Old 18-05-2012, 02:05 PM   #31

Default Re: Do you prefer horsepower... or Bling?

Originally Posted by GT0132
You're right....When I see, for example, a B series XT or XR6 on the road with rear spoiler removed, Altezza lights, lowered with 20's it's never a bloke over 40 driving it.
i saw an old grandma-type, would have to have been at least 80 or more, driving what sounded to be a worked/cammed AU V8 a few months ago, looked hilarious. "Only driven to church on sundays" - might be serious?
Professor Farnsworth is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 02:08 PM   #32
prasac

Originally Posted by HULK_BA
id bet the nu-school young guys FG was N/A too.
so what.

one mate (21yo) has a 780rwhp Mazda 323 street car, we were thinking how kool it was to have that much power in a 740kg car, he was thinking how mad it was to have a screamer pipe

young or old everyone is different. for the street i drive a nugget, but u take a car out the rumble of the V8 and knowing you have a heap of power at the squeeze of the pedal gets the heart pounding.

i guess another guy might feel the same about cruising a car with 22's, i dunno

Last edited by prasac; 18-05-2012 at 02:21 PM.
prasac is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 02:10 PM   #33

The younger guys I know of in my area prefer bling mods to appear cool and 'fully sick' to their peers and to fit in (visual appearance CAN play a large part to a young persons credibility so it seems), and usually its the gov restrictions that cause the younger ones to not bother about power mods till they are past their P's and know more about what the engine is capable of except for 'go'. Their friends don't see power, they only see whats in front of them i.e. wheels, neons, stereo, lowered, tint, paint etc. Its only when these young guys get more money, their mates all have cars too and they want to beat them in traffic light duels that you will see power mods start making an appearance.

disclaimer: I understand this is a broad generalization on the younger generation, and I apologize to those who have broken away from this trend. The above obviously does not apply to you.

Old 18-05-2012, 02:17 PM   #34
crazy67
Drag racing ANDRA

Originally Posted by blueoval
The younger guys I know of in my area prefer bling mods to appear cool and 'fully sick' to their peers and to fit in (visual appearance CAN play a large part to a young persons credibility so it seems), and usually its the gov restrictions that cause the younger ones to not bother about power mods till they are past their P's and know more about what the engine is capable of except for 'go'. Their friends don't see power, they only see whats in front of them i.e. wheels, neons, stereo, lowered, tint, paint etc. Its only when these young guys get more money, their mates all have cars too and they want to beat them in traffic light duels that you will see power mods start making an appearance.

disclaimer: I understand this is a broad generalization on the younger generation, and I apologize to those who have broken away from this trend. The above obviously does not apply to you.
well said
Old 18-05-2012, 02:21 PM   #35
SIMBAD
RAPID GT-P

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: This thread: BA-BF diff cradle removal for diff bushes 

I dunno where this puts me.. I'm 23.. Had my car for 3 1/2 years or a bit more and the first thing I did was put on an exhaust.. And more things to make it go better. But at the same time I do care for looks..
Looks probably sold me the car I bought as it just jumped up in my face with black wheels and shaker.
I suppose I've changed my tail lights and painted my brembos yellow.
I remember being really fussy about the exhaust tips I wanted also.. So as it stands the only bling on the outside is my shiny tips.
Then some shiny bits went under the Bonnet..
My rims did have the pollished lip but I Plasti dip them all black yesterday.

Edit. In the end I still want more powa!
Full Difilippo big boy exhaust /4.5" body ballistic metal cats / boss 315 plenum & twin throttle body coupled to bpr airbox / powerbond underdrives / herrod 290 cams / malwood opt 3+ / hrs Pegasus rims 19x8.5 front - 9.5 rear / nitto invo 245-35-19F & 275-35-19R / whiteline swaybars/ Under bonnet bling / 4.11 harrop truetrac

Enhanced by BLUEPOWER

supercharged 363 dart takes on au work ute http://fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11342906
SIMBAD is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 02:23 PM   #36
prasac

this may be a little too far

Old 18-05-2012, 02:25 PM   #37

that's nothing..

Old 18-05-2012, 02:26 PM   #38

Originally Posted by prasac
this may be a little too far

They remind me of matchbox cars.

On that note, ridiculous to the mature minded and omfglolwwqefkjnjbadf!!!1111!!! to everyone else.

Old 18-05-2012, 02:34 PM   #39
wrongwaynorris

HP EVERY time . Much better to have a wolf in sheeps clothing rather than the other way around .
Old 18-05-2012, 02:37 PM   #40

Not judging by responses on here but out on the road.

How many P Platers do you see with a Holden SV6 sedan or ute. Then they lower them and dress them up like a hsv, even put the quad exhaust on them to try and fool people. If you add the cost of the bling, they could have bought the real SS or the HSV....with the horsepower.

How many younger guys buy a old bmw or honda euro to appear as if they are a big timer? wheels etc but no horsepower?

Its the older guys that like more substance, they would rather have a cheap wallet full of cash than the young guy with his designer wallet but no money in it.
You missed 1 very important point
P Platers aren't allowed to drive V8's/Turbo's/Performance Modified Cars
Old 18-05-2012, 02:40 PM   #41
mash again

Altezza tail lights should be defectable, not because they are illegal, but because you have to be a tool to put them on ya car IMHO. Think im gettin grumpy in my old age............OH yeah power over bling but i like a nice set of wheels.

BA XR8 Ute 225rwkw konis and bigger brakes, stock alloys. no Altezza tail lights
mash again is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 02:40 PM   #42
prasac

Originally Posted by Professor Farnsworth
that's nothing..

tank tracks for tyres.

i'm all for a nice well presented and blinged car, but some things are just too far. wheels, nice paint and 5% tint will make just about any car look a $million
Old 18-05-2012, 02:44 PM   #43
tranquilized

I think Hulk's generalisation that young guys for bling vs old guys for HP has some merit. Its only a generalisation though so there will always be exceptions.

But its relatively accepted that as people grow older they care less about what other people think, and just do what they want to do. Tastes mature and finances improve. All contributes to a shift as people get older from show to go I reckon.
tranquilized is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 02:52 PM   #44

for me go = show

hp and performance look better, cause you know what it can do and want it

I like the look of light weight 18's with semi rubber better than cast chrome 20's and Nankangs

Sensible height looks better than forklift suspension with zero travel

Stock under bonnet appearance with built motor, tuff tune and more psi looks better than chrome ecu covers etc

I believe you can tell a lot about a person by their car
Shonky. is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 02:55 PM   #45

Originally Posted by shonkymofo
....I believe you can tell a lot about a person by their car
I agree with this statement to a certain extent.

Old 18-05-2012, 02:55 PM   #46

i find sleepers far more entertaining.. like having mazda 2's and 3's lining up on the left to try and push you out of the way in merge scenarios etc. Then the inevitable 20 over pass they do later on to show they still won.

not that it's a race, the car rarely gets or needs more than 40% throttle.
Old 18-05-2012, 02:59 PM   #47
Giant

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Organising Nulon to sponsor AFF. 

I am diff again I am after a bit of extra go while improving on OE while always trying to improve reliablity and safety. All while trying to keep it cost effective.

Good example I have 16 inch factory alloy wheels because I can afford decent 16 inch tyres, but can't strech to a decent set of 17 18 19 rubber etc.

I would rather have a decent 16 inch tyre then a cheap bigger tyre.

If I had the budget I would just have moddest bling, extra go and quaility parts all around. Also improve the sound system and add a decent dvd player for the kids.
Giant is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 03:01 PM   #48

I must say I love sleepers. Just being a sheep in wolfs clothing is a buzz in itself. Having the power to punish without looking like the grim reaper.

Old 18-05-2012, 03:02 PM   #49

No point having the 'show' if you don't have the 'go' to back it up!

Current:
2012 Ford Focus Sport - Petrol/Manual/Black
SteveJH is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 03:02 PM   #50
Giant

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Organising Nulon to sponsor AFF. 

I can only imagine the ride quality in a FG with 22 inch rims. I would remove them within a day.
Giant is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 03:05 PM   #51

Originally Posted by EFFalcon
You missed 1 very important point
P Platers aren't allowed to drive V8's/Turbo's/Performance Modified Cars
Exactly, therefore their is no choice for younger drivers.

I defy anyone here to say that when they first got their license and car that they did not bling it up at all.

Reason being is that most people when they are 18 have little disposable income, therefore you are restricted in what you can modify anyway.

Blue interior pieces FTW
Old 18-05-2012, 03:07 PM   #52
Psi-Pop
on the way to the RSL

Power.

I go to the effort of making my car ugly.
Old 18-05-2012, 03:11 PM   #53
stevanford

There is. It's called patience.

I defy anyone here to say that when they first got their license and car that they did not bling it up at all.
Hand on heart, I never did.
stevanford is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 03:15 PM   #54

Originally Posted by stevanford
There is. It's called patience.
Perhaps, for two years though, we are talking about teenagers and Gen Y and you mention patience!

Doesnt matter if it was some painting, LED's, change of rims etc the vast majority of new drivers will change SOMETHING on their cars.

Its much much harder these days for kids to get away with anything major. Although I am sure just like P platers gone by they mod anyway and run the gauntlet.

Originally Posted by stevanford
Hand on heart, I never did.
You would be the only person I know that didnt change a thing, no even hub caps or some fully sick stickers? Nothing? Did you wear a beige cardigan too....joke joke
Old 18-05-2012, 03:18 PM   #55
stevanford

Perhaps, for two years though, we are talking about teenagers and Gen Y and you mention patience!
I personally don't get why they can't be. I was 23 when I got my G6ET. It's hard to stop myself from spending now though.
stevanford is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 03:19 PM   #56
prasac

Originally Posted by Psi-Pop
Power.

I go to the effort of making my car ugly.
didn't they come like that straight from the factory?
Old 18-05-2012, 03:21 PM   #57

Reason being is that most people when they are 18 have little disposable income, therefore you are restricted in what you can modify anyway.

Blue interior pieces FTW
Well, I put wider 15" Alloywheels on mine to replace the narrow 13" steel wheels if that counts.

Its just about all I did though. Car is long gone now.

Current:
Old 18-05-2012, 03:31 PM   #58
tweeked
N/A all the way

Would you prefer a stock standard looking BF XT 5.4 V8 with 600rwhp, supercharged sleeper in a white colour with basic 17 inch ford wheels (stock alloys). A 10-11 second car, tough sounding mother..

Or do you prefer a BF Fairmont Ghia, beautiful leather interior, colour of your choice, wheels of your choice, any body kit, sound system of your choice but a stock I6 under the hood? (with underbonnet dress up)

Are you about substance or style? horsepower or bling? Where do you generally spend your modding dollar? under the hood or bling?
Your example isnt substance, it is a deathtrap. 600hp on skinny 17's, would have to be XT brakes? no thanks

If it was Performance (allround performance) or Bling, I would go performance. Too many people concentrate on the go but not the stop or turn. Ok if it is a drag car, and that is about it.

tweeked is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-05-2012, 03:34 PM   #59

Hey Tweeked, don't forget the Nankang(?) tyres.

Current:
Old 18-05-2012, 03:38 PM   #60
prasac

Originally Posted by SteveJH
Hey Tweeked, don't forget the Nankang(?) tyres.
the 245 Nankangs are alright mates VX Commodore runs 130mph down the 1/4 with them and surprisingly on the street they are not too bad