Old 26-06-2013, 04:42 PM   #31

Default Re: supermarkets vs farmers markets etc

Originally Posted by DJM83 View Post
Why when I get it cheaper at Woolies?
coz you are supporting an Australian owned company, it isn't always about being cheaper, it is about keeping Aussies in jobs and our money here.

I won't use auto-checkouts because I see it as a lost job, I would rather queue than use one, when I am asked to use one when I only have 1 item, I say no, I want to keep this girl in her job and they look at me strange.
Trevor 57 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-06-2013, 07:38 PM   #32

Support the local IGA as much as possible, then ALDI for the rest
Coles/woollies are too far away to even consider
Fruit and veg ,buy from local growers at weekend markets, BUT,not all whom sell product actually grow it ......
Parents are in that industry , they tend to buy up bulk from veg wholesalers and resell
Meat from the local butcher , from dog bones to top end cuts,get free range local eggs there as well, when my chooks of the lay ...
Grow as much fruit/veg here as possible,weather permitting
Nothin better than cutting fresh for the meals ,just cant beat it .....
Only grow what either the family eats, the animals, be that dogs, chooks to birds
Nothin no matter how crook goes used
We get the fresh corn cob, chooks get the corn stalk, birds get the eaten corn cob ...
Corn cobs that fresh they get picked and eaten before they hit the kitchen
Old 26-06-2013, 07:43 PM   #33

Anoter thing with auto checkouts.

When all the pimply faced kids are gone from behind the counters, being replaced with one person per bank of 6 with their card watching us use the self checkouts, will the prices drop of the items we're buying since now they have barely any staff?
Old 26-06-2013, 07:59 PM   #34

Originally Posted by Trevor 57
coz you are supporting an Australian owned company, it isn't always about being cheaper, it is about keeping Aussies in jobs and our money here.

I won't use auto-checkouts because I see it as a lost job, I would rather queue than use one, when I am asked to use one when I only have 1 item, I say no, I want to keep this girl in her job and they look at me strange.
1- I get discount so ill shop there.
2- Self serve hasnt removed any jobs.
3- Im an aussie, dont want to keep me in a job along with all the others that are employed in the big 2, seems a lot like what has happened recently with another major manufacturer.....but at the end of the day, you and everyone has a choice where they shop.

When all the pimply faced kids are gone from behind the counters, being replaced with one person per bank of 6 with their card watching us use the self checkouts, will the prices drop of the items we're buying since now they have barely any staff?
Again Self Serve hasnt removed any jobs.

Its funny saying that there is now staff, ive been in the business for about 14 years. Its funny how folk think they know how Supermarkets work and operate and make assumptions based on what they see when they go shopping, for such a 'lowly' occupation theres is a lot more involved than most in visage and its only getting harder and harder.. If you guys knew what management was graded/rated on you may be surprised
The above wasnt aimed directly at the above quotes but they can be included.

Anyway ill continue to shop where i work as i understand the difference it can make to my life, both at work and at home.
Old 26-06-2013, 09:00 PM   #35

2- Self serve hasnt removed any jobs.

Again Self Serve hasnt removed any jobs.
I find that really hard to believe, my own local supermarket just put in 7-8 of
them, before hand I'd go in there in the evenings and there would be 4-5 normal checkouts open, now its one person covering an express checkout and the smoke checkout, and the only other ones open are self serve. What's happened to the employees that used to work those checkouts?
Old 26-06-2013, 09:02 PM   #36

Originally Posted by nstg8a View Post
I find that really hard to believe, my own local supermarket just put in 7-8 of
them, before hand I'd go in there in the evenings and there would be 4-5 normal checkouts open, now its one person covering an express checkout and the smoke checkout, and the only other ones open are self serve. What's happened to the employees that used to work those checkouts?
Believe me, without letting on too much it has nothing to do with Self Serve checkouts.
Old 28-06-2013, 07:51 AM   #37

Believe me, without letting on too much it has nothing to do with Self Serve checkouts.
are you serious DJM, of course self-serves will cost jobs, it has everywhere else so why wouldn't it in a supermarket?

I remember when self-serve petrol stations came in, they said it wouldn't cost jobs, of course it has, there is just one person at most servo's these days, there used to be 2 or 3 filling cars before.

Banks going with ATM's and online banking have costs jobs and you are naive if you think they haven't.

Of course the supermarkets are going to go that way and of course it is going to cost jobs - crikey
Old 28-06-2013, 08:09 AM   #38

Originally Posted by Trevor 57 View Post
are you serious DJM, of course self-serves will cost jobs, it has everywhere else so why wouldn't it in a supermarket?

I remember when self-serve petrol stations came in, they said it wouldn't cost jobs, of course it has, there is just one person at most servo's these days, there used to be 2 or 3 filling cars before.

Banks going with ATM's and online banking have costs jobs and you are naive if you think they haven't.

Of course the supermarkets are going to go that way and of course it is going to cost jobs - crikey
Mate in every store I've worked in it hasn't yet. and I've worked in one where the change occured over night and there was no change to wage percentage, which means it stays the same.
Old 28-06-2013, 08:51 AM   #39
Gabbs
Curry in a hurry

Mate in every store I've worked in it hasn't yet. and I've worked in one where the change occured over night and there was no change to wage percentage, which means it stays the same.
I've worked for the big 2 and if you think it doesn't affect the wage budget for front end you need to look harder. If the area manager needs to cut wages he will take them into account. I bet being towards the end of the financial year they have cut the guts out like they normally do and expect the same work done as well.
Gabbs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-06-2013, 09:28 AM   #40

Originally Posted by Gabbs View Post
I've worked for the big 2 and if you think it doesn't affect the wage budget for front end you need to look harder. If the area manager needs to cut wages he will take them into account. I bet being towards the end of the financial year they have cut the guts out like they normally do and expect the same work done as well.
I'm not going to argue, I've seen first hand and have been a DM for a long time. the wage % are set well in advance and atm we are planning 6 weeks out. Self serve has nothing to do with cutting wages as every store's S&W are very different so you cannot compare one with SS to one without it.
But you are right this time of the year it does get tight.

Anyhow. I'm not going to argue the point ill agree to disagree.
Old 28-06-2013, 09:30 PM   #41

Originally Posted by Trevor 57 View Post

3- Im an aussie, dont want to keep me in a job along with all the others that are employed in the big 2,
this. all those employed by the 'evil' supermarkets are aussies. shopping there is also supporting them.

ford are also a multinational....
prydey is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-06-2013, 04:56 PM   #42

self serves are relatively new, give it time.

Originally Posted by prydey View Post
this. all those employed by the 'evil' supermarkets are aussies. shopping there is also supporting them.

ford are also a multinational....
I will go with Dick Smith on this one, Aussie owned and Aussie made is by far best, if you can't get Aussie owned then Aussie made is better than buying imported.

I hate the thought of my money going off shore. Of course my money is supporting the wages of the employees and a minority of their suppliers, BUT by shopping IGA I am also supporting wages, the profits are staying in Australia and IGA doesn't rip the guts out of its suppliers (mind you neither does Aldi, but their profits got overseas)
Old 30-06-2013, 05:16 PM   #43

re self serve, they may in time cut jobs i dont know, but i know how shops work i just cannot see it fee sable. But ill wait and see.

OT, end of the day ill buy what i want i wont not buy something because its not Strayan made or owned. If i like it ill buy it, no matter where its produced or how.
Old 30-06-2013, 05:23 PM   #44
UberKnee
The One Who Knocks

Imported or local if you're buying it in Australia you're still supporting Aussies...
UberKnee is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-06-2013, 05:26 PM   #45
Belial
Clevo Mafia Muscle Man

Kinda funny reading peoples responses, I work in the Refrigerated Transport industry and see all kinds of funny stuff.
The "Fresh" bread you buy from WW (Australia wide) is Frozen part baked and manufactured in QLD.
The "Fresh" bread you buy from GHPL (Australia Wide) is Frozen part baked and manufactured in VIC.
Most large manufactures supply varying quality to ALL the main players.
ie: Primo small goods supply, GHPL, WW, Metcash (IGA), Costco and Aldi.

Your fresh packaged salads come from NSW
Lite N Easy comes frozen from QLD to the DC in Carrum Downs VIC
...and Subway "Eat fresh" frozen scrambled eggs come from NSW
I laughed recently when I seen a few pallets of butter heading from Vic to QLD to be put into Garlic bread then the garlic bread comes back down to be distributed.

The meat that is not already shelf ready comes from SA and goes into Costco, WW and some independants.

WW and GHPL shelf ready meat comes from NSW, I can go on for ages....

Daily
FPV GS Manual Sedan. (1 of 20)
now 360rwhp thanx to Blue Power Racing
"Global warming..." " I'm doing my part!"

Also a member of the Clevo Mafia.
You hit me, we hit you!
&
Metal Jacket Muscle Car Club
Belial is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-06-2013, 05:29 PM   #46

Eerrrr bread, rolls etc in the bakery are baked fresh daily....

The stuff in the aisle and other lines are a different story

The suppliers i couldnt comment on. But the garlic bread butter sounds fee sable if its anything like our logistics.

Last edited by DJM83; 30-06-2013 at 05:35 PM.
Old 30-06-2013, 05:42 PM   #47
Belial
Clevo Mafia Muscle Man

Eerrrr bread, rolls etc in the bakery are baked fresh daily....

The stuff in the aisle and other lines are a different story

The suppliers i couldnt comment on. But the garlic bread butter sounds fee sable if its anything like our logistics.
They are par-bake rolls.
ie: Allied Mills in Yatala make the bread and send it down to Vic, it is then stored (warehoused) at my work until it's required to be delivered to Americold (warehouse) then it is picked and delivered to the store.
The bakery section set their oven to 200deg and bake the bread from frozen (for 10mins I think)

Hence why GHPL have on all the freshly baked rolls, baked today, sold today. It wasn't made there and was baked for 10 mins onsite!

As for the butter, it was made by Murray Goulburn in Vic and sent to La Famiglia in QLD. Which used to be warehoused by Toll Refrigerated in QLD.

Daily

You hit me, we hit you!
&
Old 30-06-2013, 06:21 PM   #48

Yeah i know about the par bake stuff. But the bread, rolls, cheese and bacon rolls are baked instore (The stuff sold in the bakery dept) but everything else is par bake but i wasnt aware re aisle bread.
Old 30-06-2013, 06:53 PM   #49

Originally Posted by Belial View Post
They are par-bake rolls.
ie: Allied Mills in Yatala make the bread and send it down to Vic, it is then stored (warehoused) at my work until it's required to be delivered to Americold (warehouse) then it is picked and delivered to the store.
The bakery section set their oven to 200deg and bake the bread from frozen (for 10mins I think
Some are and some are not. Most of the big two have a combination of both. Some supermarkets have a proper bakery and some dont but more and more the big 2 whenever they open a store have a proper or "scratch" bakery. Even so theres not much made from scratch nowadays.
Old 30-06-2013, 07:24 PM   #50

Some bread comes in from overseas part baked to be final baked here and most of us have no idea
Old 30-06-2013, 07:55 PM   #51
Belial
Clevo Mafia Muscle Man

Yeah i know about the par bake stuff. But the bread, rolls, cheese and bacon rolls are baked instore (The stuff sold in the bakery dept) but everything else is par bake but i wasnt aware re aisle bread.

Cheese and bacon rolls are also Allied Mills but are made in Tullamarine Vic.

Same goes with the donuts

Daily

You hit me, we hit you!
&
Old 30-06-2013, 08:01 PM   #52

Originally Posted by Belial View Post
Cheese and bacon rolls are also Allied Mills but are made in Tullamarine Vic.

Same goes with the donuts
Not if the store has an instore bakery, if it does they are made instore along with donuts.
If no instore bakery then your correct.
Old 30-06-2013, 08:03 PM   #53
Lotte
YE-US! Wait. I don't know

Not if the store has an instore bakery, if it does they are made instore along with donuts.
If no instore bakery then your correct.
Correct. The half made stuff for the bakery section is for stores who haven't got the facilities to bake it from scratch in house.
Two bakers in the extended family, both have worked in a fully kitted Cole's.
The Weekender: '06 BF Pursuit, Toxic, lumpy af

Lotte is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-06-2013, 08:11 PM   #54

I've watched bags of "premix" getting wheeled in many times,......just add water and heat I guess would count as "in store bakery".

personally I prefer our local baker, big feller, german I think.....if you listen carefully you can hear his booming laughter from miles away.

he has 5 staff, all hard working youngsters who start their day at 4.30 am.....including the big feller, his wife and 5 staff all supporting the town......I wouldn't trade any of them for a Coles loaf regardless of how good it is.

his stories alone are worth bottling.

long may he stay. (here the bakers dozen is alive and well)......I cant see a sunday without his beestings and a cuppa watching the world come to life.

may your day's be filled with smiles, your life be filled with love, may your children know nothing but happiness and joy, cherish the memory of those who strove before us for they cleared the way, spare a thought for those who serve we owe so much to so many, life and the freedom to enjoy it is a special gift that can be taken away far too soon!
Old 30-06-2013, 08:16 PM   #55
Lotte

Originally Posted by poppa smurf View Post
I've watched bags of "premix" getting wheeled in many times,......just add water and heat I guess would count as "in store bakery".

personally I prefer our local baker, big feller, german I think.....if you listen carefully you can hear his booming laughter from miles away.

he has 5 staff, all hard working youngsters who start their day at 4.30 am.....including the big feller, his wife and 5 staff all supporting the town......I wouldn't trade any of them for a Coles loaf regardless of how good it is.

his stories alone are worth bottling.

long may he stay. (here the bakers dozen is alive and well)......I cant see a sunday without his beestings and a cuppa watching the world come to life.
Oh theres still pre mix, same with bakers delight ;)

Old 30-06-2013, 10:24 PM   #56
KIWI-1

Former Victorian premier Jeff Kennett has almost single-handedly landed supermarket giant Coles in the Federal Court, after complaining that bread he bought was mislabelled as having been baked in store rather than in Ireland where the baking process was started.
Last year Mr Kennett caused a ruckus about the origins of his bread and muffins, including sending the offending baked goods to Australian Competition and Consumer Commission chairman Rod Sims and doing lots of talk back radio.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/business/ch...#ixzz2XhJweCGC
Old 30-06-2013, 10:40 PM   #57
Lotte

If he's so worried, he should bake his own.

Old 30-06-2013, 11:24 PM   #58

Originally Posted by KIWI-1 View Post
Former Victorian premier Jeff Kennett has almost single-handedly landed supermarket giant Coles in the Federal Court, after complaining that bread he bought was mislabelled as having been baked in store rather than in Ireland where the baking process was started.
Last year Mr Kennett caused a ruckus about the origins of his bread and muffins, including sending the offending baked goods to Australian Competition and Consumer Commission chairman Rod Sims and doing lots of talk back radio.
Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/business/ch...#ixzz2XhJweCGC
So the big two changed their wording on the packaging and went on their merry way. All hail Jeff. You say tomayto they say tomarto.
Old 01-07-2013, 11:41 AM   #59
MarkAW

Originally Posted by deesun View Post
So the big two changed their wording on the packaging and went on their merry way. All hail Jeff. You say tomayto they say tomarto.
And hands up all who like to spell tomato without an "r"
MarkAW is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2013, 04:12 PM   #60
Belial
Clevo Mafia Muscle Man

Daily

You hit me, we hit you!