Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
#31 | |||
These are worth nothing compared to the earlier 1JZGTE variation of the Crown. Budget on replacing air suspension though ![]() |
5 users like this post: |
#32 | ||
#33 | ||
This user likes this post: |
#34 | |||
Better Holden's are cheap (comparatively) yet still **** boxes but higher models......yet much cheaper? |
#35 | |||
Happy and looking forward to AFL GF! [DELETED: Not needed] Last edited by PG2; 25-09-2021 at 07:08 PM. |
#36 | ||
#neuteredlyfe
![]() ![]() Join Date: Apr 2012
ANNOUNCEMENT FOR AFF USERS
I have appointed myself as the new spelling and grammar Nazi. If you have any issues with another member's spelling and/or grammar send me a PM and I will adjudicate on the dastardly deed. Having said the above, if anyone tries to make me redundant by mentioning another member's spelling and/or grammar, their post will be deleted. I have to protect my new position within AFF somehow. Cary onn. |
14 users like this post: |
#37 | |||
#39 | |||
WT GT
![]() Join Date: Jan 2006
Nazi Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk |
4 users like this post: |
#41 | ||
![]() Join Date: Apr 2007
That said methinks you have far darker issues to deal with other than "typical bogan Ford people and spelling" hopefully that day comes for ya.
8 users like this post: |
#42 | ||
![]() Join Date: May 2008
Or the one you bought years ago before the prices went nuts.
With no new reasonably priced Aussie V8's being made, everything with 8 cylinders has skyrocketed in price over the last 18 months.
#44 | ||||
Your local IGA carries L76/L77/L98/6L80E parts next to the bread and milk and old mate motors next to IGA whose some old fogey in blue overalls can replace the ABS loom that breaks on the rear IRS cradle in about half an hour on that WM Caprice I linked to because he's done a zillion of the bastards ![]() That's the reason Euros and other cars with fancy **** and huge price tags depreciate so much on the second hand market - repair and maintenance costs. Put it into perspective - on my E38 735iL, basic service items 8x Ignition coils 8x Spark plugs 2x CMP (common fault on BMW M62 V8) 1x Fuel filter 1x Air filter 1x Oil filter 2x Cabin filters Cost $1100 trade price to me, all aftermarket stuff, not genuine and that wasn't even including fluids, I have a 30 day account with the supplier as well, the fuel filter was $250 alone because it also has the fuel pressure regulator built into it ![]() Then it needed something like 0W-30 or 0W-20 oil that was a special order in through Burson from Penrite, and had some special synthetic hydraulic fluid it used for the power steering that it shares with the self levelling suspension on the rear, no cheap ATF or power steering fluid there ![]() Oh and the reason I bought it, it came into my workshop with a faulty alternator and the RRP on the replacement was $2300 just for the alternator, then it took about 10+ hours to replace because its water cooled and housed inside the engine block. As you can imagine, there's not too many brushless 180A water cooled alternators floating around at IGA. The customer was like - I don't want to pay $2300 for the alternator, give me $2000 and you can have the whole car ![]() It only had around 120,000km on it when it crapped out its alternator, then by the time I got rid of it, it had worn its timing chain guides by around 130,000km and was a bit noisy on startup until the timing chain tensioner took up the slack. In comparison, my Caprice that replaced the E38 735iL: 1x Ignition coil 8x Spark Plugs 1x Ignition lead set All accessory belts 1x fuel filter 1x air filter 1x oil filter (no cabin filters) (no CMP) $350 all up for genuine stuff from Holden dealership, again I have a 30 day account with them. Last edited by Franco Cozzo; 25-09-2021 at 07:40 PM. |
5 users like this post: |
#45 | ||
![]() Join Date: May 2008
I'm thinking this XF SV8 would be my choice of second hand V8 goodness.
https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/det...7321506/?Cr=10
3 users like this post: |
#46 | ||
I'm thinking you may want this little V8 baby and stick it in a Billy cart!
Will try add link to web page, its a damn good article for AFF members! https://www.enginebuildermag.com/202...to-the-street/ ![]() PS:- and it works too!...... ![]() Cheers Billy ![]() Last edited by slowsnake; 25-09-2021 at 07:32 PM. Reason: Add link to website |
#47 | |||
![]() Join Date: Nov 2007
2 users like this post: |
#48 | ||
#49 | ||
All in jest, the thread was seemingly taking a turn for the worst, I just chucked a little fun in the mix!
![]() Read the article, its brilliant to see how a normal bloke ends up designing and developing gearboxes for Nascars!.....pretty cool...... ![]() Cheers Billy ![]() |
#50 | |||
I think the v8 question on a budget is a real tough question. It feels like options are super limited Anything cheap seems super questionable and not that cheap either. ![]()
6 users like this post: |
#51 | ||
![]() Join Date: Apr 2007
No problem,when the demons come in the dark places tell them to fark off get up go to work and think of your kids eh,simple really be a man.
#52 | |||
https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/det...-7422849/?Cr=3 It has 8 cylinders and its cheap, I dunno if it'll make it to the end of your driveway though ![]() |
4 users like this post: |
#53 | |||
But then they it makes sense as local and poor quality. I would have kept the BMW......they are sweet and sure costs more. At least not just another Falcodore on the road. We think others like them, but really they don't care. |
#54 | |||
#55 | ||
#56 | ||
6 users like this post: |
#57 | ||
VF2 SSV WAGON
![]() Join Date: Mar 2009
Mercury, I reckon you are about to take the crown from hulk. Absolutely killing it in the trolling. Hulk does win out on at least being interesting.
7 users like this post: |
#58 | |||
Is that ok by you Sir? How about stay on topic |