Old 29-10-2011, 10:39 PM   #31
FPVGT500

Default Re: Whats the law regarding quick acceleration on the street?

Thats true haha well really depends which motorway you enter really
FPVGT500 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-10-2011, 10:44 PM   #32
sexyxe

Is undue noise a comparative thing? Compared to standard?

A truck makes a lot more noise than my F6, but my F6, accelerates a damn sight faster than said truck. Even without wheel spin.
sexyxe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-10-2011, 10:51 PM   #33
FPVGT500

As above even stock harlies have a louder exhaust than most things on the road
Old 29-10-2011, 11:23 PM   #34
Gavin Thomas
* 1973 ZF Fairlane 500 *

Originally Posted by billy302
.....I've been stopped many time on motorcycles 1000cc plus bikes.......
Fastest I've been on the road? If I told you the speed I'd still get arrested even today, lets just say very very quick indeed.....
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

i've topped 255 kph on a bike & well over 260 kph in a car - all on public roads.... And all the time not breaking any law, .... Was in the good old days pre 2007 when the NT had the open speed limits, ... (Sadly the wide open Hi-ways are now limited to a mind numbing 130k ).

Even though that speed was legal, some still may reasonably be thinking that sounds totally crazy, but at both times during those high speed "blasts" the roads were straight, long, open & totally free from any other road users.... Anyway, made it thru to tell the tale, lol.

Last edited by Gavin Thomas; 29-10-2011 at 11:40 PM.
Gavin Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-10-2011, 11:37 PM   #35
FG_Frodza

Originally Posted by sexyxe
Is undue noise a comparative thing? Compared to standard?

A truck makes a lot more noise than my F6, but my F6, accelerates a damn sight faster than said truck. Even without wheel spin.
Theres different rules for trucks and cars all depends on GVM... Same as getting defected for an exhaust thats too loud, still quieter than a truck, but its a car not a truck.
http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?p=4150126
FG_Frodza is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-10-2011, 11:38 PM   #36

Originally Posted by 2011G6E
That's the answer right there...

Not to mention that on other forums (and also a guy i work with) people have mentioned being booked before reaching an area where, for example, the speed drops from 80 down to 60, and the policeman estimates that you "couldn't have gotten the vehicle down to the required speed before the sign". Here's your ticket.
I have heard that you cannot be booked within 300metres of a speed change. Unless you are doing more then the higher speed limit of the 2
Old 29-10-2011, 11:40 PM   #37
FG_Frodza

Originally Posted by Gavin Thomas

i've topped 255 kph on a bike & well over 260 kph in a car - all on public roads.... And all the time not breaking any law, .... Was in the good old days pre 2007 when the NT had the open speed limits, ... (Now limited to a mind numbing 130k ).

Even though that speed was legal, some still may reasonably be thinking that sounds totally crazy, but at both times during those high speed "blasts" the roads were straight, long, open & totally free from any other road users.... Anyway, made it thru to tell the tale, lol.
Lol good old days, I remember flying through the NT in my mates modified Pursuit 250 at 300kph in '02 (not me driving) I did 200 in a rental Tarago though
Old 29-10-2011, 11:49 PM   #38
Gavin Thomas
* 1973 ZF Fairlane 500 *

^^^^ Lol - i also managed to hit the "double metric ton" in a rental bitsashiti lancer...

I remember also Craig Lowndes doing a 250k + run down the track in a FPVGT just before they pulled the plug on the fun....
It was after the Darwin leg of the V8 S/C event, and he drove back in a road registered vehicle basically flat out - & all legal.
Gavin Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-10-2011, 11:51 PM   #39
Revolver
Big Member

Ive always wondered the same thing, "can you acclerate as hard as you can without wheelspin to the speed limit?"

Ive always thought about the possible answer would be "it is within the officers discretetion". So thinking as a cop, (without the ivory-tower-pigarse attitude) whatever you would think a cop would book you for, would be be the limit of what could be done.
/////Alpine Sound.
EBGT Momo Woodgrain Steering Wheel
The Scarlet Fairlane Build Thread

Project "White Knight"
93 ED XR6
ROH Alloys
Momo wheel
Cruise
Sunroof
Premo Sound
Manual
HO Goodies
PWK Build Thread

1990 Yamaha FZR 250: 59000ks & climbing. New fairing, old tank, my angry mosquito in a coffee tin! 14.977 1/4mile.
Revolver is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-10-2011, 12:09 AM   #40

Originally Posted by FG_Frodza
Lol good old days, I remember flying through the NT in my mates modified Pursuit 250 at 300kph in '02 (not me driving) I did 200 in a rental Tarago though

300km/h in a AU ute?

I had a speedo like that once......
Old 30-10-2011, 12:10 AM   #41
GreenR

The problem is these "hoon laws" are mostly subjective.
GreenR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-10-2011, 12:11 AM   #42
FPVGT500

Originally Posted by Gavin Thomas

i've topped 255 kph on a bike & well over 260 kph in a car - all on public roads.... And all the time not breaking any law, .... Was in the good old days pre 2007 when the NT had the open speed limits, ... (Sadly the wide open Hi-ways are now limited to a mind numbing 130k ).

You luck b******, my long live dream is to max out my car and now i would never be able to :( , Blood laws is there any way around it, this nation was built upon car enthusiasts and rev heads now we are turning into a nursing home nation..........
Old 30-10-2011, 12:23 AM   #43
Windsor342ci
The Experience...

Im thinking in NSW, perhaps Neg Driving might be the go. Im not to sure but Ive also always wondered.

On the subject of top speeds, does Aus, or more so NSW have any event similar to the USA salt lake events where you can do this legally in a controlled enviroment?
Windsor342ci is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-10-2011, 12:44 AM   #44
blackf6
R51 Pathy, 91 Jayco Swan

I have been pulled up for driving too fast as an officer has deemed twice. First time was told to slow down, not booked though never broke the speed limit. Second time many years later and a different vehicle, got told why did i accelerate so fast. Just said i was getting up to the limit quickly. And the officer then lectured me on road safety and that there could of been children about and at that rate of knots i could of killed someone. I took heed in his warning and i don't do it again, as he was right. Also told to stop driving like a di*k he*d and not fined on this occasion either. So i think it is up to the officers discretion. Young and dumb.
blackf6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-10-2011, 09:11 AM   #45

Originally Posted by JC
So you're expected to do the speed limit at the sign? In that case, speeding up within clear sight of a speed limit increase should be as allowed as slowing down prior to a speed limit decrease. But they only let you do it one way......
No, you are allowed to start speeding up after you pass the sign, not before.
It's a little similar to speed zone changes with our trains. When we pass a sign that says we now have to do, say, 80kph up from 60hph on a bend, we set a counter, and have to stay at 60kph until the entire 1.7km of train behind us has passed that point...then we can speed up to 80kph once we've come in clear of the speed sign, and not before.
Old 31-10-2011, 12:58 PM   #46
RAPID_BA

I know someone who was at the lights with a copper. He didn't look to see who was alongside him but said he would take out whoever. When it went green he floored it. Back end squat front end lifted up and he charged ahead. No wheelspin or undue noise. He stopped at the speed limit and the copper caught up, he just stared at him with a wtf? Look on his face. But he didn't book him.
RAPID_BA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-10-2011, 01:07 PM   #47

Probably depends what you call quick?

I’m sure nailing it from some lights to 60kph in a N/A Falcon probably isn’t going to get you in trouble…

2 step launch in an awd on street slicks? Probably get in a bit of trouble haha.

Old 31-10-2011, 02:24 PM   #48
FG_Frodza

300km/h in a AU ute?

I had a speedo like that once......
Was modified as I said with digital speedo / tacho.
Old 31-10-2011, 02:37 PM   #49

Originally Posted by FG_Frodza
Was modified as I said with digital speedo / tacho.
Yes it may be but is is also an AU ute which at 300km/h would be sucked up off the road and flicked sideways.

The world record for a ute is a bit over 270km/h.

Aerodynamics are the problem not power and the ute shape is all wrong.
Old 31-10-2011, 03:07 PM   #50
FG_Frodza

My understanding was that the 270kmh record was the fastest speed for a production ute.

This guy had spent thousands and thousands on this one including engine, drivetrain and aerodynamics.

I'm not going to argue with you mate I'm just telling you what I saw.
Old 31-10-2011, 03:39 PM   #51

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always level headed and i notice him being the voice of reason when a thread may be getting heated 

Lets just quit that line of discussion, it is OT to the original question.
Old 31-10-2011, 03:53 PM   #52
GhiaEB
2004 TX Territory

Originally Posted by CRYHSV
On the subject of top speeds, does Aus, or more so NSW have any event similar to the USA salt lake events where you can do this legally in a controlled enviroment?
There was/is in SA, but it's been awhile since I've heard of anything to do with it. I don't know if they are still doing it.

Now a AWD TX Territory Daily
P6 Silver Monarch Weekender

And on 2 Wheels,
ZZR 250

Can do mixer shaft replacement on BA-BF Falcon and SX-SY, fix your heater Today. PM For more details

For sale: Heaps of Territory bits and bobs including front brembo doglegs, NOS I-design territory body kit painted offshore, also FPV 290 engine bits. FS thread here http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11397826 Pm for more details.
GhiaEB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-10-2011, 04:00 PM   #53

I have heard that you cannot be booked within 300metres of a speed change. Unless you are doing more then the higher speed limit of the 2
Basically correct, according to Australian Standards, speed enforcement can not be undertaken within 300 metres of a speed limit sign which shows a reduction in the speed limit, or within 100 metres of a speed limit sign which shows an increase in the speed limit.

So if you are in a 60 zone and are approaching an 80 zone you can speed up to 80, 100m BEFORE the 80 sign.

If you are in a 80 zone and enter a 60 zone you have 300m AFTER you pass the 60 sign to slow down to 60.

It might seem like a quirk in the law, but speed limits and their locations are designed to take this into account.

Last edited by Brazen; 31-10-2011 at 04:07 PM.
Old 31-10-2011, 04:42 PM   #54

this is interesting to me as I own a modified XR6T, and I can get from zero to 80kmh before I have cleared the intersection if I launch right, often wondered if one day the plod will come along and go "naughty naughty"

mrbaxr6t is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-10-2011, 04:54 PM   #55

All the internet experts in the world and yet not one single person has bothered to ring their local cop shop and ask them..............
Old 31-10-2011, 07:42 PM   #56
GTP 290

Originally Posted by CRYHSV
Dry Lake Racers Australia.

They race on Lake Gairdner in South Australia. Check this forum for more information.

http://www.dlra.org.au/faq.htm
GTP 290 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-10-2011, 07:55 PM   #57

Originally Posted by Brazen
Basically correct, according to Australian Standards, speed enforcement can not be undertaken within 300 metres of a speed limit sign which shows a reduction in the speed limit, or within 100 metres of a speed limit sign which shows an increase in the speed limit.

So if you are in a 60 zone and are approaching an 80 zone you can speed up to 80, 100m BEFORE the 80 sign.

If you are in a 80 zone and enter a 60 zone you have 300m AFTER you pass the 60 sign to slow down to 60.

It might seem like a quirk in the law, but speed limits and their locations are designed to take this into account.

Can you show me where this is written....?

Old 31-10-2011, 07:59 PM   #58
blownv8au
Pro Street Au Ute

If this was correct you would be through a school zone before you had to slow down for it
blownv8au is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-10-2011, 08:08 PM   #59

Originally Posted by blownv8au
If this was correct you would be through a school zone before you had to slow down for it
Fairly sure the Mobile Camera that sits down at urunga is within 300m of the 80km/h zone starting....

Oh, and Urunga --> Coffs is 110km/h as of today I believe.
SteveJH is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-10-2011, 08:23 PM   #60
Tobey
BF Ute...

Road Rules 2008, S.20

20 Obeying the speed limit

A driver must not drive at a speed over the speed limit applying to the driver for the length of road where the driver is driving.

Penalty and disqualification: a driver who contravenes this rule is guilty of an offence and is liable to a maximum penalty and a period of disqualification (if any) determined in accordance with rule 10-2.
The rules about speed limits are as follows:
• rule 21-speed limit where a speed limit sign applies
• rule 21-1-NSW rule: school bus stop zone sign is speed limit sign
• rule 22-speed limit in a speed limited area
• rule 23-speed limit in a school zone
• rule 24-speed limit in a shared zone
• rule 24-1-NSW rule: speed limits for learner and provisional licence holders
• rule 24-2-NSW rule: speed limit on Lord Howe Island
• rule 24-3-NSW rule: speed limit when bus displaying when lights flash speed limit sign
• rule 24-4-NSW rule: speed limits for small motor bikes during periods of darkness
• rule 25-speed limit elsewhere.

Good luck fighting it in court. It's pretty black and white.
Tobey is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post