You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 05-05-2012, 02:03 AM   #31
mcnews
Trev

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Trev has owned several boosted fords and has really contributed a lot of info on them. His posts in the bike section are also very helpful. I think he should be recognised as a technical contributor. 
Default Re: So who is up for hosting a family ?

Originally Posted by 13101093
I saw the article and signed up for it, no better way to help people in need than give them a Place to stay to get a start off in life, thats aussie spirit in my view
You are a dead set legend and I agree 100 per cent with your reflections on the Aussie spirit and giving people an opportunity to get a good start.

I am ex ADF and have the medals but no chest to pin them on etc. For me, ANZAC Day and the like are just overly commercialised go through the motions type scenarios for me and all the politicians riding on the coat tails of it make me ill. If I march it is to help the local sub branch to make better numbers so it is a better look for them.

But come Australia Day, ANZAC Day etc. the thing that makes me the proudest to be Australian, and feel so damn incredibly lucky that I live here, is when I see an immigrant stand up in the press or on the box or at a service and say how proud they are to be here, and express how thankful they are to be an Australian citizen, and I marvel at how they have grasped every sliver of opportunity this country provides and ran with it to achieve their dream. And I feel great that Australia has given them this opportunity and this make me proud to be Australian like nothing else in this world. And your comments make me proud to be Australian.

And then I reflect on the tosspots with their f off we're full stickers, and aussie flags out the window of their heap of craps as they boast their pride in Australia between cones, while peeing their life away up the wall and blaming all these damn immigrants for how bad their life is, and how the country is f'd up etc. These turds are the ones that make me sick. Can we put them on the boats the boat people goers came on and send them somewhere in exchange....?

Last edited by mcnews; 05-05-2012 at 02:32 AM.
Old 05-05-2012, 03:53 AM   #32
ILLaViTaR

No one would do this, if they had the accommodation space they'd rent it out and deduct every wearing and tearing quark they possibly could.
Old 05-05-2012, 08:07 AM   #33

I'm not up for it but it's happend before in this country and worked well with war billits

Old 05-05-2012, 11:56 AM   #34
Maka
Au Falcon = Mr Reliable

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Embodiment of the AFF spirit in his efforts with ACP. 

I'm not. While in a human'e sense its the right thing to do, i believe the government really should take a look in its own back yard first and fix what needs fixing asap here first ie: clear the backlog/overcrowding appropriatly, have a clear bipartisan approach to policy (but not a combined far right approach), stop taking funding from the poor to fund future immigrants who dont want to assimilate/integrate. I cant imagine how much money was squandered while the Liberals& Labor bickered over Nauru and other prospective places where these immigrants could've been placed. I agree in the Aussie Spirit but not at the expense of the locals. We are living in unprecedented times and if the government dont take action now they'll probably be too broke to fix the situation at a later date,maybe its too late?

cheers,Maka

Proud owner of a optioned keeper S1 Tickford Falcon AU XR6 VCT - "it's actually a better-balanced car than the XR8, goes almost as hard and uses about two-thirds of the fuel" (Drive.com 2007)
Old 05-05-2012, 12:49 PM   #35

Enough of the insults both against members and refugees.

There will be no alerts.
Old 05-05-2012, 01:04 PM   #36

Originally Posted by buggerlugs
No thanks
we spend heaps of time helping local Ozzies who cant cope with the currrecnt economic climate through a couple of charities as many are unable to feed the chldren and pay bills and rent , I see no need atm to import more problems
Old 05-05-2012, 10:12 PM   #37
ltd_on20s

Originally Posted by tregs

Best way to help them is in there own country

perhaps if we were not over in their country in the first place....

and that's a pretty disgraceful post.

lot's of latent bigotry and racism still around.

just remember, there is over 35 million. 35,000,000. refugees throughout the world. so even if we took 25,000, which we don't, it's not a big issue.

but hey, keep the fear alive champ.

just remember, capitalism works on extreme growth, so if your not doing your bit by having five kids, well then your not helping australia.

Last edited by Pinkbits; 06-05-2012 at 01:05 PM. Reason: Removing insulting quote content.
Old 05-05-2012, 10:28 PM   #38
ltd_on20s

Originally Posted by XB GS 351 Coupe

A genuine refugee is someone who flee's their country of origin into the NEAREST nation that provides sanctuary - not someone who flies to Indonesia on a commercial flight, and then upon arrival destroys their documentation prior to embarking on a short boat trip to Australia. However it is policies like these that encourage asylum seekers (not genuine refugees as per definition), which is resulting in these problems we are having now.
you really need to read up on international refugee law, and australian law on refugees.

what your opinion is, and what really is, are two completely different things.
Old 06-05-2012, 12:06 AM   #39
bungarra

Originally Posted by ltd_on20s
you really need to read up on international refugee law, and australian law on refugees.

what your opinion is, and what really is, are two completely different things.
Actually they are charters and conventions not laws and can be repealed in writing by member signatories in the case of the UN Charters or by an act of Parliament in regards to Australia's own charter.

If you actually fully read all 700 pages of the full charter, it also states that the onus is on the refugee to prove asylum is required and that the nation must be deemed politically unstable, under dictatorship, religious persecution etc as determined by the UN. Iraq and Afghanistan have been classifed as stable and democratic and are no longer listed by the UNHCR as refugee status.
Old 06-05-2012, 12:38 AM   #40
ltd_on20s

Originally Posted by bungarra
Actually they are charters and conventions not laws and can be repealed in writing by member signatories in the case of the UN Charters or by an act of Parliament in regards to Australia's own charter.

If you actually fully read all 700 pages of the full charter, it also states that the onus is on the refugee to prove asylum is required and that the nation must be deemed politically unstable, under dictatorship, religious persecution etc as determined by the UN. Iraq and Afghanistan have been classifed as stable and democratic and are no longer listed by the UNHCR as refugee status.

just because fox told you "we are winning" doesn't make it so.

http://www.un.org/News/Press/docs/2003/sc7751.doc.htm

one of the dozens of reports that say the same thing.

we are signatories to the conventions, ergo we follow them. there is bipartisan support for it in parliment, and as i said earlier, as long as "australians" don't have five kids each, we will continue to import huge amounts of refugees and immigrants.

and it's not as easy to repeal the charter as you make it sound.

btw, turkey is looking after over 35,000 syrian refugees, and now reports of refugees reaching azerbijan are filtering through.

i'd stop complaining about the hilariously low numbers we get.
Old 06-05-2012, 05:58 AM   #41

It is not a matter of if we receive refugees or not it is these ones who bypass safe ports to get here therfore making a lifestyle choice, they bypass our normal refugee process and deliberatly destroy their documentation. these people are lifestyle illegal immigrants not true refugees, they are not screened properly like refugees who come through the proper process.
anyone arriving illegally by boat after passing other safe countries should be immediatly deported as illegal immigrants.
I am not anti immigration but I feel we should choose who the immigrants are not have unwelcome guests arrive and say "here we are you must take us".
so will I be taking illegal entries into my home (ones not checked for criminal histories as they have no paperwork)? no way!!!
should this be funded by our taxes? no way!!!
should we get tough on boat arrivals? definatly!!!

Old 06-05-2012, 10:26 AM   #42

Living where I do right now I say get stuffed.

They know how to rort the system and they take full advantage of it. I want to get immigration in here and I can guarantee 50% of them would be taken away as they're here illegally.

The on site property manager had the cops called on him by one of them because he told them to keep the front tidy, put the bins away and keep the stereo down (its in the BC by laws), they rang the police and said that he had abducted their children. There were 4 cop cars here blocking any way out. We then found out they said that so the cops would come out so they could complain about him being rude.

I have no sympathy for any "plight" they're in. I believe they make half the things up as they go. The government needs to look at our aging population first and sort that before looking at other issues.

EDIT - Also don't forget the loophole they have via our Kiwi mates.
Old 06-05-2012, 11:15 AM   #43
Reaper8

will get flamed for my comment but hey im entitled to it. If they cant come here legally they dont come here, they find the money for a boat ride. they are only encouraged by gettin given everythin when they get here and the legal bill is paid by us all.
Old 06-05-2012, 11:27 AM   #44

no way . i work for a living , if people do this than there will be a flood of people arriving when word gets out and our population will be increasing greatly . its a fact that most immigrants , not all , go onto welfare long term.
our governments have not spent on infastructure and built any new cities , and out country folk are selling , our employment is being reduced to essential services , and our revenue is coming from selling off our assetts to other countries .
I'M ALL for humanity and really feel sorry for the way other countries have been ruined , but there lifestyle on the globe is poor , the more people that come here getting hand outs , which they would see as great wealth , compared to how they would pay there own way ( like people born here _ it takes 10 years of working now and living at home before you can afford to be self sustainable ) the worse off in welfare and charity , and culture we are going to become . i know people need food and shelter , but try telling some of them to get it , they have to learn english , study , get a job , and not cover up thier heads to get it and see how many people do this . if they dont then they find our cultural ways offensive to them .
SORRY , i suppose we could cash in , and many capitalists will , but chinese people come from china . i would like to see and australian race .
Old 06-05-2012, 11:30 AM   #45

anyone know any centre link employees . speak to them about whats happening here .
Old 06-05-2012, 12:00 PM   #46

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: Can't think of anyone more deserving. Russ Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all the technical support behind the scenes. Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Technical submission 

I'd like to point out that most illegal immigrants arrive via a Qantas flight and not by sea. A great many illegal immigrants also speak with a British accent.

I can understand the sentiment of people objecting to boat people as they have bypassed other places to arrive here. Go look at those places and see what existence they would have there, living in a refugee camp with 10,000 of others. They rolled the dice and tried to make to here. I can understand that.

It's also a great Australian past time to bash the latest bunch to land on our shores. Look the the Chinese, Greeks, Italians, Vietnamese etc. They all copped it when they first arrived.

What I find odd is people arguing that boat people are taking away from our other worthy (local) recipients of social security. In other threads on here they cop a flogging for being bogan dole bludgers.
Old 06-05-2012, 12:06 PM   #47
Maka
Au Falcon = Mr Reliable

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Embodiment of the AFF spirit in his efforts with ACP. 

I remember a time not too long ago when there was no shootouts, where you could go anywhere in your state and feel safe and ALL the community are proud of our ANZAC's etc. Today sadly it is the opposite...... The net result of the failed immigration policy is here with us now, the question remains- what's the overall cost to the community? Do the math then see who in the community suffers the most......could it be all of us?
Ltd_on20's i understand where you're coming from but today is not the 50's or 60's or even the 70's......might be a good idea for some but not the majority of battlers out there and nearly everyone today is a battler. Sad but true.....

cheers,Maka

Proud owner of a optioned keeper S1 Tickford Falcon AU XR6 VCT - "it's actually a better-balanced car than the XR8, goes almost as hard and uses about two-thirds of the fuel" (Drive.com 2007)
Old 06-05-2012, 01:48 PM   #48
Dr Jekkyl

In 2010-2011 there were 127,458 'settler' arrivals to Australia.

A settler is a person who:
- holds a permanent visa
- holds a temporary visa and has intention to settle
- is a NZ citizen intending to settle
- is otherwise eligible to settle

Visa's granted on humanitarian grounds were held by 9130 (7.2%) of settlers.

In 2010-11, 11491 applications for asylum were received. 5175 applications (45%) were from Irregular Maritime Arrivals (IMA's; i.e. 'boat people').

Summary points:
1) Immigration based on humanitarian grounds is relatively small.
2) Less humanitarian visas are granted than applied for.
3) Less than half of asylum applicants are IMA's.
4) IMA's at most represent 3.2% of settlers.

Now let's be pessimistic and make the following assumptions:
- all future population growth will be due to immigration at 2010-11 rates
- all IMA's are going to be totally welfare dependent (i.e. all boat people are 'bludgers')
- the proportion of working age Australian's receiving a welfare payment is and will remain stable at 4.1% (2009 data)

Where does that leave Australia????

At worst, in a net state of decreasing welfare dependency.

Happy to provide references for my stats if anybody wants them.
Old 06-05-2012, 01:52 PM   #49
mcnews
Trev

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Trev has owned several boosted fords and has really contributed a lot of info on them. His posts in the bike section are also very helpful. I think he should be recognised as a technical contributor. 

Originally Posted by Maka
.might be a good idea for some but not the majority of battlers out there and nearly everyone today is a battler. Sad but true.....
Argh the little Aussie battler getting paid to pump out kids, get paid to keep them etc. All while trying to get that 60" plasma and the new car :-)
It's so damn tough..... LOL
So tough I think the guvmint should also pay me to have a nanny for the kids.
Comedy it is :-)
And in news just to hand, argh that plasma jut got closer :-)

-----

Families with children at school are set to receive a payment of up to $820 in a new scheme set to be unveiled in Tuesday's budget.

Under the program, eligible families will get a cash payment of $820 for each high school student and $410 for each primary school student paid directly into their bank accounts in two instalments every year.

About one million families will receive the direct payment which replaces the Education Tax Refund.

-----

All the while the taxpayer picks up the tab of educating their kids anyway.... Working families and all that..... It's comedy I tell ya :-)
Old 06-05-2012, 02:15 PM   #50

Originally Posted by cs123
I can understand the sentiment of people objecting to boat people as they have bypassed other places to arrive here. Go look at those places and see what existence they would have there, living in a refugee camp with 10,000 of others. They rolled the dice and tried to make to here. I can understand that.
refugee protection is about providing safety no an affluent lifestyle

Old 06-05-2012, 02:21 PM   #51

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: Can't think of anyone more deserving. Russ Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all the technical support behind the scenes. Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Technical submission 

Originally Posted by au3xr6
refugee protection is about providing safety no an affluent lifestyle
Agree, would you feel safe here?
http://english.alarabiya.net/article...30/211357.html
Old 06-05-2012, 03:58 PM   #52
Work Horse
Budget Racer

Originally Posted by Dr Jekkyl
In 2010-2011 there were 127,458 'settler' arrivals to Australia.

A settler is a person who:
- holds a permanent visa
- holds a temporary visa and has intention to settle
- is a NZ citizen intending to settle
- is otherwise eligible to settle

Visa's granted on humanitarian grounds were held by 9130 (7.2%) of settlers.

In 2010-11, 11491 applications for asylum were received. 5175 applications (45%) were from Irregular Maritime Arrivals (IMA's; i.e. 'boat people').

Summary points:
1) Immigration based on humanitarian grounds is relatively small.
2) Less humanitarian visas are granted than applied for.
3) Less than half of asylum applicants are IMA's.
4) IMA's at most represent 3.2% of settlers.

Now let's be pessimistic and make the following assumptions:
- all future population growth will be due to immigration at 2010-11 rates
- all IMA's are going to be totally welfare dependent (i.e. all boat people are 'bludgers')
- the proportion of working age Australian's receiving a welfare payment is and will remain stable at 4.1% (2009 data)

Where does that leave Australia????

At worst, in a net state of decreasing welfare dependency.

Happy to provide references for my stats if anybody wants them.
Your statistics are of little use here Dr Jekky.

What use are facts when we can whip up fear and hysteria without them?
Old 06-05-2012, 04:14 PM   #53

Originally Posted by au3xr6
It is not a matter of if we receive refugees or not it is these ones who bypass safe ports to get here therfore making a lifestyle choice, they bypass our normal refugee process and deliberatly destroy their documentation. these people are lifestyle illegal immigrants not true refugees, they are not screened properly like refugees who come through the proper process.
anyone arriving illegally by boat after passing other safe countries should be immediatly deported as illegal immigrants.
I am not anti immigration but I feel we should choose who the immigrants are not have unwelcome guests arrive and say "here we are you must take us".
so will I be taking illegal entries into my home (ones not checked for criminal histories as they have no paperwork)? no way!!!
should this be funded by our taxes? no way!!!
should we get tough on boat arrivals? definatly!!!
agree, it seems they shop around for their country of choice which means they are no longer asylum seekers

my wife and i just paid $33,000 + a $10,000 bond to get my mother in law here . . . . legally
why should others just drop on our doorstep if they don't follow the legal channels
Old 06-05-2012, 04:20 PM   #54
Dr Jekkyl

Originally Posted by Work Horse
Your statistics are of little use here Dr Jekky.

What use are facts when we can whip up fear and hysteria without them?
My AFF tombstone will include "....went down fighting".

On second thoughts it should probably just have this emoticon
Old 06-05-2012, 04:22 PM   #55

Originally Posted by gtfpv
anyone know any centre link employees . speak to them about whats happening here .
Biggest rort out.. contact ranga & co for details...
Old 06-05-2012, 04:23 PM   #56
Pis-ton broke

this is a heavy thread yeah, i have a horse stable , i could put bunks and stuff in there, at 300 a go i could give up my day job. pack em in.

but seriously, could you trust these people to do the "right thing"
Old 06-05-2012, 04:37 PM   #57
Bunyip04
Think Heavy..

I hear more refugees complain than one's that say they're greatful.. It makes me feal pretty good too seeing or hearing about the one's that are proud to become citezens, learn the AUSTRALIAN culture etc.. But realistically, what do you know of these people you'd take in? Do you get any history checks done??
I've seen far too many cons against illegal immigrants here where i live, to outweigh any pro's..

Will you be taking any into your house? I know i won't be...
On that matter.. WHO HERE will do it..? For real..

There's no replacement for displacement!!!

Handling: Bilstein Shocks with King springs all round, Whiteline 27mm front swaybar & 22mm rear adj, upgraded PBR rotors, calipers and braided lines all round with Bendix Ultimate pads.
Go Fast Bits: Herrod C.A.I with K&N 4" pod flter, Herrod Helix spacer, Herrod oil breathers, Tridon 72c thermostat, Herrod 2.5" stainless cat back zorst.
Old 06-05-2012, 05:23 PM   #58
Maka
Au Falcon = Mr Reliable

Originally Posted by mcnews
Argh the little Aussie battler getting paid to pump out kids, get paid to keep them etc. All while trying to get that 60" plasma and the new car :-)
It's so damn tough..... LOL
So tough I think the guvmint should also pay me to have a nanny for the kids.
Comedy it is :-)
And in news just to hand, argh that plasma jut got closer :-)

-----

Families with children at school are set to receive a payment of up to $820 in a new scheme set to be unveiled in Tuesday's budget.

Under the program, eligible families will get a cash payment of $820 for each high school student and $410 for each primary school student paid directly into their bank accounts in two instalments every year.

About one million families will receive the direct payment which replaces the Education Tax Refund.

-----

All the while the taxpayer picks up the tab of educating their kids anyway.... Working families and all that..... It's comedy I tell ya :-)

mcnews, i get your cynisisim but some people are not as lucky as others and will need it thats a fact. The payments are an admission from the "guvmint" that yes some people are struggling. The new payment system is designed to lower the burden on the tax payer. Maybe if the government put funding were it needs to be, we woudn't be having this debate in the first place. Here's an example,

"About a million families eligible for the existing scheme -- to be axed in Tuesday's Budget -- were not claiming their full entitlements under the current scheme. The Sunday Telegraph previously revealed about 600,000 families were not claiming at all, missing out on $300 million"

I know why too because theyre happy with their existing new cars and plasma's lol!

cheers,Maka

Last edited by Maka; 06-05-2012 at 05:39 PM.
Old 06-05-2012, 05:48 PM   #59

Originally Posted by Maka
"About a million families eligible for the existing scheme -- to be axed in Tuesday's Budget -- were not claiming their full entitlements under the current scheme. The Sunday Telegraph previously revealed about 600,000 families were not claiming at all, missing out on $300 million"
That's probably because they filed their own tax returns and were not aware of what they could claim, plus it's done it arrears with receipts needed for the old system.
Old 06-05-2012, 05:53 PM   #60
Maka
Au Falcon = Mr Reliable

Originally Posted by cs123
That's probably because they filed their own tax returns and were not aware of what they could claim, plus it's done it arrears with receipts needed for the old system.
I agree with you cs123

cheers Maka