You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 10-08-2014, 03:50 PM   #31
Eaglexr

Default Re: Screaming mad

I have had no experience with screamer pipes, but I'm led to believe that a screamer pipe fed directly into the atmosphere, can throw flames.
Now if the vehicles engine developed a fuel leak, or to a lesser extent, a relatively bad oil leak, this would constitute a fire hazard or risk.
Eaglexr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2014, 04:29 PM   #32
_Ben

You don't vent it in the engine bay though, normally it's vented at the ground, at the bottom of the dump pipe, or somewhere similar
_Ben is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2014, 04:45 PM   #33
Eaglexr

The screamer was directed to the ground via a short S/S tube.
Let's say he went spastic doing a burnout and there was a fuel leak.
The screamer was throwing flames around and ignites the fuel.
That is just one of many scenarios that would make fitting a screamer a
really bad idea. Apart from the fact they are illegal.
Eaglexr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2014, 07:14 PM   #34
Nova 8

Do it right and have the pipe follow the exhaust and have it fire out the rear bar along side the exhaust. Who would want an open flame in or near their engine bay or underneath the car where fuel lines run.

Either way the car is at the insurance place already, its gonna be found and he is best off being honest about it. Insurance fraud is serious.
Old 10-08-2014, 08:09 PM   #35
XB GS 351 Coupe

Insurance is not for engines blowing up, it's for accidents/stealing etc.

Not sure where anyone gets the idea that insurance would cover an engine that has blown up, especially if it is the direct result of the owners stupidity.

There certainly is some special people in the world, makes me wonder how some manage to breathe

The Week End Bruiser : FPV BF GT 40th Anniversary, 6 Speed Manual, 6/4 Brembo and lots of Herrod goodies

Project 1 : '75 XB GS 351 Ute, Toploader, 9" with 3.5's

Project 2 : '74 XB GS Big Block Coupe, Toploader, 9" with 4.11's

In Storage : '74 XB GS 351 Fairmont Sedan

XB Falcon Owners Group

Mike's Man Cave

XB GS 351 Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2014, 09:50 PM   #36
tut0r

Originally Posted by XB GS 351 Coupe View Post

Not sure where anyone gets the idea that insurance would cover an engine that has blown up, especially if it is the direct result of the owners stupidity.

There certainly is some special people in the world, makes me wonder how some manage to breathe
Life support(centrelink)

Mods to Date
Ceramic Coated Pacemaker 4495s
2.5" Dual Venom exhaust,
Bluepower CAI
Eaton True Trac with 3.9s
20% Underdrive
EcoLpi Motor

RWKW: 200.0
Nm: 394

Mods to Follow
Supercharger
T56 Conversion TR6060
tut0r is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2014, 10:30 PM   #37
commonrails

Read the pds, for example I just read (yes I know i've got to much time on my hands) the nrma pds and it actually has nothing that directly said that a fire caused by mechanical or illegal modifications will not be covered. Page 23 does out line that mechanical, structural, electronic or electrical failures will not be covered but like I said it doesn't define that if they cause a fire you won't be covered. On page 7 they say that "We will cover loss or damage to your vehicle caused by any of the following incidents: including FIRE" now my interpretation of this is that the fire is not caused or related to the car i.e. bush fire, but then again that isn't directly said. The out come will be interesting for your mate, best of luck.
commonrails is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2014, 11:25 PM   #38

I hope it works out well for the guy, would not be the 1st time for any one doing mod & having a mishap.
Itsme is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2014, 11:32 PM   #39
Patty

I don't get it.... Considering the XR6T is so easy and cheap to get power out of, why would you risk the safety of your passengers, and also risk the fact your car is illegal and therefore unisnured, for what gain? How much power would adding a Screamer give?
Patty is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2014, 11:51 PM   #40
MercurySilver
Isn't it obvious?

around 500 kw
other wise why would you even bother

lol

your friends gonna be out of a few coins i think
MercurySilver is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2014, 12:13 AM   #41

Should of let the car completely burn to the ground and hope they didnt notice the hole in the block.

Old 11-08-2014, 05:39 AM   #42
Nova 8

Originally Posted by commonrails View Post
Read the pds, for example I just read (yes I know i've got to much time on my hands) the nrma pds and it actually has nothing that directly said that a fire caused by mechanical or illegal modifications will not be covered. Page 23 does out line that mechanical, structural, electronic or electrical failures will not be covered but like I said it doesn't define that if they cause a fire you won't be covered. On page 7 they say that "We will cover loss or damage to your vehicle caused by any of the following incidents: including FIRE" now my interpretation of this is that the fire is not caused or related to the car i.e. bush fire, but then again that isn't directly said. The out come will be interesting for your mate, best of luck.
You are obligated to advise the insurance company of any and all modifications done to the car at which point they can either accept the modification or drop your insurance. If they had been advised about the screamer pipe then you could make your arguement and generally when there is ambiguity in a contract it falls in favor of the party that didn't write the contract. However, since they were not informed about the screamer pipe then they have no legal obligation to cover the car under any circumstance.

You should ALWAYS tell your insurance company all modifications as it can cost you dearly, getting off with just an engine fire to his own car is light, imagine if he hit someone and they cancelled his insurance on the basis of a undeclared modification.
Old 11-08-2014, 06:12 AM   #43
Nova 8

Originally Posted by Patty View Post
for what gain?
Generally done by those who don't need it for the noise or if place correctly to have flames shooting out the bonnet/front quarters.
Old 11-08-2014, 01:54 PM   #44

Ok for starters before people start saying it will be or won't be covered, the cause of the fire will need to be obtained.

Once the insurance company works out what has happened, then a decision will be made on what will be covered.

No one knows if the fire has caused the motor to blow. The fire could have started first then this caused damage to the motor.

I have seen motors that have been repaired by insurance companies because of fire damage. At this stage it is to hard to tell what will be covered and what won't be covered.
Old 11-08-2014, 02:33 PM   #45

I would say it over boosted . Threw a rod ! Then cought fire .. BAD tune again !!! Would have been detonating something bad !!
Mods, burn outs, and finance don't go well together!!
Old 11-08-2014, 04:08 PM   #46
commonrails

Originally Posted by Nova 8 View Post
You are obligated to advise the insurance company of any and all modifications done to the car
No you are not obligated, read your insurance pds!

For example this is straight from nrma's pds (page 25) and it has absolutely nothing about any and all modifications..

Your responsibilities when you are
insured with us.

If you do not tell us the following we may refuse or reduce a claim, or cancel your Policy:
you change the address where your vehicle is normally kept
you change the way you use your vehicle you use your vehicle for a driver education course
you hire out your vehicle
your vehicle is not in a condition that meets registration requirements in your State or Territory
your vehicle is not in good order and repair, free from rust, mechanical, hail or unrepaired damage, or any other damage that would make it unsafe
you use your vehicle for events relating to a motor vehicle club, bash or charity event.
Old 11-08-2014, 04:17 PM   #47

Perhaps you should seek an English dictionary if you dont understand what your obligations are.
Having an ILLEGAL modification means that vehicle is UNROADWORTHYand therefore it does not meet registration requirements.

For example this is straight from nrma's pds (page 25) and it has absolutely nothing about any and all modifications..

Your responsibilities when you are
insured with us.

If you do not tell us the following we may refuse or reduce a claim, or cancel your Policy:
you change the address where your vehicle is normally kept
you change the way you use your vehicle you use your vehicle for a driver education course
you hire out your vehicle
your vehicle is not in a condition that meets registration requirements in your State or Territory
your vehicle is not in good order and repair, free from rust, mechanical, hail or unrepaired damage, or any other damage that would make it unsafe
you use your vehicle for events relating to a motor vehicle club, bash or charity event.
Old 11-08-2014, 04:35 PM   #48
Nova 8

After a look around it turns out that they are not as strict as I remember but I haven't played with a car in a while, either way his modification was illegal so cause of the fire or not insurance does not have to cover his car at all. He defrauded them.

From aami website:
We do not insure vehicles with custom paint, nitro or hydrogen fuel, roll bar / roll cage / racing harness, petrol turbo or supercharger. Otherwise we cover all legal accessories and modifications that are fitted to your car. As such, there is no longer a requirement to list accessories or modifications on your policy but you need to ensure that the amount covered is enough to cover the value of all insured accessories and modifications.

As far as I knew we, as policy holders, have a duty of disclosure. I thought this was Australian law, I'd still inform them of any modifications done to my car.

Edit: Here: http://www.lawhandbook.org.au/handbook/ch23s01s06.php

Last edited by Nova 8; 11-08-2014 at 04:47 PM.
Nova 8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2014, 04:57 PM   #49
castellan

Originally Posted by XB GS 351 Coupe View Post

Two mates came out to camp one was about 1 year old V8 petrol Toyota 4X4 and a V6 petrol rodeo both got water in the motor and blew up going through a creek.

Both got it repaired by there insurance.

The dude with the rodeo had modified the air box snorkel and went and bought a new snorkel, but the insurance dude could see that he had tampered with it as he could see that a new piece had just been put in, but they still got the engine fixed, only they had to pay half for the engine due to their lie.
Both were in AAMI.
castellan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2014, 06:07 PM   #50
commonrails

Originally Posted by Kryton View Post
Perhaps you should seek an English dictionary if you dont understand what your obligations are.
Having an ILLEGAL modification means that vehicle is UNROADWORTHYand therefore it does not meet registration requirements.
Quick to comment about a dictionary huh! where exactly in my post did I say illegal modification? I was merely stating that you are not "obligated" to notify the insurance company of your modifications as nova 8 stated if it isn't out lined in the pds. If a modification makes your car unroadworthy that is different under the nrma pds that I quoted
Old 11-08-2014, 06:32 PM   #51

I hope your not in the insurance business.
Have a read again and then think back as to why the insurer has a legal right to reject this guys policy.
He has breached his contract by making his car illegal.
He can mod it all he likes, fine, but when its illegal, it makes the vehicle unroadworthy and therefore doesnt meet state requirements for registration.
That makes his policy VOID.
And you can quote NRMA all you want, no one said his policy was with them anyway.

Quick to comment about a dictionary huh! where exactly in my post did I say illegal modification? I was merely stating that you are not "obligated" to notify the insurance company of your modifications as nova 8 stated if it isn't out lined in the pds. If a modification makes your car unroadworthy that is different under the nrma pds that I quoted
Old 11-08-2014, 06:52 PM   #52
commonrails

^^^ So for future reference I now know how to stir you up!
Old 11-08-2014, 06:57 PM   #53
Taily

Now go and re-read the "Duty Of Disclosure" clause...

Screamer pipe = Illegal exhaust mod = Not legally registered (exhaust not compliant with relevant State/Federal regs).

Has the insurance company been told about this exhaust mod in writing?

No = Wiped like a dirty butt.

Yes = Supplied engineers report/Rego Authority paperwork/data for the vehicle modification = All Sweet, lets work out how much extra we're gonna stab you for your insurance.

Cannot supply paperwork/prove the mod is legal = Sorry Sir, we do not cover vehicled modified in this way.

Pretty simple really. It doesn't matter if the driver/owner of the vehicle believes that the mod on the vehicle was in no way responsible for the fire or engine damage if the insurance company decides that it was contributary in any way to the ultimate failure/fire. They will say "no dice" outright and it is then up to the policy holder to then sue the insurance company for the $$, which will of course suck more money out of the policy holder than the car was ever worth...

It is all in the fine print, never in the easy to read stuff.
Taily is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2014, 07:11 PM   #54
Xauterus

I can't understand how it ended up at the insurers towing yard. That has to be a stupid as modifying a vehicle and expecting insurance to fix it.
Xauterus is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2014, 07:19 PM   #55

^^^ So for future reference I now know how to stir you up!
Nah mate, all good
Old 11-08-2014, 08:14 PM   #56
Tommie

Originally Posted by trublu View Post
I hope it works out well for the guy, would not be the 1st time for any one doing mod & having a mishap.
Very true, but what a pointless mod.... It's all risk for what seems little gain other than annoying noise.....
Tommie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2014, 08:23 PM   #57
Falcman0o7

Laugh...

But what is a screamer pipe?
Falcman0o7 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2014, 08:59 PM   #58
Nova 8

Separate pipe for the turbo which is used to keep turbulent air out of the exhaust system, which increases power. This pipe bypasses the cat which makes it fail emissions. Ideally they would run parallel with the exhaust and vent in the same place but people are stupid and vent them under the car or out the bonnet or front quarters. Why? Because its loud and shoots flames.

I also read that they are illegal on many racetracks due to noise limitations.
Old 11-08-2014, 09:02 PM   #59
_Ben

Originally Posted by Falcman0o7 View Post
Laugh...

But what is a screamer pipe?
A pipe from your external wastegate that doesn't get plumbed back into the exhaust, usually dumps to atmosphere pretty early in the exhaust system. They sound pretty badass and can help with controlling boost.
_Ben is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-08-2014, 08:08 AM   #60
castellan

Originally Posted by Nova 8 View Post
Separate pipe for the turbo which is used to keep turbulent air out of the exhaust system, which increases power. This pipe bypasses the cat which makes it fail emissions. Ideally they would run parallel with the exhaust and vent in the same place but people are stupid and vent them under the car or out the bonnet or front quarters. Why? Because its loud and shoots flames.

I also read that they are illegal on many racetracks due to noise limitations.
Sounds like anyone who would do such a thing to a rego'd car would have to have there head read for a mental problem.
castellan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post