Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
View Poll Results: Buy a SC Jaguar XFR for $110K !! | |||
Where do I sign ? | 27 | 45.76% | |
FPV and Turbo Falcon vehicles are still the best alternative | 15 | 25.42% | |
I'd have to "suffer the torture" of belting an FPV and a Jaguar XFR before deciding | 17 | 28.81% | |
Voters: 59. You may not vote on this poll |
12-09-2013, 08:13 AM | #31 | |||||
Intersting poll result to date and its somewhat comforting to see that I'm not the only one who finds the sleek cat's charms very alluring. I'm too scared to take one for a decent test drive...and am presently doing my best to stay away but with the major price shift on these vehicles in the last two years and the end of FPV almost imminently upon us its almost inevitable that one day the Jaguar will be measured up against Wolfie. I can't see any Holden in this Last edited by Rodge; 12-09-2013 at 08:31 AM. |
|||||
This user likes this post: |
12-09-2013, 02:39 PM | #32 | ||
I hate you Rodge!
I should have moved to NZ years ago. Just for the cars ;) |
12-09-2013, 02:46 PM | #33 | |||
Lyminge, Shepway, Kent
12-09-2013, 03:29 PM | #34 | ||
http://www.audi.co.nz/nz/brand/en/se...e_imports.html
http://nz.lifestyle.yahoo.com/autos/...ps-the-f-bomb/ Jaguar reducing their NZ-new pricing by 20%? |
12-09-2013, 04:23 PM | #35 | ||||
Thanks for the link but the reality is that there's now a variety of parallel importers that are taking advantage of a high Kiwi / U.K. Pound exchange rate and still yanking Jaguar's tail very effectivly. (Beacham's prices are no longer at the pointy end but I hear they're pretty good people to deal with). Here's some links to superb cars at prices you guys might find profoundly disturbing http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/List...x?id=631060113 http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/List...x?id=631329338 http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/List...x?id=624020272 $129,995 Kiwi for a brand new XJ Jaguar through official channels Last edited by Rodge; 12-09-2013 at 04:38 PM. |
12-09-2013, 04:50 PM | #36 | ||
Trev
No wonder NZ is broke :-)
Trev (FPV FG II GT-E thus the fully loaded burger with the lot as standard +Alpine/Dynamat fitout - 2 of only 4 ever made GT-E factory 9" rear rims - Michelin Pilot Supersports - Shockworks Suspension) |
12-09-2013, 06:25 PM | #37 | ||
You can fly over to England, buy a car, then import it back to Australia with minimal taxes.
Only catch is you have to prove you owned the car and used it regularly in England for a set period of time. 2 years I think it might be. That makes it a touch difficult for most of us... |
12-09-2013, 07:35 PM | #38 | ||
All these cheap cars, and no one has any money to buy them
Haha, Rodge. I'm always scouring for interesting cars on TardMe. 4 guys autobarn, who have that CTS-V, have some pretty good gear on their yard. I've always wondered who buys them? Though, there seems to be no shortage of LHD pony cars on Hamilton roads. One glaring example though, is a UK import C63 with cheapy alloys, and NEXEN tyres FFS! They want 72 or 74k for it, if memory serves well. Can't believe how cheap w211 E55's and E60 M5's are in NZ now!! EDIT: http://www.trademe.co.nz/motors/used...-637591619.htm 82k, sorry. Didn't even take the pommy plates off for the photos, haha! Last edited by Motorbreath310; 12-09-2013 at 07:43 PM. Reason: You'll see |
12-09-2013, 08:39 PM | #39 | ||
you can buy cheap imported 911 gt3's in oz, as long as you dont register them they are half or less than half the price of a registerable one...
13-09-2013, 05:56 AM | #40 | ||
Parallel importing was the beginning of the demise of the car manufacturing industry in New Zealand.
I remember when this happened, the flood gates opened up and Jap cars we had never heard of were appearing in car yards purely there to sell Jap imports. Cheers
13-09-2013, 06:16 AM | #41 | ||
LOL, yeah the temptation is fierce. I think all the Dairy farmers are doing very well. I personally think the LWB Jaguar XJ in white with cream leather brand new in Wellington for $99,995 is an exceptionally good buy and would make a fantastic weekend luxo cruiser...and the extra room in the back would be really good for when we take our kids and grandkids out. I would like to update our aging Euro diesel with it but the Mrs really likes our current ride.
You may recall i recently enquired from Ford what they'd do for me on a new SC GT-P MK2 in Kinetic Blue and was told no special deals. This, despite the model being quite old by automotive standards and having a confirmed cessation date...and yet I can get new Holden VF product that's only very recently been released here for nearly 20% off retail, a demo SRT8 for 20% off retail as well as all the other bargains mentioned above....go figure Ford's pricing methodologies ? I just can't understand how they think then can be so arrogant as to completly ignore conventional industry discounting norms... If you guys are frustrated by these prices imagine how I feel !!! I'm in a financial position to do something about it, the prices here are readily available to me and we pay prices circa 20% higer for Ford / FPV product than you guys do... Ford are making it exceptionally tough to remain a loyal supporter which is really frustrating and its only my long history with the brand and very high level of satisfaction and connection with Wolfie that's keeping me loyal...for now. |
13-09-2013, 09:19 AM | #42 | ||
Trev
I like that FPV are probably stopping as it is going to save me money from every buying a new one, lol. Already have the highest spec car they have ever made so no reason to change, my bank manager is breathing a sigh of relief :-)
Trev (FPV FG II GT-E thus the fully loaded burger with the lot as standard +Alpine/Dynamat fitout - 2 of only 4 ever made GT-E factory 9" rear rims - Michelin Pilot Supersports - Shockworks Suspension) |
13-09-2013, 10:12 AM | #43 | ||
I reckon this red one looks super hot !!! Have I mentioned already how fierce the temptation is
http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/List...x?id=624208862 Last edited by Rodge; 13-09-2013 at 10:21 AM. |
2 users like this post: |
13-09-2013, 11:42 AM | #44 | ||
Trev
Just put the new tyres on your car and rediscover that it once in fact did sort of handle okay
13-09-2013, 12:54 PM | #45 | ||
^^ Good advice mate. I also sent off a couple of e.mail's today enquiring about pricing on the Whiteline sway bar kit and some better shocks, our cars are way too under-damped IMO. I definitly don;t want to drop the ride hight due to the goat tracks around here that pass for an excuse for roads but some more shock dampening and less body roll would be very welcome !!
13-09-2013, 01:43 PM | #46 | ||
Trev
Then you will whinge about being uncomfortable :-)
Just try the shocks first, if you go stiffer bar in the rear your car will be more taily, which you might like of course I guess.
13-09-2013, 02:00 PM | #47 | ||
The slippery old Dunslops have done a great job of un-earthing the inner hoon in me mate, I like taily
13-09-2013, 02:05 PM | #48 | ||
I like the new Jags, I just wish they were a twin-turbo DI 5L V8 instead of supercharged.
13-09-2013, 02:07 PM | #49 | ||
Jaguar XFR against a FPV GT / Dunnydore GTS? C'mon, there is NO competition! However, owning a Jag would persuade me to buy a house in Toorak just so I could fit in. Oh, and yes, I would have to start drinking a latte or 2!
13-09-2013, 02:08 PM | #50 | ||
The original Dunflops on my F6 were down right SCARY. Not once did they stop me from breaking traction when I sunk the boot in... but I suppose 565nm of torque at 1950rpm will do that
Nearly shat myself when I put the new tyres on and got no wheel spin... makes a huge difference to the 'into your seat' factor. Also is it just me or does the Jag have a slight resemblance to the sneak peak Falcon 2014 front? |
13-09-2013, 02:32 PM | #51 | ||||
You could be right, lots of designers have stolen design cues from the XF and frankly...why wouldn't they !! Last edited by Rodge; 13-09-2013 at 02:39 PM. |
13-09-2013, 06:07 PM | #52 | |||
13-09-2013, 06:17 PM | #53 | ||
And while we are on topics of Jag:
http://www.carsguide.com.au/news-and...dan_on_the_way I consider the post-classic Falcons of IRS and OHC/DOHC variety to be like 'Aussie Jaguars' - very similar to the DNA in the XK motor'd Jags of the glory days - cars like this will make the transition away from Falcons much easier on the heart... |
14-09-2013, 08:51 AM | #54 | |||
Autocar N.Z. tested an XFR and it weighed in at 1974 kg's with a full tank of fuel vs 1839 kg's when they tested a SC GT. 135 kg's difference. That said based on my all too brief drive of one a few years back they have terrific handling and torsional rigidity and with the new ZF8 speed they clocked a 0-100 of 4.6 seconds and 80-120 of 2.5 seconds, (lineball with an R Spec FPV). |
16-09-2013, 01:19 PM | #55 | ||
WOW !!, (without influencing the poll with my own vote), its clear a whopping 75% of people would either buy a Jaguar XFR or properly evaluate one with a view towards considering it if they could afford it and it was available at a fair price.