Old 25-08-2005, 04:36 PM   #31
Sagerian
Custom User Title:

Geez I hope I'm not choking on something in any resturants you go to. I sorta see your point but come on, it's still seen as "doing something nice for someone."
Just sometimes, in between the first cigarette with coffee in the morning to that four hundredth glass of cornershop p**s at 3am, you do sometimes look at yourself and think... this is fantastic. I'm in heaven.
Sagerian is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2005, 04:45 PM   #32
The Mighty Red

yep always,
Old 25-08-2005, 04:47 PM   #33

Originally Posted by Sagerian
Geez I hope I'm not choking on something in any resturants you go to. I sorta see your point but come on, it's still seen as "doing something nice for someone."
I assume you're referring to me. You have to be doing over 80 in a 70 zone to get pinged in Sydney and considering the loons you often have to share the road with, I'm more than happy to see them get pinged. I was almost collected by one last week who felt that 90 was more appropriate to do on the Hume Highway in a 70 zone up the inside of me... unfortunately they didn't see the bus in the lane he just changed into and ran right up the back of it. Made a mess of what looked like a Colt.

The amount of speed traps I see in Sydney, I'd say that *maybe* 1 in 100 cars heading the other way flash to warn you. Once you get out of Sydney, it'll drop to about 1 in 5.

If I was in Vic, I'd be flashing like crazy. The tolerances there are ridiculous.

Had I seen someone choking in a restaurant and if I was able to, I'd help them. I don't see a valid comparison between the two.
Old 25-08-2005, 05:00 PM   #34
Biggoggs
Rider on the storm

Depends on the road and what's coming the other way. Down here you can get booked for flashing (once saw someone behind me flash oncoming cars, unfortunatelly they didn't realize the Camry up front was an unmarked police car), so if it's an X-Trail, Camry, or new Commodore, I wait til I can see the driver
Biggoggs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2005, 05:06 PM   #35
GreenMachine
Mopar/No Car

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Sensational write up about drum brakes. 

I've been pulled up for flashing (my lights, you perverts). What you MUST say is "I was testing the operation of my lights, officer." This is perfectly legal, and you are entitled to do it on public roads.

'72 Plymouth Scamp
'80 Courier
'13 Kawasaki ZX14-R
'13 Berlina
'92 Suzuki DR650

If you don't fight - You lose
GreenMachine is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2005, 05:06 PM   #36
Sagerian
Custom User Title:

Originally Posted by Rodp
I assume you're referring to me. You have to be doing over 80 in a 70 zone to get pinged in Sydney and considering the loons you often have to share the road with, I'm more than happy to see them get pinged. I was almost collected by one last week who felt that 90 was more appropriate to do on the Hume Highway in a 70 zone up the inside of me... unfortunately they didn't see the bus in the lane he just changed into and ran right up the back of it. Made a mess of what looked like a Colt.

The amount of speed traps I see in Sydney, I'd say that *maybe* 1 in 100 cars heading the other way flash to warn you. Once you get out of Sydney, it'll drop to about 1 in 5.

If I was in Vic, I'd be flashing like crazy. The tolerances there are ridiculous.

Had I seen someone choking in a restaurant and if I was able to, I'd help them. I don't see a valid comparison between the two.
Meh, I said I can sort of see your point. I have to share the road with them too, but I also have a problem with idiots who are just as dangerous because they do 20 under the limit. They aren't gonna get busted by cameras are they. The system is flawed, therefore I have no problem in warning others about it.
Just sometimes, in between the first cigarette with coffee in the morning to that four hundredth glass of cornershop p**s at 3am, you do sometimes look at yourself and think... this is fantastic. I'm in heaven.
Sagerian is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2005, 05:13 PM   #37
Ryan

Nope never have :eclipsee_

But people do it to me if im driving around a area with speed cameras or if the cops are sitting around.
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2005, 05:15 PM   #38
el_gt_97
tickford

yes i do
i even try to get photos of the pigs hiding
behind post, trees, bushes
el_gt_97 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2005, 05:25 PM   #39

I'll always flash - peoples flashes have saved me money on more than one occasion.
1966 Ford Mustang coupe. 347 stroker, PA reverse manual C4, TCE high stall converter, B&M Pro Ratchet, Edelbrock alum heads, Edelbrock intake manifold, MSD ignition, Holley Street HP 750 CFM carb, gilmer drive, wrapped Hooker Super Comp Headers, dual 3" straight through exhaust, Bilstein shocks, custom springs, full poly suspension, American Racing rims, Open Tracker roller spring saddles and shelby drop.

merlin is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2005, 05:35 PM   #40
Mr Rex

everytime

and its saved me a few times so I repay the favour.
Mr Rex is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2005, 07:15 PM   #41
Sylox
Uterus M.I.A.

Every time I see a cop or camera

Sylox is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2005, 07:18 PM   #42
MustangNicko

allllllllll the time.. pop up the middle finger when i drive past too
MustangNicko is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2005, 08:07 PM   #43
Woz
As in 'best there ever'

I flash motorists. I also turn my high beams on and off when there is a speed camera on the side of the road.

I remember one evening I was walking the streets with three mates. One was the girlfriend of one of my mates, but the other two were like myself, skinheads. It was about 7ish in the pm, and we had been on the turps all arvo at a bbq, so we were in a fairly playful mood. I'm 6'10" and 78kgs, the oldest and tallest but skinniest of the three of us. Luke and I decided it would be funny to produce our garbage and drain our bladders over the speed camera parked infront of the subishi Magna parked on the side of Scoresby rd. The bloke in the car looked at us, then tried to make it seem as though he hadn't seen us, with the three skinheads laughing and waiting for a response. The guy in the car turned his head out the side window and slumped down in his seat.

It was probably not the most mature thing to do, but Christ it was funny.
Woz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2005, 08:14 PM   #44

Not today, trench coat is at the dry cleaners.
Old 25-08-2005, 08:21 PM   #45
Black XR6
Formerly Black EX-R6

It depends. Not in the city, but elsewhere I will. Once out in cambletown I flashed an oncoming car that was going slightly fast towards a speed camera. I glanced at the driver as I went past to find it was in fact a police officer in an unmarked. Luckily he didnt feel like stopping me.

Stinking, mongrel, dog.
Black XR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2005, 08:24 PM   #46
bindi
Redhead extraordinaire...

Originally Posted by Rodp
You have to be doing over 80 in a 70 zone to get pinged in Sydney and considering the loons you often have to share the road with, I'm more than happy to see them get pinged.
I don't flash my lights anymore (I flash other things instead lol).

It used to be the done thing in NSW, it was very common. Now everyone's gotten so out of the idea of flashing to warn others that when you do it, they flash back!

For example. The other week I was driving along late at night on a fairly quiet strip of dark road. I saw, on the other side of the road, a big black dog who had decided to take himself for a midnight walk. Just around the corner I was passing another car. I flashed my lights to warn him of the danger up ahead (what if he hit the dog?!) and he flashed back. Because now, in NSW, if you flash your lights, you are telling the other person they have left their high beam on. So he flashed back as if to say "No you moron, my high beam is NOT on". Argh! I didn't see any splattered dog on the road the next day, TG. I hope the guy realised what I was trying to do!

I do not flash my lights anymore out of principle. If they wanna speed and get done by the cops, it's not my issue. They are the ones driving like idiots and could be the ones that cause the next accident through reckless endangerment. I would prolly do the flash in Vic though, cos it won't get misconstrued!

Originally Posted by big_waity
Oh, and another surefire symptom will be the Falcon badge at the back.
bindi is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2005, 08:24 PM   #47
bindi

Originally Posted by Psycho Chicken
Not today, trench coat is at the dry cleaners.
TG, red male pubic hair is not a pretty sight.

Old 25-08-2005, 08:27 PM   #48

Always.

Old 25-08-2005, 08:36 PM   #49
RED_EL_XR8

All depends, if its mr average driving normally and maybe drifting a few ks over sure, I might acidentally flash the beams!
If its some oncoming numb-nuts attempting a land speed record in something past its prime I just smile to my self for the next few K's that I didn't flash.

Old & Bitter can be so much fun !!!
RED_EL_XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2005, 08:39 PM   #50
RED_EL_XR8

Originally Posted by bindi
All aboard, the one track mind is heading out soon. : : : seriously thats not a mental picture most want to contemplate.
RED_EL_XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2005, 08:47 PM   #51
Racecraft
they call me Tibbo

Im with REd... if it is Mr Average or a group of cars I do but when it is some goose flying along not a chance.. I sometimes wish to do a u-turn to watch them get pinged...

Racecraft is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2005, 08:52 PM   #52
sfr rob
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○ ○○○○○

Originally Posted by DUMPT
i wanna park in front of a speed camera one day just to arc em up ,lol
i slow right down.. and crawl past in my truck most of the time... just to sh!t stir... but i really want to park the truck in front of one, could you get in strife for that? ing_sm

a bloke i knew... not saying a mate of mine.... rammed one in hallam at the start of the year...
:evilsasmo
WHAT A CHAMP!

and yes i flash al the time!
sfr rob is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-08-2005, 12:01 AM   #53
andrew_smith_84
my one day build...

depends on the colour of the badge coming my way. another sort of fun thing to do is when u see 1, speed up to it then just as u get close put ur brakes on and get back down to the limit - i have to much spare time i think
andrew_smith_84 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-08-2005, 12:26 AM   #54

Originally Posted by bindi
ahhhhhhh bugger....

Old 26-08-2005, 12:44 AM   #55
Bangers

Always Even when I'm on my bike.

Nothing makes my day more than holding up peak hour traffic because I saw the speed camera ahead. On my bike you can see them hundred of meters ahead. Even better when mr Plod is standing there with a gun
Old 26-08-2005, 12:44 AM   #56
GTP 320
Blueprint Beast

I always do,in fact i flash my headlights in front of the camera operator so he can see me do it,i reckon that really must get them up their nose lol
Cheers John

Leather seats, Premium sound, Sunroof, Satellite Navigation, Reversing sensors, Herrods lowered suspension, Full stainless steel Quad exhaust system, Helix spacer,Open mouth cold air induction,Uni Chip,BMC air filter
GTP 320 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-08-2005, 01:09 AM   #57

I flash my headlights. I spoke to a camera operator about this, and he beleives that it isn't illegal to warn others to slow down if it means them saving cash then its better for them as he gets paid the same amount regardless of how many times the camera gets people. Im all for the practice rather than seeing motorists getting shafted in broad daylight!

Old 26-08-2005, 01:32 AM   #58

Originally Posted by Bindi
TG, Red male pubic hair is not a pretty sight.
Damn, Cuz I was about to colour mine just for something a bit different.. Looks like I'll cancel the appointment :

Back on Topic now, I flash all the time to let people know, I reckon they're dirty scum those camera operators. I always look into the ploperator's eye as well and flash just as I pass so he can see me doing it. Some of the reactions are priceless. Once in ringwood, one dropped his donut and coffee onto himself in his haste to frantically wave his finger "no" at me out the window of his Santa Fe. Great fun.

I don't do it anymore, I think i've mellowed. I still flash though....

Last edited by Danny; 26-08-2005 at 01:34 AM. Reason: Reworded
Old 26-08-2005, 07:44 AM   #59
bindi

Originally Posted by Walkinshaw
ahhhhhhh bugger....
Nah, really I think it would just be ROB'S red pubic hair Ok enough on the subject! :newangel:

Old 15-09-2005, 11:28 AM   #60
stu_88

me and a mate went a step further from flashing the other day, made a sign and sat infront of his car with it lol.
He didnt stay there long and went just down the road so we followed him.