You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 15-12-2015, 08:19 AM   #31

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 
Default Re: HSV Gen-F2 Maloo R8 review: The humble ute is now a supercar slayer

Originally Posted by Windsor220 View Post
You could probably carry more in a hatchback with the seats down than a Maloo
The domino's guy in his scooter can carry more.
Old 15-12-2015, 08:53 AM   #32

It would look good ln black, tone it down a bit.
Good on them for going out with... something.
MethodX is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2015, 09:35 AM   #33
SumoDog68

Originally Posted by vztrt View Post
The domino's guy in his scooter can carry more.
Maloo payload is 500kg - enough for a spare tyre and couple of pizzas :-)
SumoDog68 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2015, 09:54 AM   #34
stazza

God that's ugly. Looks like the old hand held Hoover I used to vacuum out my car with. Stupid vents all over it that look tacky as hell. Massive front bumper with plastic hanging off here there and everywhere.

Oh yeah and nice GT335 knock off wheels

Typical.
2011 SILHOUETTE FPV GS 315 #0275
20x10", 20x8.5" Lenso D1R's
Pedders XA Coilovers
Brembo 4/1
Pacemaker 1" 7/8 Headers
Twin 3" Stainless Manta Catback
XFT Built Motor
XFT Custom Surge Tank
XFT Stage 3 ZF
Final Drive Chromoly Tailshaft
KPM Twin Air Filter
KPM Stage 2 Intercooler
KPM Twin Throttle Body
2.6L Kenne Bell on E85
BlueStreak Circle D Converter
900+ rwhp thanks to Xtreme Ford Tuning
stazza is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2015, 11:48 AM   #35
creative
I am Batman

Originally Posted by Bluey-GT View Post
2 doors , 400kw supercharged V8 and close on 700nm twist in a factory offering and some on here are quibbling over a spare tyre.......

FFS , go and get an RACV , NRMA or some other road side assist membership to deal with it.

If you're at Summernats and you blow both rears in the burnout comp, you still only have 1 spare...this thing is built for recreation not haulin tools in the back or does it haul tools in the front seats..lol

Kudos HSV. Luv your work.
And after spending nearly $80 grand on a car, I would expect a full size spare at least!

Originally Posted by 99AUXR
Had a customers redline VF SS in today, great bit of kit and loved the interior think good on holden. Only thing I didnt like is think it needed a bit more bark, it was auto.
I really like the VF interiors now. It was the only thing that put me off buying a holden when I was first looking for a ute back when I got the XR8.
Rebuilt Boss260 with #Kellogs 1500hp forged and balanced crank#Manley forged flattop pistons with a 9.5/1cr#4340 forged h-beam rods with arp bolts#Clevit performance rod and main bearings#full ARP headstud kit#total seal rings#Mantic twin plate development clutch and lightened flywheel#Mellings uprated oil pump#Mainforce Performance Supercharger kit#AU motorsport 345mm big brake kit.

Now producing 369.7rwkw/496rwhp@6000 and 515ft/lb torque @ 11 psi.
Now sat on an engine stand going nowhere
creative is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2015, 12:02 PM   #36
creative
I am Batman

double post
Rebuilt Boss260 with #Kellogs 1500hp forged and balanced crank#Manley forged flattop pistons with a 9.5/1cr#4340 forged h-beam rods with arp bolts#Clevit performance rod and main bearings#full ARP headstud kit#total seal rings#Mantic twin plate development clutch and lightened flywheel#Mellings uprated oil pump#Mainforce Performance Supercharger kit#AU motorsport 345mm big brake kit.

Now producing 369.7rwkw/496rwhp@6000 and 515ft/lb torque @ 11 psi.
Now sat on an engine stand going nowhere
creative is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2015, 12:12 PM   #37

2 doors , 400kw supercharged V8 and close on 700nm twist in a factory offering and some on here are quibbling over a spare tyre.......

FFS , go and get an RACV , NRMA or some other road side assist membership to deal with it.

If you're at Summernats and you blow both rears in the burnout comp, you still only have 1 spare...this thing is built for recreation not haulin tools in the back or does it haul tools in the front seats..lol

Kudos HSV. Luv your work.
yeah but only an idiot would go to a burn out competition knowing they will be without two rear tyres at the end of it and no spare, surely they could make some arrangement for at least the goo kit , the bloody thing is 5 metres long surely they can fit a goo kit somewhere .
Old 15-12-2015, 12:26 PM   #38

Next time you're out and about count how many people changing their flat tyre you see.

Now compare that to the number of cars on the road.

A spare will weigh what, 30kg.

Now consider how much more fuel is being burnt every day by motorists carrying around that extra 30kg when it may never see the light of day.

Who cares if it doesnt have a spare, there are mobile tyre changers around these days.

Its like the argument against dedicated gas, 'what if i run out, i'll need a tow.'
I've had my egas for 3.5 months and have already saved enough to cover half a dozen tows should i ever need one.

Nice Ute.
Old 15-12-2015, 01:11 PM   #39
1TUFFUTE

For some reason I'm on the side raging that it doesn't come with a spare.....yet I myself have never carried the spare (a gazillion Kim's) and that includes a lot of country and worksite driving. Never once had a flat tyre.....EVER! Now I have the G6ET, I at least carry a can of goo.
1TUFFUTE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2015, 01:39 PM   #40

Originally Posted by 1TUFFUTE View Post
For some reason I'm on the side raging that it doesn't come with a spare.....yet I myself have never carried the spare (a gazillion Kim's) and that includes a lot of country and worksite driving. Never once had a flat tyre.....EVER! Now I have the G6ET, I at least carry a can of goo.
you are very lucky.
Old 15-12-2015, 01:59 PM   #41
Whitey-AMG
AWD Assassin

Originally Posted by mik View Post
yeah but only an idiot would go to a burn out competition knowing they will be without two rear tyres at the end of it and no spare, surely they could make some arrangement for at least the goo kit , the bloody thing is 5 metres long surely they can fit a goo kit somewhere .
The issue with the "tyre weld" in a can products - is that they're designed as a one off use for emergency.... It will most likely fix the puncture but what most people dont know aboy these products is that they can ruin the inside of the tyre. Most tyre shops dont like to do puncture repairs on tyres that have been repaired with these products - very messy to clean up around the puncture area and can be hit an miss beacuse of all the gunk in the tyre. So in the end - it could cost you $4 - 800 for a new tyre regardless. Also - these products arent really intended as a long term fix - especially for Hi Performance tyres and in some cases may invalidate tyre warranty as well etc etc..

So I reckon HSV knew what they were doing when they omitted this product as a "fix". probably easier to just chuck a full sized spare in the back for long trips and be done with it...... Round the burbs - just use road side assist. 1st world problem really considering the likelihood and regularity of punctures for this type of vehicle and intended application.

New RIDE
2018 AMG Mercedes A45
Angry AWD assassin
Whitey-AMG is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2015, 02:00 PM   #42
1TUFFUTE

Originally Posted by mik View Post
you are very lucky.
I tell a small lie.....once my trailer got a slashed tyre on a job site, but I didn't have the car, my apprentice had it......so I'll take that. Never having 19inch rims or bigger would play a part too.
1TUFFUTE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2015, 02:21 PM   #43
stig_3754

The issue with the "tyre weld" in a can products - is that they're designed as a one off use for emergency.... It will most likely fix the puncture but what most people dont know aboy these products is that they can ruin the inside of the tyre. Most tyre shops dont like to do puncture repairs on tyres that have been repaired with these products - very messy to clean up around the puncture area and can be hit an miss beacuse of all the gunk in the tyre. So in the end - it could cost you $4 - 800 for a new tyre regardless. Also - these products arent really intended as a long term fix - especially for Hi Performance tyres and in some cases may invalidate tyre warranty as well etc etc..

So I reckon HSV knew what they were doing when they omitted this product as a "fix". probably easier to just chuck a full sized spare in the back for long trips and be done with it...... Round the burbs - just use road side assist. 1st world problem really considering the likelihood and regularity of punctures for this type of vehicle and intended application.
This.

Goo and even space savers are designed to get you out of an emergency, and ideally to get you to where you will fix/replace the problem tyre without the need for a tow.
stig_3754 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2015, 02:42 PM   #44

Originally Posted by SumoDog68 View Post
A ute is more fashion accessory than necessity nowadays. Every man and his dog has one, I never see anything in the back of one (tradies aside).
b0son is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2015, 02:53 PM   #45
blackf6
R51 Pathy, 91 Jayco Swan

Well..... With pretend power figures. They have to drop the power to weight ratio somehow to make it vaguely believable.
blackf6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2015, 03:15 PM   #46
Whitey-AMG
AWD Assassin

Originally Posted by stig_3754 View Post
This.

Goo and even space savers are designed to get you out of an emergency, and ideally to get you to where you will fix/replace the problem tyre without the need for a tow.
That's kinda the paradox here. The goo will get you to the nearest tyre place , but many of them won't repair the tyre if its been gooed. Especially if its a high performance tyre. Towing the car to the tyre place will allow for a puncture repair and can end up saving you big $$$$.
Damned if you and damned if you don't sometimes.

Anyways, 350- 400kw supercharged goodness makes up for no spare in my book.

New RIDE
2018 AMG Mercedes A45
Angry AWD assassin
Old 15-12-2015, 04:52 PM   #47

Originally Posted by 1TUFFUTE View Post
For some reason I'm on the side raging that it doesn't come with a spare.....yet I myself have never carried the spare
Haters gotta hate?
Old 15-12-2015, 06:00 PM   #48
DFB FGXR6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For the excellent car-care guide 

So if the "Goo" ruins the chance of a tyre repair, what happens to the inside of the wheel?
2014 FG X XR8 Emperor Red
2024 Mustang GT Race Red

The Departed -
2002 T3 TS50 Blueprint
2017 Mustang GT Race Red
DFB FGXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2015, 07:36 PM   #49
Whitey-AMG
AWD Assassin

Originally Posted by stazza View Post
God that's ugly. Looks like the old hand held Hoover I used to vacuum out my car with. Stupid vents all over it that look tacky as hell. Massive front bumper with plastic hanging off here there and everywhere.

Typical.
The vents are functional. Read the release and get the details....
Ignorance is bliss hey ?

New RIDE
2018 AMG Mercedes A45
Angry AWD assassin
Old 15-12-2015, 08:03 PM   #50
mick74GT

Typical.
Lol I actually thought the only thing That doesn't look good are the wheels...
mick74GT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2015, 11:04 PM   #51
stazza

The vents are functional. Read the release and get the details....
Ignorance is bliss hey ?

Originally Posted by stazza

Typical.
What purpose exactly do the vents behind the front wheels serve?

It's an ugly PoS. My opinion.
Pedders XA Coilovers
Brembo 4/1
Pacemaker 1" 7/8 Headers
XFT Built Motor
XFT Custom Surge Tank
XFT Stage 3 ZF
KPM Twin Air Filter
KPM Stage 2 Intercooler
KPM Twin Throttle Body
2.6L Kenne Bell on E85
Old 15-12-2015, 11:14 PM   #52
asagaai

Must say it looks like the Hyundai South Korean design department has been let loose from designing a Hyundai sports model Excel on a Holden Maloo, and this is the end result.

Very messy and unsmooth - actually looks like those alien gaming computers with angular lines

Again- my 2 bob- your mileage may vary....

Ford Fiesta ST Mk 8 -daily- closest thing to a go kart on road for under 50K

FG X XR8 smoke manual - Miami hand built masterpiece by David Winter, BMC Filter, JLT Oil separators, Street Fighter Intercooler Stage 2, crushed ball, running 15% E85 and 85% 98- weekender
asagaai is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2015, 11:18 PM   #53

The Fg-x utes aren't exactly stunning looking with that latest grille design.
to each their own.
MethodX is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2015, 11:39 PM   #54
stazza

I've never once stated on here that I think the FGX looks good. Cause I don't. But, it's like with every progressive model over the years Holden/HSV has just slapped on more plastic and more plastic and bigger vents and grilles and it honestly looks horrible.

They look more like some kind of hot wheels toy or something. They don't look tough at all. I'm sure the engine is tough, but the car certainly doesn't look it. The toughest looking modern Aussie car is by the the FG F6. Mostly minimalistic and sleek.
Pedders XA Coilovers
Brembo 4/1
Pacemaker 1" 7/8 Headers
XFT Built Motor
XFT Custom Surge Tank
XFT Stage 3 ZF
KPM Twin Air Filter
KPM Stage 2 Intercooler
KPM Twin Throttle Body
2.6L Kenne Bell on E85
Old 15-12-2015, 11:41 PM   #55
tapeworm

I think it looks tacky as. Looks like something an 18 year old would design.
Bit ridiculous comparing the power to an old Ferrari without mentioning that the Ferrari would weigh about 600kg less
tapeworm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2015, 11:45 PM   #56
arronm
BA/F6 BF/F6 SSV/R TTG

FG. Nah F6 yes.

Nizpro equipped and Tuned by the BEST in the west
Xtreme Ford Tuning

479RwKw Fuel limited, more pumps and power too come.

F6#0507 & #0639 Pro racer and Tech expert

NIZPRO modifying falcons like Premcar can only dream of , see VIDEO below.
https://youtu.be/oa4IfguGQ-A
arronm is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-12-2015, 11:56 PM   #57
stazza

Originally Posted by tapeworm View Post
Bit ridiculous comparing the power to an old Ferrari without mentioning that the Ferrari would weigh about 600kg less
Agreed.

Supercar is quite a broad term. I'd like to see it slay an Ultimate Aero XT around a track.
Pedders XA Coilovers
Brembo 4/1
Pacemaker 1" 7/8 Headers
XFT Built Motor
XFT Custom Surge Tank
XFT Stage 3 ZF
KPM Twin Air Filter
KPM Stage 2 Intercooler
KPM Twin Throttle Body
2.6L Kenne Bell on E85
Old 16-12-2015, 07:51 AM   #58
99AUXR
Brad

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Installing starter motor advice on ba / bf 6cyc Falcon. 

Originally Posted by arronm View Post
FG. Nah F6 yes.

Shame the wheels dont come that flush. . . .
Old 16-12-2015, 08:38 AM   #59

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Originally Posted by SumoDog68 View Post
And their hair dryer.

Originally Posted by tapeworm View Post
So in other words perfect the HSV buyer.
Old 16-12-2015, 10:20 AM   #60

These performance utes from both sides are pretty useless for payload and anyone expecting something decent from them is in for a shock. Stupid argument to have. Yes the HSV has 500Kg, but looking at Ford's website, XR6T ute has 470kg for manual and 453kg for the auto.

Basically these are not set up for carrying loads, base models of each would be better suited.