You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 01-11-2012, 02:02 AM   #31
Lazy Peac*ck EB

Default Re: What sort of tow car should I get?

God yeh! That's awesome! Calling tomorrow!

Ma Project Car Now

Grandpa ED with ma hectic louvres, LPG, stock as she goes, surprisingly reliable and goes ****in hard on gas!

Toy Car

XF UTE with XR6 Headlights, Chromed 12 Slotters, 4.1L 250 Crossflow, Triple Holley Carbs, Stage 4 Crow Cam, Extractors, 3" Exhaust, Yella Terra Roller Rockers, 5 Speed TREMEC Manual Box, 3.45 9" LSD. SOLD :(

Come at me Holden.
Lazy Peac*ck EB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-11-2012, 02:03 AM   #32
Lazy Peac*ck EB

Oh yeh, calling tomorrow!

Ma Project Car Now

Grandpa ED with ma hectic louvres, LPG, stock as she goes, surprisingly reliable and goes ****in hard on gas!

Toy Car

XF UTE with XR6 Headlights, Chromed 12 Slotters, 4.1L 250 Crossflow, Triple Holley Carbs, Stage 4 Crow Cam, Extractors, 3" Exhaust, Yella Terra Roller Rockers, 5 Speed TREMEC Manual Box, 3.45 9" LSD. SOLD :(

Come at me Holden.
Old 01-11-2012, 03:46 PM   #33
Falcman0o7

Here it the perfect bus mate! And it's $7,000!

http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/longf...te/1008825062#
Falcman0o7 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-11-2012, 03:58 PM   #34
Falcman0o7

Originally Posted by Lazy Peac*ck EB
That is awesome! Just remove the bar and buy some red and blue strobes off ebay to get to your destination quicker! Or pull some VL's over.

Old 01-11-2012, 04:24 PM   #35
flooded one

Originally Posted by Falcman0o7
That is awesome! Just remove the bar and buy some red and blue strobes off ebay to get to your destination quicker! Or pull some VL's over.

I've always wanted too do that!!! dont think i'd get far thou.
flooded one is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-11-2012, 05:26 PM   #36
Falcman0o7

Originally Posted by wildrider
I've always wanted too do that!!! dont think i'd get far thou.
Me to! Could be some trouble in the camp though~!
Old 02-11-2012, 03:38 PM   #37
Lazy Peac*ck EB

Okay so I now have roughly 9-12k as my tax back is....HUGE. Thinking 09 fg?

Ma Project Car Now

Toy Car

Come at me Holden.
Old 02-11-2012, 05:24 PM   #38

Originally Posted by Lazy Peac*ck EB
Okay so I now have roughly 9-12k as my tax back is....HUGE. Thinking 09 fg?
Could not think of anything better for the money
Old 02-11-2012, 05:29 PM   #39
Lazy Peac*ck EB

Can get coil overs for 1200, set of wheels and rap it up at 12.

Ma Project Car Now

Toy Car

Come at me Holden.
Old 03-11-2012, 01:23 AM   #40
janddbone
B1 - J & D Services

XD Wagon, V8, with the 120L LPG setup ... Best tow vehicle ever, period...
1999 Subaru Imprezza Sportwagon
1998 Holden Suburban 2500
1995 Land Rover Discovery TDI
1994 XG XR6 Longreach
1983 Holden Rodeo
1975 Datsun 120Y wagon
1970 MG Midget
1967 Rover 2000TC
Soon: Model T.
janddbone is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-11-2012, 04:51 PM   #41
Lazy Peac*ck EB

I am on my P's! No 8's or turbos :(

Ma Project Car Now

Toy Car

Come at me Holden.
Old 03-11-2012, 05:27 PM   #42
max_torq
From the Futura

The au-bf wagon does a good job up to a point. The engine is powerful enough and the driveline is strong enough. I was towing a 1200kg car on a light car trailer not a problem. Always have to careful though that the tail doesn't wag the dog, as the towing car weight and wheelbase get much smaller, or the towed rig gets heavier. I'd try a Territory, you might find one already set-up to tow with heavy duty tow bar and transmission cooler.
Old 06-11-2012, 07:01 PM   #43
GhiaEB
2004 TX Territory

Last of the fairlanes or LTDs can be had for under 10k.

Like this, but the 6pot version
http://www.carsales.com.au/private/d...k&sort=default

That one has all the fruit. V8, leather, Sat Nav, DVD, HD tow bar, etc... Under 10k

Now a AWD TX Territory Daily
P6 Silver Monarch Weekender

And on 2 Wheels,
ZZR 250

Can do mixer shaft replacement on BA-BF Falcon and SX-SY, fix your heater Today. PM For more details

For sale: Heaps of Territory bits and bobs including front brembo doglegs, NOS I-design territory body kit painted offshore, also FPV 290 engine bits. FS thread here http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11397826 Pm for more details.

Last edited by GhiaEB; 06-11-2012 at 07:11 PM.
GhiaEB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-11-2012, 09:26 PM   #44
Ivan

Originally Posted by Ben73 View Post
BA BF FG can tow 2300kgs legally
AU rated at 1600kgs

Seams like they would be able to tow most cars.
For example. If you were towing an AU, it weights 1536Kg empty, add 600-700Kg for the trailer and you are over 2000kg without anything in the car. Tow an older car and you can go very close to being over. Earlier cars most probably only have a 1600Kg towing capacity.
Ivan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post