Old 25-07-2011, 10:42 PM   #31

Default Re: what is the most embarrassing car you have owned?

Dad and I being taken down the shops by my older sister in her pink Nissan Micra.
Old 25-07-2011, 11:18 PM   #32
RAPID_BA

Originally Posted by GT0132
Why don't you come clean and tell us yours Hulk ? I think you're a Lada owner masquerading as a XR8 owner mate
ill come clean. A mate of mine bought a polo gti and after a few months he couldnt afford the payments. So I bailed him out and bought it. Only had 6000km. I had it apr tuned, imported an intercooler, dump pipe, big cat and exhaust and had it boosting to 22psi. Vw even bolted up the turbo under warranty as the bolts come loose.

People called it a hairdressors car and noone on the street gave it much cred.

The mid range on that thing would make a e3 gts look like a limp wristed pansy but I could never shake the hairdressors car and the oxford st jibes so I sold it.

I also had the xr6t at the time and used to say I was driving the mrs car.

Im back in a v8 now (2 v8s actually) so im no hairdressor no more
RAPID_BA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-07-2011, 11:30 PM   #33
89.SVO

Originally Posted by RG
I see your 85 Camira and raise you an 82 Camira in that horrible peachy colour.

What do I win?
i see your 85 and 82 Camira and raise you a 83 Camira SL/X. no p/steer, no a/c. 2 speaker stereo. 1.6 carby, 4 speed. and had a metal front windscreen visor and a metal rear ventian. was a light blue with blue interior.

popped a head gasket in it. thats what happens when a old guy owns it for 10 years and then a P plater gets it. haha
89.SVO is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-07-2011, 11:37 PM   #34
janddbtwo
The annoying one.

I don't own one but know a few people with Toyota Camry's now that is an embarrassing car!!
janddbtwo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-07-2011, 11:53 PM   #35
AUIIPURSUIT
pursuit ute baby

i was given a 1987 camira station wagon. It was the best of the camiras, but it was still horrible.

it was gutless and **** kept breaking. Mainly steering components and literally every cooling system component.

It looked like a bit of ***, but the interior was pretty sweet. was in perfect condition, had blue velour interior, pretty damn comfy. Had power steering which was ok. The auto was shagged from day one. would slam between gears.

worst thing was, i had my eyes on this done up VK berlina. Looked awesome and was going for 5k$. as id been away overseas (Couldnt work as i wasnt fluent in german) and then coming back to do VCE in 3 semesters 6 days a week, i also couldnt work. So had no money saved. My dad bought this camira for 2000$ from a wreckers, knowing nothing about the lemons.

Getting all the things fixed over the time, i could have just gotten that VK i wanted. I was the ugly duckling of my P plater mates when your car was everything.
Old 26-07-2011, 12:01 AM   #36
Paxton
Cobblers!

Never been embarrassed about a car I owned, but what is it to another driver what I drive. It is nobody's business but mine.

AE94 Corolla
EF XR6
GU Patrol 2.8
AUIII XR6 VCT
SX Territory Ghia
Mazda6
EF XR6
BMW X5
BFII XT

I even liked my AU, Hulk.
Roses are red. Violets are blue. OS X rocks. Homage to you.

Last edited by Paxton; 26-07-2011 at 12:07 AM.
Paxton is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2011, 12:06 AM   #37
Legit290

first car was embarrassing but i was 16 and had no license or rego so i didn't give a rats

faded pink vw beetle $50 special
Legit290 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2011, 12:47 AM   #38

1969 Renault 10 50bhp
Old 26-07-2011, 01:21 AM   #39
RAPID_BA

Dont forget to share how you redeemed yourself
Old 26-07-2011, 01:24 AM   #40
9piece

bronze 1990 ae92 rolla with an aqua front bumper :/ (long story)
was my first car :P it was a 1.6l carby fed. went like a snail!!!

semi-redeemed myself with an ED fairmont with a manual conversion

then fully redeemed myself with a BA Ghia
9piece is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2011, 03:02 AM   #41

FB holden 138 gray.
69 camaro ss 350.
XP falcon 289w.
68 cheville ss 396.
69 elcamino 350.
71 elcamino 396.
LC 2door 173hc.
TD cortina 2.0.
TC cortina 200.
XF falcon 3.3.
VL commo 3.0.
VR commo 5.0.
HSV maloo z series.
VX commo 5.7. current.
JG cruze 2.0. current.

never been embarrassed
Old 26-07-2011, 03:02 AM   #42

Originally Posted by deesun
1969 Renault 10 50bhp
Now with a 2009 XR6T, whooooshhkaaaaaaaa.
Old 26-07-2011, 03:09 AM   #43
69baldy

1980 uc holden sunbird with the starfire 4cyl engine.First car and last ever holden i will own.

REDEMTION
Sold it and bought an XD Fairmont wagon with factory 302 tbar.Sold that and bought XE interceptor factory 351 tbar.Sold that and bought XB Fairmont G.S Hardtop factory 302 4 speed which i still own.
69baldy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2011, 03:21 AM   #44
Angeldust

red 05 wrx.. went from absolutely mad about it to absolute hate and sold within 6 days. People still give me **** at work about it lol

Z series Clubsport HRT edition..
e46 320ci 2.2ltr Stocko
Angeldust is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2011, 03:50 AM   #45
vanman_75

Hmmm beige camera bought for 100$ it gained a smashed windscreen / a stack of them fruit picking bins fell on the roof / lost 2nd gear so didn't change from first into third until redline- 70 km ...which made people look . Left me stuck on the newel for two days while I could repair the varijet carbon only for the starter to die on me both repaired with the small amount of tools that I had ..me and my mate slept in that cold weather can feel it now lol.

Got back to qld and sold it for 400$...lots of s..t boxes later and got back into Fords..the sundowner I still own today
Old 26-07-2011, 04:02 AM   #46
kpcart

my most embaressing cars were both Fords sorry to say. 82 ZK fairlane and 94 ED falcon. with both i had drunk aborigines waiving at me thinking i was a relative of theirs and hoping id give them a lift. never experienced that in any other car.
kpcart is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2011, 10:40 AM   #47

Golden KPcart!! hahaha

My most embarrassing cars were Fords too. My first car was a 94 model XG S pack ute. While I look upon it now and appreciate it was a very tidy and clean ute (it was everglade green with red stripes), I was embarrassed only at the time because I was 17-18, young and wanted an impressive car, not what was essentially an XF ute with an ED driveline.

Some people liked it, but many used to say it was a POS XF, and most of the time I didn't like to be associated with it. I was rid of it in months.

My second car was even more embarrassing (not at the time, but this one is embarrassing in hindsight). An EF Futura 5 speed manual, however I wogged it up (being quarter Italian) by lowering it too far so it bouced over bumps, putting ELGT wheels, bodykit, huge stereo's and the like but the most cringeworty thing was the "Preston Auto's and diffs" sticker I had on it for a while...

Yuck yuck yuck... Oh the folly of youth..
Old 26-07-2011, 11:03 AM   #48
V8XTasy

probably my first car, an Austin Metro auto. 1.3l, claimed 65bhp, but felt more like 40. Only weight 700kg though. Started off light blue similar to the one in the photo, but I slowly hand sprayed it black on the driveway! I was continuously filling rust holes, praying for it to get through the MOT (yearly road worthy) and trying to get the engine to run better. Ended up back firing all the time and only running on 3 cylinders. Still managed to sell it for 300gbp ($600).

V8XTasy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2011, 11:10 AM   #49
Andy777

a lada samara LOL

i swapped a second vk starter motor for this car, had 3 months rego, i then sold it to a guy for 750, i did drive it for 2 weeks though and got a few laughs LOL

Andy777 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2011, 11:31 AM   #50
new2ford

Originally Posted by V8XTasy
probably my first car, an Austin Metro auto. 1.3l,
Had one of those while in the UK in the 1980s - took us all over Europe too, including some horrible weather and roads, snow, ice, never missed a beat. It was fantastic. But no car is the same for different owners. One man's dream, another's nightmare!

In answer to the thread title I'd have to say a Toyota Corolla (inherited not bought so can't be ungrateful). As much fun to drive as a combine harvester. And worst fleet car ever driven Toyota Camry. Yeah they make good cars Toyota.
new2ford is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2011, 11:33 AM   #51
RAPID_BA

I know a guy who bought a clapped out xf ghia years ago for parts. Still had rego. He didn't properly identify himself to the seller and parked this car in a no parking zone for over a year. Fine after fine after fine he didn't care. He just took parts off it as needed.

The seller would keep getting the fines and even did a stakeout a few times at the place indicated on fine to find out where the buyer lived. He left notes on the car. He lived in a block of units on same street. The seller kept receiving the fines and wanted to square up the buyer. On one of the stakeouts he parked next to the car a whole day and observed the car. Left all sorts of notes. An embarassing car
Old 26-07-2011, 11:37 AM   #52

i used to own a Mazda 1200 Wagon, yep, 1200 cc, but with petrol prices then it'd go 100km for $5 worth of fuel.
Old 26-07-2011, 01:11 PM   #53
jphanna

LJ torana 4cyl.

it was embarassing enough, but it blew its head gasket after 4 weeks ownership, to add insult to injury....
FG XR6 (son)
jphanna is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2011, 01:38 PM   #54

When I was in high-school my Dad bought a really neat, white VH Charger with 215 and 3-speed column shift. I was so embarrassed to have him pick me up from school that I made him park around the corner. At a later stage he had a LJ GTR which I was so proud to be seen it I'd beg him to pick me up from school.
These days I'd probably have the Charger over the LJ

Oh .. my most embarrassing car = mid 70's Celica coupe. Had for about three months and the only car I've ever had a speeding fine in .. despite owning a few 351C and 302W Falcons, 265 Hemi Vals, 308 and LS Holdens, 383/440 Mopars, 327/400 GMs ..
Old 26-07-2011, 02:41 PM   #55
The Mighty Red

I bought an XA Falcon from my mate for $250 to get me to work until I could afford something better , 20 years on and It still would rank in the top 5 rust buckets I have actually seen driving on the road , this thing had holes , big holes everywhere , my mate was an inspector for the STA in Adelaide at the time and drove this bucket of shiiiiiiit to work daily for about 5 years and I drove it for about 6 months and neither of us were ever pulled over , unbelievable ! , I got 50 bucks for it at the wreckers RIP , LOL
Old 26-07-2011, 02:51 PM   #56
loxxr6
XB in parts...

Holden Camira (1984 JB). White. Had a poxy auto gearbox, gutless motor and I think I crashed it 3 times right before it was meant to be sold (each time). I think I ended up painting the front guard with a spray can...

Daily Driver 2019 Ford Escape...looking for XR6T's.

loxxr6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2011, 03:08 PM   #57
falconhell74

On a diffrent track mate had a mk2 cortina with the gt engine & close ratio 4 speed , didnt eaven look under the hood litrally for 3 years, he flogged the living poo out of it every time he drove it & it never skipped a beat , when I found out never been serviced etc I proceded to do it for him , I couldnt beleive it oil was black but no too bad still full on dipstik , water still full etc he must have done atleast 80 thou klicks in the little beast ..........just go's to show how good the mighty FORD is.

Audi A4 S-line quttro
Xc falcon
Previous fords-
xc falcon 500 ,250 x flow 3 speed
xc gs worked 250 x flow 4 speed
xa Fairmont 302 auto wagon
xb falcon 250 log auto 4 door
xb falcon 200 log auto ute
xc gs project - had to sell :-(
xc gs 302 4 speed 4 door
xc gs 351 auto 4 door
zf fairlane 302 auto
zk fairlane 250 x flow carb auto
zl fairlane 250 x flow EFI auto
xg ute , BA falcon dedicated gas
xd, xf x 3 ,ea,eb,ef,au x 3,telstar tx5
falconhell74 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2011, 03:21 PM   #58
mrghia

Mine is a ford to I had a clean injected ZL fairlane nice car to drive but it was so slow it was slower then my inlaws old 85 Barina and made it worse was they had a car load of people and ZL only had me in it. I ended up selling it and got a 85 charade 3cyl manual felt just as fast as the ZL but used way less fuel
Old 26-07-2011, 03:29 PM   #59
falconhell74

Originally Posted by sammykinzz
I don't own one but know a few people with Toyota Camry's now that is an embarrassing car!!
I had a 96 apollo 2.2 yep very embarrasing BUT I also had a 95 vienta 3liter v6 not so embarrasing as it beat the living poo out of brock commy , left him for dead at 2 in the morning next set of lights he was pi$$#@ & didnt try it again

Audi A4 S-line quttro
Xc falcon
Previous fords-
xc falcon 500 ,250 x flow 3 speed
xc gs worked 250 x flow 4 speed
xa Fairmont 302 auto wagon
xb falcon 250 log auto 4 door
xb falcon 200 log auto ute
xc gs project - had to sell :-(
xc gs 302 4 speed 4 door
xc gs 351 auto 4 door
zf fairlane 302 auto
zk fairlane 250 x flow carb auto
zl fairlane 250 x flow EFI auto
xg ute , BA falcon dedicated gas
xd, xf x 3 ,ea,eb,ef,au x 3,telstar tx5
falconhell74 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-07-2011, 03:41 PM   #60
metallurg

Mine'd have to be my first car - given to me mind you.
1974 VW Beetle. Bright red with a shotgun exhaust. Very, very loud and very, very slow. (70 mph flatout - downhill with a tailwind)

Partially redeemed myself with my next car - an XF S-pack, and I've since bought an XB coupe.
metallurg is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post