, with a pallet of steel shelves..
Old 17-01-2011, 10:51 PM   #44
Lab_Boy

^^ Tough looking truck mate!

I think the secret is to simply not drive any car post 80's. I drive my '79 XD S Pack ute on a daily basis and I don't notice how the floaty steering or lacklustre brakes unless I have just jumped out of the missus' car.

1977 351 Ford LTD!
Lab_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-01-2011, 10:57 PM   #45
satria
FOXWHO

Good brakes are a must, i upgraded my setup (which was 4 discs anyway) to VT commodore rear brakes and it feels much nicer now. Not cheap but well worth it i feel.

Also, regarding steering, you DO NOT need power steering. I'm running 235 tyres on the front without power steering and it's honestly easy to park and i'm not exactly a huge bloke. Having a large steering wheel does help though. I reckon my mk2 esky was harder to steer because that had a tiny "racing" steering wheel.

I lived without air con too so i think it's not a do or die but i suppose if you are using it for work you wouldn't want to stink from sweat as you rock up to your job so maybe that is a must lol

satria is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-01-2011, 11:02 PM   #46
satria
FOXWHO

Originally Posted by Lab_Boy
^^ Tough looking truck mate!

I think the secret is to simply not drive any car post 80's. I drive my '79 XD S Pack ute on a daily basis and I don't notice how the floaty steering or lacklustre brakes unless I have just jumped out of the missus' car.

Yep nothing makes you appreciate how far cars have come until you drive a dinosaur as a daily for a while. It really does blow you away!

My cars only got older and older as i went through them so i was actually going backwards in time with my cars and after using my xw as a daily my wife bought a 2009 VRX lancer and the thing made my car feel bloody ancient! LOL
satria is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-01-2011, 11:16 PM   #47
JACK250

I am going to use my XM delivery as my first car as soon as I finish it, and if I get my licence tomorrow I'll be driving dad's XP ute until the van is finished.
JACK250 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-01-2011, 11:39 PM   #48

If classic cars have low compression, oil leaks,spongy brakes etc..
I have 4 of them lol...
Old 17-01-2011, 11:43 PM   #49
Revolver
Big Member

It depends on what you want from the car. Why do you want it? So you can drive it, not feel part of the crowd & feel special? A statement that your business isnt run of the mill? Why?

Driving a classic car is a priverlige, & a great one too, but as can be seen here, & I wont re-iterate what has been said, sometimes the costs both emotionally & economically far outweigh the joy. & Lets just say the unthinkable happens, sometimes you wont get back what the car owes you in insurance. & If it is too bad, the next one you buy, well its not the same car is it? The car you loved & cherrished. Sure you can go for an agreed value, but youll be paying through the nose for it.....

IMO, the latest models, especially the pov packs are there to be used & abused, & it doesnt matter what happens to them, you just get another. You are emotionally detatched from them. The older cars have the character they have because, we as emotional beings, give them this "Character". For everyday use, I think a new car that you have no emotional attatchment to is better. If you have watched Eric Bana's "Love the Beast" you will understand.

By all means, go ahead, buy a ute, & maybe during your resto, you will think: "Ive put so much time & effort into this car to have it crashed, scratched, used & worry about." & Just use in on a Friday, Sunday, or when you walk in the Garage & go "Hmmmmm, no, bugger it, Ill take the XC today".

If your doing it to feel special, then its probably not the best idea, using the same "eating chocolate everyday" story, Its best you save it for the days, you want to take it out. You make it a bigger thing in your head. So when you drive it once a year/month/week. It makes you "feel" special.
/////Alpine Sound.
EBGT Momo Woodgrain Steering Wheel
The Scarlet Fairlane Build Thread

Project "White Knight"
93 ED XR6
ROH Alloys
Momo wheel
Cruise
Sunroof
Premo Sound
Manual
HO Goodies
PWK Build Thread

1990 Yamaha FZR 250: 59000ks & climbing. New fairing, old tank, my angry mosquito in a coffee tin! 14.977 1/4mile.
Revolver is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-01-2011, 12:03 AM   #50
nuthin' fancy
Lyminge, Shepway, Kent

Modern cars are boring = easy to drive and not very involving.

Older cars are exciting = people look at you, you have to be involvd more in what the car is doing and telling you. This is the attraction of a classic.

For me, though, driving the classic all the time might take away some of the joy of it. I never realy enjoyed driving my XY wagon in traffic a few days in a row but I loved a weekend blast.
nuthin' fancy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-01-2011, 12:36 PM   #51
Mesa

I was lucky enough that my trip to work was mainly country back roads with a blurt on the freeway in the middle @ 60k round trip. The added bonus was we had our own secure car park at work for 7 vehicles which meant any damage you knew who it was. We widened the spaces ourselves since it was our job to paint them in the first place!!! Even if it weather was threatening we could park in the hangar. Every Friday I'd take the Munro for a run if it was sunny. The only possibility of damage was the odd roo or driver error because the road was so quiet. It was the one day of the week I looked forward to.
Mesa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-01-2011, 02:38 PM   #52

I drove the Drum braked 170 auto equiped XP wagon to work today, and while I had a blast and it turned plenty of heads on the Great Western I think it would get real tired real soon as a daily of this spec, that said with the right upgrades it would be great

Old 18-01-2011, 03:16 PM   #53

I drove my XD 302, 4 speed, 9' with 3.9's, AC, PS and 4WD as a daily for atleast 6 months.

First two months where great, heaps of fun, after that the fuel bill, ride noise etc got to wear thin, even for a car buff like me. I miss it now, and it was sold for other reasons but as a daily it wasn't a flash idea.

I too have resigned to the fact that a simple modern car is a better idea. Then have a classic for weekends/holidays etc.

Old 18-01-2011, 03:36 PM   #54
WayneHadfield

I usually drive a '66 mustang to work at least 2 or 3 times a week. It's one hour each way, a mix of city streets and freeway. As long as you've got a backup vehicle, it's all fine. For the first 3 years of owning the car, I didn't even have a radio. Never wanted one. Other than that with the A/C and heater working, it's all good....of course, I pulled the A/C a couple of years back when I up-spec'ed the 302 and the heater core packed it in a while back too. Still, it's fun that can't be replaced by the back up Focus!

It's been about 10 years (aside from a few months off the road for various maintenance issues.....engine, gearbox, etc.) since I bought it, restored it and put it into service. At the moment, I'm working on putting an XL wagon on the road as my new daily. The mustang can have a rest.

A buddy of mine drives his '55 Oldsmobile to work everyday too. When he wants to change he drives a '32 roadster........or XY ute (when it doesn't get defected while I'm driving it!).

I'm no tough guy, but some of you other guys are SOFT!

I'd say go for it, but be well prepared.
WayneHadfield is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-01-2011, 04:05 PM   #55
1970XW351
Angry Dub Driver

I've had my XW as a daily for the last 9 odd years and before that it was an XD, before that an XW ute and before that another XW sedan. None had power steering or air conditioning and I've survived just fine for the past 12 odd years. With my latest sedan I upgraded to four wheel disc brakes, lsd and a T5 for the overdrive capabilities. On average I do about 350 km or a bit more a week and have no major concerns. Sure it's a pain in stop start traffic if you're trapped for ages (due mainly to being manual), but if that is of great concern, go auto. Yes the ride quality is worse than a modern car and the steering is heavier, but you get a sense of being part of the journey rather than the detached feeling you get (well that I do anyway) of driving a modern car where everything is so sanitised and somewhat distant. And if the lack of features is a problem, then aftermarket air-con, power steer and almost every other creature comfort is available if you really can't live without it, it's just a question of money. But I reckon classics as a daily are fine just the way they are.

Cheers, Tony
1970XW351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-01-2011, 04:34 PM   #56
auxr

Originally Posted by WayneHadfield
I'm no tough guy, but some of you other guys are SOFT!

I'd say go for it, but be well prepared.

Wow that's a big call, considering the OP advised he is a tradesman, stop starting, 500 k's inner city per week, getting in and out of the vehicle with tools and any other equipment - not sure many tradesman would be thinking about the tough or soft scenario situation, but what would be the most practical vehicle to drive in the circumstances.
auxr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-01-2011, 05:21 PM   #57

Originally Posted by auxr
Wow that's a big call, considering the OP advised he is a tradesman, stop starting, 500 k's inner city per week, getting in and out of the vehicle with tools and any other equipment - not sure many tradesman would be thinking about the tough or soft scenario situation, but what would be the most practical vehicle to drive in the circumstances.
Tony from Toowoomba is all that is man.

Anyone can drive a classic if they want/have to, but if you have the option then why would you.

The perfect compromise is an old car with modern running gear.
Old 18-01-2011, 05:32 PM   #58

Anyone can drive a classic if they want/have to, but if you have the option then why would you.
I think most people would agree that classics have more style, more personality and attract more attention (good and also bad mind you). Look at some of the wild looking cars of the 50s and 60s - diabolical in terms of driveability and safety compared to modern cars, but oh so classy! That sort of space-age styling will never be found on a modern car. The best compromise is to have a safe, easy to drive modern car as a daily and a classic as weekender.
Old 18-01-2011, 05:51 PM   #59

Originally Posted by mick_1010
I think most people would agree that classics have more style, more personality and attract more attention (good and also bad mind you). Look at some of the wild looking cars of the 50s and 60s - diabolical in terms of driveability and safety compared to modern cars, but oh so classy! That sort of space-age styling will never be found on a modern car. The best compromise is to have a safe, easy to drive modern car as a daily and a classic as weekender.
You have no argument from me there. While obviously it was done in the day there is no way I am putting my two kids in a classic everyday.

Reality is that the car in front of you on average is going to stop alot quicker than you in an emergency, and simply stating "keep your distance" doesn't cut it when the unexpected pops up.

Not to mention all the other nutters out there.
Old 18-01-2011, 06:10 PM   #60
irish2

One thing often forgotten about driving a classic is how new is the suspension. A lot of older cars have very old springs, shocks, and bushes and feel like crap to drive. A lot of older cars are lighter than their contempary counterparts and can handle and stop very well if things are as new as they cars they are being compared to.
irish2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post