Old 10-10-2011, 05:15 PM   #31

Default Re: Unrego'd Vehicle Permits.

I left Noosa in my XA GT at 3pm and drove straight to Sydney on a UVP, Nothing like flying along at midnight in an XA GT with no number plates.

Of course I was very very careful to stay within the posted speed limit too.

One of the best road trips I've ever had.
Old 10-10-2011, 05:57 PM   #32
xbxd351

Originally Posted by Stefan
I left Noosa in my XA GT at 3pm and drove straight to Sydney on a UVP, Nothing like flying along at midnight in an XA GT with no number plates.

Of course I was very very careful to stay within the posted speed limit too.

One of the best road trips I've ever had.
Totally agree with this. Did Brisbane to Melbourne in an XA coupe a few months back. Best road trip ever sharing the driving duties with a mate. No issues with the UVP and didn't get pulled over once despite driving past heaps of cop cars - only had a minor electrical fault and had to pull over at Wangaratta where a friendly copper made sure we were ok. I found it quite relaxing having no plates as I didn't have to stick religiously to the speed limit.

My advice go for it you will love the experience.
Old 10-10-2011, 06:38 PM   #33

I think the point Flappist is making is a valid one, an unregistered vehicle being moved under permit
for reasons other than going to or from mechanic for safety certificate or repairs to comply
is really running the gauntlet...
Old 10-10-2011, 07:46 PM   #34

I think the point Flappist is making is a valid one, an unregistered vehicle being moved under permit
for reasons other than going to or from mechanic for safety certificate or repairs to comply

The permit actually states can be driven the most direct route home after purchase. If the OP drives the car straight home from Queensland to S.A, he will not have an issue with cops.

That is why the permit is valid all states except W.A.
Old 10-10-2011, 09:42 PM   #35
blownv8au
Pro Street Au Ute

Originally Posted by xisled
The permit actually states can be driven the most direct route home after purchase. If the OP drives the car straight home from Queensland to S.A, he will not have an issue with cops.

What? I call bs, lol.
The best road trip i've had was picking up my eb from tungamah vic at the start of the year. I think it was 2200km back to rocky on a vic permit, left there tuesday arve got home early thursday morning it was bloody awesome the old v8 didn't miss a beat.

To the op will the seller leave the rego on and you get your own roadie in wa and do transfer or cancel it when you get there. They won't get stuff all back on the rego cause you lose your ctp ins which is more than the rego.
Old 10-10-2011, 11:04 PM   #36

On What are you basing this comment? Just a guess I suspect.

NSW RTA allows you to drive a unregistered vehicle without a permit at all, to get repaired / or inspected for rego (to the closest inspection station or repair shop). I just did it in my XY GT 6 months ago, had the plod next to me and behind me for a while, no number plates and half an exhaust. No problem at all. I had all the rules printed out on my passenger seat if they wanted a chat. Even had the relevant ones highlighted for easy reference.

That is not what a UVP is for. A UVP is used to move an unregistered vehicle for any reason.
Old 10-10-2011, 11:56 PM   #37

Originally Posted by GhiaEB
Alright the info given to me was as follows

The car needs to be "of roadworthy condition" ie. Not running with bald tyres.
The permit is valid for every state except for W.A. And it's valid from the time you pick the permit up, you can't set a time/date period.

The permit costs $26.90 per day plus CTP.

If the car breaks down and the permit expires what ever state I happen to be is where I need to go to get a new permit. Ie. If I'm in Dubbo I need to go to the NSW RTA to get a permit.

As to where the car is, its near you flappist just near Childers. And I would be planning on a 2 day drive. I don't want to end up a statistic.

Almost looks like a road trip. I'll wait to get excited, wait till I'm boarding the plane to brissie.

P.s. Is there a train that can take me to Childers or do I have to get on a bus?
Odd information about the price. I rang DOT today and $27.95 was what they told me. Got to love the consistency.

You cant set times as they always run from 12 midnight and are valid for 24 hrs. But you can set dates ie: if you wanted to leave on Friday night (after midnight), you could go into DOT on Wed, Thurs or Fri and organise one that starts Saturday from 12:00am.

I dont know what constitutes a valid reason for permits in all states but in Qld and NSW if you simply want to move the vehicle from one place to another, the permits are perfectly legal to do so. No need to be going to a repairer etc.

OP, hope you dont need a permit issued in NSW, they do require a mechanical report to issue one. At least they did 3 or so yrs ago. Someone from NSW can clear this up, but IIRC depending on circumstance for normal reg they need what they call either a blue and green slip. Every so many years they need a green, and in between those each year they need a blue one. The green is more stringent or thorough. As the car is not NSW reg, it will need the more stringent one first time even to get a permit. That COULD be a nightmare.
Old 11-10-2011, 12:18 AM   #38

Originally Posted by GhiaEB
Alright the info given to me was as follows

The car needs to be "of roadworthy condition" ie. Not running with bald tyres.
The permit is valid for every state except for W.A. And it's valid from the time you pick the permit up, you can't set a time/date period.

The permit costs $26.90 per day plus CTP.

If the car breaks down and the permit expires what ever state I happen to be is where I need to go to get a new permit. Ie. If I'm in Dubbo I need to go to the NSW RTA to get a permit.

As to where the car is, its near you flappist just near Childers. And I would be planning on a 2 day drive. I don't want to end up a statistic.

Almost looks like a road trip. I'll wait to get excited, wait till I'm boarding the plane to brissie.

P.s. Is there a train that can take me to Childers or do I have to get on a bus?
No rail at or even close to Childers and if it is "near Childers" it might be in serious woop woop with banjos playing in the background. PM me exactly where it is and I will tell you the easiest way to get there.
Old 11-10-2011, 03:31 AM   #39
Zedjay

Originally Posted by fmc351

NSW permits are different from ours. They have blue slips, and green slips in NSW (last I checked anyway). Every so many years a car needs a green one, the rest of the time it only needs a blue one. If its been unregd for some time it also needs a green one, I think. You need either a blue or green slip in NSW for a permit so might as well reg it there.
ok in NSW we have blue slip= is for getting cars that have been out of rego for more than 90 days back on the road or to clear defects and engine number change's

pink slip = our RWC that we have to have done every 12 months for rego renewal (unless the car is under 5 years old)...pink slip is also what you need for the URV permit...

green slip= its just what our CTP is called

to get an URV permit in NSW you get a pink slip remove the plates (if attached) go to the RTA fill out a form, pay for it and off you go..no need for CTP green slip as the RTA does it for you..

cost me $18 at the RTA for an URV permit to drive a car from tamworth to the central coast..oh and $35 for the pinky..
Old 11-10-2011, 04:38 AM   #40
K10wN

Originally Posted by blownv8au
To the op will the seller leave the rego on and you get your own roadie in wa and do transfer or cancel it when you get there. They won't get stuff all back on the rego cause you lose your ctp ins which is more than the rego.
This has been illegal to do in QLD since the introduction of the Safety Certificate in 1999 instead of the old RWC.

Prior to the Safety Certificate you could buy the car with it registered in the original owner's name, drive it home, then you had 14 days to get a RWC yourself and get it transfered into your own name.

Since the introduction of the Safety Certificate the seller MUST have the SC before they offer a registered car for sale, and it must be displayed on the vehicle while it is offered for sale. Vehicles without a SC are sold as "parts or restoration" and the registration must be cancelled and plates handed in before being offered for sale. Penalty $500. This information is on the wall at DOT offices and is on their website.
Old 11-10-2011, 08:34 AM   #41

Originally Posted by xisled

But listen, you can't just wack a permit on any old dunga regardless of condition and drive it across three states.
There is an understanding that the vehicle has to be safe and in roadworthy condition,
that's the difference, he's not taking it for roadworthy, it's going on a long trip.

Let's say the tyres are near bald, the brakes and suspension worn out and it draws
the attention of police in another state along the way, what do you do then?

So there is an expectation that basic safety items have to be right and the car in near roadworthy condition.
Old 11-10-2011, 09:12 AM   #42

But listen, you can't just wack a permit on any old dunga regardless of condition and drive it across three states.
There is an understanding that the vehicle has to be safe and in roadworthy condition,
that's the difference, he's not taking it for roadworthy, it's going on a long trip.

Let's say the tyres are near bald, the brakes and suspension worn out and it draws
the attention of police in another state along the way, what do you do then?

So there is an expectation that basic safety items have to be right and the car in near roadworthy condition.
Wrong. It does not need to be in RWC condition. If it did need to be RWC the application would be no different to registering it and a safety cert would be required. If the tyres are bald he shouldnt be getting a permit and no advice here is going to change his intentions as they arent issued if the tyres are bald. He would have to lie to obtain one. There is no information to state its a dunga with bald tyres. If the car has decent tyres, brakes, doesnt blow smoke, lights, horn and indicators etc all work and theres no obvious major rust, then thats about as much as the DOT can expect the average punter to look at. Thats pretty much all they ask, theres a hell of lot more to a RWC. The average punter isnt qualified to assess its RWC, as such no action could be taken if it failed on something less obvious to the average punter. The police would need to prove that the problems were so obvious that anyone would be aware of its problems. Police are aware of this. These things are issued to old ladies and anyone who wants one, not just mechanics, people in the trade or enthusiasts.

The only thing other than those things mentioned he has to worry about is will it make it? Its been mentioned, he is aware of that risk. Its up to him to make that assessment or organise someone more qualified to look at it.
Old 11-10-2011, 03:58 PM   #43
blownv8au
Pro Street Au Ute

Originally Posted by K10wN
This has been illegal to do in QLD since the introduction of the Safety Certificate in 1999 instead of the old RWC.

Prior to the Safety Certificate you could buy the car with it registered in the original owner's name, drive it home, then you had 14 days to get a RWC yourself and get it transfered into your own name.

Since the introduction of the Safety Certificate the seller MUST have the SC before they offer a registered car for sale, and it must be displayed on the vehicle while it is offered for sale. Vehicles without a SC are sold as "parts or restoration" and the registration must be cancelled and plates handed in before being offered for sale. Penalty $500. This information is on the wall at DOT offices and is on their website.
Yep i know and it doesn't mean people don't do it. When i've bought cars with rego and no roadie i get the seller to fill out a transfer app and then i get a roadie and go in and transfer it over, pretty simple really.
Old 11-10-2011, 04:57 PM   #44

two pages of posts tells me we need a federal rego system, like they have for trucks (federal interstate).

last time i got a unreg permit i drove a car from Sale to home in NSW. to get a VIC permit all i had to do was fax a copy of my drivers license to them and pay the permit fee. for a NSW one, i had to get a RWC and take it to a RTA office. i bought the VIC one because it was hassle free by comparison (90% of trip was VIC anyway). The only problem i had was the petrol station wouldn't sell me any fuel because the car had no plates on it.
Old 11-10-2011, 05:14 PM   #45

yeh, my wagon was driven from Newcastle to Frankston on an unreg permit, wasnt roadworthy, but it wasn't far from it.

no hassles what so ever, free trip on the toll roads too :P
Old 11-10-2011, 06:04 PM   #46

Wrong. It does not need to be in RWC condition.
Wrong where did I say it had to be in roadworthy condition?
Re read my post:

"So there is an expectation that basic safety items have to be right and the car in near roadworthy condition."
Old 11-10-2011, 07:20 PM   #47

Wrong where did I say it had to be in roadworthy condition?
Re read my post:
Ummm, right there
... the vehicle has to be safe and in roadworthy condition...
There is no 'NEAR' in your original post. You went on to mention suspension and that is not part of the permit process.

Who makes the assessment of how close to RW it is? The applicant thats who. That includes people who wouldnt know where to put oil in let alone if the suspension is OK, or what it even looks like. RW? Not even close. You can get a permit for a car that will require $5,000 in work to get a RWC.
Old 11-10-2011, 07:52 PM   #48

Ummm, right there

There is no 'NEAR' in your original post..
Yes there is, look at the last line of my post.......

and I'm basically agreeing with you, people moving a car under permit have obligations
to ensure it is basically safe to do so and have compulsory third party.

Last edited by jpd80; 11-10-2011 at 08:21 PM.
Old 11-10-2011, 10:06 PM   #49
z80

If it were me I would get the permit in SA before I left.

$43 bucks for 14 days from memory.

No RWC required in SA so ignore all the RWC permit advice....

I have done it several times, just check the tyres, the oil , lights etc...

hop in and drive the baby home.
Old 11-10-2011, 10:43 PM   #50
DTFRMONT

Drove an EF wagon from Melbourne to Brisbane via Sydney for family a few months back on a permit. As others have said, I had no dramas from the cops, although having the plates still on the car proably helped. Also made sure the car was OK before the trip, had time beforehand to give it a service for the trip - purchased the car at auction for them a month before so had the time to get it sorted.
Old 11-10-2011, 11:04 PM   #51
K10wN

This page says it all: tmr.qld.gov.au

Vechicle needs to be in safe condition, not neccasarily road worthy condition.

Permit needs to be obtained in the state the journey starts.

All states (excluding WA) have reciprocal arrangements so that a vehicle may travel through other states and territories with a Queensland-issued permit.
Old 11-10-2011, 11:15 PM   #52

Originally Posted by z80
If it were me I would get the permit in SA before I left.

No RWC required in SA so ignore all the RWC permit advice....
NO RWC in Qld either, but your UVP needs to be issued in the state in which the journey starts.